CeraVe • Foaming Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 4.1(246 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 ironicsymphonic on 6/15/2014 9:43:00 PM more reviews by ironicsymphonic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been dealing with facial congestion and tiny little breakouts due to dryness and generally fussy, sensitive skin. I realized how bad my alkaline natural bar soap was for my skin (finally!) and tried this cleanser in hopes of achieving the proper pH balance on my face. Unfortunately, this didn't really help. It didn't really worsen anything, but my skin remained flaky and tight (for me, mostly on my chin and forehead). Yes, I was moisturizing with Cerave facial moisturizer, which has served me pretty well in the past, but after a fair trial of several weeks, the condition of my skin hadn't changed, and I continued to feel a little tight and dry.

Note: I KNOW that Cerave makes a cleanser for dry skin, but I don't have dry skin - it's a tad oily in places and flaky in other places but not parched at all - just super sensitive and finicky. It can literally look shiny and feel tight at the same time. It does NOT react well to creamy milky products and I don't dare touch their other cleanser with a ten foot pole. Nope. "Know thyself," they say, and I do. I discontinued this and am using the rest of the bottle as a shaving gel on my legs/underarms (which works fine, but after a rinse feels drying in those areas too! The skin there is perfectly normal.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VioletBick on 6/13/2014 10:20:00 PM more reviews by VioletBick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Picked this up trying to find a cheaper alternative to Purity. The previous reviewer had success but unfortunately I did not. My aging skin is normal - dry and this stuff seems geared towards normal - oily. I was left feeling a little drier then I am used to. Also my skin felt slightly tacky afterwards. I don't think it's a bad product at all. Liked that it's easy to find and affordable but it just didn't work for my particular skin at this time. If your skin is like mine I use Purity when I wear make-up and have great results but I also use Derma-E hydrating cleanser and highly recommend that one if this product didn't work for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mozart68 on 6/9/2014 8:25:00 PM more reviews by Mozart68

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Replaced Purity
I used Purity for years, then I started my search for a cleanser that I could pick up at the drug store. I tried this cleanser after reading all of the great reviews, and they are right. This is a great, gently cleanser. It removes my makeup without stripping my skin. I have been using this product for a few years now, and I never even consider trying anything else.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 13btg on 5/25/2014 6:26:00 PM more reviews by 13btg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I love this cleanser! I've been using it for about a year I think, and its the best I have tried so far. I have acne prone skin and I have tried sooo many face cleansers but gave up and used a bar soap for a few months because I was horrified of experimenting with face cleansers since they have either break me out or they're just too harsh for my face (one of the many cleansers was so harsh that it burnt my face and left it red for days!!). But the bar soap was drying my skin a lot so I decided to give this a try. This product leaves my face soft and clean, although I do have to use three pumps when I'm wearing makeup, two is enough but i use three jussttt to make sure. It doesnt make as much foam though, but it still gets your face clean. It doesnt dry my skin out and I also noticed my breakouts reduced drastically after I switched to cerave cleanser. I love it, I will keep buying this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yaytaytay on 5/25/2014 3:42:00 PM more reviews by yaytaytay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Honestly, i wanted to love this product. My mom uses all CeraVe products with great success. She has beatufil, glowing skin. She use the PM and AM moisturizer and both of the cleansers. I was having a bit of a bout with my skin in the last year and i just wasn't happy with my skincare routine. I was using and Olay cleanser and Neutrogena scrub and moisturizer. My skin just wasn't doing well. So i decided to try the whole CeraVe line. I used the foaming cleanser at night with the PM moisturizer and the hydrating cleanser in the morning. Everything was conveniently already in our bathroom b/c as i said my mom uses all of it and swears by it. After about a week or 2 of using everything my skin just didn't look good. I was getting little whiteheads and bumps everywhere and weirdly enough, my skin got more red and dry.....i thought these products were suppose to be gentle??? Anyways, long story short i was unsatisfied with my skin at that time and the CeraVe line. I think i may also be allergic to niacinamide or something else in it. Im not saying this is true for everyone because it works AMAZINGLY for my moms skin..has helped her breakouts and wrinkles...maybe it will work for you maybe it won't...but i won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 griggs42 on 5/20/2014 6:09:00 PM more reviews by griggs42

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love CeraVe! This foaming cleanser is fantastic. It cleanses my skin without drying it out, and it just feels really nice massaging it on my face. The bottle is quite large for a reasonable price (around $15.00) but it lasts so long it's a steal. I love the helpful ingredients while still being a basic cleanser, so my skin doesn't react to it. I used this a while back, and I'll never know why I strayed. My oily, acne ridden skin actually looks presentable with just a tiny bit of powder because of CeraVe. My only gripe? I wish they had a smaller size so I could travel with it easily. Such a lovely product! I pray CeraVe never reformulates.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Carybear on 5/15/2014 5:02:00 PM more reviews by Carybear

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Yikes wow. Dry skin and "harsh" bumps. Any foaming agent is a big problem for me.
I tried it for two days, and my skin looked dry, dull and I had little red dermatitis bumps under/around nasolabial area and around the eyes (yes, that's dermatitis, if you experience this you are allergic to ___ product) I loathe the little dermatitis bumps because they take forever to go away, and since they're not pimples, they can't be treated the same way or they just get worse. If that happens to me, all I can do is wash with h2o for a week and wait. No makeup. And I have melasma AND vitiligo and I'm well over 30.in other words, I sometimes take gambles with products that cost me a "good face" for a week.
Sure, my face felt clean, and it rinsed off well. It's not for me though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eViLAnGeL18 on 5/8/2014 10:09:00 PM more reviews by eViLAnGeL18

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Excellent product. I have oily skin and this really does a great job of cleaning (without drying out my skin), so it is not harsh at all. The best part is that it is affordable (I think around $15 Canadian) for quite a large pump bottle and can be purchased at drugstores, Wal-Mart, etc. It is pleasant smelling and lathers/foams nicely (I use it with my Clarisonic device). I will continue to buy it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beaniejadepop on 5/8/2014 9:22:00 PM more reviews by beaniejadepop

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

If you are looking for a facial cleanser that is gentle on oily, senisitive skin, this is the one.....that is the best facial cleanser I have bought in a long while...and the price is great too...highly recommended

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BCP on 5/8/2014 10:48:00 AM more reviews by BCP

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this, tried everything under the sun.
It's a great cleanser if you're looking at making your skincare routine very basic, it won't cure anything but it doesn't irritate or make anything worse. :) which is a big plus for me.

If you're wondering wether to buy the hydrating or foaming- I've tried both and I actually find the hydrating more irritating and I get scaly patches while using it, and it burns my skin a little. I find the foaming more effective and gentle!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More CeraVe products

More Cleansers products