Jane Iredale • Pure Pressed Base • Powder

rated 4.0(624 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 plumsandmaroons on 1/28/2014 1:23:00 PM more reviews by plumsandmaroons

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It was probably the best foundation i had ever used. It did not caused any allergic reactions, definetly has good quality ingredients, looks really nice on skin, not melts on your face. Pretty much everything you can expect from a foundation. I've used shade Natural, which was not an exact match to my skintone (it was pinky) Even though it didnt match well, i still liked the look that it gave. The packaging is so classy and heavy, like the product inside.

I ran out of it, and i am not planning to repurchase. But it is not because of the product, it is because of the PRICE. If i get any richer, i will come back to this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rasberrikisses on 11/10/2013 6:08:00 PM more reviews by rasberrikisses

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I've used this off and on for a few years now. Recently I've started to appear very oily in my t-zone after having dry skin my whole life. I could not for the life of me figure out the cause of this. I thought maybe it was hormones and aging. After trying cut in out several things, I went without this and used Maybelline matte powder and I have had no greasy issues since! I've continued to use the same foundations with no problems. I'm not sure how I used this for years with no problems but I'm pretty sure this was the culprit. I used to really love the coverage of this but lately I hadn't really liked how it made my skin look. I guess good for me as the Maybelline is way cheaper!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetdase on 10/24/2013 10:09:00 PM more reviews by sweetdase

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm an NC30-35 and bought this pressed mineral foundation in Golden Glow. It matches me quite well.. better than the Bare Minerals Medium Beige I find. I also bought the Handi brush to apply this foundation but find that it gives more a light/sheer coverage. So if I need more coverage, I use a synthetic kabuki brush which picks up more powder and applies more. I really like the packaging of this product. I bought the one that comes with the compact and the compact, although being quite heavy, is quite sturdy and is good quality. It closes using magnets rather than a snap. The product itself, like I said, is quite sheer and natural. It gives a natural finish and blends well into my skin. I have normal skin I find. In hot weather, my face does get oily, but during the winter months, it tends to get dry. So I guess normal/combo skin. This foundation is good for hot weather as it absorbs sweat and oil. And during winter months, if I use it, I use a spray on top to help keep my face moisturized through the day so my face oil doesn't get completely absorbed by the foundation. There is no particular scent to the product that I find so it is good for sensitive skin. I haven't had any break outs with this product since I've been using it for a few months now. I find mineral foundation in general is good for skin if you're prone to acne as it does let the skin breathe more. If this product runs out, I would not mind buying it again, providing I don't find a better product first. :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 carick85 on 10/24/2013 10:04:00 AM more reviews by carick85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I used to love this foundation, but my love has turned into hate! If you have acne or red acne spots, this will not cover it without a separate concealer, unless you really pack it on with a sponge. I was going through a compact every month, and it's not cheap. More importantly, they claim that this foundation is non-comedogenic.. wrong! After using this for about a year and changing around my skin care routine, my face was still congested and breaking out. I started looking into the ingredients and found that algae extract is rated 5 (extremely comedogenic). Using products rated 2 and up are a huge no no when you have skin that easily clogs and break out. I'm now using Faerie Organics mineral makeup which is working out great so far.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 finnybinny1 on 9/9/2013 12:47:00 AM more reviews by finnybinny1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have a love/hate relationship with this product.
I have oily, large pored, sensitive skin.

I love that Latte is an exact match for my skin tone, I love that it is near waterproof, it really sticks around all day and I work in a hot humid environment. I love its natural sheen, not too matte, not too shiny. Just right, like freshly cleaned skin. It also doesn't break me out at all.

I dislike that it emphasizes every single pore on my face using the Handi brush. Using a puff yields even worse results. I am not wrinkled up yet, but this product makes the skin in the undereye area look very crepey.
However.... after I complained to the lady where I purchased it, she told me that It needs to be buffed into the skin, or misted, to "set it'. I tried both, and both help. I use a slightly damp sponge and pat my skin and it seems to help. Also, a very light application of a silicone primer AFTER the Pure Pressed Base seems to melt it into those pesky pores and crepey things. I tried a primer before to no avail, but after really helps.

Color and staying power are perfect. I'm so oily I still shine up midday, but that's ok, this is better than most. But darn the texture issues! If I wasn't so oily I would try the liquid version of this, but I don't want to waste money on an experiment.

Even though I like the satin finish, I think it's the sheen that highlights the micro-orangepeel texture of my oily skin.

The coverage is excellent if you already have a decently even tone with mild imperfections. It's buildable, but with caution, you might look like crepe paper with too much.

So far, I am getting best results with texture using Per*fekt, and had decent results when Avon Magix Tinted was still around. I just wish those had slightly more coverage and came in Latte. I must need spackle for the pores.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kazina on 8/31/2013 1:10:00 AM more reviews by kazina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really liked this powder foundation when I first began to use it, but have since changed my mind. It applies really well and has a satin finish to stop it from looking too matte. I don't like wearing foundation mostly because I don't like how obvious it can look in certain areas, like on my nose, and this never has that problem. It looks like actual skin. When you first put it on it might look a tad powdery, but after about half an hour it blends with the natural oils on the face and looks *perfect*.

So what's the problem? I've realised it makes my face more shiny than when I don't wear it. My skin is very oily and not usually sensitive at all, and yet there is some ingredient in this powder that makes my skin feel annoyed, like a mildly hot sensation. This is not particularly unpleasant, but I think this is what makes my skin more oily. I thought it might have been the bismuth people were talking about in the old formula, so I ordered a new one to see if the formula was different, same issue. One day I finally did a test, I put my old Jane Iredale compact on a quarter of my face, the new one on another quarter, no foundation on the third quarter and a Kanebo Media powder foundation on the fourth quarter. After about two hours it became obvious that the two parts with the JI powder on were a lot more shiny than the part with nothing, and the part with the Kanebo powder was least shiny of them all. Such a shame since the finish of the Kanebo is not as nice, but oh well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 porerelations on 8/26/2013 11:08:00 PM more reviews by porerelations

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm thrilled with this pressed mineral foundation. It has moderate coverage, but can be layered. It covers redness and imperfections. What sets it apart is that it does not irritate my extremely sensitive skin. The gold compact is elegant and well-made, and I like the idea that it is re-fillable. The color shades are vast - and as a girl with light, cool skin with pink undertones, the color Natural was perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Abby1989 on 8/26/2013 3:30:00 AM more reviews by Abby1989

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've been using this for a year now, repurchased 7 times. frankly I believe this is the only foundation that will not cause breakouts. I was a Mac liquid foundation user for 4 years and suffered from all sorts of break outs. this foundation smells great not chemical- like, stays on pretty well, (although perhaps one touch up is necessary) and covers well. the best thing is; I don't feel like i'm putting something cloggy on my skin.

the only cons are that it is expensive, above $50 SGD depending on where you get it. and mine lasts only slightly more than a month :( and I sometimes feel like i need to apply more than one layer to achieve complete coverage.

I swear by jane iredale! however i've tried the BB cream and immediately broke out. so will stay away from that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TBonita on 8/3/2013 2:49:00 PM more reviews by TBonita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Perfect min foundation!! I have used bare minerals (bismuth burned/itched), Mary Kay mineral (dried me out)... So after reading that this is like 'the best' and the ingredients seemed like a go I guessed at shade light beige. I am light w pink undertones (nw 20, diorskin 22, guerlain 12) and its a completely perfect match, like there is no line at all! I put about 2-3 layers on w my sephora 45(? I think?) mineral foundation brush and the finish. Is. Flawless. Doesn't settle into lines except I'd maybe stay away from layering too thick as a concealer right under the eye, as it looks a little Dry (but DOES it ever cover those circles!!). I use a touche eclat type product then layer lightly over. Lasts all day on my combo skin. Use benefit stay flawless under after all skin care & sunscreen. Oh, and as a setting powder! One light coat w a large loose fluffy powder brush and you're golden! Works better than any I've tried. Follow w my bronzer & blush, a light layer of meteorites on top... Perfection. Oh and the compact is sturdy and luxe. Looks like you have naturally PERFECT skin!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rs412 on 7/29/2013 12:00:00 PM more reviews by rs412

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best powder foundation I've ever used. It truly mimics skin (if you find a colour that matches your skin exactly). It's perfect for those with problematic skin i.e. acne or combination skin. I've struggled to find a foundation that had full coverage yet didn't cause me to breakout. I don't think there's another product on the market comparable to this. I tried the finishing spray but it didn't work for me but I sure stuck to using this powder as my daily foundation. I've been using it for 1.5 years and often get asked what makeup I use because of the coverage and skin-like look/feel.

This powder has good ingredients, no parabens, has SPF, and doesn't cause breakouts. I use Dermalogica's oil-free matte 30 sunscreen, apply this foundation and finish off with Jane Iredale amazing loose powder (that also contains SPF).

My spa therapist told me how the minerals protect our skin from the sun rays all day long, whereas SPF moisturizers dry up and stop working after few hours. It's true, I feel as if I have better sun protection with this powder than my moisturizer.

On the downside it's expensive and usually lasts me 2-3 months. I find the refill packaging annoying - I've actually dropped the plastic case and shattered the entire pack :( Boo!

To conclude, I highly recommend this makeup to anybody struggling to find a quality powder foundation with good coverage for problematic skin. A good investment, ladies!



4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jane Iredale products

More Powder products