Living Proof • Full Thickening Cream • Styling Products

rated 3.3(95 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 lilymoon on 1/18/2012 4:48:00 PM more reviews by lilymoon

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Extreme disappointment. So wanted to love this--but, alas, it did virtually nothing for my fine, thin hair. Much better thickening creams are Rusk Radical Creme and Short, Sexy Hair "Slept In" Texture Creme.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peachyy on 1/12/2012 7:49:00 PM more reviews by peachyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have long highlighted hair that is very fine, so volume is nonexistent. I have tried root lifters, mousses, etc. This thickening cream is the only thing I have found to work. I use about a quarter-sized amount (the directions say to use a dime-sized amount) because my hair is so long. I rub the cream between my palms and comb my fingers through my hair beginning with my forehead hairline. I then comb my fingers through the hair just above my ears to use up any excess. This product not only works, but it smells great. It also makes my hair much easier to tease if I want an even fuller look. It lasts all day as opposed to something like a root lifter that eventually weighs down my hair after a few hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vgirlygirl on 8/23/2011 11:38:00 AM more reviews by vgirlygirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

Ugh, I really hoped this product would make my hair fuller and volumized because I have thin hair. All it left me with was hair that felt like straw, and a lot of frizz. I followed the directions to the letter and even tried it with different shampoo/conditioner combinations. I can't stand the way my hair feels; like I have a coating on it and it's REALLY dry. Luckily I got a sample of this because I would be pretty upset if I had paid full price for this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ElishiaMarie6682 on 8/8/2011 3:24:00 PM more reviews by ElishiaMarie6682

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE Living Proof products and this is one of my favs! I have fine, overprocesses hair and this stuff is a lifesaver! My only gripe is the price...other than that A+!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 catcrazy30 on 7/31/2011 4:09:00 PM more reviews by catcrazy30

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this product for over a year, and absolutely swear by it as it is the ONLY product of this type that has ever worked for me.

I apply is bit more than they recommended and actually rub it in completely with my hands and then a comb....then proceed to blow dry my hair as always. Not only does it thicken my hair and cover my scalp "space", it also helps my styling stay in for more than one day!

To me, it's worth every single penny it costs since I've wasted way more than I've spent on Full Thickening Cream over the years on products which have never come close....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 7/4/2011 1:35:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Used in conjunction with volumizing shampoo and conditioner, this really works. It definitely made my hair appear and feel thicker all over, without making it frizzy. Did not leave my hair feeling greasy or weighed down. It did kind of make it into a big "clump" - not really a whole lot of body or movement from this product. The main cons are the terrible packaging which collapses on itself after a few uses, trapping the rest of the product inside and that it is quite expensive.
Note that this product is meant to be used (and will have best effectiveness) when heat styling (blow-out, basically). It's not going to do anything if you are just letting your hair dry naturally.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 harriss on 5/31/2011 2:45:00 PM more reviews by harriss

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A waste of money if you have thin, fine hair.
I really liked this product on the first two tries..my thin, fine, frizzy hair was bouncy and soft. I don't like to shampoo my hair every day but I wake up with flat hair so I do rinse it daily and reapply product. Thus, I need something that easily rinses out. This product does not. After the third application, my hair was a greasy oil slick.

I also don't like the lid on the bottle; it flips up and product leaks out in my bag..not good when I paid $16 for a travel sized pint!!
I think I have finally learned my lesson: there's no such thing as a thickening "cream" when it comes to find hair. I have yet to find a cream that actually thickens my hair without weighing it down.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 foxpup82 on 5/24/2011 5:33:00 PM more reviews by foxpup82

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

What a letdown! After reading glowing reviews, I bit the bullet and paid the ridiculous price of $24 for the sample size. those of you with fine hair will identify - we'll pay anything for thicker hair!
I wasn't expecting miracles, but I was expecting nice results.
I had the same experience as the last reviewer - horrible lank dirty feeling hair. I tried switching my shampoos etc, to no avail. I tried altering the amount I used - no dice.
For the record, I only used this on the bottom half of my hair length, did not let in near my roots.
A terrible waste of my money and time, I am very disappointed. I wouldn't even give this product a one rating, wish I could make it zero.
P.s.I used this in conjunction with the equally pricey conditioner, which was just a very average product, in a very annoying bottle (difficult to get the product out).
Living Proof - not quite!!!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 leavingthingsbehind on 5/11/2011 12:39:00 PM more reviews by leavingthingsbehind

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

A definitely on TO BE AVOIDED. A rubbish, overhyped, way too expensive product.

Made my delicate, short bob-lenght hair static, dull and greasy looking and completely flat on the first aplication. Does absolutely nothing of what is says on the packaging!

I applied it as instructed - avoided the roots, used a dime sized amount on my towel dried hair, blowdried it on a round brush and watched my hair go STATIC (and it has never been static before!), matte and wispy looking.

I though that maybe it was the fault of my shampoo, so I used a different one next time. And then a different one after that. To no avail. So I came back to my L'Oreal and John Frieda Volumising spray combination and my hair thanked me for it.

I am sure that the saleslady at Space NK which sells that brand in UK would try to persuade me that it would work much better with Living Proofs own volumising shampoo. Aha, I have heard that one before and I am not going to fall for it ever again - one rubbish, expensive product is enough.

Pity it is impossible to obtain a sample from Space NK before buying as I would send my �20 somewhere else certainly!

The only good thing is that it smells nice, citrusy (like L'Oreal professional product that work great with my hair for much smaller price!). Pity it cannot be returned (in UK you cannot return an opened product) because it was a pure waste of money!

In case your hair is delicate, soft and in need of oomph, do not buy it, you will regret it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cdesla1 on 3/30/2011 10:07:00 PM more reviews by cdesla1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

when I first tried this, I was not a fan. I felt that although it made my hair soft and smooth, it weighed it down and made it look limp and lifeless. then I re-read the directions and started using it correctly. unlike most volumizing products, you should NOT use this on the roots!! I apply it to my hair 1-2 inches from the root, all the way through. Also, a very small amount is needed (pea sized for my thin bob) I also then add a few spritzes of texturizing spray and my hair looks great! it is expensive but lasts FOREVER. I bought the 'trial' size at sephora and it has lasted me months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Living Proof products

More Styling Products products