NYX Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Palette

4.2

62 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/25/2010 6:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've been searching for a black-brown eyeshadow color for so long. Then, I came across this palette & purchased it. It have been my FAVOURITE everyday eyeshadow palette since then! Love how pigmented they are but the only thing I don't like about it is that it picked up too much product even without much effort & made a mess. But overall best smokey eyeshadow palette.



on 11/20/2010 5:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Some of the shades are not as pigmented as I would like them to be but its still a good palette for a natural to smokey eye look. The shadows are soft and blendable. I love the sleek packaging. Very convenient for travel. $10 at Ulta but I had a $5 off coupon thanks to Instyle magazine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2010 2:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a nice, cute palette! There are various shades of grey, a couple of highlight colors, a deep black brown, and a straight up black (the last two are hard to tell apart unless if you swatch them side by side). With these colors, you can create a subtle smokey eye for the day, or something more sultry for the night time.


I got this at Ulta for around $7 on sale. There is no doubt that the price is VERY reasonable. However, there are a few cons that I think should be addressed. The shadows aren't highly pigmented like NYX's singles are, but it's not to say that their pigmentation is poor either. This can either be a good thing or bad thing, IMO. It's great for those who are new to smokey eyes or makeup in general. Shadows with extremely high pigmentation aren't necessarily the most fool-resistant products for beginners. Thus, I would rate their pigmentation higher than most drug store brands. Just keep in mind that some colors may need to be built up. Secondly, the shimmery colors have quite a bit of fallout. If you don't put on your eyeshadow before your foundation/concealer/face makeup during your regular makeup routine, it may be a good idea to do this if you're using this palette!



I'll be wearing some eyeshadow from this palette for my anniversary dinner this coming weekend. I practiced and followed Nancy Valentino's tutorial of this palette (I will post a link at the end of this review), except I didn't add the taupe-gold pigment in the end and I used the 3rd shade (matte dark grey-brown) for the crease and the 4th shade (matte deep brown-black) for the outer V. I was VERY amazed with the end result. All the colors I used blended so well with each other. The final look was definitely sexy and it intensified my dark brown eyes. Very sweet :D


I think this palette is worth giving a try, whether you are a beginner, an avid high-end buyer...or ANYONE really. If you are looking for a good quality, inexpensive palette, you will strike gold (errr...silver) with this one!


The link to the tutorial:
http://nancyvalentino.com/2010/10/greige-eyes-inspired-by-aishwarya-rai/

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2010 12:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Once again, this palette is similar to the Champagne and Caviar in that a lot of the colors look the same. The dark colors are almost identical and the silvers too. Very disappointed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2010 9:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a fun product to do smokey eyes with, even if you're a novice like me. The light gray colors are great for wearing during the day too. They last all day when worn with UDPP. I think this might make a good holiday gift idea too. On sale at Ulta it was around $6, but normally $10.


on 10/2/2010 6:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this palette, this is a great travel palette as it has a variety of gray tones, brown, and highlights to do neutral and of course the smokey looks. This reminds me of the NYX caribbean collection, because I also have that in 'I love Jamaica'. Similiar colors, just more shadows. Greatly pigmented and just a beauitful variety of colors to play with. It's inexpensive too! Can't go wrong for $10, this palette is well worth it.


on 10/2/2010 12:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Great palette! I use atleast one of these colors daily... I got it half off at Ulta. So happy!


on 9/27/2010 5:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Amazing! Use it almost everyday! Great color payoff! Blends very well! Also great price! 10 bucks for 10 shadows! Great smokey eyes! Love it! :)


on 9/10/2010 9:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I had planned to give this 4 stars claiming it wasn't as good as my favorite palette, Urban Decay Ammo. Its still not my favorite, but it is good. Its a good "need to do my work make-up in a hurry without too much work or planning". It has all you need for either a brown or a true gray-based smokey eye. I was going to take a lippie off for the colors being to similar, but the texture earned it back its fifth lippie. Its smooth and blends really well. Finally something from NYX that hasn't disappointed me. I'm kind of interested in their other pallets now.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This eyeshadow is very smooth, good quality and pigmented. It is great for creating the smokey eye. Some of the greys have a shimmer to them which I love. While others are a bit more matte. A lot of the colours are similar, though they are subtly different and do create slightly different looks. I love the pearly white, shimmering cool grey, shimmering black, and the creamy base colour.

The colours last all day, I have even fallen asleep to wake up to perfect eyeshadow. The only problem is upon application there can be slight dust like shadow under your eyes, though it can be cleaned up or brushed away easily. I usually have trouble with creasing shadow or colour coming off easily. Though this palette gives me no such trouble. It is my favourite palette, I use it solely. I got it at around $12 on ebay, so it's a great price for its quality.




Top Rated NYX Products

image

Black

191 reviews
Back to Top