MAC • Cream Color Base in Luna • Highlighters

rated 4.3(46 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 MissButtons on 2/28/2010 9:33:00 PM more reviews by MissButtons

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

HG highlighter! I love love love this in every way and have nothing bad to say about it. I've been using it for ever. It gives your skin the perfect glow. I am an esthetician and people always comment on how much my skin glows, if only they knew my secret!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* coquette89 on 12/8/2009 6:21:00 PM more reviews by coquette89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love to use this product as a cheek highlight. A lot of highlighters are too gold for me (Vanilla pigment, Nars Albatross) but this product is quite neutral so it goes with any blush. I can put it over powders and it doesn't make it patchy.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starlitedc on 11/18/2009 10:06:00 AM more reviews by starlitedc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I originally bought Luna to use as an eyeshadow base. I wanted a brightening base like NYX Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencil in Milk. However, Luna (over UDPP) creased horribly on my eyelids within several hours. After that, it sat untouched in my drawer for a few months.
I recently rediscovered Luna when I was looking at my stash to see if there was something I could use to brighten/lighten my lipsticks. I use my LE Mac Fun Fun lipstick sparingly, and I wanted to get the same kind of bright Barbie pink color from some of my warmer pink lippies. I put Luna down as a lip base and VOILA. It transformed the look of so many of my lipsticks, making them brighter/lighter/frostier/bluer. Now, I've got double the amount of lipsticks because of this base! Also, on its own, it looks a bit like the much sought after Bubbles LE lipstick from MAC.
My new-found love of Luna prompted me to use it as a base color on other areas of my face. Now I use it as a base under blush, and I find that it intensifies the color and makes my blushes more long-lasting. However, I find that it does not really show up too much on my NC25 cheekbones as a highlighter. I do use it on my nose, and it seems to look great there, although it doesn't last very long. I always apply it with my fingers - no brush necessary.
Luna is also great to use on your brow bone. So although it doesn't really function as a shadow base for me, I definitely recommend Luna CCB for its many many other uses.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Saraharas on 8/10/2009 4:23:00 PM more reviews by Saraharas

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

*This review is for the product used as a cheek highlight, not as an eye base!

Nice consistency, nice colour, and easy to work with. For anyone with light to medium-light skin (NC15-NC25ish) don't worry that this product is white, it is sheer on the skin unless you were to slather on a thick layer. And it really is white, not silver, so when used on cheeks it gives a beautiful fresh-and-clean-looking glow, great for daytime or the office, where perhaps a more gold-based highlighter like NARS albatross would be a little too glamorous.

May not be appropriate for dark skins.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xomeggiepoo on 7/26/2009 4:43:00 PM more reviews by xomeggiepoo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my first ccb and I absolutely love it. The texture is amazing(so creamy and smooth). This color is a great highlighted and I don't mind it as an eyeshadow base either. I'd definitely say you should try it out, but don't put too much on your cheekbones or you'll look like an elf from lord of the rings lol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lareinaxx on 6/18/2009 11:07:00 PM more reviews by lareinaxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

luna is my very first ccb. im in love and highly recommend :)


color-

a stark white with a silver grey/platinum shimmery glow.


finish-

luna is a frost... so there is shimmer, but not over the top, just perfect.


size-

ccb are bigger than an eyeshadow and smaller than a blush. the size of a mineralized eyeshadow would be the best comparison.


purpose-

cream colored bases aren't made for anything specific, you can really use them however you like, altho depending on the color some may be limited to certain area's.

luna is a white, so it works amazing anywhere, I like using it on my face/cheeks/brow's as a highlighter but many girls use luna as an eyeshadow base.


I never really paid any attention to the ccb's at mac cus I never had a use for them, and I also wasn't quite sure how to use them. as far as bases and primers for my eye's im a mac paint and paint pot girl. its a dryer formula and for me holds better. cream is great for other purposes, but as an eye base I find it a little sticky/tacky and feel its harder to blend out..

but as far as a base for a blush or beauty powder..bronzer or highlighter, this is a nice product that will hold ur cheek color all day long, if you have a fav blush but it wears off to quick, you need this. and because there is no color tint, it won't change the color of your blush.

it will add a tiny shimmer underneath but nothing dramatic. and I like that I can make a matte blush into a shimmer. so great!


now to the good part,

luna is a product I received in a swap with a sweet friend of mine [christine] hey girl! and she swatched it once with a brush, so I basically got it brand new. I decided to try this color because im looking for a dewy highlighter for summer. its better and more natural looking on a hot day than powder.. and feeling and gives u that sexy glo.


I have the richmetal highlighter in the color "gilt edge" from the couture collection which I adore. its also a cream type of base, a little dryer than a ccb and its a shimmery green. luna I feel is neutral, its not the typical pink or peach, its white/silver and when it mixes with ur natural skin color..mines brown..it makes its own color/finish which is very natural, it never looks bright white or overdone unless u want to apply it that way, in that case you could :)


on me luna gives a very subtle but flattering, moist glowy candle light dinner affect. its gorgeous! I would say its the cream version of nars albatross, without the yellow tint. I know some girls don't like that part of albatross, so this may be perfect for you.

another trick I have learned with luna is to apply it on my lips after they have been prepped with balm..it gives a nice frosty baby pink color alone. but its also soo pretty under or over a fav matte lipstick, my fav is to top it over diva lipstick, its a matte finish and its by mac. the color is a gorgeous pin-up style dark purple red.

luna dabbed lightly over the top brings a little shimmer, and tones down the deep red. this is actually a perfect perfect dupe for....bubbles lipstick! which is a frost finish. and luna is a frost base. there both a frosty white, and sheer. really girls, if u missed out on bubbles, don't pay over retail for it..buy luna cream colored base, you will get more use and u can use it all over ur body, where as a lipstick u limit to just ur lips. since luna is a perm product, if u tried bubbles and love it, or want to try it, you can always have an option :)


I hope this review helped some of you if u were on the fence with this, in my opinion, u really can't go wrong, don't be scared of the color, its very beautiful, and can and will work on any skin tones, if your interested in this, go to mac and try it on your cheeks as a highlight, go home and see how it wears and you like it. if your going to start with a base and don't know which one..

this is a great starter, it was for me, I love it and am going to repurchase this over and over. if you have any questions, please msg me id be happy to help :)


oxoxoxoxo

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chelbellboo on 2/17/2009 12:04:00 PM more reviews by chelbellboo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

picked this up at macy's and am still kinda on the fence over it. as far as being a e/s base. it works well enough, but i feel it can be easily duped, for a fraction of the price. one product that comes to mind straight away is a creamy shadow base from sally hanson.picked that up at walgreens for just a few bucks. when swatched on my hand side by side, they look and feel similar. sally hanson's is a bit more sparkly. and brighter. but i didnt really need to search any farther than my own makeup stash to find a suitable dupe. where it might differ would be when used as a nhighlighter on the cheekbone. just the right amount of shimmer. works very well there.havent tried it on the lips, although the m/a at mac said it could be used for eyes, cheeks and lips. so...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hillarryyy on 11/15/2008 6:49:00 PM more reviews by Hillarryyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Its a perfect natural glow on my almost caper skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 daniellefc223 on 8/27/2008 11:20:00 PM more reviews by daniellefc223

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love Luna! I agree that it works awesome as a pigment base. By far the best base I've used for pigments/loose shadows. For me it works great also as a regular shadow base because the colors just come out more vibrant. I also use it to highlight the inner corner/tearduct area and sometimes on my cheekbones. This pot will last forever and I use it 3-5 times a week. Great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 IdRatherBeWelding on 6/27/2008 1:00:00 AM more reviews by IdRatherBeWelding

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The color is really great on my skin. I'm a nc15--very pale-- and it gives me a really natural, healthy glow. It makes my skin look "dewy". It can be subtle or more intense since the color is can build. As a cheek highlighter, works great. Might not work as well for a darker complexion, though. It also helps my blush stay on longer and stand out better. My favorite use for this is the tear ducts and brow bone. Gives a great reflective, eye widening effect. However, it doesn't work well for me as a base. It creased really bad by itself with e/s on top, and creased almost just as bad with UDPP underneath. But, still a great product since it is so versatile. I really enjoy the different things I can do with it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Highlighters products