Maybelline • Superstay • Concealers

rated 3.6(161 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 sarah2495 on 8/18/2012 12:52:00 PM more reviews by sarah2495

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i absolutely hate this concealer. IT SUCKS. it is a waste of $10. it shows EVERY fine line. i got it because i didnt like that the usual concealer i use shows a FEW fine lines, but this one is even worse, it made me look like i was 50 years old. it says that its creamy, and ITS NOT. people were staring at me all day because of how bad it made me look. to be honest id rather wear no makeup then having to wear this rip off concealer. i used it once, and never using it again. i didnt apply too much, i applied the right amount. just seconds after i applied it, it set right into every fine line. the price sucks since the product really sucks, even if it was about just $10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 audrey242424 on 6/23/2012 8:33:00 PM more reviews by audrey242424

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This review is coming from a maybelline lover. Maybelline is by far my favorite makeup line even out of high end cosmetics. They make some of the only foundations that don't look cakey on my skin. That being said, I HATED this concealer. I read the reviews but figured I'd give it a try, because afterall some people hate the foundations also and I love them.

This is everything most people said it was--Cakey! Clings to every pore, wrinkle, you name it! I used it under my eyes and it looked TERRIBLE.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 GlitterGirl172 on 6/9/2012 11:50:00 AM more reviews by GlitterGirl172

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is awful forget about using this under your eyes unless you want to look old and wrinkled. I hate this. Not good for eye area it dries way too fast and shows every fine line

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LuvaSale on 5/9/2012 6:58:00 PM more reviews by LuvaSale

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

IMHO, the key to this concealer is LESS is MORE, and work quickly. It reminds me of the Kay Von D concealer or the Hard Candy Glamoflauge, concealer, both products are amazing at hiding anything, including tattoos. I love this product but I think it gets poor reviews because women are inpatient, high maintenance and use entirely too much product at once. Relax, ladies... take it easy. Anyway, to each her own. However, I love it, gonna keep buying it.

Cheers!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 regina1029 on 5/7/2012 9:21:00 PM more reviews by regina1029

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only concealer I use. It's pretty thick, covers really well, and stays on through a good part of the day with powder. I do have to say that it dries fast once you put it on your skin, so you have to work fast in order to get it to blend. And it lasts a really long time. I don't use that much concealer when I put it on, but I do use it almost everyday (have been since August), and am still good to go until the end of summer. All in all, pretty good concealer, but I'll be wanting to try another brand for next year :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 belle169 on 3/20/2012 7:50:00 PM more reviews by belle169

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I hate to be negative about a product... but this is really the worst concealer I've ever tried. Rather than going into heaps of detail, I'll just list the pros and cons.

Pros: ~It does stay on forever, like the name claims.
~It's thick, so it covers pretty well.
~Dries matte.

Cons: ~It dries super fast, so it's really hard to blend properly.
~It sinks into fine lines under the eyes almost immediately, even if you set it with a powder.
~It not only sinks into fine lines, on me it started to 'crack' (I know, it sounds gross), no matter how thin a layer I'd put on, after about half an hour.
~(Again, on me) it oxidised within half an hour.
~It smells really gross - kinda chemically. I don't like putting what smells like strong chemicals under my eyes!
~It's so hard to remove that I ended up having to almost scrub my undereye area - not good, as it's the most delicate part of the face!

I used this for a good two/three months, so I know that all the above things were true for me. I'd read so many good reviews, so it was really disappointing when it didn't work for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mmcmsp on 3/17/2012 4:18:00 AM more reviews by mmcmsp

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great concealer. It really stays all day on your face and this is a big high point for me because I have many high end brand concealers that don't last untill lunch! The down point is that it dries super fast! You have to blend it as soon as you put on your face. I have dry skin and it is not moisturizing at all so you have to double moisturize your skin before applying it. The consistence is creamy and it has a good coverage for blemishes and dark spots. Under eyes it brights the area beautifully. I like to put it on under anything else, even foundation. I think as it is a long lasting concealer, even if foundation fades, it stays there. If you put over your foundation, if it fades, concealer will fade together. The best is it is really easy to find (any drugstore or ulta or walmart or target) and it is cheap!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Bombshell222 on 3/14/2012 3:34:00 PM more reviews by Bombshell222

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Was not impressed with this at all.....color didn't match my skintone really well, and it felt very heavy on the skin after a few hours....I like the mineral wear one better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bernsie on 3/14/2012 3:10:00 PM more reviews by bernsie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Hazel    

They call this SuperStay Concealer 24 Hr. I don't normally like transfer resistant makeup products as I've said elsewhere here that transfer resistant (let's say) foundation tends to take on the texture of what is underneath. I.E. dry/flaky skin looks moreso, fine/to deep lined skin looks moreso, acne scar/pitted skin looks moreso w/a transfer resistant foundation. Now, I've also said there is a time and place for it: you have oil ladden skin and it is August w/99% humidity in South Florida or you have perfect/flawless skin where transfer resistant just makes it look more perfect/flawless, sometimes, depending on the Brand and Formula. Transfer Resistant pigments tend to be not as finely ground as a regular foundation. Now in the delicate eye area which at it's best has some light, fine laugh lines will look moreso w/transfer resistant concealer or so I thought. Concealer in general will accent lines. This was so inexpesive in Walmart I thought I'd give it a try. I LOVE this concealer. It does not over-texturize the under eye skin any more than a regular one plus it stays put and holds up all day. You can even use it as an eyeshadow base using it from lid to just beneath the brow to even skin tone around the eye and midday it will not have even creased on your eyelid. No need to use your finger to "roll" it's clumpiness on the lid or 'rolling' it out of some under eye lines. I LOVE THIS CONCEALER!!! I use it in medium beige and I am fair to medium toned. I think the biggest mistake people do with concealer is to use it in too light a shade. You should try to ge it in a shade which is closest to your skin tone (fairest to darkest.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AuNatural716 on 2/24/2012 6:21:00 PM more reviews by AuNatural716

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

How have I not written a review on this yet?!?! BEST FACE CONCEALER for ACNE-PRONE, OILY, SUPER SENSITIVE SKIN! I have broken out to nearly ever drugstore face product, and this is one thing that I have just recently gone back to and my face is healing back up! Everything else makes my face feel itchy and tingly throughout the day, but this feels SO comfortable, covers my blemishes amazingly, and lasts all day long! I wish the SuperStay foundation did not oxidize so horribly and turn orange on my face b/c the SuperStay line is even better than Revlon's ColorStay in my opinion,b/c SS doesn't have those potentially irritating natural extracts and crap. Love love love this and hope I can expand my makeup more to have formulas similar to this Maybelline line...

UPDATE: I guess I've been using this for too long because I have developed an allergy to some ingredient in it...everywhere I put this concealer, I get a flame-up/firm vesicle, and since I avoided using this, they finally dried up/went down, but otherwise they just sat there for weeks! Had to throw it out in the end, but still think it's still overall a good blemish concealer product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Concealers products