NARS • Sheer Matte • Liquid

rated 3.2(264 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 addied on 9/21/2013 6:34:00 AM more reviews by addied

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had the pump version of this fir my application hour, hood and hygienic. I used this on a couple of models for a fashion gig and it applied beautifully with a normal flat foundation brush followed by a latex sponge to blend it all seamlessly. At first I wasn't too confident with this product but judging throughout the day and into the night, it did actually last (using a nars micro powder in translucent with the exception of a shiny forehead in five hours). These models had clear skin with the occasional redness on cheeks which vanished completely after applying foundation. Only a few had pimples. I would say that it did look good on skin that were dry but one model whom I did not apply this product to, had blotchy patches so maybe it's not for those with extremely dry skin. I haven't try extremely acne yet but I'll grab a sample and try it out on a friend to see if it'll work. Price is steep, selling at $68 a bottle from Mecca in Australia - definitely light to medium, buildable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ComplexChameleon on 9/13/2013 1:28:00 AM more reviews by ComplexChameleon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really great light-medium coverage foundation that has a beautiful natural finish. It doesn't keep me as matte as I'd like, but I am very oily and I do notice that I am less oily after a few hours than with other foundations. I have very yellow undertones and NARS is one of the few foundation lines that I have found a warm enough colour in (Stromboli). I do wish this foundation had more coverage, although it evens out my skintone and makes my pores look smaller. Also, I tried a sample but it seems like the bottle is really difficult to work with. Overall I may end up purchasing this foundation for casual everyday wear if I can't find something that's fuller coverage/more mattifying and still a good match.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 diana342910 on 9/4/2013 1:19:00 AM more reviews by diana342910

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First I have very oily skin all over all the year round special of summer and I have acne prone this foundation is my favorite because last all day and look so pretty and is not heavy foundation I been using since 2009 and still I use it and keep buy it again my shade is Tahoe is perfect shade the only thing is need to buy the pump but I still love I never change for other foundation. And this foundation don't breakout my face

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ElenaMis on 8/19/2013 9:56:00 AM more reviews by ElenaMis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I just wanted to love this foundation but I can't. I have combination skin but this product on me is really cakey. It was my fault for buying it before trting it at home, first and last time I make this awful error, but, I mean, with combination/oily skin why this foundation looks so powdery on me?
Really a pity, for 40 euro it was absolutely disappointing.
If I notice some change in future application, maybe in another period of the year, I'll edit my review.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 crstfallen on 8/16/2013 11:48:00 PM more reviews by crstfallen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation! It takes me forever to find a good, long lasting foundation with good coverage. I tried using Revlon Colorstay at first but I found that it never really stayed. So I went to Sephora, and the woman who found this foundation for me is an angel. To top it off, it actually matches my skin tone which I find quite difficult because my skin tone is normally too dark or too light for most foundations, but this one doesn't come on cakey, it lasts a long time, and I don't even need that much! Definitely buying again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BSlytherin on 7/28/2013 7:09:00 PM more reviews by BSlytherin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I went to sephora to exchange my MUFE hd foundation because it was getting too cakey no matter what I used, and the guy recommended this foundation.

I Love It!! It doesn't get greasy or cakey or anything. I love how it dries. I apply it with my foundation brush.
The color matches me perfectly! It's the best one so far! Definitely buying again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 VIPnolza on 7/20/2013 3:32:00 PM more reviews by VIPnolza

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this and the sheer glow foundation. if i hadnt had tried sheer glow i would have liked this a lot. but there are some problems i have with this that i cannot over look. first off, the smell is HORRID!! I'm not exaggerating, i don't think my nose is even that sensitive! I can tolerate the smell of revlon colorsay, black radiance liquid foundation, even mac pro longwear doesn't smell that bad to me. this foundation smells worse than MAC Studio Fix Fluid, and many people know that Studio Fix smells strong. This foundation just STANKS! smells like cleaning supplies.

Other than the awful smell, it isnt that hard to blend. it doesn't blend as well sheer glow though. I think that this goes on better with your fingers or a sponge. I wear Tahoe in both sheer glow and sheer matte. sheer matte runs a tad bit lighter than sheer glow. I am NC-45 and Tahoe in both shades are great for people with very strong yellow undertones.

I do not like this finish of this foundation. I usually like satin, semi-matte and matte finishes. But this seems too matte to me. It makes my skin look....dead. I just doesn't look good on its own. When i add a colored powder the gives me a bit more color and then i use a setting spray to get rid off the super matte look. But with sheer glow, the color is just perfect and it looks really nice.

Over all, its good for people with oily skin. but i feel like it takes too much effort to make it look good. i will not repurchase this. I'm gonna stick with sheer glow

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nnovak006 on 7/13/2013 12:09:00 PM more reviews by nnovak006

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure why this foundation got such awful reviews but I think it might have more to do with application. I went into Nordstrom's to look for a new foundation and the SA told me to try this foundation for summer. She color matched me to Fiji (NC25) and told me to apply this with my fingers or else it wouldn't melt into my skin. Today I applied it for the first time at home and this is my impression.

Pros:
-Good color match
-Does what it says
-Light to medium buildable coverage
-Kept my face pretty matte throughout the day
-Didn't accentuate my pores

Cons:
-Can be tricky to apply

For application, I used my beauty blender and fingers with a primer underneath (smashbox light). I tried at first to use my Sigma F80 brush but that didn't go so well so I think with this foundation you will have to use fingers or sponge. I set with the Nars Loose Reflecting Powder. Overall, this is a very good summer foundation and worth a try if you are oily or in a humid climate.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chloeclover on 7/12/2013 2:54:00 PM more reviews by Chloeclover

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a first impression review. Yesterday I went to the mall to try to find a better foundation that can be used everyday or for special occasions. My skin type is really oily and acne prone. Unfortunately, my skin is also very yellow toned because I am Asian and most foundations look really ashy on me. So I went into Sephora and ended up trying the Nars Sheer Matte foundation. I steered away from the Sheer Glow because the word Glow freaks me out because anything "glowy" or dewey will just look like an oil slick on me. I have heard great things about the Sheer Glow but..... had to try the matte version. I tried it in Sephora and applied it with my fingers and basically fell in love with how it felt on my face! It is very light weight and the coverage is about light to medium buildable coverage. So I asked for a sample of the product in Fiji. This is my first day trying to work with the product and figure out best ways to apply it. Unfortunately, it is difficult to apply onto the face with a brush because you have to work it in the skin quickly and a brush makes the product look streaky and at some points it was peeling off my skin in little balls. I also tried to blend this over a silicone based primer and it also balled up... So I had to redo my whole face again and ended up using my fingers which is the best way to apply it! I'm sure using a damp sponge will work well but the product is already light to medium coverage, I don't think I want to sheer it out anymore... So far I like it because of how it looks and feels on the skin. I am not too sure about oil control yet since this is just a first impression.


UPDATE#1:
It's been a few hours and my face is not oily at all (keep in mind I am wearing powder over my foundation). I was watching a tv show and it made me cry and it seems like the foundation is not water resistant (it doesn't claim to be). Anyway I really like the foundation so far, I just wish it was more water resistant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ExoticAlbino on 7/2/2013 1:00:00 AM more reviews by ExoticAlbino

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love that there was a color match for my albino warm skintone (Siberia)...but that's as far as the list of pros go for this product in my experience.

This was one of the worst foundations I've ever used. It just kept balling up as I applied it. I wish I could vouch for it's oil controlling properties, but I *couldn't* even keep it on long enough to find out. It looked horrific on me. The patches that didn't ball up looked like dried paint.

I returned it to Sephora.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Liquid products