NARS • Sheer Glow Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(1412 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 laurahuyb on 1/2/2015 10:05:00 AM more reviews by laurahuyb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this foundation! The colour range is very good! I can't find my shade in drugstore foundations, but Nars has the perfect colour. The product is very good, it's very natural, yet covering enough. It doesn't look too matte and fake and it is very easy to apply. A minus is the packaging, which comes without a pump.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tiaracymone on 1/1/2015 8:06:00 AM more reviews by tiaracymone

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have wasted so much money on foundations that I really gave up but I was in the mood to spend at sephora one day and picked this up. I am African American but on the fairer side and it is so hard to find variety not only in shades but undertones. I am very yellow think like a banana(literally) so it is really hard to find anything that has the right amount of yellow but still has deep enough color for my complexion. However this stuff is amazing I was matched to Tahoe and it's almost like a second skin which I use in conjunction with the concealer in caramel.the color is why I'm sold but otherwise I haven't been able to achieve the dewy look I like to have on my dry skin. It says sheer glow but this sets to matte on my skin.Perhaps I'm not applying correctly but otherwise I love this !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Popcandy on 12/31/2014 12:52:00 PM more reviews by Popcandy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My favourite foundation for autumn and winter or any day that I need to look best! I guess I have found my HG! This gives medium coverage but allows your skin to show through at the same time. I apply this with my tarte foundation brush (the VERY fat one that looks like a mushroom haha) for even application. It has a slightly dewy finish which just looks beautiful. It has really nice staying power too as long as your skin is not super oily.
Pros:
Amazing finish - dewy but matte at the same time! Just can't describe how nice this is!
Not drying
Can stay for at least 8 hours depending on your skin type (mine stayed for 12!)
Cover blemishes very well
Don't need powder
Cons:
May cling onto dry patches if using certain type of brushes (flat top stippling brushes that has black bristles with white tips are horrible with this)
May look streaky with flat foundation brushes
Expensive
No pump

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrybearjamboree on 12/30/2014 10:06:00 AM more reviews by countrybearjamboree

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this to try out for the first time. I'm currently looking for a replacement for my HG Chanel Mat Lumiere that is now discontinued. I haven't found it yet but Sheer Glow is very close. I got this and forgot to buy the pump to use w/ it. I never made it back to the store for the pump because whatever, I really don't need it. It isn't a huge disadvantage for me and I don't rate this poorly for lack of a pump! First, I will say that I'm oily but I really hate the matte look. I've tried Chanel Vitalumiere which is a great foundation with medium coverage and that "glow" effect however it is too moisturizing for my skin type. I moved on to Boots Lift & Luminate foundation. This was a complete fail. No coverage and too oily. Next was L'Oreal True Match Lumi which was fantastic however it broke me out like no other! So here I am with Nars Sheer Glow. I avoided this for years because they say it is not good for oily skin. Well, it is just fine for me! I really like this foundation. It doesn't cling to any dry flakes from my currently oily & dehyrated skin. It looks so natural on with a slight hint of glow. It makes my skin look flawless. It isn't too moisturizing either. I love how my skin looks with this. However.......................
not a HG product. It applies streaky. I'm pretty savvy with applying foundation with various methods hands, brushes etc. I can't get this to sit even on my face. I use the same ol' primer (Dior Pore Minimizer) and it still seems streaky. I don't know, I'm going to have to work HARD to perfect this. I've only used this for a few days. Another problem is that I *think* this gives me breakouts. I now in my tender years have moderate adult acne prone skin so I have at least one jerkoff zit on my face at all times. My skin was pretty clear prior to using this and now I have a few breakouts on my cheeks. This won't stop me from using it because I do still like this foundation enough to keep it. I just can't use it as an every day foundation.

Shades: Good large selection of shades. I got the shade "Barcelona" which is comparable to Urban Decay 6.0, MAC NC40 and Shiseido O60.

Staying Power: Not good. Whomp Whomp. It will start to fade in about 5 hours.

Finish: You will look like an Angel

Oil Control: Very good actually. My skin didn't get all greasy at the end of the day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babyblue59 on 12/28/2014 8:32:00 PM more reviews by babyblue59

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a beautiful liquid foundation. I am not an everyday foundation wearer, but when I do wear it, this is one of my favorites. The finish is gorgeous! Not super glowy, but a healthy fresh glow. The coverage is a perfect medium coverage. It is fairly long lasting, but will normally need at least one touch up with powder throughout the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fairplaytoyou on 12/28/2014 9:44:00 AM more reviews by fairplaytoyou

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this! Foundation is my necessity product, my skin has a lot of spot scarring so it's important to me that my foundation is good enough. I currently own around 5 different foundations: Bare Escentuals Liquid foundation, Maybelline's Fit Me, Mac Studio Fluid, Revlon Colourstay & Benefit's Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow. I bought this at John Lewis, it's usually £31 but due to the sales everything was 10% off so it came to the price of £27.90. I was matched to the shade 'Stromboli' - I am MAC NC40/Fit Me 210/ generally a beige colour and the finish looked seamless and natural although the lady applying it was a makeup expert so no surprise. The finish isnt dewy, it's more matte but this is perfect for oily or combination skin types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xoxollt on 12/26/2014 6:43:00 PM more reviews by xoxollt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is one of my very favorite foundations. I find myself returning to it time and time again. I can wear a couple different shades. The coverage is just perfect. Light and natural. Looks like I am literally applying a new layer of skin. It glows without having any shimmer and is dewy but never greasy. I get compliments all the time that my skin looks flawless and airbrushed when in reality it is this foundation. It is lightweight and blends effortlessly. My only complaint is the packaging. I wish it had a pump top like the testers do. I somehow splash foundation everywhere. It is splattered all over my vanity when I simply put my finger on the opening and turn it over. Wonderful nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 blaire27 on 12/26/2014 6:22:00 AM more reviews by blaire27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Not too thrilled with this product. It may be because I do use an f-80, and I've heard it's formulated to use with your figures. I'm on my second bottle(couldn't decide what to go with when I ran out), it's a bit streaky and patchy, no matter how much I moisturize or prime, it just doesn't work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* audmac on 12/21/2014 6:08:00 PM more reviews by audmac

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

My new hg foundation! Medium plus coverage yet doesn't look or feel heavy at all. Excellent color match (for me NW20=MontBlanc). Applies and blends easily with my UD Optical Blurring brush. Long lasting. Wish pump was included (had to order it seperately) but that's my only complaint.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Tsats on 12/19/2014 8:25:00 AM more reviews by Tsats

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I still don't know why I haven't returned this. I guess it is the influence of MUA and all the favorable reviews. I go on thinking that I am doing something wrong. So here is my experience: I have dry to combo skin, but I have never managed to wear this without it separating on my skin. It always just cracks and lets the underneath skin show/shine through, while caking in other spots. Maybe my skin is much more combo than I thought. Too dry in some places, too oily for this in others.
Don't get me wrong, this does look good for a while. But I cannot trust it and I do not like that feeling. My skin is too dry for powders, but I have tried to combine this with powder. And I have tried a few primers. No success yet. Most likely I just haven't found the right primer to make this work. But I am not sure how much more to invest jut trying to make this work. There are plenty of trustworthy foundations out there, that you can rub your nose or get oily, and that will never look as bad as this one does when it goes wrong. I hate "high maintenance" foundations that will only look good if all the conditions are perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Liquid products