Josie Maran Cosmetics • Matchmaker • Foundations

rated 3.3(96 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PianoGirl1985 on 7/28/2013 10:08:00 AM more reviews by PianoGirl1985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

*UPDATE*
I applied this foundation over my Tarte BB cream primer this morning and oh my gosh, I love how it makes my skin look! The primer definitely made a difference in terms of coverage since now it can build to medium (almost) full coverage. I did notice a slight dewiness after 3 hours but with a setting powder it is easily fixed. The foundation and the primer made my skin look so fresh and soft, blurring out imperfections and small lines.

So I got a sample of this foundation at Sephora and was color matched perfectly (light/medium because I have NC 20-25 skin with yellow undertones). If you are not olive/yellow undertone skin gal, do NOT buy this shade! People complain for turning orange and that's the reason why. If you are cool/pink undertone (possibly even neutral) get the fail/light (or at least ask for both samples and see which one matches you better).
I gave it 4 stars because of the price and for how really almost transparent it looks on the skin. For those of you who need/want medium coverage you will not get it with this product.
My personal belief is, if you take a good care of your skin you don't need a foundation to cover flaws. Of course there are extreme cases of skin conditions that are just difficult to control, so that's a completely different situation.
If you are someone with good skin and minimal amounts of dark spots/acne scars then you will probably like this product. It is extremely light weight and just adds a glow to the face.

I am an oily/combo skin and actually like this foundation, it did not seem to make me shinier. However, I still have to use a setting powder but I also have to do that with every single foundation out there, so this is no different. The only thing I may say is that since it contains Argan oil it controls the sebum production (remember oil cuts oil) so my skin feels truly balanced (in my opinion absolutely perfect for combination skin girls like myself).

I have applied this over my favorite Andalou un-tinted BB cream and since the BB cream provides a natural SPF of 30 plus acts as an oil control product, both the foundation and BB cream work awesome together. I am also going to try to apply the foundation over my Tarte's BB cream (the primer one) and see how that combination works as well.

All in all, it's a very nice product and like with a lot of them I am going to be repurchasing it through Ebay because it's always cheaper that way. If you are oily or combo skin make sure to try with your mattifying or oil controlling products just in case.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* faireyfantom on 6/25/2013 10:44:00 AM more reviews by faireyfantom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation performed much better than expected. I got this in light/medium and it was a great match for my NC25 skin. I was very impressed by the coverage (says a lot because I like FULL coverage) and there was minimal product transfer which is more than I can say for many of the heavy duty, long lasting foundations I've tried recently. Nice finish. It did not break me out and it felt comfortable on my skin all day. With a light coat of powder over it was beautiful.

The problem? The foundation pigments separated and settled into my pores over time. Not a good look. Over any primer I used, it was worse, never actually mixing all the way.

My personal experience with argan oil is that it is not particularly moisturizing. I use it on my hands because it does seem to have restorative/healing properties, but not moisturizing. I've used it on my face, hair, etc. So, this "serum" foundation did not feel or perform as I expect a serum to which is fine because I hate combo products. I have more control over my skin care with separate products.

Overall, this is not a keeper for me. It is overpriced. I would easily rate this 5 lippies and overlook the price if it were improved so that the pigments did not separate. If you have small/no pores, this is worth a look. It is easy to apply and suprising better than I thought.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cccrid on 6/10/2013 6:30:00 PM more reviews by cccrid

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have very sensitive skin, which is prone to congestion on the cheeks and dryness around the nose and chin. I was apprehensive about using an oil based product on my skin, so i must admit that it sat in my drawer for a couple of months.... Now I can't live without this product! It gives a beautiful glow, unlike any other foundation or matchmaster that I haved tried previously. Yes, the coverage is light, but it turns out I don't need so much coverage for daily wear, as my skin has calmed and improved significantly! For special events, I will revert back to wearimg my MAC select foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sonne82 on 6/8/2013 3:55:00 PM more reviews by Sonne82

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love, love, love this foundation! I bought it about 7 months ago and I didn't like it too much in the beginning, I have acne-prone skin and it's very oily and sensitive. First I thought it aggravated my acne so I stopped using it. In the meantime I've changed my face products, ie. started using Dr. Dennis Gross' Alpha Beta Daily Face Peel (1+2) and PTR 10% glycolic hydrating gel and my skin improved tremendously to say the least! Anyway, I've started using JM matchmaker again about 1.5 months ago and I am in love with it, it's the perfect colour match and my skin looks dewy, still have to blot during the day once or twice, but definitely have no reaction to this outstanding foundation. It hydrates my skin and makes it very smooth and soft. I really hope they will not discontinue it since I will buy it for the next years to come!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PaulaNC on 5/31/2013 10:56:00 PM more reviews by PaulaNC

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

UPDATE: Ordered, and the texture is grainy and the color "matching" is different, much more yellow. The finish is also a very flat matte. It's odd, but the sample in the foil packet was much better than this. Really disappointed. Rating lowered from 4 to 2.

After a recent purchase at Sephora, I received a sample of this. I tried it today and I'm in love. Honestly, I haven't used anything so perfect for me in years. The color is light/medium, and I'm more light. It came out of the foil packet completely white, but morphed into exactly the color of my skin, and gave me the most perfect, velvety non-aging finish. It covers my large pores, evens my skin, and wore well throughout a hot, humid day. I'm buying this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roaringkat on 5/30/2013 3:09:00 PM more reviews by roaringkat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation! I'm a mother of two toddlers so life is very busy, I don't have time on a daily basis to spend on perfecting my concealer and foundation (you know, that perfect combination on flawless but natural). This foundation does have a sheer coverage but I find its perfect for everyday. It really is more like a skin perfecter in the sense that you look like your not wearing makeup, just that you have a naturally amazing skin tone. If I need more coverage I put on concealer to look a bit more "made up." TIP: if using concealer underneath use a concealer that perfectly matches your skin tone, not a lighter one or the matchmaker with match the light concealer :p

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BeFineFilipina on 5/19/2013 12:44:00 AM more reviews by BeFineFilipina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Got a sample from Sephora...I took a chance and used it on my face for going out to an important outdoor event today. It was a hot, sweaty day and four hours later it still looked fresh! I usually break out in a sweat on my T zone but there was zero shine when I got back home. I was impressed, because I didn't set it with powder at all. All I used was her argan sunscreen underneath...and applied this on top with a soft blending puff/sponge.

If it wasn't soo expensive, I'd definitely buy a full sized bottle.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Noelle07 on 5/15/2013 1:23:00 PM more reviews by Noelle07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'll start off by saying i have only used this once because I got a tiny sample with my last sephora purchase. Being that I got it for free, I didn't have a choice in colors so they sent the light/medium. It is a little bit too dark for me, since I am very fair, but i expected that. It sort of has a bit of an orange tint. My skin issues are eczema and very break out prone skin. My breakouts have been under control recently because I have been using Retin-a, but that in turn, makes my eczema and dryness not so great. I was having a particularly dry day so I decided to try this stuff out figuring it would be moisturizing. On the parts where my skin is dry (forehead and neck) it does make those patches look a bit orange. BUT this could once again be because of the too dark shade for my face. However, where I am not dry (my cheeks, nose), it looks great! my pores are minimized and I look dewy all day without being oily. I did use Ulta brand mineral veil over it though, so without that it may be oily. I wish they would tell you what some of the ingredients are though, I am not very versed in chemistry so I have no idea what Polymethylsilsesquioxane is. I am not 100% sure I would buy this again, because it doesn't seem to be very much better than my neutrogena healthy skin in terms of finish and stay. And the price (42$) is a bit much. I have bought MUFE HD which is the same price, however, that product was basically the same thing as my neutrogena, minus any spf. So that turned me off to spending a lot on foundation. I think I may get another sample in the correct color next time Im in sephora though and then take it from there. This makeup would probably be best for people who don't have many skin issues though. It isn't going to cover blemishes, and it will probably not do much justice for oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hanns93 on 4/5/2013 12:05:00 AM more reviews by Hanns93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
- Made with high quality argon oil, (fantastic for your skin)
- It's WITHOUT: Parabens, Sulfates, Synthetic Fragrances,
Phthalates, GMOs, Triclosan.
- It's completely HD! A very subtle finish.
- No need to struggle finding a shade, it adjusts to your own color.
- This stuff seriously clears acne. For real.
- All natural and organic ingredients. Clear conscience!

Cons:
- Not the cheapest product.
- No SPF :(
- Probably not as much product as some are used to. You'll will have to
repurchase more often.
- Not very full coverage.

I'm not sure why this is getting so many bad reviews. You HAVE to keep in mind, that this is NOT a foundation for coverage. so many people are complaining about it, but the great thing about this foundation is that its practically skincare too. So eventually you wont HAVE to wear heavy foundation. I got so many complements about my skin after using this for just over a week!



3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* isavella on 3/15/2013 3:10:00 PM more reviews by isavella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have the powder version of this in Light/Medium. It provides lighter but decent coverage (I usually wear it with a tinted moisturizer underneath, but it's passable on its own on good days). The package is a pretty rose gold metallic compact, with the application sponge separated from the actual powder to keep it clean.


Positives: Easy to use with nice coverage, natural satiny finish, good ingredients, didn't break me out.


Negatives: High price point, definitely oxidized, no oil control (in winter even), is very softly milled so powder flies everywhere and pan is hit really soon. Seriously, it usually takes me a year to finish a pressed foundation, but I'm almost totally done with this 2 months after purchase. That + the high price + oxidation are the real buzzkills. It's a nice product, but I won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Josie Maran Cosmetics products

More Foundations products