Maybelline • Dream Smooth Mousse • Crème

rated 3.6(656 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 bbarfield12 on 2/4/2014 2:22:00 PM more reviews by bbarfield12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go to foundation! I really love it. I try to buy products that aren't extremely toxic, this foundation comes in at a 2 on EWGs skin deep database (0 least toxic- 10 being most toxic). I decided to try it after learning the score, seeing rave reviews and that the price is really good! So glad I did! It glides on effortlessly. I apply it with my beauty blender which gives me an airbrush finish covering everything I need it to! It is not cakey at all, but you can easily over do it with this makeup so start with a little. It is build-able and blend-able!

I gave it a 4 because I don't love the packaging, I think that could be better. I also wish it came in more colors...I think it excludes too many people because of the lack of variety.

Overall...it's great for me, I do set it with a matte powder to reduce the shine since I'm oily. And it works great for me!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nihaobrookey on 1/30/2014 11:19:00 PM more reviews by nihaobrookey

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this! it gives a blurred effect to your face like a soft focus finish that looks super natural and it wears really good too!, I used to use the Covergirl aquasmooth creme foundation but this is so much better! & I'd say the coverage is medium to full

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 auxxyy on 1/30/2014 5:08:00 AM more reviews by auxxyy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like the packaging, but the product is great:) I have super oily skin and this goes on nicely and lasts all day! I apply with a flat top brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alyssawren on 1/15/2014 10:19:00 PM more reviews by alyssawren

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I read about this online a lot, and finally decided to try it. I didn't like the regular mousse because my skin is sort of dry in some areas, and I always felt like it would stick to the dry spots and look awful. But I really really like this! It goes on very smooth, like natural, glowy skin. It does last for quite a while, but not all day. I put it on around 6pm the other day, and around 11 that night it had started to oxidize a little bit on my face. But it is not terrible, and it has very good and build-able coverage. The only downside is that it does not come with very much in the compact, and it does seem to have a little bit of a pink undertone. I got the lightest one because I am very fair, and it was still a few shades too dark. But once you set it with some translucent powder, it will look a little lighter, which works fine! Overall, I really like it. I use an elf powder brush to put it on, and it works perfectly. It also is pretty matte, but not overly matte. It isn't very dewy, either. It just looks like a pretty, natural finish. It really is great stuff, I just wish they had more shades to work with for the fairer skinned gals out there!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Annaroro on 1/11/2014 12:14:00 AM more reviews by Annaroro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Does anyone know if this product was discontinued ????? I cannot find it and it's my HG foundation, I have dry skin and it just looks beautiful on my skin ! Please help

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 twink91 on 1/7/2014 9:16:00 PM more reviews by twink91

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I have tried lots of makeups mostly liquid types, but have never worn any makeup that works as well as Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse. The texure is very creamy, I apply with the sponge that comes with it, then smooth it out with a makeup brush. After that I add a little loose face powder to help it set. I love the colors and after applied, the finish is perfection. I have never had any breakouts from it. It lasts all day without touchups. It's the perfect makup for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FaceofMaleah on 1/7/2014 2:23:00 PM more reviews by FaceofMaleah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really, really like this foundation, it's is an excellent drugstore buy and has replaced my Laura Mercier Silk Creme foundation for the time being. I wear this foundation in the shade 110 Porcelain Ivory which is the lightest shade- it matches the lightness of my skin but has a bit of an unflattering orangey undertone, a problem that I find to be quite common with drugstore foundations. The foundation is very smooth and creamy and jus glides on your skin like a breeze. I have a lot of dry patches and this foundation, whether applied with a brush or a beauty blender, doesn't seem to disrupt them. When I put this foundation on my skin, my skin feels soft and supple and hydrated which are all important in my book. It gives me the most airbrushed finish of just about any foundation and gives a really pretty satin finish which I think looks most natural. I would say that this gives medium- full coverage depending on how you apply it. It if very easy to sheer out if you like less coverage and it layers beautifully if you like more coverage...I've heard of people using this foundation also a as a concealer because of the coverage and enjoying the results. On my skin which is dehydrated and oily, this foundation will last 8-10 hours. Very reasonable wear time and about halfway through that time, I like to powder it just to take away any shine. I wouldn't rate this foundation a 5/5 because one this that really bothers me other than the undertone of the foundation is that when it fades, it fades patchy. Yes it does take a while to fade but if I am having a really, really long day there is really no saving my face past the 10 hour mark. Overall though I do feel that this is an incredible foundation by any standards. I do feel particularly drawn to it because it was the first foundation I had ever purchased for myself a few years back and it really is quite a solid product. I recommend this for all skin types and I think if you try it, you'll love it :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 electroTABBY on 12/31/2013 4:41:00 PM more reviews by electroTABBY

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Grey    

I really love this foundation. Even though I tend to have an oily t-zone, it's worse to use a drying foundation on oily skin because it will cause it to produce more oil later on as a reverse effect to make up for the moisture loss. Anyways, this foundation is perfect because it feels like you're using a rich cream on your face rather than paint like some other full coverage foundations. I like that I can even use it as a concealer which is what I do on most days if I don't feel like caking on a whole layer of makeup on my face. BecAuse this matches me so well, (I use 240 natural beige) I can use it to conceal just under my eyes or any other little blemishes if I need to and after blending with a face kabuki brush, you can't even tell im wearing it! Aside for some bit of shine, because it is moisturizing, but if you don't like the shine you can always powder it and it looks wonderful. As for lasting power, When topped with a powder over it, lasts a good solid 8 hours most of the time. And with touch ups, it will look nice all day and it easy to add layers to without it looking cakey or blotchy. What I love about it is that you can build up to really full coverage without it looking like too much. Overall, i really enjoy that clean fresh faced look that this cream foundation gives and I've been repurchasing this for along time now probably for 2 years! I use revlon color stay liquid foundation some days which I think lasts longer, but for me is a little too thick and paint-like to use everyday. I dilute it down with moisturizer when I use it but I don't have to do that with the maybelline cream dream mousse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seaswan on 12/20/2013 6:51:00 PM more reviews by seaswan

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Bought this in two shades, creamy natural and natural beige. I achieved a good match with both colors.
My skin is dry, very dry and I didn't know how the cream would apply, quite heavy I found. I ended up stippling it on with good results, but it was a matte finish on me with light/medium coverage.
A few hours later I looked in the mirror and my T-zone which only acts up in the warmer months, was a slick, shiny mess! Next day I powdered and didn't like the finish but waited and the same thing happened.
I don't know what kind of skin type would like this but it isn't mine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 12/14/2013 3:50:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I hate to say this but this is possibly one of the best foundations I have found recently for winter. I have normal skin in summer and dry in winter. I ahve a very hard time finding a foundation that is balanced.
I tried this because I was recommended to try a cream one because of my dry skin and how I am getting older. This stuff went on almost full coverage and is very natural looking. The color was a perfect match. I got Classic Ivory and am NW20 in MAC. I have not noticed any oxidation what-so-ever, but rarely have ever had trouble with that in any foundation.
It looks very smooth and feels very lightweight. I have roseacea and it covered it well. I am seriously very impressed with Maybelline lately. I used to hate the brand.
There is a trick to this foundation I found. Dab the sponge on the product, do not push. Dab it on the skin in spots all over and then press it in all over. If you swipe or drag it around it will look cakey and uneven. It sets after about 3 minutes and doesn't move.
I used primer underneath as well and found that works best. I set it with light powder with a light hand.
I am curious now about the other cream foundations as I really like this product. The packing sucks big time on this. The screw lid under the sponge flip lid is annoying. I wish this had a compact design with a mirror, but in all I am so pleased with the actual product I won't complain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Crème products