Korres • Lip Butter - Jasmine • Lip Treatments

rated 3.9(162 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 elf_107 on 11/11/2012 8:31:00 PM more reviews by elf_107

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I must admit this has been an HG of mine for years now. I first discovered these little pots of lip butter when I got the Pomegranate Korres one. I fell in love with it for being a richly pigmented butter -- which this product is not. It imparts very little pigment on my fair rosy lips, on me personally it's barely perceptible. It seems to just mute the colour slightly while imparting a tiny hint of pinkness. This is not what makes this product HG for me, although I do like the look of it...


What makes this product HG for me is that it reliably restores my lips when used overnight and is really pleasant to use. It also reliably does not give me me lip zits, which a majority of lip butters do when used to excess. I am very prone to these, and regular oily products like Badger type balms will literally do it overnight. This one, I can slather on generously, and it will not irritate or break out my lips. It is not overly heavy, which means that when my lips are flushing madly it doesn't trap the heat and make them feel unbearably hot. Heavier textured lip products have been guilty of being rather uncomfortable when I am experiencing angry rashy red lips in the past. For this reason I really treasure this tiny pot of understated butter.


The texture is somewhat waxy and forms a pleasant cushiony film that can be built up to a lush texture without being gloppy. People who like a very thick slippy Vaseliney texture may not like this as much, this is more like an emollient wax than a heavy duty coating. The smell is quite pleasant and mellow to my nose: a gentle caramel smell, fairly agreeable and natural smelling, with just a hint of Jasmine in the background. This follows the tradition Korres has of pleasantly scenting their little lip butter pots to match the name, but this one is less strongly scented than some of their other ones (Quince, I'm looking at you!) For this reason the scent doesn't seem to bother my particular skin, and in that regard it's slightly less joyless to use than Aquaphor (which is magical indeed but doesn't have an entertaining scent.) Because it also doesn't have much pigment, it doesn't have any kind of irritant or drying effect on me personally... I love the tinted varieties but they could not be used as an overnight treatment on my mouth, as these highly tinted products tend to dry me out ever so slightly.


The downside of this product is the obvious thing: having to dip your finger in the pot. For this reason I prefer it as an at-home product, when my hands are recently cleaned. On the other hand, Korres addressed this problem by releasing a tube version of a Korres Jasmine lip butter which I also have -- the latter not being near as nice for my needs as the original. The tube version is convenient, reasonably well moisturizing, has a hint of shimmer (original does not) and is scented lightly of a different vanilla-type smell. For whatever reason, the original in the pot *works* better on my particular lips, as far as actual moisturizing is concerned. I do like the tube product a lot for purse use, but the Jasmine butter in the pot holds a coveted place next to my bed.


I will definitely rebuy unless the company tampers with it, and have done so numerous times. On pot seems to last me a surprisingly amount of time, and the substance seems to keep quite well (ie: not turn.) Not something I can say for my many previous oily health food store lip balm purchases, which sometimes go rancid in 6 months or less.


I would recommend this product to someone who wants a subtle hint of colour, a nice bit of lip moisture without being too heavy and anyone struggling with dry lips that doesn't tolerate heavy oils and butters very well. It's probably also best for people who care for a light pleasant smell don't mind butter in a pot.


All in all a solid 5 lippies for me. Of the many dozen lip thingies in my stash, this is the one I hit pan on the fastest of all.


INGREDIENTS: Polybutene, Trimethylolpropane Triisostearate, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Polyethylene, Hydroxystearic Acid, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Sucrose Tetrastearate Triacetate, Jasminum Grandiflorum (Jasmine) Flower Wax, Tocopherol, Flavor (Aroma), Ascorbyl Palmitate, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Wax, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter Extract May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Mica, Iron Oxides, Red 7 Lake

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 afterthestorm on 11/6/2012 7:30:00 PM more reviews by afterthestorm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this lip butter, it just melts onto the lips and keeps them feeling really soft and moisturised. The smell is divine. I really like the colour - it's a really natural baby pink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathyz123 on 10/16/2012 11:11:00 PM more reviews by cathyz123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i love this lip balm - it's super moisturising, it smells really yummy and it leaves a healthy sheen on mine lips. i hate dipping my fingers into pots for any product but for this, i can overlook it :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lk1119 on 10/16/2012 11:00:00 PM more reviews by lk1119

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this product after hearing many gurus rave about it on YouTube. However, it just doesn't work for me. I find it more so on the sticky side and not so moisturizing. The packaging also feels very cheap to me. I have better luck with some cheaper alternative lip products in my opinion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BonjurCutie on 10/16/2012 12:27:00 AM more reviews by BonjurCutie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

When you first apply jasmine on, because its a light pink color it does give a pale sheer coat. This lip butter does moisturize but if your lips are already peeling and flaking the color only gets caught onto those flakes, making them super visible. I think the packaging is cute but I usually have to go to the restroom and apply it on. I have to use my finger which is kind of gross and sticky and then wash it afterwards so because of that inconvenience I don't use it as often as my stick moisturizers

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 deenamh on 10/13/2012 11:05:00 AM more reviews by deenamh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this lip butter for over 2 years now and it's always in my make up bag or purse. It's a great natural light pinkish hue that gives your lips a really pretty natural look to it. I don't like lipglosses because they can feel too sticky and chapsticks get dried out too quickly. This is perfect because your lips feel moisturized. I always wear eyeliner but not always lipstick, and this product is perfect for that dark eye look and natural or nude lips.
The packaging is a little inconvenient because you can't really fit it into your jean pocket or into a small purse or wallet when you go out. But for the quality and look it gives, I have bought this product many times already. And it's always in my purse; and I even keep one pot of it at work for touch ups throughout the day versus lipstick. Jasmin is a great natural color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luineumaiel on 9/6/2012 12:54:00 AM more reviews by luineumaiel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Fantastic product that I'll purchase over and over again.
- It doesn't have that saccharine, cosmetic scent that overpowers your senses (I'm looking at you, Body Shop).
- Does a great job of moisturising lips the whole day.
- Keeps lips sufficiently moisturised under matte lipsticks.
- Leaves behind that natural shine you get right after licking your lips or drinking a glass of water.
- Comes in more subtle colours that blend with the natural colour of your lips.

What more do you need from a lip butter? :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jadorelechoc on 9/2/2012 11:01:00 AM more reviews by jadorelechoc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have lost count of how many of these pots I have bought again & again over the past decade. Truly moisturising, fairly priced, they smell and taste beautiful and leave your lips hydrated and yummy without sitting too thick on the surface of your lips.
I find them superior to the stick form ones, their formula is different and I prefer the ones in the pot by far. The Jasmine and the Quince ones are my favourites.
I am not bonkers about the packaging but I would not change it or trade it for the Nuxe Reve de Miel heavy glass jar for example. I find it unnecessary. I find the opinions about how disgusting it is to stick your fingers in the pot a bit over the top - it's lip butter, not poo. It's common sense that you do not apply the product after you've held your keys or unclogged your toilet - I wait till after I've washed my hands and there's nothing unsanitary about that.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lhuynh10 on 7/21/2012 1:44:00 AM more reviews by lhuynh10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Well, this was all the hype so I bought it having high expectations. Maybe that was the downfall, but this is an okay product. The color is great even on pale girls, but as soon as you catch a tan, it makes you look sickly. The smell is quite nice. I don't like the residue it left on my lips, not glitters but some kind of shimmer. The odd thing is, it dried my lips. I wouldn't repurchase for me, but I do buy them as gifts for other people and they like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hannahbby2 on 7/21/2012 1:40:00 AM more reviews by Hannahbby2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Such a great product! This one is my favorite, but I have owned Mango and Guava before as well. Jasmine leaves a very light pinky-nude color that I happen to LOVE, as well as some serious lasting moisture! My lips are still soft hours after the product wears off. The smell is lovely, much sweeter than I would have expected, but very pleasant. I always keep this in my purse with me to reapply on the go, and it's great! I would highly recommend this if you're someone who struggles with chapped lips and prefers a lip product with sheer, glossy color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Korres products

More Lip Treatments products