New York Color • Smooch Proof Lip Stain (All) • Lips

rated 3.9(112 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 organicmoon on 7/18/2013 6:55:00 PM more reviews by organicmoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I like this stuff. So no it does not last 16 hours and usually it pisses me off when companies say that about their products but I still like this. I have it in the shade Never Ending Nude and got it for $2-$3 at my local Rite Aid. I have tried putting this on numerous ways and I think I found what works best. I have large lips that dry easily so they must be moisturized however, lipstains are not known for moisture so...I dab just a tiny bit of balm on my lips and rub in well. Then I use the fine point on this baby to outline my lips first which is nice to be able to do. Then dab on the color. Making sure I get the corners of my mouth. Let this dry for 60 seconds then dab just a little more balm on top. I don't mind the extra work b/c I save money with this product. I would not recommend using a heavy oil based lip balm. I tried using my fav lip balm Mocha Java from Chagrin Valley and it made the color fleck off b/c the oils were trying to penetrate to my lips. It does work well with most Chapsticks and I had great results using it with Carmex Moisture Plus in the skinny silver tube. After all this my lips are not really nude and it might have something to do with my pigmented lips but not all of it. It's more of a flushed rose color that works well with my fair complexion. I will be checking out other colors.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bubbles98 on 7/12/2013 12:50:00 PM more reviews by Bubbles98

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I love this so much, i usually just wear chapstick to school but im trying to spice my makeup up for summer and spring and this is perfect. Lasts all day for me and doesnt dry my lips out. Will deffinately get more colours

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrygyrl on 6/28/2013 4:30:00 PM more reviews by countrygyrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is one product I will have to disagree with "the cosmetic cop" Paula Begoun on. Not that its bad per say, its just not as great as she reviewed it to be (sorry Paula, but truly, I ain't got nothing but love for you!). Anyway I bought this in "Rock on Ruby" hoping it would be a long wearing, almost touch up free alternative to my red lipstick. NOT! Now, Its a great red, very neutral and natural looking true red, quick drying, light and perfectly matte. I love the color. I do like the feel , I can't feel it at all on my lips, and I do like the marker type application. However its not as presice as I thought- the tip of my marker holds no color so I need to use the sides and I must build it up to get good color saturation. I store it top down and still feel like it not "wet" enough. It feels light and not really drying but in my case it was gone in an hour or so! NO GOOD! I get my .99 cent NYC retro red to last longer than that and this stuff is $5 bucks! So what I have done to obtain red lipstick perfection is to use my Smooch Proof Lip Stain as a base for my lipstick. I apply, let dry, apply my retro red, fix with a lipbrush, blot and reapply then blot again (I prefer matte red lips) and I have perfect red lips with maybe only one touch up per day. So while both NYC products aren't perfect in themselves the combination of them gives me my perfect red I have so longed for. I will repurchase Smooch Proof- for use as a base only with my retro red- and this only when Rite-aid has their usual 40% off NYC sale and until (maybe) I can truly find my ONE perfect red lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Primpology on 6/28/2013 2:07:00 PM more reviews by Primpology

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this stuff. It's perfect for an on the go lip, an at home lip, a I don't give a poop lip, and those who can't keep lipstick on. This is perfect for summer. I apply a few coats, let it dry and top it with a lip balm and I'm good to go for hours. It's perfect for your beach tote or purse and is easy to apply. I have it in Persistant Pink (my fave) and Never Ending Nude. I might pick up a third today just for more variety.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jenngzm on 6/27/2013 2:28:00 PM more reviews by Jenngzm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

First of all,this product will b drying on the lips- its a lip stain not a gloss stain or balm stain , like a marker you are painting your lips. With that being said, these are great if you are looking for color, they do dry fast so try to work quickly or you'll get streaks. Make sure to exfoliate before then put chapstick on and blend with your fingers. If you have pigmented lips the color may chnage but it will look more natural, like you ate a popsicle. These arent meant to be opaque, thats what a longwearing lipstick if for. Make sure to store them upside down so the ink can travel down, if you use these often they dry up in about 4 months. They are about $5 cheaper than most stains, wish they were $3 since i o through these quickly. But i do rreccomend these, NYCs best product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shauneexo on 6/24/2013 12:19:00 AM more reviews by Shauneexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I didn't like this at all. I exfoliated before applying and you wouldn't even have known it. This stain went on soooo awfully patchy and seemed to sink into the fine lines of my lips. Not to mention, this did no staining. Over the course of about an hour, I had patchy looking, dry looking, overall crappy looking lips. Ew!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JohannaMichaella on 6/20/2013 6:07:00 PM more reviews by JohannaMichaella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this stuff. I bought Champagne Stain, and am planning to go get another color or so. I like that I can put it on and have time to touch it up/even it out with a finger before it dries. My favorite thing though is that I can put a clear gloss or balm over it multiple times a day without the color disappearing. My lips don't get dried out and they are a great color. For $5, it's definitely worth trying.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JanetA7X on 6/15/2013 6:02:00 PM more reviews by JanetA7X

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First timw I buy a lipstain & it was bad. I picked this up & right when I opened it the tip came off!!! I was still able to test it. I love the color but it doesn't even last!! It ain't no lip stain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chokeonchicken on 6/10/2013 3:09:00 PM more reviews by chokeonchicken

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So glad I picked up this product on a whim. The color I purchased is Champagne Stain. It is very pigmented. No color transfer. Dries matte but doesn't look cracked or dry. Lasted through a dinner. An hour after that is was starting to fade but left more color on the edge of my lips like lipliner. I liked it so well that I purchased another color, Orange on the Go, which I don't recommend. The color shows on the hand but really only deepened the redness in my lips. If you have really lightly pigmented lips it may work better for you. As with any lipstain, I wouldn't wear this too many days at a time, as it will cause drying of the lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 EmilyPierce on 6/9/2013 10:26:00 PM more reviews by EmilyPierce

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have never hated a lip product more than I hate these lip stains. They're uneven, drying as all get out, and about as long lasting as a Popsicle in the desert. These are not worth the shelf space they take up at the drugstore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Lips products