John Frieda • Precision Foam Color • Hair Color

rated 3.3(351 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 HGL on 3/1/2014 5:14:00 PM more reviews by HGL

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

In my quest to find a nontoxic hair colouring product, I purchased this in 6.5PBN Lightest Cool Almond Brown, which looks like it will be a gorgeous color, to cover gray. I had tried henna awhile back, which nearly destroyed my hair (talk about straw!) and didn't cover the (minimal) gray I had at the time and since this is PPD-free, I bought a box. A heads up, though, I learned 2 things that other girls looking for nontoxic hair color might want to know - first, this product contains sulfites, which some people are allergic to (hence the warning labels on foods that contain them as they are a common migraine and anaphylaxis trigger in susceptible individuals) and second, it contains toluene-2,5 diamine sulfate which, I recently learned upon reading up a bit more, many people who react to PPD also react to. Apparently, it can be abbreviated PTDS or TDS. Apparently 57% of people who react to PPD can tolerate TDS, but that leaves a good percentage of people who do not. I am not allergic to PPD but simply choose not to use it.

I decided to do a little more research and found a few brands that contain no TDS, no PPD, and no sulfites. As much as I want to dye my hair with this today, I have decided I will hold off and just go ahead and get one that does not have the sulfites and TDS. Hope this helps someone who is on the same quest for a nontoxic hair product.

BTW, I was shocked when I read labels at Whole Foods that "organic" and "natural" are completely unrelated to whether a product contains these ingredients. What a racket!

My rating is for the ingredients only (especially the sulfites, totally unnecessary), as I have decided not to use it now that I see the complete list of what is in it. Hope this helps someone avoid the same mistake I made when I purchased it.

If you do decide to purchase this, John Frieda has excellent detailed videos on their website about application that I highly recommend. They also have some color selection tools which confirmed my intuitive color selection for gray coverage. I have read variable review results from this product - I suspect following their video instructions to the letter would improve color outcomes. Worth taking the time to watch (they are short).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PinkPuma on 2/28/2014 8:18:00 AM more reviews by PinkPuma

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is for Luminous natural black
It's super easy to use. No messy drips on the bathroom sink, floor or shower. It doesn't have that overpowering smell most dyes have. I love the smell of the conditioner too. I can't speak much for the color since it's pretty close to my hair color and I just wanted a touch up to not look so mousey. However when I washed it out it seemed like a lot of my hair washed down the drain with it. That may have my fault for not brushing before I used it tho. And when it dried it seemed to kind of frizz my hair out. But it seems fine now. I would probably buy this again because it's so easy and virtually mess free

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Squirrell2040 on 2/15/2014 2:50:00 PM more reviews by Squirrell2040

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have light/med. blonde hair, I wanted to change it up a little bit, so I tried the med. blonde 8N. I compared the color to my color and it would just change the tone of it. Well, it is a light mousy brown. There is no hint of my blonde hair anywhere. I strongly recommend that you do NOT use this color, unless you want to have dull, lifeless, monotone and extremely wrong hair color. This is the WORST HAIR COLOR I have ever used!!!
DO NOT USE this hair color, unless you really like un pleasant surprises.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bikerchick on 1/27/2014 4:25:00 PM more reviews by bikerchick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is the hair color I love to hate. I have used this stuff many many times and it always leaves a little to be desired. My main reason for continuing to purchase is because it is just so easy to use. My hair is bra strap length thick and wavy and I am able to saturate all my hair very quickly and easily with the foam. The inital results are always great, I use color 3VR, and my hair looks shiny, heathy and the color is beautiful. Then the fading begins. And it fades FAST, within 2 weeks you'd never guess I'd colored my hair. Every single shampoo sends tons of color down the drain. Very depressing. But, against my better judgement, I will probably continue to buy this simply because it is so easy to apply.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marubatt on 1/23/2014 4:02:00 PM more reviews by marubatt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Just dyed my hair in natural light brown 6N yesterday and I would say aside from the expensive price sticker, it is the best hair dye I have tried. I never got good result from home coloring and it is the first time I can dye my hair by myself and my hair turned out so even that you could mistake it for a salon work. I had ombre light brown hair before and decided to get rid of my burnt looking ends. For my medium long hair ( it is at half of my back ), I have to use 2 boxes to cover all my hair. Just remember you would need to work the foam into your hair and massaging it for a good 20 minute.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Dianaphamfatale on 1/12/2014 10:01:00 PM more reviews by Dianaphamfatale

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow. I don't know why this is getting bad reviews - personally it works great, probably the best I've tried. I have very thick long dark brown hair and I used 7N to make it lighter, and it totally worked better than expected. The product is quite nice smelling - I find the others like Loreal or Garnier to be so overpowering. The product is foamy, which is nice and it's so easy to apply. It's seriously minimum mess, which is so different to the other dyes I use.

And the conditioner smells soooo amazing.

It's really worth giving a try, I'm certainly glad I did.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 strawberrybonbon on 1/2/2014 11:04:00 AM more reviews by strawberrybonbon

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I did not like this at all. I was given a coupon to get a free box in the shade of my choice, and had I paid for it, I would have wanted a refund. I have thick hair, and felt that this foam did not offer good coverage at all. Maybe it would work well for someone with hair on the thinner side. Within a week of coloring, it looked like my hair hadn't been colored at all, so I think it didn't give me enough color directly at the roots. (I color my fast growing hair every 3 weeks). My issue seems to be with the consistency of the color...this foam did not work for me. My thicker hair seems to require the liquid with the nozzle bottle to get through my hair and hit all my roots. the foam just doesn't do it. Too bad, since JF usually makes great products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hyacinth289 on 12/31/2013 2:33:00 PM more reviews by hyacinth289

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have recently used this in 3RV for my natural brown-black hair.
It was easy to use, altho it didn't lather as shown in the attached manual but my color came out to be very even.
I couldn't tell the color in the room, but under the sun, it appears to be as the color shown on the box.
I might go with a lighter shade next time, but I am extremely happy with the formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondchick12 on 12/22/2013 11:45:00 PM more reviews by blondchick12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am currently using the shade "Light Golden Brown" and am overall pretty happy. I was previously medium blonde and wanted to go dark blonde but nothing I tried was making a difference. I deciding to go more extreme and enter into the brunette colors but didn't want a "boring" brown. This is why I selected golden and was "warned" that golden = red. However, the color shades offer similar colors that are supposed to be more on the red side this definitely did pull red. I was ok with that but this color is categorized as brilliant brunette, I definitely only got compliments referring to my new red hair.

As a natural blonde I feel the fade was a little faster than I had hoped perhaps 4 weeks instead of 6 I began to notice. However, this was only my first application and my hair dresser said after each time it gets better absorbed.

I would say it depends on your base color if you feel this runs dark. Maybe slightly. But the color I have is gorgeous, even, and shiny. If you don't want to have red tones definitely opt for a different brown without the golden. Great conditioner included as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mig8 on 12/18/2013 10:53:00 PM more reviews by mig8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Dear ladies, I bough this hair colour yesterday for 12$ in Ralph's and OMG, literally OMG and not in the good meaning of it.... this was my very first time I coloured my hair at home and I'm extremely disappointed :((( I had waist long, a little wavy very thick full of volume luxury hair and I always took good care of them (coloured only in Salons and used only Kerastase ) but recently I lost my job and when it came to the cost cutting , beauty salon didn't fall in the urgent necessity bin :) so I went to Ralph's and got this foamy colour in 04 Natural Dark Brown
well now my hair are ruined, they are hard to comb (even the whole tube of conditioner did't help) they are very hard dried up and shapeless... so I definitely don't recommend it no someone with my hair type. Also, girls if anyone knows good hair colour please share I really need it ... and yeah it did't colour grey hair properly now they are something like light blond...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair Color products