Neutrogena • Rapid Wrinkle Repair Night Moisturizer • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.2(73 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nocturnefata on 1/19/2013 4:59:00 AM more reviews by Nocturnefata

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'd like to buy this in bulk so I can use it everywhere! This works wonderfully for me. I am 34 and due to stress/dehydration/age my skin was looking dull. I was using my clairsonic 3 days a week for exfoliation but it wasn't doing the trick. I have very sensitive clog prone skin. I did experience some minor purging but my skin was fairly clear with only really clogged pores when I started. If I use this nightly along with the clairsonic 3x a week, my pores stay pretty clear. My face is brighter, much more smooth, less red, less dehydrated looking, and I'd say younger looking by at least 5 yrs. I looked young before but now I look like I have the skin of a teen model you would see in a beauty ad for a wrinkle cream :). Of course I still have previous acne scars and some uneven texture. This is helping with that too. The small crease in my forehead from expressions is gone and the very mild aging/line in the nasal labial area is history. I had this very small sun spot on the top of my cheek bone and it's now gone as well. Just flaked off one day after 3 weeks of use. I've been using for one month and I saw results on day 1 and it's only gotten better over time. I did forget to use for 3 days and my skin started to look dull again. I'm using several other products that work it seems synergistically Trilogy Rosehip oil 3 times a week after exfoliation, Avalon Organcis C toner 3x a week, and this product nightly. I use Weleda Sea Buckthorn with the clairsonic 3x a week. I only wash with water on off days unless I wear makeup.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Klonophunk on 1/11/2013 8:20:00 PM more reviews by Klonophunk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on the fence about this product because I think it was the culprit for a large breakout I've been experiencing lately. I think it really clogged my pores. I never had this problem with the Healthy Skin Anti-Wrinkle cream: that really seemed to make a difference in my skin without the breakouts. I'm trying Avene Retrinal 0.1 now. If that works, great. If not, then I'll go back to using Healthy Skin.

EDIT: I'm almost certain this product caused my breakout. I LOVE the Healthy Skin night cream, but wanted something stronger. This did not work at all for me. I am using the remainder of the Rapid Tone on my neck. It's working OK there, I don't clog up on my neck in general.

EDIT: This clogged my NECK! I got a zit on my neck which has never happened to me. I will avoid Neutrogena anti aging products in general from now on: however, I'd recommend the Healthy Skin anti aging and the Healthy Skin eye cream!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 onceuponatime1188 on 1/5/2013 9:27:00 PM more reviews by onceuponatime1188

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Well, I have been using this product for 6 weeks now. My skins reaction in the beginning:
- some light itching
- puffiness
- more oily than usual
Results I have noticed since I have used this wrinkle moisturizer:
- skin looks fresher (also a bit more plump-which is good)
- skin tone has improved
- some wrinkles seemed to have lessened a bit in depth
- skin texture is great, skin feels very silky & smooth & moisturized
I also noticed, that after I cleanse my skin in the morning to get rid off the nightly dose of wrinkle repair, my skin feels very dry afterwards (is that another side effect?)
Overall, I seemed to have hit some sort of a plateau? - there really has not been any other significant improvements, but I will continue to use.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ElleDuncan on 12/25/2012 2:24:00 PM more reviews by ElleDuncan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is not my first anti wrinkle or retinol product.
For reference, I have tended to use products from La Roche Posay, Clarins, Estee Lauder, Shiseido, Vichy, Biotherm, Lancome, and also Olay (sensitive basic lotion is amazing for what it is) and very rarely I find a product from a super organic line that works for the long term without breakouts or sensitivity issues. I have recently been coming out of a period of mostly hormonal/stress induced acne (as in marriage break down acne) and in addition to a super clean diet, I believe this product has helped.
SO.
that said:

This is the only retinol product that has met the following criteria for me:

1)didn't break me out and actually improved current zits/scars, etc

2)feels awesome under my chemical-free day screen (Lise Watier Sun Smart spf 30) which is like a primer kind of minimalist product. SO, yes, I wear this one day AND night because I won't use their day spf chemicals

3) works great layered several hours earlier under my benzoyl peroxide gentle lotion at night

4) is affordable, especially on sale at any drugstore

5) has good packaging where I can get pretty much all the product out (use a q tip near the end there...) and it looks decent enough

6) actually HAS helped with my wrinkles although a period of more dryness, bit of light flaking, and seeming increase in wrinkles happened first week or two. PERSEVERE.

7) GETS ME TONS OF COMPLIMENTS. I went from cosmeticians kind of trying to delicately deal with my acne with me to the same ladies saying, holy cow, what are you using, your skin is glowing and looks awesome! This itself is amazing to me. I am so used to always having acne and the symptoms of skin irritation that go with the treatment of acne....

8) has me wearing basically NO makeup just the primer/spf thing, and a bit of concealer.


I LOVE THIS STUFF. And the eye cream, quickly here, is the only eye cream that I have used for over six months with zero bad news and I have very sensitive eyes.

Well, done, Neutrogena. I don't love a lot of it , but this "higher" end line is excellent.
AND BTW: Dr Wu famous derm in the states to the stars, she recommends this in her book and she really doesn't recommend too many drugstore things.

EDIT: I am still loving this stuff. I briefly left it (one week) for the Neutrogena Original healthy skin one and definitely like this better. I don't care if the retinol is at the end of the list and Paula thinks it's useless; she's dead wrong on this one. It's AWESOME.

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oasdus on 12/5/2012 4:07:00 PM more reviews by oasdus

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I am reviewing this after only 12 nights of use since it claims to give noticeable benefits in one week, such as smoothing fine lines. I did see results in one week (not on fine lines though). I read where the skin of some people got used to it and it didn't work anymore. I'm hoping I'll avoid it by taking a night off from the product now and then.

The consistency of the product is very nice, a luxurious pearlescent lotion that's easy to rub in. It does have a fragrance, but it doesn't bother me.

As I mentioned above, the faint lines have not diminished yet. (I only see the lines under my eyes when I smile or get right up close to the mirror.) I plan to keep using the product and I'll update my review if it helps the lines. This has made other improvements in my skin though, and they were noticeable right away. I still have to wear foundation, but my skin looks so much nicer with my mineral foundation now. I have more of a healthy, luminous glow. Some red marks from acne have faded away while others are looking less obvious. Skin has a more even appearance, and the texture seems more refined. I don't have to use as much concealer. I still have some clogged pores, but it could be the time of the month, so I'll see how it goes over time.

There has been some redness and itching on my neck the morning after using this product there, so besides moisturizing with Nivea, I've started skipping a night here and there with the product on my neck, and that has reduced the irritation. I even put this on my hands at night when I remember, again applying Nivea creme right after.

The main reason I gave this 5 stars is because of what it has done for my chest. I had some discoloration develop from a bad sunburn in 2009. The damage/discoloration bothered me a lot because the area used to be perfectly smooth and clear. In about a week, this product has made a HUGE improvement in the skin there. I am really impressed, happy, and relieved about this. Even if it never returns to pre-burn condition, I'm just thrilled it's looking this good. It's almost as nice looking now as it was before the burn, and I'm not self-conscious about wearing certain tops anymore. I plan to keep using this, perhaps buying the Rapid Tone Repair next time just to see what effect it has with the vitamin C, and maybe I'll alternate the two products.
UPDATE: 3/21/13..I stopped using about a month ago, as I felt it had done all it could do for me. I did not see any improvement in fine lines around eyes, and almost felt like they had worsened a tiny bit. There was some mild flaking above my eyes toward the end of using this. Even though I didn't feel irritation, I guess this product is just too strong for my eye area. There is a separate eye product though and it might be milder, but I never tried it. I also saw no further improvement on facial discoloration. The improvements it seemed to make in skin texture were temporary as well. Anyway, I wanted to go to more natural products which was another reason I discontinued the product. With all that said, the discoloration it helped remove on my chest has NOT come back, so it was great for that purpose even if I only used it temporarily. BTW, I used the other version too (Tone Repair), alternating them at times and couldn't tell much difference between the two products.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 claudiad on 11/19/2012 5:32:00 PM more reviews by claudiad

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First, let me start by saying I'm 47 and still battling acne. Now for the miracle . . this has kept my skin breakout free for almost a month now! My hormonal acne is gone and my skin looks SO much clearer. I have never had such a great response from a skin-care product before. I highly recommend this.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chinadoll13 on 11/19/2012 2:36:00 PM more reviews by chinadoll13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I just have to say wow!! My skin has never looked brighter, pore less and smoother than now. I've been using for over a month now....I started with the day moisturizer with SPF and loved it !! I have oily combo somewhat sensitive skin with some breakouts. I have no wrinkles but I do have some minor sun damage and sometimes I get acne scars which have now vanished. I did peel in the beginning but nothing major. My makeup looks so much better now than before its amazing.... I have baby smooth skin. I recommend A++++++.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stellar on 11/12/2012 3:58:00 PM more reviews by stellar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I should begin by saying that my skin is fairly sensitive to products that contain certain anti-aging ingredients, including retinols. But at the age of 29 I realize how important it is that I start using some prevantitive anti-aging products and I thought that a drugstore product should contain a small enough amount of retinol that it would be okay for my skin. When I started using it, I didn't experience any initial irritation so I continued using it nightly. I could feel a difference in my skin after the first application! My skin felt tighter and soft and I was excited about the results I thought I would experience! Unfortunately, after a few uses I started to experience a burning feeling around my eyes when I'd wash my face or apply makeup. I continued to use it and by the 5th night it was bothering me so much that I had to stop. After that my skin went through a very noticeable flaking and peeling process that left me looking weird for a few days. I'd like to try to use it again as I feel I just did too much too soon, but I'm scared of making my skin look worse! It had become so tight and flakey that all fine lines I had looked fifty times worse. Not exactly what I was hoping for. If I do decide to try it again, I'll report back with results. People with sensitive skin, beware of this product! Be careful with how you use it. One more thing I have to mention is that it doesn't smell too great. It sort of reminds me of the DHT smell in sunless tanners and it takes at least 30 minutes to fade on me.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NatNikki on 11/4/2012 8:28:00 PM more reviews by NatNikki

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've been an avid user of Olay's Total effects moisturizer and am very happy with the results from it but after 3 years of continuous use I found it wasn't as effective as when I first began using it so I decided to try something new. I read a lot of positive reviews all over the Internet about Neutrogena Rapid Wrinkle Repair and decided to give it a shot. I always give new skin care products a good 6-8 weeks of use before I make a verdict. After the first two and a half weeks I did notice some tiny blemishes (which I read many other users experienced) and some redness. Soon after it went away and I continued use until I ran out of the product. I have to say that I'm not very impressed. My skin looks the same as it did when I used Olay and I didn't notice any improvement in my fine lines. I used the eye cream as well because in the reviews I read I saw that many women who used the moisturizer on their eye area found it made the fine lines and crepeness worse...but I noticed no difference as well. The only positives to this product are the price and that it is an okay moisturizer if you have normal skin. For my combo oily/dry skin it wasn't very effective and don't believe the hype about how it can visibly reduce wrinkles after one week. I recently went to get a facial and the aesthetician there told me never to use drug store brand products or products which advertise all over the place because those brands tend to spend more money on their ads than they do on improving their products. 

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jenniferla32 on 10/25/2012 3:19:00 PM more reviews by Jenniferla32

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

*I have the formula with vitamin C*

I really don't do much with my skin, and at 36 (having been a major sun worshipper, suffered acne as a teen, and practically being born with freckles) I know I need to start! I generally wear a moisturizer in the morning (Wrinkle Release), but that is it. Lately, I haven't even been moisturizing :( I have been using this at night for four days and I swear I already see a difference! My lines seem softer, my skin is definitely more even, and I swear the shadowing around my eyes isn't as noticeable! I use two pumps of the lotion (i bet one would do the job), and apply after washing my face. There is a strong (yet pleasant) scent, but I tend to "taste" it awhile since I apply it around my lips. My skin is instantly softer and glows. I haven't experienced any tingling, flaking or drying, and my face doesn't even need a moisturizer in the morning! Already loving this after four days??? I'm sold! Definitely gonna keep up with this!!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Treatments (Face) products