Cover Girl • Intense ShadowBlast • Eye Shadow

rated 3.6(74 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 samhoney on 6/30/2012 1:01:00 AM more reviews by samhoney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Just bought this tonight in Brown Bling. I have just put it on for the first time and it is now drying.

Let me say this: Brown Bling is a near exact dupe of MAC Satin Taupe. BB is a medium brown with silver shimmer and it's a very nice color. Very, very cool brown and (to me) is about as close of a dupe for Satin Taupe as a dupe can get and costs around $9. Look for the CVS or Walgreen's sales ads because they have BYGO 50% off.

I pair this with MAC Technakohl liner in Earthline. This liner stays put unlike anything I've ever worn. I worked in the yard the other day in near 100 degree heat and when I looked at my eyes, the liner was still there just as it was before I went outside. Earthline is also a medium brown with silver shimmer that goes so well with the shadow blast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 scta0000 on 6/28/2012 12:56:00 PM more reviews by scta0000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I just purchased this in two colors (pink and light brown) on sale at CVS and hate to admit it, but I don't like these. First, the wand is too spongy and large for a precise application. Second, blending using my fingers causes two issues; complete removal of the shadow before it sets OR not being able to blend at all once it sets (can we say "bald spots?!). Third, once set, I started to feel a tightness / stiffness on my lids which lasted an hour or so (is this normal?). Lastly, I applied the pink on my lids at 8:00am and it's about noon and I see nothing but creases. Granted, the primer does assist the shadow to stay on slightly longer and the color is quite pretty, but for $7.99? I don't think so...

I have read reviews where there isn't enough pigmentation and being too "sparkly" for daytime and I tend to agree. Sorry, CoverGirl, but this is one of the first products I have purchased from you in years and probably my last.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dani137 on 5/9/2012 11:07:00 PM more reviews by dani137

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the green one, and its nice but not what they make it out to be, i love eye shadow, so i figured why not try a cream eye shadow, its easy to apply and has a nice color but i would not buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 klhoward on 5/8/2012 6:44:00 PM more reviews by klhoward

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

If you have SENSITIVE eyes DO NOT use this. I bought it in Brown bling, which is a deep bronzey colour (it's nice). It went on nicely, the edges blended well and it lasted all day. However, I did feel some tingling on my eyelids and they did start to look dry. The next day I was flaking at the corners of my eyes. The day after that my whole socket line and lid was peeling!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aharb013 on 4/23/2012 1:32:00 PM more reviews by aharb013

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm very disappointed in this product. I have this in extreme green - 820. It applies okay but it is not very pigmented.

But my major problem with it is that it has absolutely no resistance to water. I have watery eyes and my eyeshadow look is completely ruined after about a half hour if I wear this product.

I do not recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 travelbugaf3 on 4/15/2012 6:06:00 PM more reviews by travelbugaf3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this in the beige color. I don't like it as a eye shadow. The concept is great-- I'm a huge fan of creamy eyeshadows that you can just rub on and go. This one just doesn't look that great alone. But, the reason for the four lippies is because I have been using it regularly as a priming shadow. It gives a little extra oomph to some of my sparkly powder shadows, and helps them last all day. When I apply eyeliner over this, it doesn't move without eye makeup remover (good for me, because my eyes water a lot with my allergies).

Tip: I dab it on with the wand, then brush it out with a small eyeshadow brush so that I can control where it goes and apply it evenly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Neesacat on 4/3/2012 4:28:00 PM more reviews by Neesacat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to like this product, and I love the colors (got the beige one) and it seemed great when I tested it on my hand at the shop. But when it comes to going on your eyes it's so thin it doesn't really work and the wand doesn't work very well for application. Worst of all every time I use it my eyelids would get warm and then get all red and swollen. Was quite painful and was a complete surprise because I don't have sensitive skin and have never had a reaction before. If u ally want to try it, do so on your eyes and watch out for it feeling warm. In the bin goes mine.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Peridot07 on 3/17/2012 4:41:00 PM more reviews by Peridot07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in beige. As a shadow it's pretty enough, but it creases and the glitter fall-out is horrible! As a primer, it's terrible!! It does something to my lids to make them look old and crepe-y, which no amount of pretty eyeshadow can fix. The packaging is bad too. It's in a mascara-like tube. so you can't reach all the product and the sponge applicator is rough and does a poor job spreading the product. Do yourself a favour and don't buy this! Mine's going in the trash!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wlyeong on 3/6/2012 4:35:00 PM more reviews by wlyeong

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Have this in the beige and pink. The wand is useless. Easier to smear with fingers. Pretty sheer. Good if you don't want to go out of the house with 'naked' eyes. I'm all for the minimum input maximum output. So a quick smear on the lids with this, a quick swiped of eyeliner and done. Since I'm not an expert in the blend-4-colors-into crease/brow/lid etc kinda girl this is perfect for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 FayeFleurDeLis on 1/27/2012 6:49:00 PM more reviews by FayeFleurDeLis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely LOVED the brilliant color on the platinum one I bought first. Then I applied it and it kind of felt like putting nail polish on your eyelids because of how terribly it dries. I find it VERY difficult to remove with any of my make-up removing products. Oh and the application wand is really blunt. I cannot get into the inner corners (tear duct area) of my eyes without it smudging everywhere else!!! I thought I could put up with it anyways then later it literally started to burn and my lids started peeling. I wont be purchasing any other colors. The Maybelline Color Tattoo cream eyeshadow works way better and doesn't crease at all like this one did. 'Already built in with primer' my ass! Damn you Drew Barrymore.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Eye Shadow products