Paula's Choice Almost the Real Thing-Self Tanning Gel

4.0

75 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclomethicone (skin-conditioning agent/silicone), Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol (water- binding agents), Dihydroxyacetone (self-tanning agent), Dimethicone Copolyol (skin-conditioning agent/silicone), Diazolidinyl Urea (preservative), Caramel (natural coloring agent), Sodium Metabisulfite (stabilizer), Methylparaben, Propylparaben (preservatives).


on 5/30/2009 8:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Paula's Choice has created another winner! I've tried a host of self-tanners, both pricey and not, with the same sorts of difficulties: orange tint; streaky, uneven coverage; and too little color resulting in the need for multiple layers to get the tint I wanted. The smell of all the products I've tried has been a real turn-off. Enter Paula's Choice Almost the Real Thing Self-Tanning Gel. There's no smell, it is tinted so that you can see where you are applying it, it's quickly absorbed, and, most importantly, the color is realistically lovely without streaky patterns or color concentrations over bony prominences such as ankles and knees. Follow the directions precisely and good luck!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/30/2009 6:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Thank goodness for MUA! I have been reading this site for quite awhile without posting, but I must for this product. I had been using Fake Bake, but the smell was driving me c.r.a.z.y!!! After reading the positive reviews for this product, I decided to give it a shot. Not only does it deliver a beautiful golden color, but it does NOT smell like all the other self-tanners I have tried. I can go all day without realizing I'm wearing a tanning product. Thank you Paula!


on 5/26/2009 1:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great self tanner! Very realistic color. I apply this exactly as instructed and end up a beautiful color with no streaks or blotchy color. I am not a fan of all of Paula's products but I love this stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2009 11:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really like this self tanner becuase it does not look orange or fake and it seem to "tan" me just where I need it and it dries fast, does not smell bad, and I can build a darker tan with it by applying it every night or every other night.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2008 9:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my favourite self-tanner; as other reviewers have said, it doesn't turn orange, doesn't smell bad, and is very easy to apply. It gives my fair skin a nice, golden brown colour. I will definitely purchase this self-tanner again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

For what it's worth, I do think this is expensive; however, I do think it's entirely WORTH EVERY PENNY! This was SO easy to apply, especially once I applied moisturizer as suggested on the bottle. Her products are always so easy to apply/have great slip.

It went on faster than any tanner I've ever used, certainly faster than any lotion. Smell was literally nothing.

This gave me the most gorgeous, "reddish" tan I've ever had. I've gotten more compliments on my "tan"! It gave me a truly realistic color. It's a redder tan than Savage Bronze was, but equally realistic. I am so relieved because I thought I would die without Savage Bronze. I will repurchase this over and over.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2008 2:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I had exactly the same experience "tanyabon" describes when I first used this tanner six years ago. I applied it before bed and woke up a streaked mess. I tossed the product in the trash, and vowed never to use it again. Well, I decided to give it another try last night, because I adore Paula's Choice products and wondered if I might have better luck this time. The answer is a definitive yes! I woke up this morning with a PERFECT, non-streaky tan, light brown, no orange. I think the key to this tanner is to rub it in VERY carefully, applying little bits to each body part and working it in all the way. I use gloves to avoid colored palms and fingernails. Some tanners you can basically slap on, but this one requires a little more time and a meticulous application. Of course even that won't make it work for some people. I just wanted to share my experience with MUA readers. The downside of this tanner is that you don't get a whole lot of it in the tube, which could lead to a pricey self-tanning summer.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2008 8:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Thanks Paula! You made me feel young again.
However not in the way I ever wanted.
I woke up today with orange stripes on my hands, décolleté and shoulders. I’m not worried about legs as I can hide them under the pants.

So, coming back to “feeling young“. First time in the last 20 years or more I tried to become invisible in my morning commute.
Unfortunately, I’m using train to get to my work. I tried to play a turtle and hide my head and neck into my jacket.
If I was 20 years younger, I was staying at home and scrubbing myself all day non-stop.
Unfortunately, I have scheduled meetings today.
OMG, I have to face it today!
I’m hiding now in my office and even plan to skip my Starbuck’s – don’t want to scare more people. I’m working in Toronto’s Financial District. Just imagine how I feel…

Please do not try it at home. Very dangerous.

I hope I will survive, but first thing I will do, when I back home – throw into the garbage this crappy self-tanner.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

About two hours after applying this last night, my boyfriend coyly pointed out that I had a beautiful "glow". He took credit for it, but I knew it was really this terrific self-tanner! It does NOT turn me orange and it was very easy to work with. Also, I'm prone to uneven/red skin and the natural golden tan color this created evened me out. I barely needed concealer and was able to go! 5 stars ladies...try this stuff out!


on 11/9/2007 8:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is awesome stuff...simply the best self-tanner I've ever used. I always get a brown, NOT orange glow from it, and it really looks like I've been out in the sun! I have never gotten a streak either. It glides on easily, and dries quickly. I love it....and it doesn't smell as much as others I've tried.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top