L'Oreal • Studio Secrets Anti-Redness Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 2.8(104 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 youngpunkk on 11/18/2012 6:30:00 PM more reviews by youngpunkk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I just bought this the other day while at Target because no other brand had a green concealer that I could find, and I'm almost out of the one I've been using (NYC stick, if you're curious). This is super runny, which surprised me, and therefore a lot of it comes out in one pump, which seems wasteful since I don't want a lot of primer on my face. It feels kind of greasy once it's on the face, which I'm not a huge fan of. Primers are supposed to absorb and diminish oil, not feel like they're made of oil.

It blends into the skin nicely, and doesn't leave a green cast. However, it has glitter in it! WHY DOES IT HAVE GLITTER IN IT?! I don't want glitter in my foundation and concealer, so why would I want it in my primer? Total turn off. And, honestly, the glitter is the reason why I won't be repurchasing this when it's gone. Bummer.

I feel like it primed my skin well, though, and I didn't experience any break through grease or shine throughout the day. I powdered my nose and chin area (my oiliest spots) maybe once all day, and they weren't even that shiny.

I'm not sure that it canceled out my redness as well as the NYC concealer I'd been using, due maybe to how thin this product is. But it did work well on my cheeks, where I have a bit of redness, but not as much redness as my chin and nose areas do.

This is also a fairly pricey product for something drugstore. Compared to the NYC green concealer I love, which I paid a dollar for, this was about $13. If it worked well, I'd be okay with the price. But for such a small tube and a product that doesn't entirely live up to hopes and expectations, it's too expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MakeupMonsterxoxo on 11/15/2012 2:25:00 AM more reviews by MakeupMonsterxoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Packaging: A tiny tube with a pump. I find it easy to use and the pump allows you to control the amount of product that it dispenses with ease.

Smell: No smell from what I can tell.

Consistency: Very runny.

Coverage: Provides little coverage. You have to layer this product to notice a change in redness.

Color: It's obviously green. Haha. Which is used to cancel out any redness in your skin. I didn't notice any green on my skin when I applied this product, so I didn't have to use concealer to cover up the product's color.

Finish: Matte, however it contains shimmers which I can notice on my face.

Price: $12.49 at Walgreens so it's not the cheapest drugstore product out there.

Final thoughts: I don't think it's worth the money. I have redness around my nose and for some odd reason, my cheeks are always flushed so I thought, "Aha! This would be a perfect product to cancel out that redness," however it doesn't conceal much and you need to layer it on to notice any changes in your skin tone. It's also quite pricey for such a tiny amount of product. I'd rather just use normal concealer to cover up any redness. Also, it contains noticeable sparkles. I want my skin to look flawless, not like Edward Cullen. Lol.

Yay/nay?: Nay :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 caileydawn on 11/10/2012 4:31:00 AM more reviews by caileydawn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I HATE this primer.. it's super runny, and if you have dry, flakey skin, run from this product. The green is overwhelming, and even if you just target a certain area of redness, it ends up looking like a patch of discolored skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 itsjenna007 on 9/14/2012 10:52:00 AM more reviews by itsjenna007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have really pale skin but also have redness around my nose and chin. This works really well for me. The only downside to it is that I notice there is glittery stuff left on the back of my hand after I use it. It blends out pretty nicely and I don't use a whole pump. Recently I've been mixing it with my primer and it works even better for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MissJenifer on 9/3/2012 3:34:00 PM more reviews by MissJenifer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I swear by Smashbox photo finish in adjust -- but I had run out of it and it is very pricey and I wasn't wanting to spend that much on a product that particular week ... We know where this is headed! I picked up the studio secrets by l'oreal for wayyy less than the smashbox product -- I am usually not a bargain shopper when it comes to beauty products - generally you get what you pay for - but I was feeling weak! I used this product about 6-8 times until I broke down and bought smashbox -
A lot of whether you'll love it or hate it depends of course on your skin coloring and the depth of redness you are trying to conceal - I used to have really even olive skin but about 5 - 6 years ago I started developing mild rosacea and I found a bit of anti redness primer works wonders. That being said -- I would rather go without anything on my face and feel self conscious than wear this product again -- First the smell -- I don't know if it's just me but it smells like white glue to me -- that can't be good .. I also found that it was really difficult to apply the product -- I tried several techniques - I tried applying directly to my face with my fingers - That had to be the worst technique for me - I found that even using a dime sized amount could cover your entire face -- but not well - I found it very runny in consistency and it took quite some effort to get it soaked into my skin - I found many times I used it I would end up looking like I was channeling the green giant. I also tried applying it by dabbing it on the back of my hand and using a brush - usually a concealer or foundation brush - tried a stippling brush as well- I found that technique was better in terms of application but not coverage. The best coverage was using my fingers- that being said I still found that it did not cover well -- If you have a little bit of redness this is probably a good product for you - it's about $10.00 a bottle - size is 20ml. However, if you are like me and have more redness to conceal- do yourself a favor and invest in better primer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VegetaFanGirl on 8/19/2012 9:37:00 PM more reviews by VegetaFanGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It's an okay product, a little more on the less-loved side. This is a green face primer that is supposed to conceal redness. Lemme say that this product is very sheer coverage-wise. It will conceal your very minor redness problems. It's good for minor acne or maybe some minor spots- nothing that requires a ton of product. It isn't a very good "primer" so to speak- I didn't see a difference in my foundation wear throughout the day. I don't actually cover my entire face with this, but still. It is also pretty greasy and oddly shimmery...why the shimmer, I don't know. It does work for me, though. I do notice a difference in the evenness of my skin with foundation. It is a cheaper product, somewhere around $11. I probably won't repurchase this, but I'm borderline with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RobynM7 on 8/8/2012 6:15:00 PM more reviews by RobynM7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I very pale and have redness across my nose and cheeks and I was looking for something that would make me look more of normal colour without looking thick and like I had piled makeup on. This does exactly that. It covers the redness nicely and if I want, I can wear it just by itself without looking green.
I don't really understand how others ar putting it on to look like the hulk because I find it quite buildable depending on how much you want to conver.
I did only give it four because it doesn't have to best staying power and has that bit of a shimmer which is a little annoying but not too noticable in my opinion.
This is definately a product for if you have skin redness rather than are trying to cover pimples or acne because I tried that with it and it doesn't really work for that. If you're looking for something to cover acne, stick with concealer but if you have pinkish skin and are looking to lessen that rudolph the red nose reindeer nose like me, give it a go. It isn't too expensive (I got mine for about $17 NZ off ebay including shipping because I live in New Zealand and they don't sell it in the shops here and itf they did it would probably be about $30 NZ) so if you don't like it it's not like you are wasting a hell of a lot of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Umthisisawkward on 8/8/2012 1:53:00 AM more reviews by Umthisisawkward

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

One word: AWFUL

This stuff really messed up my skin. It made it oily and ruddy and just gross looking. Im giving it 2 lippies instead of 1 because it did cover much of the redness on my cheeks but other than that...ew

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jsconnelly on 7/24/2012 12:58:00 PM more reviews by Jsconnelly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Hate this primer. Leaves skin looking unhealthy and in natural as still leaves the redness behind ! It says it has a green tint, when realist limit is a bright green product and doesn't really do as it says. I don't reccomend this product. It's terrible. The paxkagin is nice and compact though, would be effect for travelling as it is really slimline ( if it actually done its job :@)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 trcunning on 7/23/2012 11:04:00 AM more reviews by trcunning

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Doesn't really do much good. Apply it too thickly, you look like a shiny Martian. Sheer it out, you lose the color correcting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Primer/ Corrector products