NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream (All)

4.1

248 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Dimethicone, Beeswax, Glyceryl Behenate / Eicosadioate, Phenoxyethanol, Dimethicone / Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Talc, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Silica, Aluminium Starch Octenylsuccinate, Isohexadecane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Parfum. May Contain: CI77019 (Mica) / CI77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI15850 (D&C Red 6 Na. Salt), CI15850 (D&C Red 7 Ca Lake), CI15985:1 (FD&C Yellow 6 Al Lake), CI19140:1 (FD&C Yellow 5 Al Lake), CI45410 (D&C Red 28 Al Lake), CI77491 (Iron Oxide Red), CI77492 (Iron Oxide Yellow), CI77499 (Iron Oxide Black), CI77742 (Manganese Violet), CI77891 (Titanium Dioxide)


on 1/9/2015 10:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

THESE ARE AMAZING. So cheap for the quality, $9 CAD. Colour range is outstanding so many to choose from, they glide on like a lip gloss and dry to a matte finish. They are so pigmented, one swipe over the lips and your good to go, I also think they last a decent amount of time on my lips (again for what I payed for I'm not complaining if I have to reapply in a few hours). They wear so comfortably and are a must have in my makeup collection.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this matte lip cream! Goes on beautifully! My fav colours so far probably Cairo, London and Adu Dhabi! So beautiful. Only can find it in Rexall and Target only bad thing is they are usually always sold out! One thing i'd recommend is applying a lip primer to help from over drying especially in the winter!


on 1/8/2015 11:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

Iīve got three shades of the line: London, Stockholm and Milan. I think the texture of they all are pretty similar, at least in those three I havenīt found any downsides; I might be getting more in the future.

The texture is definitely very particular: its a smooth, matte cream (this wasnīt very difficult to guess, right?), that reminds me of a mousse. It glides on really easily and takes a little while to set, so it isnīt hard to remove in case you get out of your lip line at some point.

Even thought they are not sheer (the colour shows up), I usually place 2 layers to get a more even and long lasting application. I have found, suprisingly for what you could expect out of that mousse like product, that they last quite nicely! I mean, if youīre gonna be drinking of eating, they will probably need to be reapplied; but if you use a lip pencil underneath, theyīll stay put at least quite a few hours.

------------
Just some briefly comments about the shades (which names I find so original!):

*Stockholm: the very first one I purchased, itīs peachy and super natural. Very appropiate for spring and day time. Iīm brunnete and I have medium-olive skin; this looks very soft and romantic on me.

*London: even thought at the swatch it might look not to different, it is! I always apply two coats of this (even my lips are quite pale); the color is a light brown, slightly cool, that reminds me of the 90s lip in a softer version.

*Milan: itīs a bright pink, quite pop, that doesnīt need a second layer to show up -even thought I always do it, to make it stay put longer.


on 1/7/2015 5:43:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this in the color Copenhagen. I absolutely love the color but find it to be a bit clumpy and on the dry side. Also it has to be reapplied severally times. But I'm willing to put up with the hassle for the color payoff and price.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought three of these: Stockholm, Milan, and Ibiza. Stockholm is a nude color, Milan is a nice pink, and Ibiza is a pinky red/orange. Overall I really love these. The pigmentation is great, they don't make my lips dry, the color doesn't flake off. The color dries which reduces transfer which I absolutely love! They last a very long time on the lips too. My only complaint is that the color of the tube is NOT the color the product dries to. For example I bought Milan because it was a nice mauve-pink on the tube, and it dries to more of a washed out hot pink, which I still really like. It would just be nice if the packaging was true to the actual product. I will be buying more colors though! I've got my eye on Copenhagen and San Paulo!


on 12/31/2014 4:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This review is for the colors Ibiza, Monte Carlo, and Copenhagen. Beautiful pigmentation and long lasting. With the exception of Ibiza, the other two colors do bleed without lip liner. The other con is that the brush applies the color kinda smeary/streaky but so I usually do two coats but thankfully they are fast drying. Cannot beat the price either.


on 12/27/2014 6:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I purchased this lip cream as part of my hunt for a long-wearing matte lip cream after facing disappointment with the lime crime velvetine range. This review will be a semi-comparison of these two lip products. Firstly, this and the entire NYX range is completely affordable (at least by Australian standards where everything is ridiculously expensive), much more so than lime crime. Secondly, the application process is far easier - this lip cream is not the 'mattest' of matte lip products, I suppose 'soft matte' is a good description of the texture, so application doesn't need to be as precise as with a lime crime velvetine as there is a window in which to correct errors and get the perfect shape (as opposed to having to scrub the entire thing off - something I experienced with lime crime). A downside of a softer texture means the product is less long-wearing, but it is not drying or uncomfortable to wear like lime crime, and the fading is far more even - As I detailed in a review of lime-crime the velvetines, being super-matte and long-wearing, wore off patchily and unevenly leaving an unpleasant water-line effect, whereas the soft matte lip cream wore off more rapidly but evenly, and I much prefer the effect of the latter. Overall a really excellent product and my fave colour is Stockholm for fair skin! I removed a lippie for the fact this does fade quite quickly and that fading time varies with colours (the heavily pigmented Prague lasted me several hours (over four) with food and drink, whereas a paler nude like Stockholm lasted one or two hours with food and drink, longer without)


on 12/22/2014 10:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

my favorite thing from NYX! i love how soft these make my lips feel. the quality of the colors are always strong and last a long time!!


on 12/21/2014 10:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

PROS:
The colors are very pigmented.
The formula is long-lasting and versatile. As long as it's dried, you can eat and drink without losing color.
It is matte, without being drying.
Super affordable!

CONS:
It takes too long to dry. While it's still wet, it is messy and smears.
When applying it, it kind of leaves little clumps which is annoying. You have to work with this product to make it work.
I find that this applies best with two coats, but again it takes a while to dry.

OVERALL: I really like that it lasts a long time and the colors are pretty. I wear these products on days I have the time and patience to work with it. The pros are good enough that I would buy more colors (I own 4 now) and would repurchase the colors that I fall in love with.


on 12/16/2014 8:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Ok so I have this in Copenhagen, San Paulo, Istanbul and Prague. I really like them because they're lightweight, matte, long lasting, easy to apply and not drying. HOWEVER, in the case of Copenhagen, be prepared to do a lot of prep and don't eat, smoke, drink or kiss anyone or you'll have a hot mess on your hands. (Or face.) it's not that it'll smear, but it'll get patchy as @&!?. I have to use a lip primer, line and color my lips with a liner, and then spread carefully to even this out. So if you're not down for that, try a higher end product for the darker shades. Otherwise, for nudes and subtle shades, this is great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Top Rated NYX Products

image

Black

191 reviews
Back to Top