NARS • Pro-Prime Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base • Eye Primer

rated 4.3(331 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 emvie on 2/5/2014 8:09:00 AM more reviews by emvie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of those products that is a life changer. I have oily eyelids and it doesn't take long when I wear eyeshadow for there to be a crease. Every time I use this, my eyeshadow stays intact until I take it off! It's amazing! Even if I accidentally rub my eye, my eyeshadow stays on. Fantastic product :) The only, very very slight downside, is that it's a little more difficult to blend eyeshadows when applying. And I question the sanitary aspect of it being a a lipgloss-like container.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ElectricBlack on 2/4/2014 7:07:00 PM more reviews by ElectricBlack

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after seeing Lisa Eldridge use it a lot on her videos and she swears by it. I however wanted a different use for it. I currently am using a combination of MAC Studio Finish Concealer (Shades 35+42) and Giorgio Armani Color Corrector (Orange)...to conceal my dark circles and naso labial folds. These two are not holy grail material but I have been using these two combination for years and have gone through many concealers and I stick by them for now. Anyway, the problem I have is I usually end up with concealers fading close to my tear ducts and also slight creasing in some areas that I end up lookin like I have more makeup than I actually wear and have a dark ring on my lash lines. I love my makeup looking natural fresh and the whole no makeup makeup look. So I resorted to using NARS primer in hopes that itd reduce the fading and creasing... after all if it can do that to a very mobile eye lid why not the less mobile under eye area. Long story short... it did absolutely nothing for creasing and fading. The packaging is lip gloss like and it can be a bit unhygienic Id much prefer it a squeeze tube where I dont end up digging for products when its still pretty brand new. There doesnt seem to be much inside a tube of it. Its a bit pricey for what I use it for. I yet have to ask my sister to try it for its intended purpose of eye shadows but for now... Im not too keem in repurchasing this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KLynn88 on 2/1/2014 8:22:00 PM more reviews by KLynn88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm sold on this stuff. I used a teeny bit, with some cheap eyeshadow from ELF to really test it out, and it went on so nicely. It brought out the pigment so well, that even my husband noticed how purple my eyeshadow was. You know it works when even a guy can spot the difference.

It's pricey. No doubt about that. But you can go cheaper on eye shadows because the primer gives them more pigment and staying power (ie: Wet n Wild, ELF, NYX all make excellent low-end eye shadows). It all evens out (or even saves you money!) in the end. So you can save the MAC and NARS shadows for special occasions ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bmclaugh on 1/29/2014 11:49:00 AM more reviews by bmclaugh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I recently purchased the Nars eye primer. I have combination skin but no eye shadow will stay on my eyelid for more than 5 hours; I love this product! I was not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised, I will say after 12 hours it barely creases but I dabbed a small amount of eye shadow over it and looked brand new!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* saarahkb4 on 1/26/2014 1:34:00 PM more reviews by saarahkb4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am one of the odd ones out who didn't like this primer for my oily, hooded lids, which is why I'm writing this review. I will start with the things I liked about the primer. I like that the primer was a gel, it felt soothing when first applied and I could see this being a better alternative to those how have very dry or mature eyelids. It would be a lot better than say UDPP, which is so thick and tacky. The wand keeps your hands relatively clean and you don't have to worry about an excess of product. Also in a pinch you can use it as a lipstick primer (a little drying though). Also, it does keep my shadow on all day until I take it off.

Now on to what I do not care for. I do not like that the primer needs longer to set than any other primer I have tried. While my eyeshadow doesn't smudge it looks bland, neutralized, and it makes it damn near impossible to blend. I find my eyeshadow just doesn't look as nice as it does with my paint pots or trusty TFSI. Also the wand is nice in theory but I have a lot of real estate on my lids and there is never enough product to do both my lids. Lastly for the pice the tube seems so small! I know a little goes a long way but it just doesn't seem (to me) to be a very good deal.

No I wouldn't repurchase. I'm glad it works so well for everybody else, but I will stick with what works. (Stick, get it, because it's primer? Ehhhhh ;) )

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessica2015 on 1/18/2014 10:49:00 PM more reviews by jessica2015

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have VERY oily eyelids. And I have tried different primers, and each one I tried , within 4-6 hours, my eye shadow creased.But once I tried this one, my eyelids do not get greasy, or crease. It DOES NOT CREASE for 12 hours I kid you not. So if you have really oily eyelids, buy this! It is absolutely worth every penny!

**I also put this on my under eye, and it keeps my concealer right where I put it.**

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 riceboxes on 1/12/2014 3:51:00 PM more reviews by riceboxes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried many primers including MAC's paintpots, UDPP, too faced shadow insurance but this was the best one!

It keeps my eyeshadow intact all day long and I like its texture!

However, I'm not a fan of the packaging...wish it came in a tube :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FaceofMaleah on 1/2/2014 11:46:00 PM more reviews by FaceofMaleah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this in one of the Sephora 500 pts packages and I know this will sound silly but I just had a feeling that this would be the one product that I did not like. Lo and behold, it is the one product that I don't like. I have really oily eyelids and have been very loyal to the Urban Decay Primer Potion since it has worked amazingly for me since day one. I used this primer under a black and silver smokey eye that I wore to a New Years Eve party and I went to the washroom about halfway through the party, looked in the mirror and to my horror, my eyeshadow was all creased and has moved all over my eyelid. I tried it as well at a party on New Years day and the exact same result. I never have had this problem using UDPP. I definitely would not recommend, nor would I purchase it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gradle on 1/2/2014 7:18:00 PM more reviews by Gradle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this to replace my Urban Decay Primer Potion based on the wonderful reviews. I am very disappointed in this product and will not repurchase. My eyeshadow creases horribly by the afternoon, almost as if I weren't wearing primer. I've tried using different amounts on my lids thinking I was using too much product, but nothing helps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 soybones on 12/31/2013 9:34:00 PM more reviews by soybones

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this eyeshadow primer. It kept my eyeshadow on all night and through the morning on New Years. My eyeshadow looked practically new after I woke up in my makeup (I know it's bad to do, but it was New Years haha), with only a tiny bit of intensity lost. I have quite oily lids and this product really helps preventing any movement of eyeshadow that would happen if I didn't use a primer.

For the quality of this product, I really don't mind the price. It's AU$39 but I got it from Sephora through a shipping company for the American price of US$24 (AU$26.85). If I were desperate and couldn't wait to do another order from America, I would possibly spend the full AU$39 - it's that good of a product.

I don't entirely like the packaging, or just NARS packaging in general, because of the matte finish; it makes it super easy to get grubby. It could also be better if it were in a squeeze tube instead so you can get every drop possible. Other than those two things to say, it's not bad packaging.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Primer products