Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner

4.3

597 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

water/aqua, ammonium styrene/acrylates copolymer, butylene glycol, alcohol, beheneth-30, phenoxyethanol, acrylates/octylacrylamide copolymer, methylparaben, polyglyceryl-3 disiloxane dimethicone, propylparaben, sodium hydroxide, disodium edta, may contain ( /) carbon black


on 6/24/2015 7:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The Stila Stay All Day Waterproof liquid liner is my HG liner for my top lash lines. This will not budge!! The felt tip also makes applying almost fool proof. Pigment is very black as well. I have been using this for almost two years now. The only complaint I have is that some pens dry out faster than others, I reccomend storing it tip down and shaking before use to get the best results!



on 6/24/2015 5:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've literally used the same pen everyday for 3 months now and the color is strong and dark every time. I have no issues with the tip being dry when I apply it, and generally speaking, compared to other eyeliner pens in the same category, the price is average. Its def become my favorite.


on 6/23/2015 4:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Simply the best best best eyeliner. Precise little tip that never fails, the darkest line, and most of all IT STAYS FOREVER! No amount of blinking or exercise will move it, yet it comes off easily with makeup remover! Amazing!


on 6/20/2015 9:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I received this as a Christmas present. This eyeliner is alright, but it is nothing special and dries out quickly.


on 6/15/2015 1:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
- Definitely waterproof
- Stays on all day just like it says in the product name
- Very fine tip allows you to do thin lines

Cons:
- Although it's waterproof, you can rub it or scratch it off
- Annoying to use when it gets dried out because you no longer get that fine tip application

If it's within your budget, definitely give it a try!


on 6/14/2015 2:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It's great works like a charm. Pricey for me
Glides on easily and is dark enough. Just its not smudge proof or waterproof. DEAL BREAKER


on 6/13/2015 9:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I was happy to find this great eyeliner pen. I love how quickly it applies and how convenient it is to throw in a purse or wristlet. I've tried plenty of liquid pens that don't last. This is the best so far. I have Jet Black and cannot comment on the other colors.

When Marc Jacobs first came out with the Magic Marc'er, I was in love with that. The first one I had was great. But the second Marc'er I bought wasn't as inky black, didn't last as long, and dried out fast. I wondered if they had changed the formula from the first to the second, or if the second one I bought hadn't been stored properly. It definitely didn't live up to the first one I had. Then I tested the new Coco brown Marc'er, and part of the line rubbed off before I got to the cash register, so I gave up on it.

I have Kat Von D's Tattoo Liner. I hate it. It smudges, transfers on the inner corners of my top lids, flakes, and sometimes it wears off in crumbly bits. I loathe it. Yes, I wear contacts. Yes, I get watery eyes from hayfever. My eyelids are not perfect. But Bobbi Brown's gel liners don't do that, and Stila's pen holds up better.

I bought Smashbox Limitless Liquid Liner pen. It wears off the inner corner. So I am constantly touching up if I use that one, too. Stila's stays better with normal tearing up or normal wear. I wear contact lenses and I use eye drops, so after having Smashbox's liner as well as Tattoo Liner completely fail me during hayfever season, Stila's was more reliable than that. I have Stila's Stay All Day Waterproof liquid liner pen in Jet Black. It's a nice deep black, with good staying power and no irritation. Urban Decay liquid liner burned my eyes. This doesn't.

I'm not sure it is waterproof because I've never swum in it, and I have had to touch it up. But it lasts better than Smashbox. With all of the liquid pens, I do use an eye primer (Nars) or Illuminare mineral cream shadow as a base to help the liner stay. I have to pull my skin taut when I apply liquid liner or I get a skippy line, but that's true of most of the pens (and eyeliners in general).

The most long-lasting gel eyeliner I've ever had is Bobbi Brown's gel ink liner in the little pot, but you have to apply it with a tiny brush and be relatively astute at doing so. Once set, it lasts all day. I've worn it to weddings and long days at amusement parks. But it does take longer to apply and it's not practical to carry the pot and a brush in your purse. Also, you have to wash the brush after you use it, so you need a sink. That makes it less practical if you're on the road. I love those ink pots, but a pen is far more convenient. You just carry it in your purse in case you need to fix it.

I have a great makeup remover from Paula's Choice that I use to take off my eye makeup (Bobbi Brown's is good, too) and I don't mind doing that with any of the waterproof liners as long as they are good. I'd rather have eyeliner that stays than eyeliner that easily rubs off. When someone complains that an eyeliner is hard to take off, my ears perk up, and I write it down on my shopping list. I want my eyeliner to stay.

I don't love paying $22, but it isn't bad when the product works well. Since buying this Stila liner, Clinique came out with the Pretty Easy Liquid Liner Pen for 19.50, and I have to say that Clinique's pen has a thinner, more precise tip, and I prefer it for that reason. Also, Clinique's finish isn't as glossy as Stila's, which I personally like better. And Clinique's stays very well.

The only thing I don't like about Stila is that according to mybeautybunny.com, Stila is no longer cruelty free. Neither is Clinique, unfortunately. Estee Lauder owns these brands and sets their policies regarding the environment and animal testing. As of the time of writing this review, the only liner I have by a cruelty free brand is Kat Von D's Tattoo Liner, and I have that in "Trooper," but to be completely frank, it doesn't perform as well as the Clinique pen or Stila's, so I can't wear it anywhere important because it smears a lot. After struggling with KVD's liner, I was excited to get Stila's because it held up much better.

I'm also loving Clinique's Pretty Easy pen because with the skinny brush I can get it closer to the lashline, it only takes a few seconds to dry, and once it sets, it stays incredibly well compared to my others. The skinny brush does means that I have to make a few extra passes as I apply, but I'm happy to do that in exchange for the precision I want. I had wanted Tom Ford's eyeliner pen for the skinny tip, but didn't want to blow fifty bucks on it in case it turned out to be crap. It feels like most pens decide for me how thick the line is going to be, and it's based on the tip.

The name "Stila Stay All Day Waterproof" is very boastful, and as far as whether something is truly waterproof, I'm not swimming in these pens. Mostly I'm just wearing my eyeliner to work. But this is one of the best options at Sephora.


on 6/12/2015 7:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this eyeliner! I am not good at using pen type eyeliners, especially to do winged eyeliner looks but this has changed my eyeliner game & made it so easy to make that perfect flick. The price point is also pretty good for the quality of this product thought I wish I could find a cheaper dupe. It doesn't dry out too quickly thought so it's not too bad. Just remember to put the cover on when you're not using it. My daughter got into this & took my cover off overnight & it totally dried out. I'll defiantly be buying another one though after I get through the other eyeliners I have. Highly recommend to anyone who's having trouble with their eyeliner.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this in one of the Sephora Favorites packs from 2014 as I've always struggled to find an eyeliner that doesn't smudge below my eye and this is the one. I like the felt tip for ease of application and it withstands showers at the gym. By the end of day there is little to no smudging under my eyes. Have tried the L'Oreal and Revlon felt tips but they smudged more. Price is high but I think I would repurchase if I can't find another that lasts.


on 5/29/2015 7:37:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

One word: perfect. Stays all night long during 12 hour shifts on nearly 50 year old eyelids. You will hear a mighty roar from the Rockies if they ever discontinue this product.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

New Year's Eve & Party Smokey Makeup Tutorial! 2015 by Angie Wilches

How to look like a cute doll: Easy simple steps & ideas, Very Kawaii! by beautybysantaana

Faking a Crease: Smokey Eyes (great for monolids?) by KoreanLovesBeauty



Back to Top