John Frieda • Precision Foam Color • Hair Color

rated 3.3(348 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 bikerchick on 1/27/2014 4:25:00 PM more reviews by bikerchick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is the hair color I love to hate. I have used this stuff many many times and it always leaves a little to be desired. My main reason for continuing to purchase is because it is just so easy to use. My hair is bra strap length thick and wavy and I am able to saturate all my hair very quickly and easily with the foam. The inital results are always great, I use color 3VR, and my hair looks shiny, heathy and the color is beautiful. Then the fading begins. And it fades FAST, within 2 weeks you'd never guess I'd colored my hair. Every single shampoo sends tons of color down the drain. Very depressing. But, against my better judgement, I will probably continue to buy this simply because it is so easy to apply.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marubatt on 1/23/2014 4:02:00 PM more reviews by marubatt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Just dyed my hair in natural light brown 6N yesterday and I would say aside from the expensive price sticker, it is the best hair dye I have tried. I never got good result from home coloring and it is the first time I can dye my hair by myself and my hair turned out so even that you could mistake it for a salon work. I had ombre light brown hair before and decided to get rid of my burnt looking ends. For my medium long hair ( it is at half of my back ), I have to use 2 boxes to cover all my hair. Just remember you would need to work the foam into your hair and massaging it for a good 20 minute.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Dianaphamfatale on 1/12/2014 10:01:00 PM more reviews by Dianaphamfatale

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow. I don't know why this is getting bad reviews - personally it works great, probably the best I've tried. I have very thick long dark brown hair and I used 7N to make it lighter, and it totally worked better than expected. The product is quite nice smelling - I find the others like Loreal or Garnier to be so overpowering. The product is foamy, which is nice and it's so easy to apply. It's seriously minimum mess, which is so different to the other dyes I use.

And the conditioner smells soooo amazing.

It's really worth giving a try, I'm certainly glad I did.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 strawberrybonbon on 1/2/2014 11:04:00 AM more reviews by strawberrybonbon

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I did not like this at all. I was given a coupon to get a free box in the shade of my choice, and had I paid for it, I would have wanted a refund. I have thick hair, and felt that this foam did not offer good coverage at all. Maybe it would work well for someone with hair on the thinner side. Within a week of coloring, it looked like my hair hadn't been colored at all, so I think it didn't give me enough color directly at the roots. (I color my fast growing hair every 3 weeks). My issue seems to be with the consistency of the color...this foam did not work for me. My thicker hair seems to require the liquid with the nozzle bottle to get through my hair and hit all my roots. the foam just doesn't do it. Too bad, since JF usually makes great products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hyacinth289 on 12/31/2013 2:33:00 PM more reviews by hyacinth289

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have recently used this in 3RV for my natural brown-black hair.
It was easy to use, altho it didn't lather as shown in the attached manual but my color came out to be very even.
I couldn't tell the color in the room, but under the sun, it appears to be as the color shown on the box.
I might go with a lighter shade next time, but I am extremely happy with the formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondchick12 on 12/22/2013 11:45:00 PM more reviews by blondchick12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am currently using the shade "Light Golden Brown" and am overall pretty happy. I was previously medium blonde and wanted to go dark blonde but nothing I tried was making a difference. I deciding to go more extreme and enter into the brunette colors but didn't want a "boring" brown. This is why I selected golden and was "warned" that golden = red. However, the color shades offer similar colors that are supposed to be more on the red side this definitely did pull red. I was ok with that but this color is categorized as brilliant brunette, I definitely only got compliments referring to my new red hair.

As a natural blonde I feel the fade was a little faster than I had hoped perhaps 4 weeks instead of 6 I began to notice. However, this was only my first application and my hair dresser said after each time it gets better absorbed.

I would say it depends on your base color if you feel this runs dark. Maybe slightly. But the color I have is gorgeous, even, and shiny. If you don't want to have red tones definitely opt for a different brown without the golden. Great conditioner included as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mig8 on 12/18/2013 10:53:00 PM more reviews by mig8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Dear ladies, I bough this hair colour yesterday for 12$ in Ralph's and OMG, literally OMG and not in the good meaning of it.... this was my very first time I coloured my hair at home and I'm extremely disappointed :((( I had waist long, a little wavy very thick full of volume luxury hair and I always took good care of them (coloured only in Salons and used only Kerastase ) but recently I lost my job and when it came to the cost cutting , beauty salon didn't fall in the urgent necessity bin :) so I went to Ralph's and got this foamy colour in 04 Natural Dark Brown
well now my hair are ruined, they are hard to comb (even the whole tube of conditioner did't help) they are very hard dried up and shapeless... so I definitely don't recommend it no someone with my hair type. Also, girls if anyone knows good hair colour please share I really need it ... and yeah it did't colour grey hair properly now they are something like light blond...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 patriciajazmin on 12/13/2013 8:58:00 AM more reviews by patriciajazmin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just used the color 3n to cover my highlights from this summer and I was happy with the results. My hair is a dark brown almost black naturally, and it matched my roots and covered the highlights with no strong smell and didn't dye any of my skin which usually happens with other hair coloring products. I followed the directions, set my timer, and rinsed. Reading some of these reviews made me nervous but it was easy and the quality is great. My hair feels healthy and it looks gorgeous. I am glad I spent the extras dollars, you get what you pay for.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 byankitty on 12/13/2013 1:23:00 AM more reviews by byankitty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love it, wish it could have more product. It's my go to foam at home color. I really just wish they had a wider variety of colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 celestesong on 12/10/2013 8:37:00 PM more reviews by celestesong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am an at-home hair dye newbie; I've always had mine done at the salon. I finally got tired of spending a small fortune just to be trapped in an ammonia-filled cloud for an hour and thought "Surely, I can do this myself." I honestly cannot tell the difference between the $12.00 I spent on this product and the $100+ that I spend at the salon.

The application process is very easy and makes minimal mess. Basically, if you can lather your hair, you can use this dye. I used the 5A Medium Ash Brown; my hair was already a fairly medium brown and the dye turned it a rich brown-black. I was aiming for a "Lady Mary-from-Downtown Abbey shade" and this delivered it perfectly.

This product also was rather gentle -- for a hair dye, it didn't have a very strong chemical smell. The follow-up conditioner is amazing; I was initially worried as my hair tangled somewhat in the foam lather, but the conditioner made it perfectly silky and smooth. I have fine hair that reaches well past my shoulders and one bottle was more than enough to cover it all.

In short, I think this is a very accessible product that delivers luxurious results. If you are new to at-home hair dyes, this is a really great product to use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair Color products