Rimmel • Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.8(631 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 jess2133 on 7/3/2014 9:58:00 PM more reviews by jess2133

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this foundation because I needed a foundation without SPF for my semi formal, and it was like $10 at priceline. I used it a few times before to get a feel of it and it definitely did stay on my face, but it does basically nothing for oil control so by the end of the day I was a greasy mess. But for everyday I barely use any powder to set my foundation, so on the actual day of my semi formal I used more powder on my face to try keep the oil at bay and sprayed some water to get rid of the powdery look. I was expecting to have to blot every hour, but I found that I didn't need to and by the end of the 7 hours there was basically no oil on my face.

However, when I looked back at the photos from the night (taken with and without flash on professional cameras/phones) the foundation looked great but in one photo which was taken with a phone on flash, the foundation made my face looked greyish and white in comparison to the rest of my body. The grey is probably because the foundation is on the pinker side rather than yellow, but there was still a slight white cast so there is probably something in the foundation that is sensitive to flash photography.

So in all I will try use up this foundation, probably as a sort of concealer since it stays so well, but I would not repurchase as on its own it is useless with oil and there a definitely better foundations out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NicoIcon999 on 7/3/2014 5:36:00 PM more reviews by NicoIcon999

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this because my current foundation was melting off of my face in this summer heat and I heard good things about this stuff not transferring. I just wanted something that wouldn't disappear if I needed to dab my forehead or sweaty upper lip. I guess it somewhat works. But here's why it won't work for me. My skin has been very oily lately and I can't just go with this foundation. I need powder or I look incredibly greasy. Not only that but the coverage really isn't all that great. My Milani mutitasker powder provides me with proper coverage because I've never had a liquid or cream foundation that I can honestly say gives me flawless coverage. It looked decent at first, but as soon as I started sweating (my job is extremely physical) it looked so gross. My powder kind of darkened and sank into my pores looking like a bunch of blackheads! Also I looked like I had really deep jowl lines! I checked my makeup on my break and just wanted to hide! I still had 6 more hours left to my workday! Another thing is this stuff is tacky to the touch. I used my real techniques expert face brush and found the hairs on the brush were putting little lines in my foundation. I've never had a problem with this brush not blending properly. This stuff just never set right and it was like too sticky to blend in. My face and neck have broken out because I think I overblended and irritated my skin. The only good thing was the color (ivory) was a decent match. Funny, seems most people find the shades to be the worst thing about it. This would be good for someone with dry skin or for a person who typically doesn't set their foundation with powder. Paid under $7 at Target.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 teago on 7/2/2014 3:20:00 AM more reviews by teago

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am SO pleasantly surprised by Rimmel face products lately. I had purchased the match perfection and found it a great Colour match, smooth finish and easy application but it just didn't last as long as I'd like. So I purchased this. It's just as good! Great Colour match, easy blendabilty, lasts a decent amount of time and user friendly packaging though not so stylish. Please don't discontinue this EVER rimmel!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 antoanto23 on 7/1/2014 4:12:00 PM more reviews by antoanto23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My hd foundation!full coverage,water proof and sweat proof,matt finish without drying.better then revlon or mac just the flowery smell can bother some people.cheap and very much a must have

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JoJo1000 on 6/30/2014 11:08:00 AM more reviews by JoJo1000

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this foundation for years and love it because it makes my skin look very natural, but still covers well. I'm very active but refuse to go biking, hiking, and swimming without a foundation on - vanity. In the Houston heat and humidity it is crucial to have a foundation that won't run off or bead up like milk if you perspire and Lasting Finish stays put when wet.

Most soap and waters do not remove this foundation completely unless they have a very slippery base. I use the basic white Dial bar soap - very slippery, and follow up with astringent on a cotton ball. I do agree that the hole in the tube is too large and I waste a lot of foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 frinhewitt on 6/30/2014 7:54:00 AM more reviews by frinhewitt

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this foundation and it was a great price, great colour and looked amazing on my skin. It just made my skin inflame as if I were allergic and it went all bumpy and red. It's just my skin having a reaction to this foundation which I hate cause this foundation really is amazing. Just too bad my skin didn't agree.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 foxkid on 6/27/2014 6:06:00 PM more reviews by foxkid

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this because I needed a product that would give me plenty of coverage and stay on my skin while I went out clubbing (I dance a lot, it gets sweaty, my face goes pretty pink)

This foundation does give the coverage but I find it balls up on my skin and looks quite cakey when I layer it up to fully hide an blushing. It's probably not too noticeable from far away and also at night-time when I wear it, but it does bother me as my skin is relatively smooth and it just seems to highlight any bumps I have makes my skin look worse. I would never wear this during the day time.

My mum now uses this foundation, she has combination skin and is in the 35-45 age bracket. She seems to like it :)

I will keep this foundation for emergencies, if you want something for clubbing that will definitely stay and don't care so much of how it appears close-up then this does the job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Slone07 on 6/27/2014 5:13:00 PM more reviews by Slone07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've always worn high end foundations, but happened to see a YouTube video review of this from one of my favorite ladies just as I'd run out of my usual and thought I'd give it a go. Boy, am I glad I did! This foundation provides such a perfect, skin-like look and texture, I can't believe I got this for ten bucks and change. The coverage is great with one layer and builds nicely to cover anything of concern. It almost completely takes care of my seriously dark undereye circles and definitely makes them easier to cover with my usual concealer. It has a nice, smooth, almost matte finish when allowed to set on its own, or sometimes I set it with Laura Mercier's setting powder and it stays ALL day and looks great until I take it off at night. If I don't set it with powder, it still lasts, but doesn't look quite as perfect in the end as it does with powder. Other makeup applies flawlessly on top of this (blush, shadow, etc.). Despite its staying power, I have not broken out from this foundation. I will typically get whiteheads on my cheeks and chin when a foundation is going to break me out, but there have been none so far! And very important to me, is comfort. I hate feeling like I'm wearing makeup and this is just simply comfortable. Not drying, not necessarily hydrating, and definitely not oily. I pray that they don't reformulate or discontinue this...it's the best I've ever used. Only con is the very limited range of shades. I got the lightest available and it's perfect for my light, but not super pale skin. Usually, I have to pick the second lightest from a range, so ladies paler than myself, unfortunately, this will not work for. One last thing, I find that I have to remove this with an oil-based cleanser or makeup remover. Not a biggie, since I already have one in my arsenal of products, but just something to be aware of.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bluestar100 on 6/12/2014 1:43:00 PM more reviews by bluestar100

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

this foundation is excellent it just does the job properly, giving good coverage but natural finish and some how seems to adapt to my skin tone. it lasts, has limited touch off, doesn't oxidase and is really cheap! a great every day foundation. it does seem to adapt to face skin tone so my advice is to try it on your face because and look at it in the shop and day light as it's hard to tell if it's the right colour otherwise.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sessr on 6/9/2014 7:16:00 PM more reviews by Sessr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on a whim after reading some reviews. I figured, eh, not too expensive, what the hay... I used to use the Mac Mineralise Foundation (god knows why it wasn't suitable for me whatsoever). It slipped a lot and my face went shiny within 3-4 hours. I prefer this one for my skin. I do use a matte powder and makeup setting spray in addition to the Rimmel foundation. ------- I find I only need to blot once in the day for my face to remain reasonably matte. Furthermore, when I do blot I find there isn't much transferred onto the sheet compared to other brands. -------- Some people say it has a slight tacky / stickiness to it. I think it does but I don't mind it. It doesn't feel heavy for me and it isn't cakey, which could be due to the fact I don't need or use a lot. ----- I would buy it again as it seems to be great for me. Lastly, I haven't noticed any breakouts caused by this product. --- Win.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Liquid products