NYX • Soft Matte Lip Cream • Lips

rated 4.0(192 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SkullGlitter on 5/9/2014 3:03:00 AM more reviews by SkullGlitter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like the Soft Matte Lip Creams. The color selection is good, the smell and taste are very good, the color payoff is excellent, they stay put over a lip primer for a few hours without eating and/or drinking, and they don't continue to dry my already chronically-dry-and-chapped lips.

They don't replace long wearing lipcolors for longevity but they are just as pigmented as them. While they aren't moisturizing, they don't dry out my lips more just by wearing them. The color selection was decent before spring 2014, but became good with the extended color line. I recently picked up Stockholm (mid-toned beige pink) and was surprised to find such a good neutral for my pale skin and auburn hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rEMemberMepls on 5/8/2014 12:03:00 PM more reviews by rEMemberMepls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First of all I want to say that I adore these nyx soft matte lip creams! I have it in six shades which are antwerp, addis ababa, san paulo, abu dhabi, london and stockholm. Lets start of with antwerp which is a pinkish corally shade if you ask me, it is a very flattering color for an Nc 20-25 although I also used this on an NC30-35 skin tone and it looked gorgeous! It brightens up the complexion in an instant and looks very natural and can never be overdone. This particular shade is the first one I purchased because I read about many raves about this particular shade and it certainly lives up to my expectations because this is my favorite shade among all.
The next two shades I bought at the same time is Addis ababa and san paulo. Addis ababa is a bright blue based fuschia color which is pretty similar to Mac girl about town althought the finish is different. The mac one has an amplified finish compared to it. This color is great if you want a very fun color and something different from the same old red color. This is the only shade in the collection which i saw very tiny blue sparkles. It doesnt bother me it even adds that glamorous effect. San paulo is a color i find hard to describe it is like the color of the natural lips when they are pigmented. It is pinky but a dark pink red. Sorry for that. Many youtubers liked this color but I dont gravitate to this color that much and I barely used it but dont getme wrong its a pretty color just not me. Maybe because on days I want to look natural i reach for antwerp, on days I feel down and lazy I apply antwerp, on days I want to look fresh I use antwerp, on days I want to look fun and elegant I use Addis ababa, so theres really no place for san paulo in me.
Next color is abu dhabi which is the darkest shade in the bunch. This I wasnt really fond of because it made me looked to old or mature. I dont think its very flattering on me and so I gave it to my mom and she really enjoyed it haha.
Second to the last is london which is the second darkest brown with a hint of pink but barely noticeable. I liked this shade better than abu dhabi but I wasnt sure if this was the right nude color for me and which leads me to the last color I bought in the shade stockholm. I love stockholm, its the perfect nude for me. It is similar to london but the pink in it is more visible but it registers orangey on my sweet pigmented lips haha!
To sum it all up, these are inexpensive lipsticks creamy on application so its easy to apply but dries up very matte. I is a bit drying though but exfoliating your lips before application could help. It could adhere to dry patches but compared to the other lipsticks i have these are tolerable and not quite noticeable. They smell very vanilla they said but when I first got this I immediately thought of chocolate :p the packaging is sleek the top is matte like nars packaging which easily gets dirty but nothing a little baby wipes cant fix. Overall I love it and I will definitely repurchase more than my Mac lipsticks :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Barbirivera on 5/6/2014 11:55:00 PM more reviews by Barbirivera

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love these!!! I bought 2 shades from cherryculture to try them and fell in love instantly. I have the shades amsterdam and monte carlo and they are so beautiful. You have to be careful though, if you have dry lips of flaky lips these aren't for you. I always use a lip balm before applying them so they last a little longer and don't look too dry after a while. You'll still have to reapply after a couple of hours or after eating.
Overall, great product for the price, good packaging, very pretty color range: definitely going to buy more shades!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sage4dylan on 5/5/2014 10:07:00 AM more reviews by sage4dylan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like the one I bought pretty well. It doesnt last all day but last long enough for me. It also leaves a color even when it wears off and if u apply clear gloss over it pretty much refreshes it. I like it a little dry so it works for me. Pigment is great. Takes a little practice to apply correctly. Packaging is great for me. I intend to buy more colors. If you don't like a dry look or feel, you won't like these.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 samanthaweldon on 5/3/2014 6:41:00 AM more reviews by samanthaweldon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Grey    

After reading amazing reviews on these I went on a binge and bought 6 of them. I wanted to love them so bad but they are just too drying for my lips. They wore off pretty quickly too so after I had tried reapplying numerous times I ended up with cracked, peeling lips. The colours are gorgeous and I would recommend these to anyone without dry sensitive lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AngieGCarp on 5/2/2014 6:57:00 PM more reviews by AngieGCarp

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I wanted to love these SO BAD! The colors are absolutely gorgeous but the formula is too dry and they wear off in an hour. I like something a little longer lasting. The lip butters are wonderful though. I recommend them.

Happy Makeuping!❤️

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kimdja on 4/30/2014 10:17:00 AM more reviews by kimdja

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

I have Cannes, Zerich, and Stockholm; All lovely nudey-pinks for my tan skin tone. I use this everyday and for my dewyer look that I normally sport, using this matte lip-color definitely gives a nice balance. It's a tad drying on the lips so I recommend anyone who has chapped lips on the regular to exfoliate and use a lip scrub on your lips before you use this. The shade selection is wonderful as well; love how they used names of Major cities as shade titles :) Overall, I would recommend this to anyone who's always wanted to try a product that is put on the lips wet and dries to a matte finish but doesn't want to spend too much. Lovely stuff here, ESPECIALLY under $5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 abiburgess on 4/29/2014 6:20:00 PM more reviews by abiburgess

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

LOVE this. It lasts on my lips forever and is highly pigmented. Its cost is great and it smells wonderful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maisonsteffi on 4/28/2014 10:46:00 AM more reviews by maisonsteffi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love the NYX soft matte lip creams! They're inexpensive but they deliver in terms of colour and longevity. The only downside is how little product each tube has. One tube can only last me about 15 applications. For the inexpensive price though I will definitely be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissLerina on 4/27/2014 5:04:00 PM more reviews by MissLerina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

SELECTED SHADES: addis ababa (fuchsia), antwerp (red coral), buenos aires (soft coral), istanbul (soft pink), milan (mauve pink), sydney (soft lavender), tokyo (bubble gum pink)

PROS

- pigmented
- long wearing
- not drying
- scent
- nice texture
- shade selection
- not sticky

CONS

- application can be tricky when applied on bare lips

COMMENTS: The application of these can be tricky when applied over a lip balm or on bare lips as some shades may be streaky or cling onto dry patches very easily. I always apply these over a lip gloss and they still dry matte, but it makes the application a lot better and prevents dryness. I find these very comfortable to wear for that reason. When worn on bare lips, not so much. I love the texture, shade selection, and scent.

Shade I wouldn't repurchase: Addis Ababa - I don't find this one in particular to be very pigmented and isn't as bright as I hoped. It's a very neutral, bright pink.

Will repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lips products