Garnier • Moisture Rescue Lightweight UV Lotion SPF 15 [DISCONTINUED] • Moisturizers

rated 3.7(102 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 risababy on 5/3/2012 12:37:00 AM more reviews by risababy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have the fairest skin in my entire family so my mother would always try to catch me when I was young and slather sunscreen on me. A few years ago, nobody made sunscreens that were matte/sheer/etc. They were greasy, and I resisted like the child I was. So my mother bought a much older version of this for me to put on, which I did because I liked it so much better. That old version came in a flatter white bottle (think a rounded Olay bottle with a flip-top lid) and wasn't called "moisture rescue" but it was essentially the product. It smelled the same, had the same texture, came from Garnier's "fresh" line and had SPF 15.
-
To my sadness, Garnier discontinued that product. I have since then been trying to find another SPF moisturizer that matched its lightness and ability to have a finish that did not make me look like an oil-slick. I was unsuccessful, UNTIL last year I saw that they brought this back in new packaging and possibly altered ingredients. If they did, I can't tell because it feels the exact same as it did when I was 10.
-
I love how it has a pump now! It even locks when you turn the head so it's great for travelling - a must when you're in university, like I am now. I do find myself having to scoop out the bottom amount with the pump straw but it's really the only setback. I can also see this being slightly deceitful: it says "moisture rescue", implying deep hydration but it's really just a light moisturizer with light SPF.
-
Yes, you will need a heavier moisturizer in the Winter when you apply makeup. Otherwise, your face will start rubbing off in that horrible eraser-bit like texture (you know what I mean!) It's great when you're going natural though because it provides some protection from the sun and completely dries to a non-sticky finish. Note: this does not mean matte! When you do apply makeup, however, I find it's a great "before" product because it smooths to make a nice base and has a slightly tacky feel right after you apply it so makeup can adhere better.
-
Did I mention how it smells great? It smells great. Anyway, I love this moisturizer. Price is great, around $10 CAD at Wal-Mart. Can you really ask for more? Needless to say, of course I repurchased! I am just finishing up my first bottle (it lasts about about year for me with every day usage - increased in Winter). Now the second bottle is waiting for me so I don't have to go without it! I will be very sad if Garnier discontinues this again!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lisatoxic on 4/3/2012 6:26:00 PM more reviews by Lisatoxic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing moisturizer it smells great and my skin just instantly goes smooth and soft. I also notice a huge difference on how my foundation looks. I'm happy that I finally found a moisturizer since it's really hard to find one when you have combination skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 smatte77 on 3/19/2012 12:02:00 PM more reviews by smatte77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this product. My skin is pretty nice, I have a few pores here and there that are slightly enlarged around the sides of my nose, and the occasional hormonal pimple, but that's about it. I have normal/dry-in-winter-skin and can get a little oily on my nose during the day. This is my go-to moisturizer. It is light enough to use under make up but moisturizing enough to make a difference, plus it's got the added bonus of SPF. It's also 99.9% oil free. I DO wish that it came with some sort of anti-aging (like antioxidants or retinol or something) goodies in the ingredients. The bottle lasts FOREVER so I do think it's a great buy. The packaging is pretty standard, but once you get to the end of the bottle you have to take the top off and use the pump straw thing to dish out the rest at the bottom. Overall, I like this as a standard daily moisturizer, and I will continue to re-purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bhindhazeleyez on 1/29/2012 4:05:00 PM more reviews by bhindhazeleyez

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I find it very hard to find a good facial moisturizer for my combination skin. I get very oily in my T-zone but dry and flaky on my cheeks. I have had disappointing results with a lot of department store moisturizers, mainly that they are either too greasy or they don't give enough moisture to my skin. This is the perfect medium for me. It smells nice, absorbs quickly into the skin and leaves my skin soft and moisturized. Sometimes in the winter when my skin gets extra dry and my flakes still show through, I will just put on some serum first and I'm good to go :) Love this and will definitely continue to purchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dmsinclair10 on 1/28/2012 4:21:00 PM more reviews by dmsinclair10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Wonderful moisturizer! I use this moisturizer in the mornings during winter. It gives so much moisture without the grease! Love, love, love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xChocobunny on 1/28/2012 4:19:00 PM more reviews by xChocobunny

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this moisturizer. It's lightweight, has a smooth texture, and a light fresh scent. It absorbs quickly into my skin, leaving it feeling smooth, fresh, moisturized, and looks great under my makeup. This is my first lotion with spf and I'm loving it so I can't really compare to others. I also noticed a slight reduction with my blemishes as this is the ony thing I changed in my routine (I don't think my diet changed mich either). I also really liked how it is in a bottle with a twist-lock feature- hygenic! Will continue repurchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pixelpanda on 1/22/2012 8:35:00 PM more reviews by pixelpanda

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I liked that this absorbed into my skin fairly quickly and that it made my face really soft. It smells like shampoo, not in a bad way, but it's kinda weird. The great thing about this is that it doesn't leave a white cast! There are so many sunscreens out there that leave my face looking pale and sickly, and this isn't one of them.
I'd say this is best for use in the summer/spring since it's pretty lightweight. For those of you with drier skin, it might not be moisturizing enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ritumoni on 1/19/2012 12:53:00 AM more reviews by ritumoni

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for 2 months now. First i liked it so much! it felt light weight. Now however i have a different impression. It always feels sticky on my face, it burns my eyes like CRAZY because of the spf/
The worst part, i think this is breaking me out ? ? mayber i dont know but i have breakouts every so often and it might be due to this ...\

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* my3sons5 on 1/4/2012 1:34:00 PM more reviews by my3sons5

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Perfect morning treatment w/both a heavy enough moisturizer for winter (in Florida) and spf too. Inexpensive enough so I can slather face, neck and back of hands without a care!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 danifreche on 11/29/2011 5:49:00 PM more reviews by danifreche

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this moisturizer about 2 months ago for an every-day before makeup moisturizer with SPF and it has far surpassed any other DS one I've ever tried.. I love the fact that I only need one small pump for my whole face, and it smells so fresh. Most lotion-y types aren't hydrating enough and leave my nose all flakey, but this one doesn't. My makeup actally looks natural now and not flakey around my dry areas! I sometimes even use this after washing my face at night because it leaves my skin so soft and perfectly balanced, not greasy like a heavier cream, or tight and crinkly like a gel or gel-cream. If I need a little extra moisture on my dry areas at night I use Clinaderm Cream, which is an awesome anti-irritation super moisturizing cream for allergic reactions and such. If my moisture balanace is good when I go to bed, I find I don't need to actally wash my face with a cleanser in the morning, just spash with water and use my Garnier moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garnier products

More Moisturizers products