Almay • Intense i-color w/ Light Interplay Technology • Mascara

rated 4.0(58 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 11/20/2011 8:44:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Almay's Intense i-Color is a mascara that promises to "double the look of your lashes" as well as enhancing your eye color. I can't speak for the latter half, as I purchased the shade Black Steel, which is meant for blue eyes. I bought mine at Rite Aid for $3.74. I had a $1 off coupon, and mascaras were buy one, get one 50% off. Another great steal, amirite? It regularly retails for around $7.49. Almay mascaras are hypo-allergenic and ophthalmologist tested.
Almay's i-Color Intense mascara's packaging isn't anything eye catching. A plastic black tube with a silver metal cap. The label is kinda cute, it has a shooting star design. The label also boasts about this mascara's "light interplay technology", which I'm pretty sure means glitter. This mascara tube is pretty long. I don't like big mascaras. They take up space in my crowded mascara drawer.
One thing that's definitely intense about this mascara is the size of the brush. Look at it. It's huge! It's almost twice the size's of Lash Blast's huge brush!
While I like the shape and density of Almay i-Color Intense's brush, its just too big for my almond shaped, slightly slanted eyes. The brush is specially tapered to prevent clumps according to Almay's website. I forgot to mention the most important aspect of a brush, the bristles. This is a traditional bristled brush. Due to the sheer enormity of this brush, if the formula of this mascara were any different, I'd have quite a mess on my hands. And lids.
This mascara is extremely dry. Surprisingly dry. So much so that I thought I'd gotten a bad tube. The "light interplay technology" mentioned on the label appears to be very subtle micro-glitter. Not as scientific as it sounds. Once applied I can't detect any micro glitter and its indistinguishable from any other black mascara. I think I might start calling all glitter "light interplay technology"
As far as doubling the look of my lashes, it really does! I'm very impressed about the length I get from this mascara. The thickening isn't bad either. And I only need to apply one coat! Two if I want to get a little dramatic. To top things off, this mascara is great for curling, and looks fairly natural. The results are truly impressive.
However the wear of this mascara isn't as good as application. It flakes off of my bottom lashes not that long after application. It flakes off the top lashes as well after several hours, but only if you touch it. But you're not supposed to be touching your eyes, so you shouldn't have this problem.
This mascara, like so many others, gives me itchy lashes. It also makes my lashes very hard and stiff. Do not like, but I'll over look it, because I like the results.
This mascara removes very easily. It's non-waterproof and comes off with water alone. It comes off especially easy when using a Almay Makeup Remover Pad. I was pleased at how easily this mascara removes. I'm used of Maybelline's formula, which puts up a fight, waterproof or not.
I really like this mascara. It exceeded all my expectations. I'm glad I randomly picked this one up, and got it at a great price. I recommend it if you want a mascara you can just swipe on and go, or if you have sensitive eyes. Though I likely won't repurchase it, this mascaras has definitely opened me up to trying other Almay mascaras.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mrsmcg on 11/12/2011 12:46:00 AM more reviews by mrsmcg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in "Black Steel", it came in a combo pack with the eyeshadow trio for blue eyes and one of the regular retractable eyeliners in "Black Pearl" (I think that was the shade - a nice medium black). I really, really wanted to like this. It has a big brush, which I love; I'm definitely a fan of the larger tubes and brushes. I love big, dramatic lashes, and this promised big, dramatic lashes that would have just the barest hint of shimmer (*not* sparkle, just shimmer, and a touch of shimmer in mascaras can be great for a bright eye area).
In use, I think that the shimmer may contribute to the MAJOR flaking that I experienced, and it also weighed down my lashes with one coat, let alone the three that I would've like to wear of this. It also wilted what little curl I was able to get beforehand, and irritated my eyes all day.
Wish this worked for me, but it's going in the trash. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MiaMore84 on 10/11/2011 2:59:00 PM more reviews by MiaMore84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is average/above average for a DS brand. The formula is pretty nice, not too runny/not too dry and it doesn't clump which is awesome. And as with all other DS mascaras, the formula gets better with time. This one has a very good brush for volumizing that's thick tapered so it covers a wide area as well as being easy to get to corners. For your info I have small, Asian, monoloid eyes w/short, stubby, stick-straight downward lashes (I know, I'm cursed lol). But after I curl my lashes I put this one on first (AFTER my Shiseido base), then a lengthening mascara (Maybeline Stiletto) and VOILA! Volume! The colors aren't exactly eye-catching, but if you like subtle hints of color, this one's a winner. I obviously didn't buy this for the color aspect of it advertised on TV...I just needed a nice higher-ended Drug Store volumizing mascara and this did pretty ok in my book. Didn't WOW me but didn't disappoint either. WAAAAY better than CG LashBlast and Maybeline Falsies (see my blog post on my drug store mascara rating under my profile)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 breakawaysue on 10/6/2011 8:19:00 PM more reviews by breakawaysue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I can't seem to find my favorite Maybelline Full & Soft in brown, so I decided to try this Almay intense in chocolate quartz and the Covergirl Natural in brown. Then did some testing. I put the Almay on one eye and my Maybelline in very black on the other. I did this twice just to make sure. I could barely tell a difference in the two and the color was indistinguishable from the very black. I was expecting something in a brown shade with a little sparkle of some type, literally I couldn't see the difference in color. The only real difference I found was the Almay GIANT wand was certainly harder to use, but it separated the lashes the same as the smaller Maybelline one. FYI - I also did the experiments with the Covergirl Natural and that stuff was a horrible watery mess.
Pros:
- Was easy to find and had several color choices
-Price was fair
-Was fairly close to a natural look, obviously I had on mascara, but it wasn't too much, meaning it's good for everyday "easy" look

Cons:
-Chocolate Quartz didn't look a bit different in color than my regular mascara in Very Black.
-The wand is HUGE which makes it a little more difficult to use

Would I buy again - only if I still can't find the Maybelline I want. If there is a choice I will not pick it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xmakemeoverx on 9/26/2011 10:22:00 PM more reviews by xmakemeoverx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Now while I've found some decent mascaras at the drugstore, I still like to check out other brands and styles, just to see if they work for me and so I have some variety in my choice of mascaras. I've been through many of the different drugstore brands, but I hadn't tried Almay yet. Typically, Almay is a brand that I don't really check out because of the price and the fact that most of the products have been disappointments for me in the past. I read some positive reviews about this mascara, so I decided to give it a shot. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to the hype and if anything, was harsh on my eyelashes.

The formula: I found it to be very dry and a type of mascara that you couldn't layer coats on to my lashes. I've used dry formulas before, but this one would only clump and tangle my eyelashes, if I attempted to add more than one coat. Because it was so dry, it was a pain to remove, even though it's not waterproof. If anything, I lost a couple of lashes in the process of removal, and I was gentle. I've used dry formuals before, such as some of the Maybelline mascaras, but they were easy to remove and also gave me some benefits in the process, while this one didn't seem to do much of anything for me.

The packaging: While the container was pretty, I found the brush to be too big and hard to manuever, without poking my eyes out. I like big brushes as well, but this one just seemed unnecessarily large, even for someone who has bigger eyes.

The results: Mostly, my lashes ended up clumpy and hard to fix, even with a lash comb. They also felt brittle after applying the formula, which is hard to ignore if you can feel your mascara weighing down your lashes. My eyes did seem brighter after using this product (I didn't buy it for the light interplay because I find that a gimmick and just a way to distinguish the mascara from the rest of the pack) and it also held a nice curl (great for someone like me who has straight lashes), but overall, it didn't sway me enough to keep it. Maybe this would work for someone who likes drier formulas and all ready has nice, thick lashes that don't need more than one coat, but this didn't work for my basic needs. Now I can at least check this off my list for mascaras to try. Onto the next one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rogue111 on 9/11/2011 3:32:00 AM more reviews by Rogue111

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this mascara. It doesn't smudge and it makes my lashes stand out. The only thing I don't like about it is the wand. The wand is too long for me and it makes it difficult to apply. For people who don't have any issues with their hands shaking might not have any problems.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Catalyzt2012 on 8/21/2011 1:13:00 AM more reviews by Catalyzt2012

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara was pretty good. Really great length, pretty dark, and I could see a little bit of shimmer in it in most types of lighting. Although it was pretty, I had to take off lippies for false advertising. This doesn't really "intensify" your eye color and it can clump up very easily. You have to be careful when you are applying to avoid having the six- lashes look. I usually just break out the lash comb to save time. Plus it doesn't give much volume but I don't need a lot anyway. I might repurchase, but probably not.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BrandyAlexander21 on 8/18/2011 3:31:00 PM more reviews by BrandyAlexander21

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

The brush is a good dupe for Benefit's BadGAL Lash and the formula seems similar as well. I like the way this makes my lashes look long and full. But I got the blue color to match my eyes, and the black has this gray silver glitter tint to it, so the black isn't really black at all. I like a real stark black mascara. So maybe I will just use this brush with another mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vicsmith246 on 8/18/2011 12:29:00 AM more reviews by vicsmith246

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this mascara! I have in both Black Pearl and Black Emerald and both and wonderful. They thicken beautifully, and add decent length, though I find this mascara to be better for those who are looking for thick, dark, sultry lashes, which is exactly what this mascara delivers. My method is simply holding the wand perfectly vertical and moving it back and forth WITHOUT lifting it up. Do the same all around your ever and you won't even need eyeliner! This is by far the best mascara I've used! :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pixiedustpb on 8/10/2011 7:07:00 PM more reviews by pixiedustpb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

WOAH is all i can say i was blown away when i first tried this! its amazing! it dnt didnt do anything for the color of my eyes. but its honestly the best drug store mascara i have ever used! it reminds me alot of dior show! its a VERY big brush!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Mascara products