L'Oreal Studio Secrets Anti-Redness Primer

2.8

108 reviews

45% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/9/2013 11:06:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I read the reviews before purchasing this, and I bought it anyway. I'm glad I did. This works better than the Stila correcting primer, Smashbox Adjust, and the correcting primer by Almay. I think people who don't like this are using it incorrectly. I apply this in a very thin layer to my t-zone, cheeks and chin. Then I apply a second very thin layer to each area. I give it a few seconds to blend in and dry, and then I apply my foundation. The result is my foundation applies perfectly and my skin looks even and smooth. This is not meant to be applied in a thick layer, nor should it be used all over the face. Applied judiciously and carefully, putting just a tiny dot on the finger and blending in lightly, it works as promised. The pump is messy, so expect to clean it out from time to time with a Q-tip. This is a great value compared to other similar products, and it works better than anything else I've tried. Also, it's worth nothing that this will not make your foundation apply more smoothly, it does not conceal pores, and it does not extend the wear of makeup. However, it covers redness, and it does it very well.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.



on 1/8/2013 10:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

General opinion: Pump can be adjusted to give you the right amount if you have self-control but the glitter is a turn off.
Pro:
- It is widely available at most drug-stores
- L'Oreal gives you a lot of product. I don't think I'll be finishing this any time soon.
- You use it BEFORE your foundation, and I've had no problems with it not staying on or making me oilier.
Con:
- Expensive for a drug store brand! Can be bought between $10-15, although it is cheaper than Smashbox!
- Why do you have glitter? It doesn't make sense.


on 12/16/2012 5:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I dislike everything about this product. The pump puts out about three times as much product as I need. It also did nothing to correct my redness, and made my skin look very greasy. I tested it with a few different foundations (Revlon ColorStay, MUFE HD and Too Faced Amazing Face), and they all slid around or melted off during the day, and these are foundations that I never have problems with. I bought this without reading reviews (unusual for me), and I regret it.


on 12/15/2012 10:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have broken capillaries at the bottom of my cheeks and this did not hide them whatsoever. Also, when applying to my face it either made my face look greenish or really pale. As a primer I don't think it really did much to keep my translucent powder lasting longer. Overall, it did nothing for me.


on 11/18/2012 6:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I just bought this the other day while at Target because no other brand had a green concealer that I could find, and I'm almost out of the one I've been using (NYC stick, if you're curious). This is super runny, which surprised me, and therefore a lot of it comes out in one pump, which seems wasteful since I don't want a lot of primer on my face. It feels kind of greasy once it's on the face, which I'm not a huge fan of. Primers are supposed to absorb and diminish oil, not feel like they're made of oil.

It blends into the skin nicely, and doesn't leave a green cast. However, it has glitter in it! WHY DOES IT HAVE GLITTER IN IT?! I don't want glitter in my foundation and concealer, so why would I want it in my primer? Total turn off. And, honestly, the glitter is the reason why I won't be repurchasing this when it's gone. Bummer.

I feel like it primed my skin well, though, and I didn't experience any break through grease or shine throughout the day. I powdered my nose and chin area (my oiliest spots) maybe once all day, and they weren't even that shiny.

I'm not sure that it canceled out my redness as well as the NYC concealer I'd been using, due maybe to how thin this product is. But it did work well on my cheeks, where I have a bit of redness, but not as much redness as my chin and nose areas do.

This is also a fairly pricey product for something drugstore. Compared to the NYC green concealer I love, which I paid a dollar for, this was about $13. If it worked well, I'd be okay with the price. But for such a small tube and a product that doesn't entirely live up to hopes and expectations, it's too expensive.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

Packaging: A tiny tube with a pump. I find it easy to use and the pump allows you to control the amount of product that it dispenses with ease.

Smell: No smell from what I can tell.

Consistency: Very runny.

Coverage: Provides little coverage. You have to layer this product to notice a change in redness.

Color: It's obviously green. Haha. Which is used to cancel out any redness in your skin. I didn't notice any green on my skin when I applied this product, so I didn't have to use concealer to cover up the product's color.

Finish: Matte, however it contains shimmers which I can notice on my face.

Price: $12.49 at Walgreens so it's not the cheapest drugstore product out there.

Final thoughts: I don't think it's worth the money. I have redness around my nose and for some odd reason, my cheeks are always flushed so I thought, "Aha! This would be a perfect product to cancel out that redness," however it doesn't conceal much and you need to layer it on to notice any changes in your skin tone. It's also quite pricey for such a tiny amount of product. I'd rather just use normal concealer to cover up any redness. Also, it contains noticeable sparkles. I want my skin to look flawless, not like Edward Cullen. Lol.

Yay/nay?: Nay :(


on 11/10/2012 4:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I HATE this primer.. it's super runny, and if you have dry, flakey skin, run from this product. The green is overwhelming, and even if you just target a certain area of redness, it ends up looking like a patch of discolored skin.


on 9/14/2012 10:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have really pale skin but also have redness around my nose and chin. This works really well for me. The only downside to it is that I notice there is glittery stuff left on the back of my hand after I use it. It blends out pretty nicely and I don't use a whole pump. Recently I've been mixing it with my primer and it works even better for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/3/2012 3:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I swear by Smashbox photo finish in adjust -- but I had run out of it and it is very pricey and I wasn't wanting to spend that much on a product that particular week ... We know where this is headed! I picked up the studio secrets by l'oreal for wayyy less than the smashbox product -- I am usually not a bargain shopper when it comes to beauty products - generally you get what you pay for - but I was feeling weak! I used this product about 6-8 times until I broke down and bought smashbox -
A lot of whether you'll love it or hate it depends of course on your skin coloring and the depth of redness you are trying to conceal - I used to have really even olive skin but about 5 - 6 years ago I started developing mild rosacea and I found a bit of anti redness primer works wonders. That being said -- I would rather go without anything on my face and feel self conscious than wear this product again -- First the smell -- I don't know if it's just me but it smells like white glue to me -- that can't be good .. I also found that it was really difficult to apply the product -- I tried several techniques - I tried applying directly to my face with my fingers - That had to be the worst technique for me - I found that even using a dime sized amount could cover your entire face -- but not well - I found it very runny in consistency and it took quite some effort to get it soaked into my skin - I found many times I used it I would end up looking like I was channeling the green giant. I also tried applying it by dabbing it on the back of my hand and using a brush - usually a concealer or foundation brush - tried a stippling brush as well- I found that technique was better in terms of application but not coverage. The best coverage was using my fingers- that being said I still found that it did not cover well -- If you have a little bit of redness this is probably a good product for you - it's about $10.00 a bottle - size is 20ml. However, if you are like me and have more redness to conceal- do yourself a favor and invest in better primer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It's an okay product, a little more on the less-loved side. This is a green face primer that is supposed to conceal redness. Lemme say that this product is very sheer coverage-wise. It will conceal your very minor redness problems. It's good for minor acne or maybe some minor spots- nothing that requires a ton of product. It isn't a very good "primer" so to speak- I didn't see a difference in my foundation wear throughout the day. I don't actually cover my entire face with this, but still. It is also pretty greasy and oddly shimmery...why the shimmer, I don't know. It does work for me, though. I do notice a difference in the evenness of my skin with foundation. It is a cheaper product, somewhere around $11. I probably won't repurchase this, but I'm borderline with this product.


Back to Top