Pur Minerals Pressed Powder Foundation

3.9

578 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ORIGINAL FORMULATION: Active Ingredient: Titanium Dioxide 8%; Inactive Ingredients:Mica, Boron Nitride, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Bismuth Oxychloride, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Silicate, Magnesium Carbonate, Silica, Shea Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii), Tocopheryl Acetate, Iron Oxides. May contain: Ultramarines NEW FORMULATION: Ingredients Mica, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Boron Nitride, Bismuth Oxychloride, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Silicate, Sodium Starch Octenylsuccinate, Mannitol, Sodium Gluconate, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Waltheria Indica Leaf Extract, Dextrin, Ferulic Acid, L-Lactic Acid, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Silica, Thioctic Acid, Sodium Hyaluronate, Retinol, L-Ascorbic Acid, Ceramide 6 II, Magnolia Officinalis Bark Extract, Vitis Vinifera/Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Tocopherol, Lecithin, Maltodextrin, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Skin, Glycerin, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5, L-Glutathione, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Hydrated Silica, Tocopheryl Acetate, Aqua, Glucosamine HCI, Pisum Sativum (Pea) Extract, Bambusa Vulgaris Leaf/Stem Extract, Magnesium Carbonate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499). May Contain: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Ultramarine (CI 77007)


on 1/25/2013 1:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Purmineral pressed foundation was on my list for about 5 month and finally I got a starter kit on sale for 25$ at Ulta.
The package includes
- pressed foundation
- primer
- bronzer
- mascara
- stipple brush

First of all it's winter and my skin is dry. Ulta assistant warned me it may look Cakey on my dry skin, but I bought it anyway. So, yes it looks Very cakey on my face, even if I moisturize it befor. I had to put it away for a warmer time.
I think this is a good choice for normal to oily skin or for warm season! If you have dry patches this foundation will accentuate dryness and fine lines.
In terms of coverage it does cover my blemishes and my red cheeks very good. I have to apply only one layer to cover what I need to, but it is quite build able. Let me say that with build ability comes cakiness almost with all foundations, but with this one in particular. I try to blend it really good and if there are some breaks outs ( which happens a couple of times a months) I pick up a little bit foundation with my concealer brush and go over them only.
It has SPF 15, very big plus even though you have to wear separate one under it. The thing I like about it, that it takes me only 3,4 minutes to apply it, when with my liquid foundation it takes twise as long or even longer. I apply it with a stipple brush it comes with. The brush is doing a good job in terms of blendebility. The shade light (clair) is a little too light for me, but still looks natural, plus this is fixable with bronzer. The finish is semi natural, a little bit on the matte side. As far as I remember there package says it has moisturizing ability, which has to show during the day, but I didn't notice it at all. It stayed on my face around 7,8 hours and of course I didn't feel a need to blot exes oil, because it's winter and the foundation is drying.
For now I have to stick to my liquid foundation, but in a couple of month I will update on how it works for me in spring and summer.

........................... Update.........................

As spring has come and the days get longer and warmer as my opinion about this pressed base is changing.
As I wrote earlier I looked overdone with it in winter. It accentuated my dry patches and made me look like I'm wearing mask.
Now I like the way my skin looks with this foundation on my face.
My pores are less visible, redness covered an some dark and red sports from pimples are covered completely.
Now I can see the finish it's pretty natural, not matte, not glowy.
The only con is that it oxidizes on my skin and this time of the year my skin is not that oily to cause the reaction. Fortunately, I have it in Clair light, which is a little bit lighter than my natural tone, so it's doesnt look that dark.
This pressed mineral foundation is definitely something to consider if you have normal to oily skin. For me it a good choice for spring, summer and fall, but not winter.

Update: it really oxidizes and from Clair turns to medium. This is the reason I will not buy it again.










1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/19/2013 5:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

this is the best mineral powder foundation i have tried.
it beats jane iredale, belle pierre, laura mercier and other high end powders which are all more expensive than this and poorer quality.
this is very limited in the uk i can only get it from M&S online so il be stocking up.
you can easily achieve full coverage with a good kabuki brush and it isnt too visible or powdery like most..
its decent at keeping shine at bay but i dont use this to touch up though i use the body shops all in one face powder which i feel is just a little more light weight than this. but this one isnt too heavy either it doesnt feel like your wearing it but i just felt like i would be putting to much on if i touched up with it in the afternoon .it had good staying power and i really liked the packaging definately recommend.

plus if has spf15 bonus!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2013 2:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Green

I did not like this at first, it applied poorly & blotchy but then i realized it was the brush it comes with. I used the Sonia Kashuk flat brush instead and i really like this now. It is quick to use, applies evenly and looks very skin like. You can build it up and it wont settle oddly. I will still try other things but for quickness and quality I am a fan. I am usually NC 30-35 and got this in Golden Medium. Got the starter kit. I have Bare Minerals foundation as well, that gives me a more glowy look whereas this is more a natural and buildable look. They are both good but this needs less work, BM tends to stick to dry spots and eye creases.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2012 4:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

LOVE LOVE LOVE this pressed powder foundation. I am a big fan of powder foundations in general (that aren't drug store brands like L'Oreal or CoverGirl) and I have bought quite a few (including bareMinerals, Lise Watier, Lorac, Lancome, MAC, etc). While I like a lot of them, Pur Minerals is always the one I go back to, and skip over the others to dig this one out. I love the beautiful satin-like, but matte, finish that looks so skin-like that you can't help but fall in love with your face. The coverage is extremely buildable and still looks the same regardless of how many layers you have on. I have really dry skin, and this looks great over moisturizer. I got my friend who is extremely acne prone hooked on this as well, and she doesn't wear concealer anymore, and her face looks beautiful. I recommend this to everyone I know and it hasn't disappointed anyone yet.

Edit: They've repackaged into a beautiful new compact and with the repackaging, added new colors, so there is minimal chance of not getting a match =)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am over 40 and have therefore been through quite a bit of make up in my time - this is my fave product hands down. I believe that It's 100% worth a try if you're in the market for a mineral foundation, I won't bother trying anything else as long as I can get my hands on this little beauty as it's just such a great product for me. I hope and I pray that the company does well for the conceivable future, and that the 4 in 1 product is never discontinued!!

I the only issue I would imagine could arise with it is if you are particularly over sensitive otherwise, give it a try for sure.

Please note:
It is important that you use the brush that purminerals has designed to accompany this product - it's really essential otherwise you won't get the best results from this foundation. It's a short stubby stippling brush, the brush and the 4 in 1 go hand in hand there's no doubt about it..

Purminerals also make a lovely primer product which works beautifully with this foundation - I purchase the green one which helps with any redness and slight pigmentation before I apply the 4 in 1. However saying that, the 4 in 1 on it's own does a pretty good job of covering what I need to and evening out my skin tone.
I find it controls my oiliness, it warms to my skin very quickly and looks natural. I am conscious that it's there however, I don't feel like I'm wearing heavy make up as I'm not, this product gives good coverage and lasts all day. I also find it quick and easy to use - I have been using it for a couple of years now so I can apply this stuff with my eyes closed, it's very user-friendly. I moisturize my cleansed face before I apply. This product glides on effortlessly, it's just great!

It's only available in Australia through a home shopping TV network and it often sells out so I get mine mainly shipped from the states via eBay or through Purminerals direct, I always make sure that I have a back-up as I would not want to be without this.

I think that it is well priced and it lasts a long time. The packaging is handy and convenient to both work with and travel with. The sponge that comes with the 4 in 1 is just for touch ups - I would not recommend that you apply the product with this sponge, as previously mentioned you need the brush.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2012 4:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this product! I have tried every make-up under the sun (which means i have been dissapointed many a time) and this is by far the best for my skin. I have combination/acne prone skin and have mainly used heavy liquid foundations in order to cover acne/acne scars. Never have I thought that a powder would do the trick, and I don't even use much of it. I use a bit of concealer on any spots i have on my face and finish off with the pressed poweder and voila! Flawless skin! I also use the pur minerals blush occasionally and like it also. Thumbs up from me :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2012 8:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

my everyday foundation
IMO its way better than bare minerals
has great medium coverage gets rid of redness and is not cakey!
i have dry combo skin and it works great if used on top of a moisturizer dry patches will not show through
since it is pressed there is no mess like loose powders
this has lasted me over 8 months and i use it atleast 4 times a week
also its great for travel
have 2 backups and will keep buying again and again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/4/2012 9:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the one foundation that works quickly and effectively for me. However, it does contain parabens for those who are cautious about that.

I have it in Golden Medium, and it took me a while to get a full coverage out of it. The only brush that I fend to work with this product is the Pur Minerals brush. I buff in the product to cover even my worst scars and break outs. I can use this foundation alone to cover all of that, but I have not tried it on my undereyes simply because I can't run the risk of drying or damaging my undereye skin.

When I top this with my Dream Matte from Maybelline, I can go without being shiny for around 8 hours. As a warning, this does cling to dry skin and sometimes even fine lines that I have around my mouth, so be sure to moisturize.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

Thiis prodect i used for a good 2 years i have very oily skin there for i need to wear makeup. This covered my acne scars really well i was so suprised and stayed on all day and i live in texas so it with stood the heat ,this is by far the best powder i have tried , even with my primer it made it last allmost a whole day. this product is good for a day wear when liquid makeup is just to much. I would most definetly re purchase product the only reason why i switched was for the cargo blue ray powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/19/2012 11:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It is expensive. but it did the job. good color match( golden medium), no skin issue(I do want to point out that it contain Bisuth, some people might allergc to), good coverage, just expensive. but I stock up with the BOGO in aug, should last me a while :-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top