Redken • Extreme Anti Snap (new formula 2011) • Hair Treatments

rated 4.4(81 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VeruskaRai on 11/10/2013 9:46:00 PM more reviews by VeruskaRai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My hair was chemically damaged by a coloring incident and I needed major help I was washing it and pieces we snapping off. I closed ties with the hairdresser that damaged my hair and went to a place with really good reviews, which was a Redken salon. The stylist recommended a deep conditioning and to use the extreme line faithfully. Shampoo, Fortifying Conditioning Treatment, and Anti- Snap, and rotate All Soft treatment every three washes . I've been using all for the past six weeks.

So I'm reviewing the entire line more of a whole, because the Redken website says to use the system as well. When I shampooed my hair was falling out. After about three uses the breakage during washing and combing became very controlled and returned to how it was prior to the coloring incident.

The breakage during styling seemed the same as before I started the system, I noticed minimal change. The breakage during combing when dry also had a minimal change.

Now it seems like this product has helped but it hasn't rescued my hair so to say. I can say is that I would absolutely buy again because the healthy part of my hair (everything but the last three inches) are the healthiest they've been my entire life, super smooth and shiny. Great product if you have minimally damaged hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Olive143 on 11/6/2013 4:56:00 PM more reviews by Olive143

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

My hair has always been healthy. However, I've been doing ombre color lately and noticed that my ends were snapping off quite easily. So after getting a trim, I use this once or twice a week after washing my hair. I don't use on my roots only mid to ends of my hair and don't use daily. This made my hair crunchy and dry.

After using I notice a significant decrease in those bulbs on my hair strands that snap off. I find maybe 2-5 compared to strands of them prior to using. I will continue to purchase and use.

For reference I also use a little heat protectant serum and leave in conditioner. I think those are a must if your hair is bleached and you heat style.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jess9 on 10/23/2013 2:59:00 AM more reviews by Jess9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

Works great, I have bought it several times. I notice no difference between the new and old formula. My hair is fine and breaks easily and this product helps to strengthen and repair damage. I only use it twice a week or so and always follow with a leave in conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Arpita1 on 9/24/2013 6:48:00 PM more reviews by Arpita1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

As a total product whore who buys so many different things that it is almost impossible to purchase the same thing twice, I have two bottles of this stuff. My hairdresser has me using it as an overnight treatment, saturating my hair with it. I was using it as a styling product, but it works so much better as an overnight treatment. It makes my hair soft, smooth, and non-frizzy like nothing else. I have a lot of respect for this treatment, and I usually am a Kerastase or Oribe type of girl.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beanl on 8/22/2013 5:05:00 PM more reviews by beanl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Black    

A couple of years ago my hair was in its worst condition ever. After years of relaxing it and excessive heat styling I had a bad chemical cut. So I cut my hair (though not nearly as much as I needed to), got a Brazilian keratin treatment (so I didn't have to heat style it anymore) and decided to take really good care of my hair from that time on.
I completely changed habits towards my hair and decided to invest on some good hair products, one of which was Anti Snap. For the price (I paid R$90, around 45 USD, for this in Brazil) I was specting a bottled miracle, but that's not what I got. Or so I thought at first.

Anti Snap is a liquidy white-ish leave-in that is very lightweight and does not weigh your hair down. On the other hand, it doesn't seem to do much for your hair either. I understand that this a treatment type of leave-in rather than a finishing one. The point is to help treat damaged hair and prevent it from breaking instead of making it look good. So I started using Moroccanoil for that purpose. I would use that combo every time I would wash my hair, and in a few months I could notice a significant change in my hair's condition.

I have been using these products for over a year now and my hair has changed so drastically in texture and ts overall appearance. Apart from the ends (those ends, from the chemical cut, that should've been trimmed every 3 months) my hair feels super soft and looks really shiny and healthy. I just got it trimmed few days ago (yes, over a year after the last cut), and it's hard to believe my hair had been in such bad shape not so long ago. Even my hairdresser said so.

Although it was a combination of things, I strongly believe Anti-Snap contributed big time for my hair's recovery and allowed me to keep it long for all this time. Even after 14 months after the last cut, I only had to get 1.5/2 inches trimmed. And as I said, it was such a dramatic difference... I was truthfully impressed.

This is an all 5 lippies product for me, that I highly recommend for anyone with damaged hair. As I said, it might not improve your hair's superficial appearance at first (especially if it's really damaged), but you can use some other leave-in/serum/hair oil after this. More importantly, it's actually treating your hair.

I would definitely repurchase it even if I just got Bonacure Repair Rescue Sealed Ends (which is rather similar, I think). It's pricey but worth it and you get a really good amount for what you pay. I now want to try the Extreme Strength Builder mask.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dellajaz24 on 8/11/2013 12:29:00 AM more reviews by dellajaz24

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff! I always wondered what I could do to stop my hair from breaking off and therefor not growing because of all the foils I have done on a regular basis and now I've found the answer! Usually when I get my hair foiled, my hair breaks like crazy and its especially noticeable around my face because my fringe area seems to keep getting shorter all on its own! I never had to cut my fringe and I hated that! but now since using this product along with Redken extreme cat spray (also amazing!! if not even more amazing!!) for a few months, my fringe grew out within 2 weeks after getting foils and my fringe cut!! amazing! now I have to go back and get it trimmed again! that has never happened to me before! I leave the cat spray on for an hour or so underneath a showercap and a beanie to warm it up(works better), then rinse it out under the shower head (I dont get back in the shower or anything,dont need to) then I apply an Intense deep conditioning repair treatment for another hour also under the showercap and beanie, then rinse that out, then to towel dried hair I apply some Redken anti snap and WOW my hair is amazingly healthy. Highly recommend these products for people who have trouble growing their hair /keeping it long/ keeping it from snapping and breaking, they both really do what their meant to! My hair has never been better. Or longer! and its terribly bleached! TRY IT! its worth it :)
Packaging is great! I actually love the slight medicine smell to it, it reminds me of yummy liquid panadol or something that children have ;)
Price is ok, not too dear but not cheap either, I still keep repurchasing it because its so good!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 realitydust on 8/1/2013 8:53:00 PM more reviews by realitydust

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I apply this mainly to my ends after showering while my hair is damp. Be careful of using too much- I've found it can become a bit sticky which can actually cause a few breakages. I get good results by using this 1-2 times a week. I have color treated hair and have noticed it not as dry as it typically would be, especially at the ends. A bit fewer split ends/ dead ends as well.
But a few negatives: I don't think this product is all that special for the price tag and don't think it had that big of an effect for me to go repurchase it. Also, in terms of packaging, the pump can be a bit difficult to control and the product often gets everywhere, especially since it's quite liquidy.

Overall- it's not bad but its not miraculous either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IndustryKoda on 8/1/2013 12:11:00 PM more reviews by IndustryKoda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

This is for protein repair, not a moisturizer. I have a lot of breakage around my crown from heat styling, ragging, and tossing and turning at night. I also drive with my windows down, so my hair gets whipped around, dried out, and tangled.This is a dual purpose leave in-protein repair to strengthen as well as protection for heat styling. I am loving the results, and to top it off, it smells of blueberry muffins to me.
Another trick is to use this or the regular Anti Snap conditioner to breathe life into old natural bristle makeup brushes that are breaking/shedding. It has rehabbed my beloved Sonia Kashuk Into the Woods collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 soofabu on 7/11/2013 12:32:00 PM more reviews by soofabu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This product works great. I use the full line of the extreme products on my hair. I have bleached hair and I was in need of a good hair care line. It is a bit pricey and I was hesitant to buy it but I'm glad I did. I use this every time I wash my hair (3-4 times a week) and I've seen improvement for sure. I don't know if you can put this is dry hair, so I just apply it to towel dried, damp hair. Also, the smell is amazing! I don't really know how to describe it, very sweet and vivid! Hope this helps! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Shelly128p on 7/8/2013 6:41:00 PM more reviews by Shelly128p

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I liked this product but not enough for it to be a positive review.
I felt nothing was very special about this salon product. Dare I say redken is overrated...

It felt like I had to use a lot of pumps for it to saturate my hair enough. It didn't do much for the split ends I already had, it just attracted extra product build up. (I know I need to trim the splits)

NO product will mend your split ends. The only way to get rid of them is to trim them.

This didn't seem like a good heat protectant, it just dried out my hair when I added heat.

cremes work better for my hair and this is a fairly liquidy serum.
Aussie, Pantene, Garnier, Not Your Mother's, all have products that I prefer. No I won't repurchase.

this gave my hair mega protein overload which led to breakage

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Hair Treatments products