NYX • Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Palette • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(60 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* uraznbabygurl on 10/23/2010 2:38:00 AM more reviews by uraznbabygurl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice, cute palette! There are various shades of grey, a couple of highlight colors, a deep black brown, and a straight up black (the last two are hard to tell apart unless if you swatch them side by side). With these colors, you can create a subtle smokey eye for the day, or something more sultry for the night time.


I got this at Ulta for around $7 on sale. There is no doubt that the price is VERY reasonable. However, there are a few cons that I think should be addressed. The shadows aren't highly pigmented like NYX's singles are, but it's not to say that their pigmentation is poor either. This can either be a good thing or bad thing, IMO. It's great for those who are new to smokey eyes or makeup in general. Shadows with extremely high pigmentation aren't necessarily the most fool-resistant products for beginners. Thus, I would rate their pigmentation higher than most drug store brands. Just keep in mind that some colors may need to be built up. Secondly, the shimmery colors have quite a bit of fallout. If you don't put on your eyeshadow before your foundation/concealer/face makeup during your regular makeup routine, it may be a good idea to do this if you're using this palette!



I'll be wearing some eyeshadow from this palette for my anniversary dinner this coming weekend. I practiced and followed Nancy Valentino's tutorial of this palette (I will post a link at the end of this review), except I didn't add the taupe-gold pigment in the end and I used the 3rd shade (matte dark grey-brown) for the crease and the 4th shade (matte deep brown-black) for the outer V. I was VERY amazed with the end result. All the colors I used blended so well with each other. The final look was definitely sexy and it intensified my dark brown eyes. Very sweet :D


I think this palette is worth giving a try, whether you are a beginner, an avid high-end buyer...or ANYONE really. If you are looking for a good quality, inexpensive palette, you will strike gold (errr...silver) with this one!


The link to the tutorial:
http://nancyvalentino.com/2010/10/greige-eyes-inspired-by-aishwarya-rai/

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rainkl on 10/21/2010 12:38:00 AM more reviews by rainkl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Once again, this palette is similar to the Champagne and Caviar in that a lot of the colors look the same. The dark colors are almost identical and the silvers too. Very disappointed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Adriana_C on 10/7/2010 9:08:00 PM more reviews by Adriana_C

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a fun product to do smokey eyes with, even if you're a novice like me. The light gray colors are great for wearing during the day too. They last all day when worn with UDPP. I think this might make a good holiday gift idea too. On sale at Ulta it was around $6, but normally $10.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miszxlinda on 10/2/2010 6:22:00 PM more reviews by miszxlinda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this palette, this is a great travel palette as it has a variety of gray tones, brown, and highlights to do neutral and of course the smokey looks. This reminds me of the NYX caribbean collection, because I also have that in 'I love Jamaica'. Similiar colors, just more shadows. Greatly pigmented and just a beauitful variety of colors to play with. It's inexpensive too! Can't go wrong for $10, this palette is well worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* theresadactyl on 10/2/2010 12:45:00 AM more reviews by theresadactyl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Great palette! I use atleast one of these colors daily... I got it half off at Ulta. So happy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Classycass01 on 9/27/2010 5:36:00 PM more reviews by Classycass01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing! Use it almost everyday! Great color payoff! Blends very well! Also great price! 10 bucks for 10 shadows! Great smokey eyes! Love it! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* riotkitty on 9/10/2010 9:29:00 AM more reviews by riotkitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I had planned to give this 4 stars claiming it wasn't as good as my favorite palette, Urban Decay Ammo. Its still not my favorite, but it is good. Its a good "need to do my work make-up in a hurry without too much work or planning". It has all you need for either a brown or a true gray-based smokey eye. I was going to take a lippie off for the colors being to similar, but the texture earned it back its fifth lippie. Its smooth and blends really well. Finally something from NYX that hasn't disappointed me. I'm kind of interested in their other pallets now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marysuejenkins on 9/8/2010 1:52:00 AM more reviews by marysuejenkins

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This eyeshadow is very smooth, good quality and pigmented. It is great for creating the smokey eye. Some of the greys have a shimmer to them which I love. While others are a bit more matte. A lot of the colours are similar, though they are subtly different and do create slightly different looks. I love the pearly white, shimmering cool grey, shimmering black, and the creamy base colour.

The colours last all day, I have even fallen asleep to wake up to perfect eyeshadow. The only problem is upon application there can be slight dust like shadow under your eyes, though it can be cleaned up or brushed away easily. I usually have trouble with creasing shadow or colour coming off easily. Though this palette gives me no such trouble. It is my favourite palette, I use it solely. I got it at around $12 on ebay, so it's a great price for its quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blubandit85 on 9/6/2010 8:22:00 PM more reviews by blubandit85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is great for a smokey eye but alot of the greys look the same. The good thing is that I won't have to buy anymore greys because this palette has all of them. If you love the smokey eye than this is your palette.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* husserl on 8/25/2010 4:06:00 AM more reviews by husserl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

When I went on a NYX haul with my sister, I had prepared myself for a little bit of disappointment because I had heard that I should expect less pigmentation and overall quality from the palettes and trios. But honestly, that moment of disappointment never came to pass.


I was looking for something to round out my collection as I'm starting to gravitate towards more smoky and intense looks and this is the perfect little palette for the job. But don't let the name fool you -- there are plenty of "neutral" looks that can be achieved with this palette and, in fact, it is my go-to for "I don't have time to think about what to wear to work" moments. I always use an E/S primer so I can't really comment on how these perform on a "naked" lid. But on a primed lid, these shadows apply evenly, blend well, and have very good pigmentation. To me, the "standout" colors are the champagne, rose-champagne, satin taupe-gray and satin blue-gray. The shadows do tend to stir up a bit more product than I'd like when I put my brush in, but I always tap my brush on a tissue before it goes near my face as a matter of practice so I haven't experienced any more fallout than I would with any other shadow. There are two finishes to choose from: a satin/frost finish (but I wouldn't call it a shimmer finish) and classic matte.


Yes, there are a couple of "wimpy" colors in this palette and in my opinion those are the blacks. There's a brown-black, a blue-black, and what I would call an "off black" -- in other words, it's not a rich, true, and punchy black. That kind of black is sort of a must in a smokey palette. But aren't there always duds in palettes? Even in my most favorite palettes and quads, there are the well-loved colors that are mostly pan and then there are the unwanted eyeshadow stepchildren. I can't really fault NYX for that. I took a lippie off though because I thought that, despite the duds, there could have been another medium shade or two instead of another black. I think that would make it more useful for people to have a wider range of color intensity, even if it ended up being someone else's dud.


In short, get this for your stash and, while you're at it, get one for your friend, sister, or favorite glam-rocker -- it's priced so reasonably you can afford to! And, it's good enough quality to where you can feel pretty good about it. I'm already considering giving this to a friend who wants to dip her toe into the makeup world.


Oh and...guess what? Cruelty free! >^..^<

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products