Stila • one step makeup [DISCONTINUED] • Foundations

rated 3.6(74 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jdmcgi2 on 12/16/2010 6:18:00 PM more reviews by jdmcgi2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Got a sample of this not too long ago and the packaging says it is buildable coverage, long wearing, paraben free, controls oil and hydrates, minimizes pores and diminishes fine lines and wrinkles. All of this sounded too good to be true and....it was. The first time i applied it i used a brush and was left with brush marks. The second time I used my fingers and it looked great. This foundation has good buildable coverage and the medium color wasn't an exact match but not bad...i figured i could get a different color if i liked the sample. However, i started to notice how every flake or dry patch on my skin was standing out and my pores were actually more visible than before! Then I noticed all these fine lines poping out everywhere! my skin looked old and cakey. I would only use this product if i was 18 or younger and had normal skin. Not the product for me. I was completely disapointed. Glad this was just a sample!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chloeincolour on 11/26/2010 8:39:00 PM more reviews by chloeincolour

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Excellent consistency, it doesn't feel cakey and super thick, but the coverage is nice, it's buildable too. It seems to be water based, and it allows your skin to breathe, what a change! I love the matte finish too, you don't have to end up paying $70 on your whole foundation routine. (powder, concealer etc) I don't think this would be good for people with oily skin though...
But the price isn't really easy on my wallet... But eh, it's worth it..on occasion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautifuldreamer324 on 11/23/2010 7:15:00 PM more reviews by beautifuldreamer324

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Got a sample of this from sephora and loved it, so i got a 2nd sample. (I know i'm bad lol). I love the coverage. I got this in dark, and my skin is not very dark. (I'm mixed race and have medium-tan skin). The dark however fit my skintone perfectly, and gave such nice coverage. I will be purchasing.

**just received my full sized bottle today of this in dark and i'm loving it. this feels nice on the skin i didn't need concealer with this which was great because all i had to do was just throw some of this on and add some of my tarte cheek stain in blushing bride and i was good to go for a job interview. this blends extremely well (with fingers!) and feels nice on the skin. not heavy at all. nice coverage. i don't know why there are so many negative reviews. i recommend that you don't apply this with a brush because i don't think it would blend well with a brush. it applies great with fingers and blends flawlessly. i loved the way i looked with this one. it photographs well. i prefer sheer coverage for everyday use but for special occasions and events this stuff is great. i got my full size from ebay for $14 and some change. it's kind of a small bottle for the $44 that it retails for...and i think it's pretty overpried...but what high end foundation isn't?! i wouldn't say that this is worth full retail price because i'd never pay that much for a foundation, but i plan to get this in medium for a better match for winter from my trusted ebay seller. if the price was cut in half, i'd be buying this from stila or sephora in a heart beat.

my skin is on the drier-combination side and this works very nicely, but i'm not sure how it would work on oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mjm88 on 11/4/2010 2:42:00 AM more reviews by mjm88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this foundation but I HATE the packaging! My pump is always getting jammed and you can't open the top!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* songy67 on 10/10/2010 2:52:00 PM more reviews by songy67

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I received a sample of this from Sephora in Light. The ONLY positive thing I can say about this product is that it matches my skin tone well, (I'm somewhere in between a NC20 and NC25), and then it all goes downhill from there. This gunk not only emphasizes each tiny flake of dry skin on your face but it also manages to collect in pores and magnifies them as well. I warmed it up with my fingers and spread it onto my face with my fingertips as instructed, but all I noticed was how the product rolled and flaked off even as I was putting it on. Horrible. Absolutely horrible. I can't say much about the oil control or wear because it looked so bad I had to remove it right away. Wtf Stila? Wtf.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 defygravityy19 on 9/27/2010 4:56:00 PM more reviews by defygravityy19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this product. I heard great reviews on it, so I saved up my money to buy it. When I got matched at Ulta (on a small portion of my face, I might add) it remarkably concealed my redness and I bought it.
I was excited to wear this on the first day of school, but when I applied it on my dry skin, it flaked up and looked terrible and cakey! It was also hard to blend despite the creamy formula.
I stopped wearing it and picked it up a month later. By the end of the school day, it was literally MELTING off my face (I touched my nose and makeup came off!) I'm done with this foundation and really wish I hadn't spent so much money on it. On the plus side, the packaging was nice.

P.S. If you already have yellowish tinted skin, I would NOT recommend this for you as the tint is very yellow!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mnmcpi on 9/23/2010 7:31:00 PM more reviews by mnmcpi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I get better results when I use a separate primer.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 artsyjill on 9/21/2010 12:53:00 AM more reviews by artsyjill

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample of this product with a sephora order. I have to say for me personally, this product did not work at all. I have oily skin and this product, after having it on for a few hours, was slimy and gross looking. It never really set on my skin even with putting powder on it. If I touched my skin, i would get makeup on my hand. I definitely do not want my makeup to be that easily removable or transferable. I only used part of the sameple sized so I dont feel as though I applied too much, it did not feel heavy or anything on my skin. Perhaps because I have oily skin this did not work. I would not purchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 danishfilipina on 9/15/2010 7:45:00 PM more reviews by danishfilipina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! I used to use MAC foundation in NC37 until this gem popped up in my Sephora samples after ordering something online. Now that I've tried this... I'm so mad at myself that I haven't bought it earlier - I wish I didn't waste my money on MAC! This one-step makeup is amazing. I have many blemishes (not pimples... just blemishes) and this covers it up perfectly. I love how I don't have to use primer! It blends in with my skin color perfectly! The sample I got was dark, and I realize that tan is so much better for me. I still use concealer to cover up a couple of my bigger blemishes, but this really does the job! I also still use MAC studio fix powder to set it, but when it all comes together, it's definitely not as cakey-looking as normal MAC foundation. I feel really confident wearing this makeup because it doesn't feel heavy on me, yet I know when I look in the mirror that it's covering everything I want it to. I definitely recommend it. I know it's a little pricey, but I think that you should buy it because in retrospect... you're going to be paying a lot of money for different foundations/primers/concealers to figure out which one works with you best (as I've done)... and if you just buy this one, you'll be automatically satisfied and won't need to search for anything else! I don't know if that made sense... but maybe it's because I'm still so shocked at how great this foundation is! :) I hope everyone else loves this as much as I do! xo

Update: It's not as great as it used to be when I first bought it. I found a lot of better foundations after using this one, so I definitely wouldn't buy it again. It's probably something I'd use only if I'd ran out of all my foundations and this was the last one on earth haha.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fsayeg on 9/15/2010 3:18:00 PM more reviews by fsayeg

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this foundation two days ago and I loved it the first time I applied. The shade Light is perfect on my face and I loved the texture. However, it is not long lasting as it says. I have to reaply it three times a day. I am very disapointed with this foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Foundations products