NYX • Soft Matte Lip Cream • Lips

rated 4.0(162 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Halliroussell on 2/11/2014 11:09:00 AM more reviews by Halliroussell

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't own anything else quite like this lip cream. It goes on silky and matte and lasts quite awhile. I originally bought this in Stockholm but ended up going back for Abu Dhabi, Istanbul, and Monte Carlo, love them! These also look good with a bit of gloss over them for a smooth finish that helps them last, but they take awhile to dry on your lips so you shouldn't put gloss on right away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fluffmonsta on 2/10/2014 8:27:00 PM more reviews by fluffmonsta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

i am OBSESSED with NYX soft matte lip creams! i'm a makeup junkie but have been discouraged by other lipsticks because of my dry lips and deep vertical lines.... however these are PERFECT, especially for beginner lipstick wearers!

pros:
- does not emphasize dryness or deep lines
- forms a perfect stain even after eating (esp for bolder colours)
- does not fade blotchy
- easy to wear, lightweight and effortless
- classy yet low-maintenance look (not fussy like shimmery or glossy lipsticks)
- excellent price point
- lip liner not needed
- doesn't smear or smudge

cons:
- difficult to find outside of USA (it's been a PAIN trying to collect more colors)
- color stays true (to first application) only about 4 hours without eating (drinking ok)

colours I have:
- Amsterdam: truly versatile, got SO many compliments, it was the first time i ever wore a red lipstick and was a resounding success!
- San Paulo: a deep rose stain
- Milan: bright, bold, playful pink that's easy to wear

for reference:
- NC20 skin with quite neutral undertones
- Neutral blushes i wore with the bolder lips: MAC tenderling, Benefit Hervana or Sugarbomb

please oh please nyx! make it easier to ship internationalllyyyyyyyyyyy!

p/s: I have since tried the Revlon colorburst matte balms and.. the NYX SMLCs are WAYYYYY better, in my humble opinion :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Giron0922 on 2/6/2014 6:34:00 PM more reviews by Giron0922

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love the shades Stockholm is a brownish pinky shade that's medium tone it's a great MLBB.Abu Dhabi is slightly more deep than Stockholm and a bit more red-brown. London is a beautiful brown shade that a has warmth and these shades are for medium to deep in color and might look brown if you are fair skin tone. Antwerp is a pinky peach color that's not too pastel or brights a nice everyday shade. Overall I love the matte finish they are long lasting and they feel really light and not drying at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ihaveahart on 2/5/2014 10:35:00 PM more reviews by Ihaveahart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is true to it's name. It's a really nice consistency it's creamy and like nothing i've put on my lips before. It lasts 3-5 hours on me and most lipstick/gloss lasts only 20 minutes. It will NOT transfer. The finish is soft and well Matte! Smells like freshly baked sugar cookies....Mmmmm. I recommend to everybody how likes Matte Lip Products!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 GirlyGirl143 on 2/1/2014 5:19:00 AM more reviews by GirlyGirl143

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This product was a fail for me. I have the color Istanbul which is a pretty pink, but that is all that I can nicely say for this. This is very drying and it makes my lips feel like they do not have a drop of moisture left in them. It also exaggerates every line in my lip, definitely need to sugar scrub your lips first. And it smells like plastic. I'm sticking to butter glosses and the regular NYX glosses

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 majesticax on 1/27/2014 3:46:00 PM more reviews by majesticax

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love it! I keep this in my pencil case if I need to touch up my lips during school; I love the scent, the feeling, and everything about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Angelseleena on 1/26/2014 12:41:00 AM more reviews by Angelseleena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have two of the matte lip creams in "Milan" & "Instanbul" . I'm one of those girls who loves to sport natural eyes and a bold lip everyday. I feel naked without something on my lips. For a while, I only wore lipgloss and then I started experimenting with lipsticks and different finishes, this is relevant to this review because my favourite finish is matte and I tend to lean more towards matte finishes then creamy ones. The pros of matte lip products is that they tend to last longer because they are a little more drying. The con or course is that they're a little drying. So, first of all let me say that they really should write it on the packaging that these are stains as well. They last FOREVER and the color doesn't budge. You'll need to remove this with some makeup remove. Where I'm from, they're hard to find but they're sold for 8 dollars. They smell of vanilla & the colours are true to they're packaging. Milan is a nice bubble gym pink, perfect for a pop of colour for everyday. Instanbul is a nude pink which looks great with smokey eyes. If you have an issue with certain products drying your lips out then stay away from this product and maybe opt for they're Xtreme lip dreams instead since they are not matte and not as drying. But if you're a matte lip lover then this is definitely for you! Would definitely recommend. Xx

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupcam on 1/7/2014 12:53:00 PM more reviews by makeupcam

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I just Bought a trio of theis matte lip cream at target a month ago. The package contains a light shade (Tokyo), a medium shade (Antwerp), and a dark shade (Addis Ababa) and WOW! this product is amazing!

-It smells like soft candy
-It Applies like a cream but get matte instantly after application
-The applicator is easy to operate
-The package is small and cute
-If you do not lick your lips too often, a single application can last up to 3 or 4 hours
-The price is very low for such a good quality!

This soft matte lip cream is ideal for anyone with oily / shiny skin (like me) because it avoids looking like a mirror - like when wearing a lip gloss -

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rcmd on 1/7/2014 12:43:00 PM more reviews by rcmd

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love the colour, but after a minute or so it settles into the cracks in my lips so I can't wear it. I wouldn't recommend this for anyone with dry lips.

I bought it in another colour (Antwerp) as I had high hopes for the lip cream, but I'll have to sell it as the formula doesn't work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sophiedecay on 1/3/2014 11:23:00 AM more reviews by sophiedecay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Has a smooth, matte texture. Not too drying on the lips. Has a wide variety of colours and good for everyday. Not bad for the price :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lips products