Clarisonic Mia

4.2

1039 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Plastic


on 2/22/2015 9:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I just don't get the hype with this product.
When I first heard of clarisonic, I thought I'd never buy one, ever. I just assumed it was an unnessecary, marketing gimmick or glorified scrubbing brush. I just couldn't understand how it would work any better than using a scrub, or a chemical exfoliant.
After reading the glowing reviews on makeup alley and elsewhere, I eventually decided I HAD to try this. The desire for a glowing, clear complexion was just too much!
First of all, it's fairly pricey initially, and then every few months or so you still have to replace the brushes at a cost of about $30AUD. I'm really not sure if certain bristle heads make a difference as I've only used the 'normal' brush, and thus this is the brush head that my review will be on.
And the results? Well I can't say I noticed a difference in my skin at all! The first time I used it, I thought my skin looked glowing and fresh, but after that, my skin just looked the same after I used it. I used it most nights and nothing!
I decided to try it again a few nights ago and the next day I looked in the mirror and my skin looked irritated, especially the tops of my cheeks. Almost a little rashy.
I honestly just don't think this is a necessity. Yeh, it feels indulgent to use, almost like a mini facial at home, but that's about it. I will also say just to be careful you don't overdo it with the exfoliation. I'm sure some people use this as well as chemical exfoliants, and I wouldn't be surprised if this does more harm than good.



on 2/14/2015 2:30:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Grey, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I do not like the Clarisonic Mia at all. It's cute and baby pink, but that's it. My skin looked horrible after using it for only a few days. I followed all instructions and used my regular mild cleanser, but it changed my skin texture from smooth and normal to flaky and snake-like. I was shocked to see myself in outdoor lighting. I was excited to try this product after an esthetician recommended it. They offer a free facial and other products if you buy a Clarisonic from them. I'm sure they must receive money for sales. Anyway, I optimistically made the expensive purchase of a Mia feeling good that I was doing something good for my skin. I've used Clinque for years, including their scrub. My skin has been in very good condition, especially for my age. My main reason for wanting the Mia was to eliminate my scrub and replace it with something gentler on my skin. In recent years I've begun to notice broken capillaries. Anyway, after 3 days I'm back to my old routine with my Clinique scrub and my skin has recovered. The Mia is going back to the store tomorrow. Good riddens.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2015 6:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Love my Mia! I need to get into a better routine with it. I do not use it as regularly as I should and am also bad about letting the battery run down. (but only because a charge lasts so long! I just forget.) I am still undecided which brush head is best for me. But I do know this...my skin looks and feels better when I'm using it regularly. Also, using it just feels pampering...it's relaxing. I also feel that my moisturizer absorbs better when I use the Mia first. Before I had a Clarisonic, I used an old fashioned "manual" complexion brush. That helps. But the Clarisonic is a hundred times better!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

After months and months of researching this product, I decided to finally pony up the $189 and buy it as a Christmas gift to myself. I could barely contain my excitement, ready to have the glowing, perfect skin so many people raved about.

Most of the reviews that I had watched and read warned me of the 'skin purging' phase, in which my skin would be the worst it'd ever i, only to reveal beautiful skin within a week or two.

About 5 days into using the Clarisonic, I started seeing breakouts, the first signs of skin purging, or so I thought. Over the next days and weeks, my skin was the most horrible it'd ever been. I told myself to 'keep my eyes on the prize' and kept using it.

Three months later, at the end of March, I stopped using the Clarisonic, because my skin never got better. I started using it twice a day, to once a day, to once every other day. I started with Simple's Moisturizing Wash, then switched to Murad's Clarifying Cleanser for acne, then went to Purity by Philosophy, and ended up using Cetaphil, the gentlest of them all. Nothing worked. My skin simply hated the Clarisonic.

My heart was broken. I had shelled out over $200 (with tax) for the Clarisonic, and I wanted to love it so bad. I'm so glad to hear it works so well for others and I know it's an amazing product, but if you have sensitive skin, be warned.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2015 10:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this on a whim 5 months ago and I'm never going back to just washing my face with my hands. It makes my skin feel squeaky clean and more smooth, and if I don't use it, it my skin just doesn't feel the same. It's essential in my skin care routine and I recommend it to anyone. Even though it is expensive, it's forth every penny


on 2/4/2015 6:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I seen this and thought wow! I must have it it must remove makeup so well. I ordered it. It's a cute product, looks like it could work. But I used it for a little over nine months and no difference at all, except around the 8th and a half month I seen broken capillaries, I didn't think the clarasonic was causing this but A few broken capillaries later I realized this is what caused it. Charging it is a pain, dies frequently, and the brushes need to be replaced every few weeks because it does collect bacteria and get all nasty, despite washing it. Not worth 200$, 150$, 99$. I used better drugstore brushes like this which worked better.


on 1/21/2015 12:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am completely obsessed with my Mia. In my opinion, you do not need to buy the more expensive machines, this one has one speed and it does the trick! I highly recommend this for anyone with skin, it just works! Your face will feel smoother, makeup will look better, products will absorb better into your skin and you will feel like your are pampering yourself everyday! My only con would be that the brush heads are stupidly expensive. Also, don't bother with trying to buy knockoff brush heads online, they wont work. (I tried!)


on 1/4/2015 8:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've been using my mia 2 for at least 6 months now and after some trial and error have come to love it. When I first started using it, I did it twice a day every day, which was a big mistake. There was a purging period which is understandable, but I think my overuse of the device made it worse and last longer. I had a ton of breakouts on my chin which has never been an area of concern for me, and it seemed like I was never blemish-free. Now, I only use it when I'm taking off makeup or just finished a workout, so around 2/3 times a week. My skin is the clearest it has been in years, and I rarely get breakouts. Exfoliation is key to a clear and glowing complexion, and the Clarisonic gives you that without damaging the skin. I highly recommend this, but you have to be willing to give it time and experiment with it. And remember to not overdo it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/1/2015 7:00:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Before I started to use the Clarisonic, my face wasn't accepting my skin care products well. The clarisonic exfoliates your skin and deep cleans so that your face can soak up whatever you apply to it after. Now when I apply my toner & moisterizer afterwards, my skin feels smoother than a baby's bottom. Definitely recommend this. YOU SHOULD ONLY USE THIS EVERY NIGHT due to the fact that it might be a bit a bit to harsh of you use it twice a day. But during the summer time I use it twice just because I tend to get more oily.


on 1/1/2015 3:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The Mia works well to deep clean your face once or twice a week (any more would have been way too harsh on my skin), but I could never recommend this product due to its short lifespan and the terrible customer service I received from Clarisonic.

I took excellent care of my Mia, but shortly after my warranty expired, it died. It wouldn't hold a charge and kept pulsing while on the charger. I tried changing outlets, charging an additional 48 hours, and even borrowed a friends charger to see if that was the problem... nothing worked.

When I contacted customer service, all they did was offer a 25% off coupon if I wanted to buy a new one. A Customer Service Supervisor did say that if I had my receipt, he may be able to extend the warranty. The only problem was that my Grandmother had given me this as a gift, and then was diagnosed with Multiple Myeloma a few months later, then past away a few months after that. So, obviously, I did not have the receipt. My Clarisonic receipt was the last thing I was thinking about during that time, honestly.

I don't have much respect for companies that sell products they don't stand behind. Especially after the CSR told me that my Mia might have been malfunctioning because it "may have got a little water in it." Really? The Clarisonic is supposed to be used with water!

Anyway, I saw online where someone had taken one apart, and it only uses two AA rechargeable batteries (along with a few other cheapo parts). Then they seal it up so you wont be able to repair on your own, and are forced to purchase a new one. Clarisonic says the sealing is to make it waterproof, but I work with engineers who say there are other (way more practical and economical) ways to waterproof a battery powered product.

I feel sad that I'll no longer have this once loved device, but I would never purchase again due to the low quality and poor customer service.

Value Breakdown:
$150 for the Mia
$27 x4 for replacement brush heads
Frequency of use before product died: once weekly for 52 weeks

The Mia ended up costing $4.96 per use. Extremely poor value if you ask me.

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.


Popular Misc Beauty Tools


Derma Roller
68 Reviews
Mia
1039 Reviews
the sponge
660 Reviews
Foreo - Luna
32 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Clarsonic Mia 2 - 1 year later! (after 14 months of use) by Mama Inspired



Top Rated Clarisonic Products

image

Mia

1039 reviews
image

Mia2

222 reviews
Back to Top