Burt's Bees • Tinted Lip Balm • Lip Treatments

rated 3.9(97 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 bloou on 2/17/2013 8:03:00 AM more reviews by bloou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i think this is an awesome product! it moisturizes while giving a hint of color. people who expect this to have the pigmentation similar to the lip shimmers would be disappointed, but the lip balm aspect of this product is amazing! if people want more color, then definitely go for the lip shimmers. but if people are fine with a hint of color, this will deliver. first of, the formula is so smooth. if burt's bees had a colorless balm in this formula, i would definitely be buying. second, it moisturizes my lips with no waxy texture. third, i love the scent which i couldn't describe. i am a huge fan of BB lip products in general- i love the lip balms and lip shimmers- and this made me love BB lip products even more. the only thing that held me back for a while in purchasing is the price. it is kinda expensive. hopefully, they would come out with special offers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NotRichEnough on 2/11/2013 9:51:00 PM more reviews by NotRichEnough

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Not only does this lip balm have NO staying power, after a week or so of daily use it actually made my lips dry and painful, which they have never been before. Guess it's back to the Bonne Bell Lipsmackers

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kolwink on 2/11/2013 6:25:00 PM more reviews by kolwink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Gosh, I'm conflicted. I like this product very much, but it's basically 5x the price of my old standby. What to do?

I always used to stock up on the 3-pack of ChapStick's Lip Moisturizer (the dark blue tube with the white cap) at Target ... I think it was $3-4 for the pack?


(BTW: ingredients for ChapStick's Lip Moisturizer are, as far as I can tell:

Octinoxate 7.5%; Oxybenzone (sunscreen) 3.5%; White petrolatum 40.7%; inactive ingredients: aloe barbadensis leaf extract, carnauba wax, cetyl alcohol, fragrance, isocetyl stearate, isopropyl lanolate, isopropyl myristate, lanolin, methylparaben, mineral oil, paraffin, propylparaben, tocopheryl linoleate/oleate, vitamin E, white wax)


Then I got the Burt's Bees "Tinted Lip Balm Duo", $10 for 2 tubes. That *is* 5x more expensive. Maybe I can square it with my conscience by giving something else up ...


I played around with Rose, Red Dahlia, Hibiscus, and Pink Blossom; ultimately, Rose looked the best, I thought. I love the hint of color; it enhances my lip color in that great "like my lips but better" way.


I'm also a fan of the way my lips feel after applying this product. Whereas the good ol' ChapStick made my lips feel slick- as if the petroleum jelly was sitting on the surface without penetrating- the Burt's Bees oils do seem to sink into my actual skin and leave my lips softer.


However: during the past 15 minutes, I applied the balm, thought that I was pretty happy with the product, decided to write this review, started writing this review, handled a quick work task, came back to the review, and realized that my lips were totally dry. That brief staying power kind of blows. When I'm essentially paying $1 for a tube (ChapStick), I don't care ... but it stings a bit more with the higher-priced Burt's Bees.


Quite a quandary. I am going to sit here and smell the Burt's Bees tube (can't identify the fragrance, but I do like it) and ponder this deep problem.


3-star rating due to short staying power;
3-star price rating (oh come ON, Burt, you know this is edging towards over-priced-ness);
1-star packaging rating for extra and unnecessarily (and misleadingly) large cardboard tube used to house an absolutely standard-sized 0.15oz tube.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 prettyparul on 1/22/2013 3:57:00 AM more reviews by prettyparul

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

The so called tint in the balm is non existent! I bought red dahlia since it's supposed to be the darkest tint & I have dark lips. I honestly cannot tell ANY color at all!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mooneyes89 on 1/14/2013 more reviews by mooneyes89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Hands down the most moisturizing lip product I have ever used. Way better than the non-pigmented lip balms! They feel buttery and rich, last a loooong time, and look juicy!

*Honeysuckle- Nude, amazing! (slight orange undertone and lighter than caramel daisey)
*Tiger Lily- Secod best!! peach nude
*Hibiscus- medium orange pink
*Pink Blossom- BEST! pretty candy pink, smells like bubblegum
*Rose- sheer light red, smells like red licorice
*Red Dahlia- sheer dark red

New collection: (no smell, and more sheer)
*Petunia- light pink, almost nude (unfortunatly), no smell. I really thought this was going to be a pretty pink, but it too light and washes out my face!!
*Caramel Daisey- true medium brown, no undertone like honeysuckle
*Sweet Violet- a bright medium purpelish pink


My favorite are pink blossom, honey suckle, and tiger lily. Red dahlia would look good on anyone, hibiscus would look good on medium skin tones, and rose I just dont like on my light skin tone, too bright of red.

Just bought caramel daisey and sweet violet, I love them! They both look amazing on my skin tone and probably any other!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jetaime on 1/13/2013 8:22:00 PM more reviews by Jetaime

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried this product in Petunia with a $1.50 off coupon at Rite-Aid. I have to admit the packaging drew me in as well as the desire for a "your lips but better" look. I was surprised to see the the cardboard packaging is merely a tube to hold a smaller tube of lip balm in your typical packaging. To me, the cardboard packaging was a waste and made me think I would getting a lot more product than I actually did. I don't know if others caught on right away about the packaging. I will reuse the cardboard tube but it still seems silly to me.

I love the petunia color. It's a really nice cool pink shade that makes me lips look healthy and youthful. The texture of the lip balm is smooth and moisturizing, not at all waxy or tacky. Like most lip balms, it's staying power isn't much. I don't mind having to reapply since the color is so nice and flattering. I would definitely repurchase this product but only with a coupon or sale because I think $7 is a bit high.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LDenise1 on 1/13/2013 8:02:00 PM more reviews by LDenise1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am absolutely in love with this product! After years of trying to find the perfect lip color, I found 2: Rose and Pink Blossom. Pink Blossom is perfect to wear every day and Rose is great for the evening (but it can be worn during the day as well!) This product is the best of both worlds because it moisturizes as well as gives off great color. The shimmer is amazing too because it's not that cheap sparkly shimmer you find in some lip products, but rather a dewy fresh finish. Must buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* noname101 on 12/4/2012 12:45:00 PM more reviews by noname101

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have three of these- Red Dahlia (dark red) Hibiscus (pinkier corally red) and Sweet Violet (purplish lighter pink).

At first I liked these- natural, nice discreet "I'm not makeup" packaging, good colors.

They look very nice on the lip- good texture and finish.

My problem is that they are not moisturizing at all. They also taste a bit odd.

I will finish these up but probably won't repurchase

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Buller on 12/1/2012 4:24:00 AM more reviews by Buller

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love those lp balms, i bought a set of 2 one is Rose and the other is Pink blossom.i really really love them i'm from Scandinavia and in the weather here really dry my lips and i tried many balms before i heard of Burt's bees..i wont buy other lip balms in the future but those tinted burt bees balms.they make my soft soft and smooth,and they have a hint of a nice soft colour into them i really like that,i do not like lip gloss or lipstick that much,those ones add a nice natural colour to my lips..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mladkins on 11/24/2012 8:17:00 AM more reviews by mladkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Right now they have gift packs containing two of these for $9.99. So of course I couldn't resist on my last trip to Target. I've been curious about these but my disappoint with the lip shimmers kept me from purchasing. These tinted balms are a much nicer product in my opinion! They feel lovely and smooth on the lips and I don't detect any dry feeling once they've worn off. My advice is to go for the darker colors, as they are very sheer. The set I got contained red dahlia and hibiscus, a reddish color and warm pink respectively. Again, they are very sheer! Don't expect a lot of pigment or you will be disappointed. But if you are like me and like a slight tint to enhance your lips without looking too made up I think you'll be pretty satisfied with these.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Lip Treatments products