Essie • Chinchilly • Polishes

rated 4.6(129 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 GlamFann on 12/27/2012 9:49:00 PM more reviews by GlamFann

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really prety grey nail polish I came across this at my local Rite-Aid and I figured since a lot of my outfits include a grey element I thought this would be perfect and turns out it was. :)
I would reccomend this to everyone.

Only complaint I had with this is that you have to apply many coats to achieve the complete color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashleylaurenxo on 12/7/2012 7:07:00 PM more reviews by ashleylaurenxo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this colour! I get compliments whenever I wear this nail polish. It's a nice neutral grey and I find like almost all Essie polishes it is of fantastic quality. I only have to apply 2 coats.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 localceleb84 on 12/7/2012 4:08:00 PM more reviews by localceleb84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This polich was an impulse buy! I have seen Essie colors ALL OVER PINTEREST and thought I'd finally give it a try. I'm a Florida girl, so light pinks and peaches are my usual, summery type color. This is a big change for me, but it went on like butter! It's super smooth - I don't even think I'll need a topcoat. Overall, I'm really happy with it. For $8, it was worth it. I'd rather pay $8 for a decent nail color that goes on easily than a $40 manicure.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 keyelement on 12/7/2012 2:11:00 AM more reviews by keyelement

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this shade. I agree with all reviews below: opaque with 2 coats, universally flattering shade, office-friendly, and it always seems to be in season each fall. If I had to choose only 5 polishes from my 70-polish collection to keep, this would be one of those 5.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennstar777 on 12/6/2012 9:54:00 PM more reviews by jennstar777

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Amazing neutral shade-a subtle yet dynamic gray. Worth it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MonBlue on 11/17/2012 1:58:00 PM more reviews by MonBlue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Essie's ChinChilly is the color that I always turn to, it is a quintessential medium gray that is flattering on all nail lengths and skin tones. It is fashion forward and edgy because it s not a traditional pink or red, but conservative enough to wear to a job interview - yes it is that perfect a shade!!
I am obsessed with well tended hands and nails. How one takes care of ones hands speaks volumes about who they are as a person. This color should be in every fashionable lady's rotation.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 10/24/2012 2:31:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous medium gray with a lavender undertone. This Is what I wanted essie's merino cool to be! This color is really pretty; not too dark for spring nor too bright for fall. Very chic color. Formula was buttery and amazing and all I needed was 2 coats to get my desired opaque look. Def would repurchase this color!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ireneyy on 9/29/2012 7:55:00 PM more reviews by ireneyy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can see why this Essie product is "award-winning". It's a beautiful gray, with purple undertones, that literally applies like butter. It's also opaque in 2 coats. I'm not sure about lasting power, since I only had this polish on for 2 days, but at least it didn't chip in those two days haha. The only negative thing I have to say about this polish is that it brought out all the redness on my yellow-toned Asian skin, which is why I would NOT buy this product again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 trinitycharm on 9/16/2012 11:17:00 AM more reviews by trinitycharm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

On my naturally tan, olive-yellow Asian skin, this color looks fairly decent. In the bottle, compared to other grey/taupes, I thought it was a medium to light grey; but ON, it looks more like a medium to dark grey. On my skin, I don't see as much purple in it as I do in SH Greige Gardens; or as much taupey-brown as WnW Wet Cement; nor is it as light as Professional 10 (?) Moonlight---though more similar in tone to the latter. It's a lovely neutral that's office appropriate, but still edgy IMHO. The problem I have with this one is that my two bottles are both very runny. I used 2 coats, which isn't that bad compared to a few other nail polishes. If you're looking for a dupe, I believe the new L'Oreal np (called Eiffel For You), is pretty darn close...though I haven't actually done a side-by-side comparison.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 boxyeongxan on 9/7/2012 10:54:00 AM more reviews by boxyeongxan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

A nice color. But its very sheer. I had to use 3 coats to get the color thats in the bottle on my nails. It doesn't chip and doesn't streak. applies on smoothly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products