New York Color • Smooch Proof Lip Stain • Lips

rated 3.8(106 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 JohannaMichaella on 6/20/2013 6:07:00 PM more reviews by JohannaMichaella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this stuff. I bought Champagne Stain, and am planning to go get another color or so. I like that I can put it on and have time to touch it up/even it out with a finger before it dries. My favorite thing though is that I can put a clear gloss or balm over it multiple times a day without the color disappearing. My lips don't get dried out and they are a great color. For $5, it's definitely worth trying.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JanetA7X on 6/15/2013 6:02:00 PM more reviews by JanetA7X

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First timw I buy a lipstain & it was bad. I picked this up & right when I opened it the tip came off!!! I was still able to test it. I love the color but it doesn't even last!! It ain't no lip stain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chokeonchicken on 6/10/2013 3:09:00 PM more reviews by chokeonchicken

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So glad I picked up this product on a whim. The color I purchased is Champagne Stain. It is very pigmented. No color transfer. Dries matte but doesn't look cracked or dry. Lasted through a dinner. An hour after that is was starting to fade but left more color on the edge of my lips like lipliner. I liked it so well that I purchased another color, Orange on the Go, which I don't recommend. The color shows on the hand but really only deepened the redness in my lips. If you have really lightly pigmented lips it may work better for you. As with any lipstain, I wouldn't wear this too many days at a time, as it will cause drying of the lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 EmilyPierce on 6/9/2013 10:26:00 PM more reviews by EmilyPierce

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have never hated a lip product more than I hate these lip stains. They're uneven, drying as all get out, and about as long lasting as a Popsicle in the desert. These are not worth the shelf space they take up at the drugstore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 princesssmarci on 6/8/2013 9:36:00 PM more reviews by princesssmarci

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

DO NOT BUY!!! I am relatively new to the lip stain world, and this was such a complete let down. It went on very uneven, and extremely light. I had to do about 4 coats to get it anywhere close to the color I wanted, and the worst part......... IT DISAPPEARED IN LESS THAN AN HOUSE. Long lasting? Pffft. Don't waste the $5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xohavehopexo on 5/21/2013 10:17:00 PM more reviews by xohavehopexo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I own this product in Endless Spice #495 and Berry Long Time #498. This lipstain lasts forever, and I love it. One problem? It makes my lips drier than the Sahara Desert. My advice? Make sure to load up of lip balm before applying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 schoolgirl101 on 5/2/2013 11:11:00 PM more reviews by schoolgirl101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have these In Persistent Pink, Never Ending Nude, and my newest purchase Orange On the Go. I have repurchased Persistent Pink and Never Ending Nude. I love these lip stains. I'm not a huge fan of wearing true pinks on my lips because of the way the color ends up looking on my yellow skin tone, but Persistent Pink is a very flattering shade on my lips. Never Ending Nude ends up looking a little bit more berry on me, which I still like. I love wearing orange/corals, so Orange On the Go was a must for me. The product was great, did not dry up on me, and lasted a decent amount (not 16 hours but long enough for me to be pleased) with little transfer.

I'm not too picky with lipstains however. If you're looking for something that is going to last the entire day on you, this product probably won't be for you. It can be drying (I don't have much of a problem because I usually keep my lips constantly moisturized. Give these a try. They're under $5, so it won't break the bank.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rachelinannarbor on 4/30/2013 3:10:00 PM more reviews by rachelinannarbor

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It works pretty well, but I find that I prefer wands to markers for applying the color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lavroxanna on 3/15/2013 9:09:00 PM more reviews by lavroxanna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

OK so I bought 2 of these in Forever Fuschia (496) and Persistent Pink (490) maybe about a year ago, when there were really good reviews for this product. After using them, I think that the color does at least show up on your lips, but this product is VERY DRYING. My lips felt so dry that I took off this product almost immediately after application. Even after applying a layer of chapstick underneath the lipstains, my lips still felt relatively dry. They also don't last for 16 hours (thankfully) and I would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 korrok on 2/28/2013 4:36:00 AM more reviews by korrok

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am a bit baffled by all the great reviews on this product! I found it awful. The colours they sell are great - I'll give them that - and I made the mistake of just going out and picking up three, at 4 euro each. They come in marker form and while they swatch beautifully on your hand, they applied really patchily to my lips, despite having buffed them and tried to get them in as smooth as possible a condition before trying. The colour looked uneven and a bit sad, particularly with the lighter shades. Unstoppable Red worked out the best for evening out the colour after 3 coats. The largest problem is that applying this stain, I could literally watch my lips shrivel and dry up after a single coat. It is INCREDIBLY drying, and it feels a little burny. Slathering lip balm on after application only helps a little. The stain remains fairly transferrable.

Overall I cannot recommend these at all. If you want to give them a try, don't make the mistake I did and buy a few colours (or all the ones you like - they do look pretty!) . Buy one and see if it works for you first. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Lips products