MAC • Sheer Plum • Lipstick

rated 3.8(62 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 hsm19 on 5/6/2004 10:32:00 PM more reviews by hsm19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great color, seemingly all-around! I have a very dark tan complexion, black hair, brown eyes and this is just the right amount of color for me for a very natural look. True, it is not really very plum, more of a rosy brown color. It's great for those days when you just need to brighten up your face with one product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 linochka on 4/10/2004 7:57:00 PM more reviews by linochka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

There is nothing 'plum' about this lipstick. Not on me at least. The name is misleading, it is pretty much sheer brown with slight berry tone. Looks exactly the same as "Polished up". I tried them both, and could not see any difference on my lips. Great texture, and as with all MAC lustres, nice shine, smell, packaging. Pretty if you are looking for a sheer brown. By the way I have dark brown hair/eyes/brows, pale cool complexion. I did not find it similar to Clinique Black Honey. Black Honey is more red toned and deeper (looks terrible on me), this one is somewhat neutral and pretty.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fairylis on 2/24/2004 12:51:00 PM more reviews by fairylis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Nice texture that gives a bit of shine and doesn't dry my lips. The SA recommended this when I told her I wanted something similar to Clinique's Black Honey. Unfortunantly, I eventually found this is way too dark for my NC25 Asian skintone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ihatespumoni on 2/15/2004 8:57:00 PM more reviews by ihatespumoni

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Why is this called sheer plum? It is NOT plum at all. It is a warm reddish brown. I do not see any plummish colours or anything remotely plum. Anyway, that being said, it is sheer-ish. The texture is ok, glides on smoothly with satisfactory staying power (seems to last longer on my upper lips than lower lips though, which does not happen with me with other lipsticks). Anyway, no offensive smell or taste IMO. The lipstick itself is fine, the colour is nothing special - I have Revlon lipsticks that look like this. Won't repurchase in this colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kitchen on 2/10/2004 12:35:00 AM more reviews by kitchen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a sheer red-brown lustre lipstick. I love the colour, it doesn't look overwhelming on my asian skin (C4). I do wish it had more staying power though. The colour is excellent so I would def. purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mani_80 on 12/1/2003 12:37:00 PM more reviews by Mani_80

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I don't see any 'plum' on me, just like other ladies said below. This is truly a nice neutral reddy-brown on my Asian NC20 though. Love the scent from MAC lipsticks and the Lustres texture is just fabulous!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cremebrulee on 9/5/2003 3:31:00 AM more reviews by cremebrulee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Universal shade! Anybody can wear it and it is non-drying. Goes with any outfit as well- formal or rugged! I am a LLL and my friends range from a PPP to a GGG and DDD they all love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NancyM on 7/28/2003 3:46:00 PM more reviews by NancyM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I was in the MAC store yesterday and I asked the SA if she had any lipsticks that looked like Restrained Rust. Based on the color name alone, I would never have agreed, but when I tried it on, it was the shade I was looking for.

This is a good everyday lipstick for me -- a leave in my desk at work lipstick that's a good choice when I don't know what lipstick to wear.

I gotta knock a lipstick off for that ever present gross MAC lipstick scent and another one off for lack of staying power. I'll probably buy this one again since it's so neutral.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChaiBliss on 6/25/2003 7:53:00 PM more reviews by ChaiBliss

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is quite a pretty shade, but I'm not sure the words "sheer" or even "plum" really apply to it! On my lips, this appears to be more of a muted brown-berry shade. It's very pretty, but I would have preferred something less dark, perhaps, and longer lasting. That said, it's a creamy formula and keeps my lips supple for as long as I have it on. The colour, to me, says "winter" more than anything else, so maybe I'll try this as it gets cooler outside and my makeup picks begin to change.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kitty62 on 6/4/2003 1:18:00 AM more reviews by kitty62

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This was always one of my favorite MAC colors, though I wasn't crazy about the formula. Now that it's a Lustre, same thing: color, great; formula, so-so. As with most of the other Lustres, the glossiness is gone within just a few minutes. But this one leaves behind a nice red-brown stain. I guess I can live with that, but this might be the last tube of this shade that I will buy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products