No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Aspirin Mask • Masks

rated 4.2(2222 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 bluebelleyes on 11/14/2013 11:13:00 PM more reviews by bluebelleyes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Disclaimer: I've only used this mask twice so far. And let me just say...HALLELUYAH! I used this as a spot treatment, on my deeeeeep pimples; one so deep and large the entire apple of my cheek on one side was being puffed out. Anyway, somehow, someway that little asprin pill made that pimple less inflamed when BP couldn't reach that deeply. Other spot treatments have always just dried out the skin and made it worse before it got better, but asprin just got the job done! I'm so so pleased! I buy the coated asprin, rinse off the coating under the tap (careful to get it all) and then crush the water soaked asprin onto a clean surface (it's super easy once it's wet) then I take a q-tip and apply it to my spots for however long / overnight. Shrunk the pores, didn't dry, reduced redness, and shrunk the inflammation. New holy grail spot treatment for sure!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ancora on 11/14/2013 9:01:00 AM more reviews by Ancora

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Yes, I'm also in the fan club! I strive to use an aspirin mask once a week, or at least every other week, to keep my dehydrated, sensitive skin glowy and smooth.

Here's my way of doing it (after experimenting quite a bit):

I put some tablets in a small bowl. If I have Greek yoghurt, I use the whey that often separates from the creamy yoghurt, dripping a little on each tablet, at which point they will soften and easily dissolve. I then add some of the yoghurt, and half a teaspoon or so of firm honey. When combined, this makes a creamy textured mask, which I slather all over my face. When it feels dry, I rinse it up and follow with a rich moisturiser, or a soothing mask, depending on my skin's condition.

I sometimes use milk when I don't have yoghurt, and sometimes a couple of drops of rosehip or olive oil, but the main ingredients are always three:

1) Aspirin, for the salicylic acid, which penetrates into the pores, dissolving sebum and dirt,
2) Some kind of dairy product for the lactic acid to exfoliate, and
3) Honey for the antioxidants and moisturising properties, and for the glycolic acid, which regulates skin balance.

I'm really not a DIY kind of person, but this mask really works wonders, and is so very easy to make fresh.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Heath32 on 11/10/2013 3:50:00 PM more reviews by Heath32

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Use this *sparingly.* No more than once a week; when I first discovered the aspirin mask trend, I went crazy and used it several days in a row - big mistake, as it will irritate and dry out your skin. I have very clog-prone skin, and this is a great way to exfoliate effectively - the ingredients of the aspirin chemically slough off dead skin, and the physical roughness is like microdermabrasion. I don't do anything fancy - just buy a bottle of uncoated aspirin for about 99 cents and it'll last you forever. I only use it in the shower now; it's more effective that way, since the steam and warm water will open your pores and soften the skin on your face. I take a small plastic cup, put three or four tablets in the bottom, add a few drops of water, and let it sit while I wash my hair, etc. By then the tablets have softened and I use my finger to mash them up into a paste that I apply to my face and let sit for a few minutes. Then, very, very gently, without pressing or scrubbing, I massage my face in circular motions, especially in places where I get blackheads and whiteheads. I rinse it off, then usually skip any acne treatment that night and just use moisturizer. It's gentler to your skin in the long run, because you're exfoliating with something really effective once or twice a week, instead of constantly irritating it every day with a store-bought scrub or brush. And it's the only thing that has actually made the blackheads and large pores on and around my nose noticeably shrink. I can still see my pores (unless you're a doll or airbrushed, that's normal), but they're so small! And skin-colored! They haven't looked this good since before high school. Yay for aspirin!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* troo12 on 11/3/2013 3:46:00 PM more reviews by troo12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So, this wrecked my face. My nose and cheeks to be specific. I didn't have uncoated aspirin, so i smashed them up and picked out the coating pieces. I mixed it with a little water and some honey, It dried up my face so bad. I moisturized like crazy after (as I do every morning and night) and kept applying whenever it felt dried out again (multiple times a day). but it did help my blemish marks so it was a sad moment. That was a few months ago and it took over a month to restore my skin.
I wanted to try again because it had cleared the major blemishes, but obviously not all my face. This time, I was smart and rinsed the coating off. A WHOLE lot easier. Then I dabbed it only only my blemishes and not any on my cheeks or nose.
It still dries out my skin but in a crunch, it does work. But try it out on a spot first!!!!!!!!!!!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* adrenirushxaudri on 8/20/2013 1:08:00 AM more reviews by adrenirushxaudri

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm reviewing for the aspirin MASK but I never let this stuff sit on my face for very long and it does the trick. I buy bottles of uncoated aspirin at the dollar store and once home, crush them up onto a coffee filter with the back of a spoon (from one to four or five, depending on how "scrubby" I want my scrub to be) and the little teeny tiny bits of aspirin go to work! I work up a lather of my facial soap (Dove Sensitive Skin Beauty Bar) and then use the coffee filter to dump out what I've crushed up - this looks very suspicious when no one really knows what you're doing, lol - and mix it into a tight paste. That goes on and I scrub my face and it instantly feels softer and looks bright. Unlike sugar, the particles are smaller and less likely to cause scratching. I notice breakouts leaving a bit earlier and scarring getting lighted with each use.

Overall, a cheap, efficient way to get smooth, glowing skin on the fly. I wouldn't wear this as a mask because the skin absorbs everything and I'm still not too fine with five aspirin sitting on my face for too long, but as a scrub, it works wonderfully!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cetoyant23 on 8/18/2013 2:24:00 AM more reviews by cetoyant23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've been doing the aspirin mask for almost 5 years now & I still love what it does for my face. I used to do it once a week, but I started to forget & didn't have much time so I'd stop for months here & there. But when I go back to it, my skin just feels so soft it's absolutely incredible. My only issue is when I let it sit & dry on my face, the particles flake off & irritate my nose when I breathe, making me sneeze & it goes Everywhere! I know that it IS called a mask but in a rush I prefer to just add it to my facial cleanser, I use 2 pills & just lightly scrub for a little over a minute. I still get the benefit, it's not as completely exfoliating as leaving it on longer, but it does what I need it to do, so I Love It!!!!

Edit *June 2014*: I still love adding it to cleanser, but I've discovered the beauty of Organic Unpasteurized Honey, it's so soothing with aspirin, I can't believe I'm only using it now!! I still do this once a week, sometimes more if I feel my skin can handle it and I'm breaking out.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sammieemeeow on 7/29/2013 3:10:00 AM more reviews by sammieemeeow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Well used the basic 5-6 aspirin tablets with a little bit of water... Rubbed in a circular motion for about 5mins or more. After my face was so smooth so im using this as a exfoliator. I only used this once so far but it made my skin soft and not break out one bit of(big plus!!!) im gonna use this this again this week! I recommend if you want soft skin!

I also have bad scars so important debating about trying the aloe gel with aspirin so i hope it will lighten up my scars and dark marks!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maggiealisa on 7/7/2013 11:18:00 PM more reviews by maggiealisa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

LASJDFLAKJ;L how did I ever forget about this? I used to use this mask (aspirin dissolved in lemon juice, honey) all the time a few years ago, and my skin was always good to go. Lately (past year or so), I've been stressed, which makes my face go insane. I ran across this mask online last night, so I decided to try it out again..I'm so glad I did. This is the only thing that makes my skin this smooth, this bright, and my pores this small. I'm SO so so happy! I'm going to do this every other day or two until my face is back to its old self.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LaurenC25 on 7/5/2013 5:39:00 PM more reviews by LaurenC25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Id been reading about the mask a lot, and being a total junkie for that miracle that will FINALLY clear up my acne i decided to give this a go.
I followed a recipe found online that followed the standard idea of how to do it, left it on for the required time and washed off.
First of all my skin felt tight and dry, like all the oil and natural moisture had been stripped off. But, i crossed my fingers, went to bed to wait and see what happened in the morning.

The next morning, it was so much worse. My skin was clearly mad at me for putting it through what is a pretty harsh treatment, and i had broken out everywhere. My skin was red, sore and angry. It tooks more than a week to settle down, and i had to wear so much more make up to be able to look presentable at work, which clearly didnt help the situation.

This clearly works for some people, but was a massive no no for me. My advice, if you're not sure, dont use too much aspirin and take it easy your first time - dont leave it on too long!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yaytaytay on 6/28/2013 3:52:00 AM more reviews by yaytaytay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

cheap and it works. Dries up pimples! Only complaint is it can be messy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Masks products