Bobbi Brown • Caviar Ink • Eyeliner

rated 4.6(48 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeagleLab on 4/2/2011 1:09:00 PM more reviews by BeagleLab

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Thanks to the MUA reviews, I bought the BB gel liner again. This time in Caviar Ink. I love it, makes my brown eyes look so bright and dramatic. I absolutely love this stuff and would be again and again. Thank you to the reviewer who provided the information this only lasted 10 months. You may not use it up after that time period, but best to toss, no risk for bacteria. The TM liner was awful compared to this. Gel liners are the absolute best. Thanks BB.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 susanwylie67 on 3/16/2011 4:10:00 PM more reviews by susanwylie67

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love Bobbi's gel liners, and this color is a perfect everyday for me...not as dramatic as black, but as I have very dark brown eyes, I need some depth, which regular browns fall short. As a makeup artist, I think it would be a fantastic color on any eye, though more dramatic for blues and greens.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roxypoxy75 on 1/19/2011 2:41:00 PM more reviews by roxypoxy75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've always been a fan of liquid eyeliner until I started using Bobbi Brown gel liner. I love caviar because it's a soft black which makes my eyes look defined without looking too intense. I use this with the ultra fine eyeliner brush and I love it! It's easy to apply and very long-lasting. I havent had any problems with it so far. Def my HG eyeliner! :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Brandjunkie on 1/13/2011 1:52:00 AM more reviews by Brandjunkie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been on the fence about this gel liner... While I love the color, which shows up as a warm black on me, I find that it doesn't seem to be as pigmented as the Espresso Ink. I have to go over my lash line a few times and in short strokes to fill in the color with this; however, once the color has dried it stays put for the entire day until I take it off at night. (This is even after a Spin class at the gym so that's saying a lot about the tenacity of these gel liners!) I'm considering trying a different eye liner brush instead of my beloved BB ultra fine brush to see if I get better results with the application. The reason I haven't tried it before is because I didn't have any problems with my other BB gel liners which include Cobalt Ink, Black Ink, Espresso Ink and Black Mauve Shimmer Ink.


Tonight before taking off my makeup, I decided to play around and layer my Espresso powder eyeshadow (wet) over the Caviar gel liner and voila!-- the resulting color and intensity of the combination was gorgeous! A very deep, rich cool toned black brown. By doing this I get the best of both products.


Something the SA at the Bobbi Brown counter said got me thinking when I mentioned how the gel liners always dry out before I get to the bottom. She said that they're only supposed last about 10 months anyway since the product starts to build up with bacteria from your brush repeatedly dipping into the pot. Since this made sense to me, I thought I could solve two problems by transferring a little of the liner to another old BB gel liner jar that I've recycled from the past. That way I can keep the product in the original pot fresh longer by not constantly exposing it to air as well as lessen the bacteria/contamination/drying out factor. I've been doing this for almost at year and I'm really pleased with the results. By using up a little at a time, the gel liner stays fresh and creamy everytime I open the lid now! For added insurance I always turn the jar upside down while I'm applying the liner- thanks to another MUAer for the tip.
*******************************************************************************
Update: 12/12/12--

Just ordered my 3rd backup jar because of the current VIP bonus on Bobbi's website and added the final lippie to my rating. The gel liner lasted another 6 months from my first review. I actually finished it and it stayed fresh and creamy all that time so I definitely got my money's worth! I've got awhile to go before I finish my 2nd jar but transferring 1/4 of the the product at a time really worked out well. I also tried several different brushes including Laura Mercier, Hakuhodo and Shu Uemura and found that the brush made all the difference in the application and outcome of the look. Bobbi's ultra fine eyeliner brush is decent when it's new, but the other brushes I used were so much better in depositing the color and getting a beautiful uniform line. I especially love my Shu 4F brush for getting the color right between the lashes.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MackMimiMommy on 12/27/2010 9:54:00 PM more reviews by MackMimiMommy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I wore this years ago, and quit when I had some eye troubles. Last week, I went to the BB counter & the MUA did my MU. She used the Caviar Ink after I told her that I really didn't have much against the e/l. It was fun, but afterwards, my eyes were red, irritated, & itchy. They watered during the whole rest of the shopping trip. I was so happy to shower and be rid of the eye makeup when I got home! It was this eyeliner. It did look nice on, with a dark pigment and smooth application. Very dramatic as she used it it a tightline fashion. I will not buy it though since it made my eyes water.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skwpt on 10/29/2010 9:11:00 PM more reviews by skwpt

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased Caviar based on MUA reviews. I already own a couple BB gel liners, so I had high expectations and high hopes. Shortly after Caviar arrived, I dipped my brush into the gel and tightlined the top lid; then I used what remained on the brush to tightline my bottom lids -- just at the lash line, keeping off the waterline and away from my tear ducts. My first impression was Yuck. What a boring and weird dark brown.


I don't look great in brown liners (Mahogany Ink is an exception) because many of them contain too much warmth. Caviar seemed quite unexciting, similar to brewed French Roast coffee grounds or even like the black pine mulch in my gardens. But then I caught sight of myself in a mirror and thought how great my eyes looked. Not how great my makeup looked (which is what I think when I see my reflection wearing Indigo Ink), but how bright and alert and shiny and wide open my eyes appeared, and how perfect and dark and defined were my lashes, even when I wasn't wearing mascara.


Looking at the color again, I see your basic brownish-black mascara, which is the color I wear on a daily basis. Caviar seems like it would be great on fair-skinned, cool-toned ladies, as it provides nice contouring without looking harsh, but I see no reason why it would not work on all skin and eye colors. Caviar is a definite keeper.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* socalsuperstar on 9/1/2010 8:42:00 PM more reviews by socalsuperstar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have used Bobbi's gel liners in the past and have been kind of blah about them. The formula is ok, but somewhat hard to spread correctly without looking to thick or obvious. I have blonde hair and blue eyes that are wide set with long lashes. I can get away with alot when it comes to eye makeup but really just tend to crave a defined look. Bobbi's black, I have found to be a bit much and honestly even though I haven't been a MAC fan since highschool, if Im preferring that smoky Bridgette Bardot look I still prefer blacktrack. I have found all brown liners to look strange on me. Im not sure if it's my coloring or what but not enough definition and the tone is off. Navy blues and dark greys are good but I was looking for something different. When I saw this color I loved it. It is a perfect mixture of black, grey and brown. Somehow going on it gives the perfect amount of definition to an otherwise neutral eye. It looks great in the waterline as well. The formula is still the same and Im contemplating buying a different brush to make it work and I will update if there is a change. In the meantime, Im glad I bought this. I find myself reaching for it often. Even if as a perfectionist I find myself having to spend more time on my eyes in the morning. But it's worth it for such a great color. If your coloring is like mine, give it a try.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crdimalla on 8/11/2010 11:04:00 PM more reviews by crdimalla

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm the type of eyeliner wearer who loves and has always worn classic black. I prefer a slightly thick cat eye shape and jet black has always been perfect for that. So obviously, black ink gel eyeliner by Bobbi Brown is an eyeliner I've been using for years.


You can see how one would be hesistant to try anything other than black, expecially with my light olive skin tone, sallowness, and deep brown eyes that often appear recessed and small without an intense liner. However, my fears were assuaged when I went in to a local nordstrom and had the Bobbi Brown consultant apply Caviar to my lids.

Instead of decreasing the "oomph" of my eyes, it softened the cat eye, creating a velvety look with a depth unlike any other "brown" liner out there. It's very deep, dark, and has lovely putty undertones. Turns out, this works well for my skin because the blue undertones of black ink were replaced by the true neutral undertones of putty...and works well with my sallow skin. Don't be afraid!

And of course, BB's gel liners last FOREVER (you won't get to use the whole pot before it starts to dry out...trust me, that's not fault of the formula). They stay put all day long and have a wonderful fluid texture.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sweetliz312 on 7/24/2010 7:39:00 PM more reviews by sweetliz312

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have super oily eyelids and find that I have to reapply liner throughout the day, but not with this....this is the best gel eyeliner i have ever used, hands down..and this color is amazing! For me, this is a color that I can wear everyday at work....not as dark as black but not as light as a brown. Will repurchase over and over again!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissShellDawn on 7/17/2010 9:15:00 AM more reviews by MissShellDawn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am a huge fan of gel/ liquid liners. My mom gave this to me because she bought it and didn't like how dark it was. It has an amazing texture, and applies so smoothly and evenly. I'm not sure of the price, but I'm sure it was fine! Its worth it. I would repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Eyeliner products