Nivea • A Kiss of Milk and Honey • Lips

rated 4.0(199 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkishbrown on 8/27/2013 8:04:00 PM more reviews by pinkishbrown

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is something i use unconventionally, so brace yourself! I'm sorry to not be reviewing this as an actual lip balm, but I do have a few notes on that.
Price: very low, under $4 for certain and at most drugstores/Target/WM.
Packaging: adorable and convenient, sturdy
Shape/style: I love the shape and "thick" round end of the balm. I prefer this to skinny chapstick that seems unfriendly for women who have fuller lips (or want to feel that they do).
Scent/Misc: I don't detect a scent, but how I use this is why I probably do not detect one.

I use this as an eye "gloss"! It's the best. I basically roll it gently over my eye lid, and try to avoid getting close to lash line. (Don't want weird eyelash strays on my balm, it grosses me out!). This leaves a thin but detectable sheen on my lid. It's not as thick or sticky as Vaseline, and it's not mentholated.
After I roll the balm over my lid, I then take my favorite shadow (usually something with a bit of shimmer since I'm going for an illuminated effect), and I gently press a clean finger to pick up a wash of shadow, then press on my lid. Repeat until i've covered up to the crease and all over main part of lid.
This makes an amazing look IMO. It really brings out the beauty of the shadow because it's not applied thickly, but you can see every little pretty shimmer and color-nuance. Then, you get this amazing sheen that seems to make your eyelid thicker or more visible/lifted. That is the look I was going for. After years of searching for eye glosses and getting only icky and sticky items (Calvin Klein eye gloss, MAC gloss used on eyes which they rec'd), I gave up. Vaseline gave a similar effect but eyes felt disgusting and like I was about to lose any speck of shadow immediately.
Products like Laura Mercier's eye shimmers (in a little metal tube) exist, but these are precolored and never look like what I was hoping to achieve (that glossy lidded supermodel look that is totally impossible to replicate for long periods, until now!)....

A tip: when using finger to press the shadow onto the moistened lid, you have to use different fingers for each application, or else your shadow could get really mucky and "bumpy" since the balm is like a lubricant/oil. I keep a wet clean washcloth and just wipe off my fingers afterward. So cheap, so chic. LOVE!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rainlullaby on 7/21/2013 2:56:00 PM more reviews by rainlullaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Recently purchased this chapstick on a whim and it's now my new favorite. It makes my lips super soft and it lasts for quite a while. I find it to be moisturizing. My lips aren't on the dry side though. This chapstick is also the perfect base for lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Serenigem on 7/5/2013 2:27:00 PM more reviews by Serenigem

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I gave this chapstick several tries and each time I tried it, I then remembered why I don't like it. I like the packaging but this chapstick does NOTHING for my dry lips. I would put it on and 2 mins later it would disappear and my lips felt like I didn't moisturize it at all. The price to me is on the high side but the quality does not fit the price. Won't ever repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ktmacup on 7/1/2013 3:16:00 PM more reviews by ktmacup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Mmmmm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emmiemc on 6/29/2013 6:23:00 PM more reviews by emmiemc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is a nice lipbalm. It's not very heavy duty (for that I use Rosebud Salve), however it is very convenient for on-the-go, and has no tint, which makes it perfect as a base for dry lipsticks.

It has a smooth consistency, which makes it easy to apply, and no remarkable taste, which I prefer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shauneexo on 6/26/2013 12:12:00 AM more reviews by Shauneexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This smells like a retirement home and did nothing to moisturize my perpetually dry lips. Pass!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vancandy on 6/25/2013 2:00:00 AM more reviews by vancandy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a chronic lip chewer with dry lips. Not sure if they're dry because I chew them or if I chew them because they're dry--vicious cycle!

This lip balm (chap stick?) doesn't do much for me, to be honest. It disappears from my lips in about 15-30 minutes, leaving them just as dry as before. The look and scent are fine, and the taste is neutral. I do notice that my lips look and feel better for the short time the product lasts. That being said, I haven't found any lip balm that ACTUALLY moisturizes my tiny, dry lips. Le sigh. The search continues.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lipstickinpink on 6/25/2013 1:27:00 AM more reviews by lipstickinpink

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Smells nice and makes your lips feel soft and smooth, but the moisture doesn't last long...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LeNatalie on 6/21/2013 7:00:00 AM more reviews by LeNatalie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This smells and feels nice. It makes my lips feel soft/smooth, but not really moisturized. The thing that I really dont like about this product is how I can TASTE it. Like, when I'm talking and stuff there truly cant be a lot of it getting in my mouth, yet I can taste it somehow, and it's hard to describe, but it tastes like waxy chemicals. It tastes almost how I would imagine Nivea lotion to taste O_o

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ericbubu on 6/20/2013 9:20:00 PM more reviews by ericbubu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on promotion 2 for 1 while on vacation in Bangkok. The other flavor was Grapefruit (pink tint with shimmer). I ended up using this one the most because it's colorless and smells a little better than the Grapefruit one. I didn't like the shimmers from the Grapefruit version getting in the cracks of my lips.

But honestly, even the Milk and Honey version is not very good. It just sits on my lips. Feels terribly waxy.

When I put on a layer before bed, it feels uncomfortable but when I apply it before I put on sticky lip gloss or pigmented lip stick then it prevents it from getting in the cracks and drying out my lips.

Even though I don't like this lip balm very much, I'm actually using it quite a lot. I'm trying to use it up so not to waste and I guess also because it's not really a complete bomb. At least it doesn't dry up my lips, nor does it disappear right away upon application. As long as I continue to use it as a lip base before I apply any color then it works well enough for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nivea products

More Lips products