Sigma F80 Flat Top Synthetic Kabuki (was SS197)

4.5

367 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/13/2014 4:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Firstly, I don't understand the hype. I've never bought into 'beauty hypes' as I believe makeup is a very subjective concept... Let's just put that out there first off.

Anyway... I bought this when my knock off beauty blender (from Cosmo) was discontinued. I tried several alternatives including the acclaimed RT Miracle Complexion sponge and disliked them all so decided to put my energy into finding a decent brush instead. Truth is, I'm still in limbo about this one. In some respects, I love it, in others, I hate it. I'm not sure whether it's the foundation formulation, the brush itself or the way in which I use it, but all in conjunction caused my combo/oily skin and makeup 'look' a number of problems.

On the very initial application, the brush allowed for a medium coverage, airbrushed finish which was beautiful, however as the day progressed, foundation started to seperate on my nose (taking a patchy appearence), and my t-zone became incredibly oily - moreso than normal. This is likely due to the stippling/buffing motion you adopt when using the brush. It is also important to note that the head of the F80 is somewhat restricting when applying foundation to the corners of the nose and other intricate/delicate parts of the face. That said, the flat top effect allowed for a very speedy application in the morning, as opposed to faffing about washing sponges.

As with everything, there are pro's and con's to this product but after about 8 months of on-off use, I can confirm I no longer use this brush. Personal preference, of course, but it's not suitable for me.

In a nutshell:

PROS
Initial application allowed for a medium coverage, airbrushed finish which was in no way 'cakey' (if looking for a fuller coverage, use a traditional paddle brush)
Felt/looks like a luxurious tool
Flat top effect allows for a very speedy application in the mornings (much quicker/easier than faffing about washing sponges)

CONS
Flat top stippling/buffing motions highlighted dry patches
Hard to get into the nose and other delicate hard-to-reach areas with dense, chunky brush head
As day wore on, foundation seperated on nose and t-zone became more oily than usual when using this tool
Does not travel or wash well due to chunky head

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 11/8/2014 3:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the F80 flat top kabuki brush and I noticed that the bristles are starting to fall out but only a few actually do. It no longer looks flat it's the shape of a bowl when you look at the brush. I'm very disappointed with my purchase because I've bought drugstore brand brushes at a cheaper price and this hasn't happened to them. This brush should be better quality for the price I paid!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

As has it's name, the brushes have recently been edited and improved upon so I wouldn't let any of the older more negative change your opinion of this brush. It's handle have been improved upon considerably and synthetic bristles are amazing. It is also surprisingly easy to clean any excess makeup off. Exceptional quality for price. Would pay at least double for this brush than I already do. Of all my favourite products, this is the one I love the most.


on 10/21/2014 10:36:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

i love love love love this.. it is kind of pricey yes.. but its going to last forever n its very high quality.. it doesn't leave any strokes its gives an airbrush effect.. its so soft and its just perfect. works mostly on liquid foundations

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I like the F80, I really do. I like the price and how good it was good at applying my makeup but today, after no more than six months of use, mine fell apart. I was in the middle of washing it when it suddenly started shedding like crazy, little hairs popping out here and there. I thought, "oh well, they all shed, no big deal," and as I was rinsing the brush out, the head of bristles completely fell off of the brush into my sink. So disappointing. This is the first brush i've ever had that's completely fallen apart, except for an ELF eye shadow brush.
Would I buy again? yes. But only after i shop around to make sure there isn't anything better for around the same price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/18/2014 4:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

AMAZING brush for foundation. I have both the round top and flat and before i got them i thought i was enjoy the round top more but i was wrong. I definitely reach for the f80 much more. It has soft, dense bristles and just applies foundation like a dream.


on 8/27/2014 11:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The F80 Flat Kabuki was my first Sigma brush and sadly, it's my last. After having it less than a year, with daily use and proper cleansing, the entire brush head detached from the ferrule while washing it one morning. I was horrified. This has NEVER happened with any of my brushes! Strange as this sounds, this brush was a game changer for me. It improved the look and wear of my foundation and the F80 was a joy to use everyday...I looked forward to it! I've read stories that Sigma brushes aren't the best quality, shed, and eventually fall apart, but I couldn't imagine it would happen to MY beloved F80! And yes, it was shedding after I had it for ~6 months, but I ignored this little inconvenience because I loved it so much. Never again, Sigma!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/26/2014 5:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I use this brush all the time. It's great for foundation! It's really nice quality, I have owned it for 2 years with no problems at all. I would definitely replace if it is lost and like it more than my MAC brush!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/26/2014 4:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is my second Sigma brush, and I only bought it because I had bought the domed one first and it's my HG, so I wanted to have this flat one as well.
I bought it on eBay, so in all fairness it may be a fake, although after emailing the seller she kept insisting they were approved distributors of Sigma. It's definitely made in a different place than my domed one, assumingly China? It doesn't say "USA" on its handle after the name, like the domed one does.

So on to the brush, the bristles are not as dense as I had heard, or as dense as the domed brush, and they feel too soft and flimsy. I feel like they don't really have the power to push the foundation into the skin, it just kind of sits on top. While the domed brush gives me airbrushed effortless coverage, this one needs lots of work to buff the foundation in seamlessly, and I feel like the foundation stays tacky.

The worst part though is that it sheds terribly. I always have to pick hairs off my face, which is gross, inconvenient and ruins the whole experience. And my vanity is covered in hairs too. I haven't washed it yet, but I wonder what's going to be left of this brush after washing.

Too bad, since the other brush I have from Sigma is my HG, I had totally expected to love this one too.


on 8/23/2014 6:29:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Best brush ever.... Blends effortlessly, I'd be lost without it! Easy to clean, takes 24 hrs to dry. Worth every dime, I paid $24 for it and have bought a few as gifts for my friends!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top