L'Oreal • Studio Secrets Anti-Redness Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 2.8(100 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 MissJenifer on 9/3/2012 3:34:00 PM more reviews by MissJenifer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I swear by Smashbox photo finish in adjust -- but I had run out of it and it is very pricey and I wasn't wanting to spend that much on a product that particular week ... We know where this is headed! I picked up the studio secrets by l'oreal for wayyy less than the smashbox product -- I am usually not a bargain shopper when it comes to beauty products - generally you get what you pay for - but I was feeling weak! I used this product about 6-8 times until I broke down and bought smashbox -
A lot of whether you'll love it or hate it depends of course on your skin coloring and the depth of redness you are trying to conceal - I used to have really even olive skin but about 5 - 6 years ago I started developing mild rosacea and I found a bit of anti redness primer works wonders. That being said -- I would rather go without anything on my face and feel self conscious than wear this product again -- First the smell -- I don't know if it's just me but it smells like white glue to me -- that can't be good .. I also found that it was really difficult to apply the product -- I tried several techniques - I tried applying directly to my face with my fingers - That had to be the worst technique for me - I found that even using a dime sized amount could cover your entire face -- but not well - I found it very runny in consistency and it took quite some effort to get it soaked into my skin - I found many times I used it I would end up looking like I was channeling the green giant. I also tried applying it by dabbing it on the back of my hand and using a brush - usually a concealer or foundation brush - tried a stippling brush as well- I found that technique was better in terms of application but not coverage. The best coverage was using my fingers- that being said I still found that it did not cover well -- If you have a little bit of redness this is probably a good product for you - it's about $10.00 a bottle - size is 20ml. However, if you are like me and have more redness to conceal- do yourself a favor and invest in better primer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VegetaFanGirl on 8/19/2012 9:37:00 PM more reviews by VegetaFanGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It's an okay product, a little more on the less-loved side. This is a green face primer that is supposed to conceal redness. Lemme say that this product is very sheer coverage-wise. It will conceal your very minor redness problems. It's good for minor acne or maybe some minor spots- nothing that requires a ton of product. It isn't a very good "primer" so to speak- I didn't see a difference in my foundation wear throughout the day. I don't actually cover my entire face with this, but still. It is also pretty greasy and oddly shimmery...why the shimmer, I don't know. It does work for me, though. I do notice a difference in the evenness of my skin with foundation. It is a cheaper product, somewhere around $11. I probably won't repurchase this, but I'm borderline with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RobynM7 on 8/8/2012 6:15:00 PM more reviews by RobynM7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I very pale and have redness across my nose and cheeks and I was looking for something that would make me look more of normal colour without looking thick and like I had piled makeup on. This does exactly that. It covers the redness nicely and if I want, I can wear it just by itself without looking green.
I don't really understand how others ar putting it on to look like the hulk because I find it quite buildable depending on how much you want to conver.
I did only give it four because it doesn't have to best staying power and has that bit of a shimmer which is a little annoying but not too noticable in my opinion.
This is definately a product for if you have skin redness rather than are trying to cover pimples or acne because I tried that with it and it doesn't really work for that. If you're looking for something to cover acne, stick with concealer but if you have pinkish skin and are looking to lessen that rudolph the red nose reindeer nose like me, give it a go. It isn't too expensive (I got mine for about $17 NZ off ebay including shipping because I live in New Zealand and they don't sell it in the shops here and itf they did it would probably be about $30 NZ) so if you don't like it it's not like you are wasting a hell of a lot of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Umthisisawkward on 8/8/2012 1:53:00 AM more reviews by Umthisisawkward

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

One word: AWFUL

This stuff really messed up my skin. It made it oily and ruddy and just gross looking. Im giving it 2 lippies instead of 1 because it did cover much of the redness on my cheeks but other than that...ew

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jsconnelly on 7/24/2012 12:58:00 PM more reviews by Jsconnelly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Hate this primer. Leaves skin looking unhealthy and in natural as still leaves the redness behind ! It says it has a green tint, when realist limit is a bright green product and doesn't really do as it says. I don't reccomend this product. It's terrible. The paxkagin is nice and compact though, would be effect for travelling as it is really slimline ( if it actually done its job :@)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 trcunning on 7/23/2012 11:04:00 AM more reviews by trcunning

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Doesn't really do much good. Apply it too thickly, you look like a shiny Martian. Sheer it out, you lose the color correcting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 roxxdallas on 6/27/2012 10:10:00 PM more reviews by roxxdallas

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It work....do what It said,cover the redness in my face but I don't understand the point of have shimmer ,thats the cons in this product

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 anniekwan on 6/3/2012 12:15:00 PM more reviews by anniekwan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My cheeks tend to be pink. It does cover redness however, it's too shimmery for my liking. It doesn't do a great job at priming because I feel that it doesn't make my skin smoother. It doesn't spread and blend easily. I can't wear it alone. I don't recommend if you don't like shimmer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 blond1wd on 5/16/2012 3:26:00 PM more reviews by blond1wd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have redness in my t-zone, and red freckles. This was too thin to really do anything for me, I was pretty disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Stargazer21 on 5/7/2012 5:43:00 PM more reviews by Stargazer21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have a lot of redness on my face, specifically on my nose, cheeks and forehead, and I also have some red acne scars. I really thought this was gonna be my miracle find so that I can cut back on the amount of makeup I have to use. Far from it. It left a shimmery, mint green layer on my face, and somehow still completely failed in covering up any redness anywhere. If I could rate it a zero I would. Taking it back today to get my $15 back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Primer/ Corrector products