Jane Iredale • Pure Pressed Base • Powder

rated 4.0(619 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 porerelations on 8/26/2013 11:08:00 PM more reviews by porerelations

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm thrilled with this pressed mineral foundation. It has moderate coverage, but can be layered. It covers redness and imperfections. What sets it apart is that it does not irritate my extremely sensitive skin. The gold compact is elegant and well-made, and I like the idea that it is re-fillable. The color shades are vast - and as a girl with light, cool skin with pink undertones, the color Natural was perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Abby1989 on 8/26/2013 3:30:00 AM more reviews by Abby1989

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've been using this for a year now, repurchased 7 times. frankly I believe this is the only foundation that will not cause breakouts. I was a Mac liquid foundation user for 4 years and suffered from all sorts of break outs. this foundation smells great not chemical- like, stays on pretty well, (although perhaps one touch up is necessary) and covers well. the best thing is; I don't feel like i'm putting something cloggy on my skin.

the only cons are that it is expensive, above $50 SGD depending on where you get it. and mine lasts only slightly more than a month :( and I sometimes feel like i need to apply more than one layer to achieve complete coverage.

I swear by jane iredale! however i've tried the BB cream and immediately broke out. so will stay away from that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TBonita on 8/3/2013 2:49:00 PM more reviews by TBonita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Perfect min foundation!! I have used bare minerals (bismuth burned/itched), Mary Kay mineral (dried me out)... So after reading that this is like 'the best' and the ingredients seemed like a go I guessed at shade light beige. I am light w pink undertones (nw 20, diorskin 22, guerlain 12) and its a completely perfect match, like there is no line at all! I put about 2-3 layers on w my sephora 45(? I think?) mineral foundation brush and the finish. Is. Flawless. Doesn't settle into lines except I'd maybe stay away from layering too thick as a concealer right under the eye, as it looks a little Dry (but DOES it ever cover those circles!!). I use a touche eclat type product then layer lightly over. Lasts all day on my combo skin. Use benefit stay flawless under after all skin care & sunscreen. Oh, and as a setting powder! One light coat w a large loose fluffy powder brush and you're golden! Works better than any I've tried. Follow w my bronzer & blush, a light layer of meteorites on top... Perfection. Oh and the compact is sturdy and luxe. Looks like you have naturally PERFECT skin!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rs412 on 7/29/2013 12:00:00 PM more reviews by rs412

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best powder foundation I've ever used. It truly mimics skin (if you find a colour that matches your skin exactly). It's perfect for those with problematic skin i.e. acne or combination skin. I've struggled to find a foundation that had full coverage yet didn't cause me to breakout. I don't think there's another product on the market comparable to this. I tried the finishing spray but it didn't work for me but I sure stuck to using this powder as my daily foundation. I've been using it for 1.5 years and often get asked what makeup I use because of the coverage and skin-like look/feel.

This powder has good ingredients, no parabens, has SPF, and doesn't cause breakouts. I use Dermalogica's oil-free matte 30 sunscreen, apply this foundation and finish off with Jane Iredale amazing loose powder (that also contains SPF).

My spa therapist told me how the minerals protect our skin from the sun rays all day long, whereas SPF moisturizers dry up and stop working after few hours. It's true, I feel as if I have better sun protection with this powder than my moisturizer.

On the downside it's expensive and usually lasts me 2-3 months. I find the refill packaging annoying - I've actually dropped the plastic case and shattered the entire pack :( Boo!

To conclude, I highly recommend this makeup to anybody struggling to find a quality powder foundation with good coverage for problematic skin. A good investment, ladies!



4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Nolita78 on 7/26/2013 5:07:00 AM more reviews by Nolita78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been conflicted for awhile on how to review this mineral foundation. But this, definitely, is one of the best foundations out there. My skin is sensitive, oily, easily clogged, and acne-blemish prone. If only you guys could see the thick folder that my dermatologist has on me in her office. There were just sooo many acne medications that I had to go though before I finally found the right ones that worked my skin, a really extended period of trial and error of trying different meds. Sometimes this meds would dry me out, sometimes they would even give me these really strange breakouts... Throughout all these meds, Jane Iredale's Pure Pressed Base had been there for me, to give that coverage that my skin badly needed.

Jane Iredale Pure Pressed Base (Mineral Foundation) will give you a very natural medium coverage. Throughout the day, it will become even more natural-looking on your face, while still retaining your coverage. Even at the hottest, most humid day ever, the foundation will not have that melting-off-your-face look to it. The foundation, however, does a lousy job in controlling oil. It does an awful job in covering my pores too. If you have very visible pores, there is no hiding them with this foundation.

Now, you will ask me why on earth will I give this product 4 lippies. This mineral foundation gives a very natural-looking coverage, which I really like. And most importantly, I am giving this product a high rating because of how amazingly safe this product is, even when my skin was at its most sensitive state (ie. after intense facial meds and treatments). It didn't aggravate my acne, it didn't clog my pores, and it didn't break me out either. In fact, the foundation had really helped with my whiteheads. All I had to do was take my concealer brush, and apply a slightly thicker layer of this foundation on my whiteheads. I would highly recommend this product then, to those who have highly super-sensitive facial skin, and would like to have a natural coverage on your skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cricricri11 on 7/25/2013 6:13:00 PM more reviews by cricricri11

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My skin breaks out with any foundation. The only one i could use in the past was Bare Minerals. I have very oily parts and very dry ones (usually the results of old pimples).
I like this foundation better than the BM. It covers a little more and lasts a little longer. Only two troubles : the price and the fact that after a few hours it sits on the dry parts and make them look darker.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BeautyByBrianna on 7/5/2013 3:29:00 AM more reviews by BeautyByBrianna

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ill keep this short and simple Price: 50 - 60$ (Canadian) Purchased: hair salon ( this is not a drugstore brand and can't be found at sephora ) Information: Has SPF 20, water resistant (only up to 40 minutes) it is a foundation concealer and powder all in one PROS: Packaging is nice and durable, large shade selection ( 24 shades ), light weight, light to medium coverage, can be used as a setting powder or a foundation (using the "hydration spray" by Jane iredale) CONS: really expensive!!! ( plus I use them up quickly ) Overall: I've been using his product for 2 years now and still going, this is my absolute favourite. It's great for all seasons, especially summer. If you have the money I definitely recommend to try it out. Totally worth every penny! BeautyByBrianna <3

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tindra78 on 5/23/2013 2:37:00 PM more reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

(Worth to keep in mind: Usually EVERYTHING clogs my pores, but during the latest weeks I've been using clarisonic, and I don't know if that prevents this product/any new products from clogging pores. So this MIGHT have clogged my pores in a "normal" situation, cause I usually breakout by everything!!! I'll have to try that out, but I haven't done that yet.)


I was looking for something with high coverage, maybe a little mattifying and something that my extremely acne-prone, sensitive skin can tolerate. In the morning I want to be able to cover my imperfections quick and with full coverage. I have skin in NC/NW 15, I usually use Linen and Fairly Light neutral in Everyday Minerals matte, and Blondie in Lily Lolo. I have A LOT of acne scars and hyperpigmentation (after bc-pills) to cover!


Shades: Bisque is a light but more yellow shade that possibly could cancel out my redness a little. This was the best shade.

Coverage is really poor for my needs, my hyperpigmentation and scars need FULL coverage!! With this the coverage is gone by lunchtime cause it has "melt off" my oily face.... So I had to reapply regularly, and add my old EDM foundation to be able to cover...

Yes, staying power is poor cause of my oily skin but I'm used to that problem.

This let's the oils break through within just one hour or two, but again - I have really oily skin. Still the surface does not look awful and ugly with enlarged pores, like many mineral powders leaves the skin...I guess this is so finely mixed with different ingredients that helps with that. It's not as mattifying as Lily Lolo, but still refines the surface in another way...

One more good thing is that you can use it around the eyes, without too much creaseing; EDM does not have the spf, and can crease under the eyes. Lily Lolo is too dry for the eye area. Even if this doesn't cover my blue areas around the eyes it's a good everyday "base" before/after eye shadow or other concealer, cause of the spf. I have A LOT of hyperpigmentation around my eyes....

1 week of use and no breakouts. But again, does the clarisonic prevent them or can I actually stand it? :)

I also like the spf 20!!!!

Final verdict: as a "base powder" this is really nice and good with spf and light coverage. Expensive though. Still would repurchase for summer months! Even if I would have liked full coverage!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Denisedd on 5/18/2013 12:44:00 PM more reviews by Denisedd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Great coverage as a foundation and setting powder. Love! Feels nice and light as well

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shetem on 5/7/2013 1:59:00 PM more reviews by shetem

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have sensitive skin which breaks out with a lot of makeup foundations. When I tried this foundation it didn't irritate my skin and it covered all my imperfections. It didn't get cakey or make my fine lines more noticeable. My sister didnt even think i was wearing makeup! There are a lot of color options which is great. I need a full coverage foundation and I apply about 2-3 layers and it still doesn't look like a mask. I do use the hydrating spray with it as well as a separate primer and it comes out beautiful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jane Iredale products

More Powder products