Yves Saint Laurent • Touche Eclat No 1 • Highlighters

rated 3.8(324 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 LemonEater on 5/3/2012 10:03:00 PM more reviews by LemonEater

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I think even as a highlighter, it may be too light for dark skin tones. You may be able to use as a sheer concealer though. But the problem i kinda had was that it didn't blend very well. It's waterproof, so if you wanted to mix it with other things it may not mix well. Otherwise if you stick to using it as a highlighter (the way it's meant to be used for) it's not too bad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* paneradfisk on 5/2/2012 6:29:00 PM more reviews by paneradfisk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Packaging:
Looks and feels very expensive. The applicator brush makes you waste alot of product, is unhygienic and is not good for applying the product. It has kind of a button on the bottom that you click to get product out through the applicator - the first time you use it you will have to click alot before something comes out. The applicator is about 1 cm (0.4 inches) and is like a brush made of plastic bristles, pretty dense, and will make the product look streaky on your skin.


Product:
This is not a concealer, this is a highlighter, only use it under your eyes to brighten them if you don't have dark cirkles. You can use it on your cheekbones and nose too. Don't use it on blemishes, this is not a concealer, and you don't want to highlight blemishes. It is liquidy, dries fast, so you will have to blend it out quickly, preferably with a different brush that doesn't make it streaky. If you already have dry skin under your eyes, this will accentuate them, but otherwise it won't look cakey.


Advice:
Click a few times and put the product on your hand, and use your fingers or a different brush to apply it under your eyes or where you want it.


2/5, doesn't do enough for me to be worth the price, wastes alot of product and is unhygienic.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Walko on 4/27/2012 12:28:00 PM more reviews by Walko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

at last I've found a way to make this work for me. This is no use for covering dark circles on its own . Yes i know it's a highlighter and not a concealer. The reason I've bought this a good few times is because it's the best under eyes for not showing up lines. What good if it dosen't cover darkness? Well I put this on first , then foundation then a concealer where there is still darkness. I use kanebo sensai brush type concealer. I've read before to put this OVER concealer to brighten eyes but this just does not work for me.It's easy to cover dark circles with concealer when you're young. But after a certain age
when concealers start to show up the lines it's a nighmare task to get something that works.In that order I find it really helps to minimize making lines worse. If you use powder put the powder on before your choice of concealer, but make sure your not using a concealer that emphasizes lines.Hope this works for others.


/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 irina1411 on 3/30/2012 9:03:00 AM more reviews by irina1411

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I don't have problems with dark circles under my eyes, so I use this product only now and then to add a little light. It does the job perfectly. But, it doesn't look to me like that it has a good coverage power, so I wouldn't recommend it in case of really dark circles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gc2011 on 3/27/2012 11:33:00 AM more reviews by gc2011

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently started using this, after using Dior's Skinflash in Candelight for many years, which I still love. This is an excellent highlighter, especially for people like me who have a lot of pink tones to their skin, and it truly does make you look like airbrushed perfection - if used correctly.

I use this to even out my skin tone on my cheeks, under my eyes, and around my nose. It has a very thin consistency - 3 clicks of the pen is almost too much. But this blends like a dream and does not cake. Used with my Teint Miracle foundation and some PF pressed translucent powder over the top, I look rested and younger. Score!

However, this does next to nothing covering blemishes or scars. You need an actual concealer for this task. I like Hard Candy's Glamoflauge.

I do think that the right shade is the biggest hurdle to overcome to successfully use this product. I tried several in Sephora before I bought this one.

I also wish that I could see how much product is left, but the gold pen is quite glamourous, of course. Thank you, YSL.

Highly recommended. Again, I do think trying this before buying is a big part of getting it to work correctly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gingertoes on 2/5/2012 5:21:00 PM more reviews by gingertoes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this for about 4 weeks now. I like it so much I've stopped using foundation, which is a bonus as my favourite foundation (prescriptives) has been discontinued. Using touche eclat over a tinted sunscreen (clinique city block 25) is enough coverage for me. I'm fair and freckled. I don't really have dark under-eye circles, but I find using touche eclat under my eyes and around the sides of my nose, makes my skin look brighter and more even. I'm proud of my freckles, and this product doesn't conceal them.

The only thing I don't like is the colour is a little bit too pink, which means it's not useful for covering redness, but that's not what it's designed for so I can't complain.

I was worried when I bought this that it would add an unnecessary step to my routine. I prefer to keep things simple. But it has replaced messy bottles of foundation, so I'm very happy I gave it a go.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VoR on 1/29/2012 3:10:00 PM more reviews by VoR

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Grey, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this highlighter for years and I'll go on using it for ever. I know there are cheaper alternatives but the few I have tried have been disappointing and I've always come back to the original and best. I really only need to use this very sparingly so it lasts me a while.


Fantastic product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 COCO792 on 10/18/2011 10:12:00 AM more reviews by COCO792

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

this is the perfect under-eye concealer. nothing else compares (other than MAC moisture cover concealer, which is just as perfect).

the colour is realistic and pinky :D and not yellow.

I use one or two pumps and put it onto my finger to get the full amount of product out. and then onto my eyes with my finger.

one pump for a natural look without foundation. and two pumps for a fuller look with foundation.

if you just use the brush to apply you won't get the full amount of product as it will absorb into the brush. saying that, no matter how lightly I blend, most of the product absorbs onto my finger rather than my eyes. it's better to pat I think. this also seems very thin and light in coverage, which doesn't help when blending.

apart from this being disgustingly priced, it is a very good product.
it would be my favourite but it's just too expensive. I bought 2 of these and used them up until I found MAC moisture cover (which is much better value for money). but I won't buy anymore touche eclat. this should retail for £15-17 tops.

even if this fits into your budget and your prepared to pay that much for an under-eye concealer, I still don't think it's worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ExpatBeauty on 10/7/2011 10:30:00 AM more reviews by ExpatBeauty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

* Me - NC30, normal to dry skin with occasional acne and dry spots
* Review of Touche Éclat No.1 (Luminous Radiance): (a) As a concealer, this does not work as a concealer because it does not match a true match for skin tone since it is peach-pink in tone; (b) As a complexion highlighter, the product claims that dark circles, fine lines and signs of fatigue virtually disappear but in reality, it is not a magic all-in-one. Since the color is peach-pink, it does seem to sort of “lighten” the skin but after a while, it just seems to fade right into my skin and appear virtually unnoticeable; (c) This seems to be an okay alternative to powder highlighter powders and shimmery luminescent highlighters like BeneFit’s High Beam for the area above the eye brow, along the jowl line and area below the chin.
* Pros - Light texture, easy to blend and is not chalky. Sleek and portable YSL packaging and looks nice to carry around.
* Price - €30
* Verdict - Overall, this seems to be just an okay product for me and no matter how many different ways I try using this, I don't think I'll ever fall in love with it enough to ever repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondex199667 on 10/4/2011 7:40:00 PM more reviews by blondex199667

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is, by far, the best product I've ever used under my eyes in terms of finish. It is also the only product I've ever had a bad reaction to. After using it for a few weeks I end up with what can only be described as welts under my eyes. I've bought it several times over the years, hoping for a different result. I most recently bought the one specifically for men, but the same thing happened.
The price is outrageous, the packaging is not great because you can't precisely control the flow. But it is the best highlighter out there, if your skin can take it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Highlighters products