No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Aspirin Mask • Masks

rated 4.2(2229 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 thereisalwayshope on 1/19/2014 8:01:00 PM more reviews by thereisalwayshope

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Help with acne and preventing blemishes. I add tons of aspirin into my cleanser so I have a salycylic acid cleanser now!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BeauteousLoves on 1/14/2014 11:55:00 AM more reviews by BeauteousLoves

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

love this fot reducing the size of my pores and controling oil. use it about once a week or I mix it into my cleanser

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Biioniic on 1/12/2014 9:11:00 AM more reviews by Biioniic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS! I'm trying this to get rid of blackheads but it's made my skin look so nice! I use 6 moderate strength tablets and one lukewarm teaspoon of water and mix and leave on for 15 minutes and it's so nice!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zvirbalas on 1/9/2014 9:18:00 AM more reviews by zvirbalas

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Very good product, especially for those with acne prone skin.

I use it as a wash/mask. Wash my face, then put this all over the areas I need and massage very gently it for about 30 sec. Then wash away.
Sometimes on my period I get a lot of breakouts, It always helps, then I use it as a mask, I put it on and wait for about 3 min.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lupita465 on 12/31/2013 1:47:00 PM more reviews by lupita465

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ok.... I am doing this mask right now....12/31/13 at 12 pm...I have maintained the 3 ingredients to not over complicate the steps
6-low dose aspirin(only ones in the house) unfortunately they did have a coating so I was stuck an extra 5 min mashing them up.
I used water since I didn't have any yogurt
Lastly I used honey--because I didn't wanna feel so dried out.

Ok so I mixed it all up and it turned out a bit liquidy but not to worry because I could add more aspirin or honey....but liquid is fine for me....
Let's just start by saying that with honey, everything gets so sticky!!!! Ugh!!! It is 12:06pm and I am feeling the stickiness on my fingers! I am constantly hydrating my skin as I feel it becoming a bit dry....I am leaving it for 15 min to see any redness disappear or reduced.....and I have two broken into pimples that I just want to shut! 12:08 pm The smell of the honey at first was nice but now it is intoxicating me!!!! If it wasn't for its "skin glowing-moisturizing properties" I would have taking it out of my recipe....
12:13 pm I can see some evened out skin and I will make my way into the bathroom to undo this mess and see my results!
12:16 I can see some improvement... Not much but the results are nice to see since I didn't have much hope on it. The redness on my broken pimples lessened and instead looks now pink(better than red)
12:25 pm I got carried away doing other things that I completely forgot to put lotion on my face!!!! My face felt tight, since I have dry skin--not the best feeling!!! But, the redness decreased a little more, and i don't know if I look lighter Or brighter because the redness disappeared (due to the asp) or because of the honey.... Anyway, I look almost highlighted !!! I use the original Olay active hydrating beauty fluid lotion (that's a mouthful!-just call it facial moisturizer!!! >=\) I shall retry it in the summer when my skin becomes a little more oily...

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Bribear97 on 12/13/2013 12:29:00 PM more reviews by Bribear97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I read online that aspirin can help acne calm down. I decided to dissolve a few uncoated tablets and mix a bit of honey in. I gently applied to my face and let sit for about 8 min. Then I gently exfoliated it off. The day after my face was smooth and more calm. I've been using it for 3 years with amazing results. I only use it 2 times a week or else my skin gets immune to it. After all Ihighly rrecommend it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kylenixon12 on 11/29/2013 9:30:00 AM more reviews by Kylenixon12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have acne prone skin, where i take antibiotics and sometimes use Epiduo cream. After a recent break up, combined with university related stress i have a major break out on my chin. Even cystic acne which i never ever had before. This really damaged my self esteem as I have had pretty clear skin for the last year; to the point where i wore a scarf to cover my chin (luckily it's winter so this was acceptable) but still, not my plan. I had tried this a few other times with less impressive results, however this time, i made sure i really covered the areas i had problems with. I crushed 8 dispersible aspirin tablets (made sure i crushed them into as small as possible) then added 5 drops of water, until it was kind of a foam/paste, then applied it to the areas where i had problems.

I felt a little bit of a burn on my worst area once i applied, but not where it was uncomfortable (if its just a small burning feeling, hang in there, i promise it will help!). After 30 mins i removed the aspirin mask without scrubbing, just gently with a face sponge, warm water first, then cold water, and instantly, the marks from where my cystic acne had been had faded to massive degree and the few active spots had reduced in size. After this, there was a little bit of redness still, so i applied aloe vera gel, this reduced the redness and some how seemed to shrink the spots even more (which surprised me a lot!). I honestly swear by this, and hope it works as well for other people, as i have somewhere to be tonight and was hoping i wouldn't look like a red, mess!

This really helped me and helped me get some of my self esteem back! Some other reviews i found less detailed and therefore not so helpful, so i hope sharing my experience will help you to do this!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* redmakeup on 11/18/2013 9:30:00 PM more reviews by redmakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

It works. I dissolve it in 2 drops of water and apply it on blemishes. It really helps inflammation and helps them heal. I really like it. Its borderline amazing. It tends to dry out and flake off so I also mix some lotion with it so it stays moist. Alternative is to mix it with honey or yogurt. Love this secret weapon in dealing with acne.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bluebelleyes on 11/14/2013 11:13:00 PM more reviews by bluebelleyes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Disclaimer: I've only used this mask twice so far. And let me just say...HALLELUYAH! I used this as a spot treatment, on my deeeeeep pimples; one so deep and large the entire apple of my cheek on one side was being puffed out. Anyway, somehow, someway that little asprin pill made that pimple less inflamed when BP couldn't reach that deeply. Other spot treatments have always just dried out the skin and made it worse before it got better, but asprin just got the job done! I'm so so pleased! I buy the coated asprin, rinse off the coating under the tap (careful to get it all) and then crush the water soaked asprin onto a clean surface (it's super easy once it's wet) then I take a q-tip and apply it to my spots for however long / overnight. Shrunk the pores, didn't dry, reduced redness, and shrunk the inflammation. New holy grail spot treatment for sure!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ancora on 11/14/2013 9:01:00 AM more reviews by Ancora

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Yes, I'm also in the fan club! I strive to use an aspirin mask once a week, or at least every other week, to keep my dehydrated, sensitive skin glowy and smooth.

Here's my way of doing it (after experimenting quite a bit):

I put some tablets in a small bowl. If I have Greek yoghurt, I use the whey that often separates from the creamy yoghurt, dripping a little on each tablet, at which point they will soften and easily dissolve. I then add some of the yoghurt, and half a teaspoon or so of firm honey. When combined, this makes a creamy textured mask, which I slather all over my face. When it feels dry, I rinse it up and follow with a rich moisturiser, or a soothing mask, depending on my skin's condition.

I sometimes use milk when I don't have yoghurt, and sometimes a couple of drops of rosehip or olive oil, but the main ingredients are always three:

1) Aspirin, for the salicylic acid, which penetrates into the pores, dissolving sebum and dirt,
2) Some kind of dairy product for the lactic acid to exfoliate, and
3) Honey for the antioxidants and moisturising properties, and for the glycolic acid, which regulates skin balance.

I'm really not a DIY kind of person, but this mask really works wonders, and is so very easy to make fresh.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Masks products