Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4450 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 2 of 5 rohiam on 8/3/2014 4:18:00 PM more reviews by rohiam

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have normal to dry skin, but they didn't have my color in normal to dry skin, so I bought combination oily. This is probably the cause of my dislike for the foundation. It was dewy the entire day, even when I set it with powder. Repeatedly. I could feel it melting off of my face through the day, and foundations never get oily or greasy on me; this is the first and hopefully last. The worst was when I got home and took a good look in the mirror. It was so splotchy, oxidized, and awful that I immediately took the bottle and put it back in its bag to return. I have pretty uneven, splotchy skin, so I need a good full coverage foundation to cover it all up, not make it look ten times worse. I plan on purchasing the normal dry one to see if it was just my bottle or something, but I'll edit my review then. I would not buy this formulation again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yungadubz on 7/30/2014 11:55:00 AM more reviews by yungadubz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

ive been using this foundation for about the past 2 years, but lately ive gotten sick of it. I noticed it feels heavy and kind of gross on my skin, especially in summer. I exfoliate my skin every other day and it feels baby soft and smooth, but for some reason when I apply this foundation it amplifies any imperfection on my skin and gives the skin between my eyebrows a gross bumpy texture. i also feel like after about 6 hours this foundation wears off and i can see my acne scars underneath. i feel like im better off using my garnier bb cream because i get the same results at the end of the day, but with the bb cream my skin can actually breathe. and the thing that annoys me most about this foundation is that even after taking off my makeup with a towelette and 5 minutes of scrubbing my skin with st ives apricot scrub, the next day ill wash my skin with a facial brush and makeup is still coming off on it. it is virtually impossible to get this makeup off your skin. I rated this a 3 because I did love it at one point when I first tried it 2 years ago, now im just sick of it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 7/28/2014 11:46:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For those who suffer from foundation disappearing or turning into an oil slick in heat and humidity, this foundation is a godsend. Yes, it smells of chemicals and it's not for those with dry skin. And there's a low SPF so you'll need this in your primer or powder. But if you have combination or oily skin, maybe some spots or pigmentation you need help in covering and prefer or don't mind a matte finish, this is what you need in your life. The effect is natural and coverage is medium to full. But you have to work fast to blend it in and it's definitely best applied with a brush. I use Golden Beige on my NC25-35 skin (varying according to season). Though technically this shade suits me perfectly when I'm NC25-30, most of the year I use Laura Geller Balance n' Brighten powder with SPF 15 over it in Fair but in summer I use B&B in Medium without SPF and the overall colour is perfect. I have other foundations I love for different reasons but for hot, sticky days or tropical moments(!), this ones is the best. And it doesn't break out my somewhat sensitive skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TyshaO87 on 7/17/2014 11:54:00 AM more reviews by TyshaO87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG foundation absolutely love it! Since Estee Lauder double wear changed its formula and became useless I called upon this..I used to use it back when I was 15 or 16yo when I suffered from acne and frankly forgot about it until I saw it mentioned in a post. The color match is amazing for me...I'm a Sand Beige and have never found a foundation that matches my colour perfectly until this! it covers so well and evens out my complexion and best of all LASTS and stays matte all day!!! Please Revlon..don't change a thing like so many brands do. Why fix what's not broken! It doesn't bother me that it doesn't have a pump..only means you can use every last drop! so glad I rediscovered this amazing product :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kaylawimbleton on 7/13/2014 6:30:00 PM more reviews by Kaylawimbleton

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a dupe of the mac studio fix fluid and I suppose it's okay for its price if your buying higher end foundations all the time (e.g Mac, NARS and Bobbi brown). The good thing is you can get it to match your skin type and it matches most peoples skin tones perfectly. It's best to apply with your fingers rather than with a brush. The only bad things about it is the fact it doesn't have a pump and you have to constantly tap it on your hand to get it out..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kira1999 on 7/11/2014 8:35:00 PM more reviews by kira1999

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my favourite foundation, even over the many ones from sephora and mac that I've tried. It stays matte all day and lasts about 10 hours on my oily skin. I didn't rate it a 5 because I would like it to have a pump, and also it's pricey for a drugstore foundation (I payed $20 Canadian) It's very easy to apply, not too thick, it didn't oxidize on me and looks natural. Coverage is medium but is buildable to full coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Staceyleigh on 7/8/2014 8:38:00 PM more reviews by Staceyleigh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

After hearing a lot of positive things and YouTube videos I really wanted to love this product but unfortunately it's not for me. The foundation is thick and goes on quite nice with med/full coverage. I've used a damp sponge, flat foundation brush, fingers and 2 of the real technique brushes to apply but no matter what method I use I can't make the foundation last, after 2 hours I needed to blot and by 5 hours it had completely melted off my face leaving it looking an oily mess. Even though it's for combo/oily skin types id say it would be best on normal / not too dry skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CollegeKid on 7/8/2014 1:49:00 AM more reviews by CollegeKid

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

it hasn't broke me out and i don't have to blot my oily skin every 2 hours. isn't cakey. but its really hard to get the thick liquid from the bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 epace on 7/5/2014 4:17:00 PM more reviews by epace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

This makeup is pretty dang awesome for only being $10! I purchased it at Target here in CA for $8.99 (it was on sale) it is the newer 24-hour wear one. Pros: Long Lasting, doesn't get Dewey, stays matte all day, full coverage Cons: No pump, hard to apply without a sponge I overall love this foundation! I have very oily and acne prone skin and this foundation covers it all without breaking me out! I definitely recommend it to anyone!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tillybeee on 7/5/2014 1:33:00 PM more reviews by tillybeee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I first bought this foundation long before I read the reviews on MUA and after reading them, thought I would try and give it another go. But alas, it just wasn't meant to be.

I suffer from incredibly dry skin due to mild ichthyosis and have done for as long as I can remember. The ichthyosis only really affects my torso, however my face is also left so, so dry. I have yet to find someone who has to moisturize and exfoliate as much as I do! Years of different chemicals (including steroid creams - eek!) have left me finally able to get away with only applying E45 a few times a day and exfoliating every other. So finally, I have 'typically' dry skin.

Lots of foundations look horrid on my skin - quite obviously, mattified ones (let's just not ever return to the days of Maybelline Matte Mousse...)! I struggle to find less expensive foundations that don't cling to dry patches, or worse, create them. I've experimented with most d/s brands, but have found that only more pricey foundations, such as Nars, seem to work. This sitch is not good for a poor student!

When I saw the Revlon Colorstay in 'normal/dry' skin, I was really excited as there are few d/s brands that make foundation for drier skin. I also love Revlon's other products so I was hoping their foundation would be as fab.

Buuuuuuuuuuut, I found that this foundation just didn't agree with me at all! First off, it's difficult to apply. A lot of other users have said this, which I definitely took into consideration when I applied it just now after reading some reviews (I hadn't touch it for a few weeks). I applied a small amount, literally no bigger than a 5p coin size, and quickly buffed it in. I use a decent foundation brush (Real Techniques Expert Face Brush) and it still wouldn't blend in. It sat on the top of my skin, streaky and just generally ick. Then, to make matters worse, on closer inspection it had actually created dry patches on my freshly exfoliated-moisturised-primed skin! And it was under my eyes which is never a dry patch for me. It looked okay from about 3 feet away, but any closer and I looked awful.

I'm really upset because I so wanted to love this foundation - the reviews for the oily/combination foundation are great so Revlon are obviously doing something right. I just think that they've made a mattifying foundation for dry skin which is never a good idea. The colour was great too (I chose the lightest, Ivory, as my skin is ghostly in the winter). It definitely won't put me off buying other Revlon products, but I wish they'd improve this foundation to match the standards of the oily/combination one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products