Cover Girl • Clean Makeup *new formula* • Liquid

rated 2.8(78 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 skeeter04 on 10/5/2012 5:54:00 PM more reviews by skeeter04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Ok firstly I now have fairly clear skin. I do have dark under eye circles, and a little redness around my nose, but my skintone is also fairly even. I am also light-skinned/fair going between summer/winter. I needed a foundation asap since I was out of my Avon foundation and everything I seen was rediculously priced. I refused to pay $8-$9 for a bottle of makeup. I seen this type which was cheaper than the rest, $5 and some change, and seeing as I liked CG's concealer I decided to give it a try. I am pleased with this foundation. It is a light-medium coverage so if you have skin that needs a particularly heavy coverage then this wouldnt work. It is enough to even my skintone and give me some coverage but I still need to use a concealer on any blemishes and definately my dark circles. I would buy this again if I had to but I wanna try another foundation first.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 goldenrosegold on 8/21/2012 8:12:00 AM more reviews by goldenrosegold

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have three of these foundations (creamy beige 150, soft honey 155, and classic tan 160) soft honey is my exact skin color but the other two work really well. This has enough coverage that I don't need a concealer if I am going for a more natural look. It tones down sun spots and takes away discoloration.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 skywriter24 on 8/18/2012 8:06:00 PM more reviews by skywriter24

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I got this product in shade 120 creamy natural. This product provides medium coverage. This product felt very heavy on my skin. However, the coverage was good and it brightened my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 treidel on 5/19/2012 10:37:00 PM more reviews by treidel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I found this to be a little cakey and found that it took a while to dry. It had a nice smell, didn't have a lot of coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* candystripelegs on 1/20/2012 9:46:00 AM more reviews by candystripelegs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

*THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE SENSITIVE SKIN VERSION*
EDIT 1/26/12: I gave this a 4, but I'm knocking it down to a 3 simply because I get too oily in the t-zone area when I'm running around at work and this stuff melts right off my nose an forehead. I still think it's great and does not oxidize on me or cause breakouts. Will re-purchase it and save it for weekends or when I only need to wear makeup for a few hours, not an 8 hour shift.

ORIGINAL REVIEW: Very pleasantly surprised!!!! I can't believe I'm actually writing this review since I have avoided these foundations like the plaque since I first tried them in high school..That horrid smell still haunts me *shudders*

Oil-free, fragrance-free (ingredients listed at end of review). Hasn't caused me to break out.
This stuff is great, especially if you have sensitive skin that is combo/slightly oily. the finish is soft-matte, no added moisture, shimmer particles,etc. Did no oxidize and turn orange on me (I use the Buff Beige shade, perfect match for my skin). For some reason companies assume that if you have sensitive skin, you must be dry and that's why a lot of those types of products end up breaking me out...way too moisturizing :(



Anyway, I have tried several different ways to put this on and I think the best application method is apply in a downward motion, using either fingers or a sponge/beauty blender. Any sort of stippling or swirling motion with a foundation brush made this look streaky and horrible. I've found that foundation brushes work best with runnier liquids and finger/sponge work best with thicker types.



Texture is creamy liquid but does not feel greasy on the skin. Unlike Colorstay, it does not have that sticky/tacky feeling while it dries. One layer evens out the redness in my cheeks, blur freckles and just makes my skin look healthy, much more coverage than a tinted moisturizer. Two layers covers gives medium coverage, a concealer for undereye/acne will be needed.


Surprisingly, this doesn't transfer as much as I thought it would and it doesn't transfer as much as the CG Aquasmooth Compact makeup I that I recently tried and reviewed. I think the lasting power is decent, although I have not found any foundation (HE or DG) that still looks perfect after 8-10 hours. A layer of this with my MAC Studio Fix Powder Foundation in N4 gives me awesome coverage and I don't feel like I'm wearing a lot of makeup.


The bottle is annoying because it takes forever to get the creamy liquid to come out. This stuff is so cheap that I will probably just buy 2 at once and buy a nice pump bottle to put it in. I've been on a drugstore foundation kick lately...too many high end liquid foundation have fragrance that makes my skin itch. I keep finding good foundations at the drugstore and for less than $6, this is definitely an awesome deal if it works for your skin type!


Ingredients for the Sensitive Skin formula:
Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Propylene Glycol, Talc, Glycerin, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Cyclomethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Laureth 7, Arachidyl Behenate, Silica, Trihydroxystearin, Propylparaben, Methicone, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Methylparaben, Synthetic Wax, Trisodium EDTA, Ethylene Brassylate, Stearic Acid
May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica








2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ylimerocks on 1/8/2012 2:12:00 PM more reviews by ylimerocks

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I love this foudation. It is really lightweight. The coverage is light, so I would reccomend it for people who have pretty good skin who just want a light foudation to even out their skintone. I have it in the sensitive skin formula, not because my skin is sensitive, but because it was the lightest shade I could find, and I have to say, it is the best match of any liquid foudation ever found! The only thing I don't like is the bottle. It sucks and it's really hard to get the product to come out. I should really come with a pump.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VioletDesdemona on 12/27/2011 12:52:00 AM more reviews by VioletDesdemona

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

OMG! I looove it! It provides gnarly coverage and the color perfectly matches my skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mirageangelhope on 12/14/2011 10:02:00 PM more reviews by mirageangelhope

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It wasn't the worst it isn't the best but there are certainly better foundations out there.
I just find that the main problem with this is it's hard to blend no matter what method I used to try blending.It some times goes on patchy even with all my work .I also find that having a cakey face is more likely when using this foundation.
The smell it's self is not the greatest so if scents are a problem for you don't get this as the scent remains through out the day!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 archgurl on 12/12/2011 9:52:00 AM more reviews by archgurl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is the BEST foundation I have used. It applies smoothly, evens my skin tone, and does not give me acne or worsen my existing acne. I've tried Bobbie Brown foundation for $46 as well as several types of Clinique and L'Oreal. The Cover Girl surpasses all of these products. I wish that it had a pump to make application less messy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 agomez10 on 12/4/2011 2:13:00 PM more reviews by agomez10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation isn't the best however... It isn't all that bad either. Since I've been taking better care of my skin I do not need as much coverage as I once did. so... If I'm just going shopping or out really quick I'll grab this or my NYC smooth skin instead of my Revlon Colorstay. The coverage on this is decent... It does last very well... with a setting powder. It doesn't cause any break-outs.. evens skin tone well.. As usual my only complaint is I WISH IT HAD A PUMP!!!!!!!!!!!lol

UPDATE: BROKE ME OUT.. LIKE THE WAY IT LOOKS ON MY SKIN BUT NOT THE BREAK OUTS:( GOING BACK TO REVLON COLORSTAY

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Liquid products