MAC • Opulash • Mascara

rated 3.7(127 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 teashadlynch on 1/22/2012 2:50:00 AM more reviews by teashadlynch

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This did nothing for me! I hate to say the word hate but I spent to much money on this to hate it the way I do! I was upset when I got home and used this. It was confirmed to me about MAC products when I started to use their shadows but then I had to venture off to other things I should have known better shame on me! :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Annajcal on 1/20/2012 1:37:00 PM more reviews by Annajcal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara definitely flakes. No doubt about it. I have long, full, dark lashes and I wanted to have more volume and lengthening, but this mascara flakes after an hour or two or application. When you first buy the mascara it doesn't flake as much. After one week of using it, the mascara dries in the tube. People at the MAC counter always say that their mascara's are cheaper and that they do the same thing as Dior, and other expensive mascara's but I disagree. Other mascara's have a longer life than this one. MAC mascara's dry out fast so no it's not cheaper price wise if you have to keep buying mascara so often. I though I was alonne ont this until I read another review saying the same thing. I'm glas i'm not alone!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* frezgirl on 1/9/2012 8:47:00 PM more reviews by frezgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this mascara makes my lashes flat. i have no idea why. ive never experiences this before... if it was the last resort then yes i would buy it, but the extended play lash mascara is 10000x better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 snodog16 on 12/18/2011 3:06:00 PM more reviews by snodog16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I personally really like this product. The sales representative assured me it would last longer than regular drugstore products and it certainly has! I believe I paid ~$18 for it, which is expensive, but well worth it. It doesn't irritate my eyes (and I have very sensitive eyes!) and MAC doesn't test on animals! Went on very nicely, doesn't clump. Will be repurchasing for sure!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hyperduckz3 on 11/11/2011 3:03:00 PM more reviews by Hyperduckz3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

*PIC #3 is of me wearing 2 coats of Opulash*

I LOVE this mascara! It gives a lot of length & volume without looking clumpy. It stays on well & doesn't have any fall out. HG mascara at the moment!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LauraW74 on 10/16/2011 12:08:00 AM more reviews by LauraW74

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my first MAC mascara, I bought the Wonder Woman version partially because I couldn't resist the packaging. :-P
This is sort of my less expensive answer to DiorShow, which I could not really afford to buy on a regular basis, and whose animal testing policy is a little unsure. Hooray for cruelty-free MAC!
This mascara is not quite as dry or thick as Dior's, which is a little unfortunate for me, because my lashes are very limp and need that thickness to hold them up.
Well, Opulash is pretty close, and although I find it flakes a bit when combed through, a Q-tip can easily fix that, and it won't flake throughout the day unless your eyes water excessively or you rub them. I don't wear mascara on my bottom lashes, and the one time I did with Opulash it flaked pretty bad, so I wouldn't recommend it.
It looks natural but thickens very well. My lashes are quite long, and it fans out the outer lashes really nicely, making my eyes look huge. With MAC lash primer underneath it thickens more, but can look a little spidery if you don't comb through properly.
I find the best technique for my lashes and this mascara is to wiggle at the base and pull straight up - it adds a little more volume, and doesn't cause any clumping. A great, thickening, volumizing mascara!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 darkEyespinkLips on 10/3/2011 4:47:00 PM more reviews by darkEyespinkLips

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

What I love about it is how saturated black it is and how it coats every single lash completely. I have dark brown lashes but with most black mascaras in direct sunlight you can see bits of my brown color poking through. With this you can not. I see more lengthening than thickening with this but I look like I'm wearing false lashes. There's no scent to it and the texture is nice: not too runny and not too dry. There's no flakes or smudges. I will add that I am a contact wearer and it doesn't irritate my eyes at all. It's kind of hard to remove so you definitely need a mu remover with this. I took a lippie off the overall rating because sometimes when I use it my lashes stick together so you really need to wiggle it while you're applying. I also took a lippie off the packaging because the brush is ginormous. It wasn't a problem for me but it's not the best for bottom lashes. Neither of those things would stop me from repurchasing this although I rarely ever repurchase any mascaras because there are always bigger and better things out there!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lilymon on 9/17/2011 7:28:00 PM more reviews by Lilymon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this mascara, however I'm not sure if I would buy it again only because the brush is so big, at least I think its too big and its hard to get used to. Maybe its because my eyes are on the smaller side =) For MAC mascaras I prefer Zoom or Pro Lash. Not bad a bad mascara though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nicoles620 on 9/16/2011 7:47:00 PM more reviews by nicoles620

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

After having such trouble finding a decent mascara.. I don't know why I didn't just think to go back to MAC. Every d/s mascara smudges on me.. waterproof or not. I must have went though atleast 4 of them before I gave back into MAC. I used to use Plushlash.. and was decently happy with that (no smudges) and Zoomlash (which gave great volume and length, but smudged after so many hours).. So i tried Opulash. First time today... 5hrs later.. no smudges or flakes :) I have very long eye lashes, so length was fine, thickness could be a tad better (why i knocked off a lippie) and it seems to have held curl great so far. The brush is a tad big.. but its workable seeing as i coat both sides of my lashes. Two coats and no clumps. If it keeps up the good work, I will definitely repurchase. Retails for $15 but I'm pro, so I paid 40%. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anje1013 on 9/3/2011 10:21:00 PM more reviews by anje1013

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Product: 5/5 Texture: 5/5 Longevity: 5/5 Application: 5/5 Packaging: 5/5
Since I ran out of my Fiberwig mascara, I decided to purchase the Opulash mascara to see for myself what the hype is about. So far, I really like this product! Although it has a big brush, when applied the product did not leave me any clumps. The formula is quite wet but similar to Fiberwig. You have to work with one eye at a time because of its formulation. One coat of the mascara left me with a natural look. But if you want drama, go for three coats. My lashes are full of volume and length without any flaking or smudging throughout the day. Like the Fiberwig mascara, it is really easy to remove this mascara, all you need is soap and water. I would definitely recommend and repurchase this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Mascara products