eos • Ultra Moisturizing Shave Cream in Vanilla Bliss • Shave Products

rated 2.8(66 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.36%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 mhunterjumper on 11/10/2012 2:41:00 AM more reviews by mhunterjumper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Awful. Bought it at Walgreens because it was a buy one, get one half off deal, so I got the vanilla and lavender one.

First of all, I hate that I have the pump a million times before I can cover my legs below the knee to shave... and repeat for the rest of my leg. I'm 5'5" and 115 pounds, it's not like I have fat legs or anything. You have to use so much product to get anything out of it, and then it stops pumping out product when there's a 1/4 of the bottle left on the bottom. Ugh.

INGROWN HAIRS GALORE! I've never hated a product more in my life. I understand how ridiculous I sound but I'm annoyed at how many red bumps I have ALL over my legs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kolwink on 11/8/2012 5:53:00 PM more reviews by kolwink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Many many years ago, when shaving seemed like a fun, womanly thing to do, I had a bottle of Skintimate shave gel. I even remembered to use it sometimes. Then, well, I stopped bothering. Didn't have that many nicks, and surely using plain soap and water wouldn't dry my skin that much. It would? Well, fine, but I was lazy about shaving in general, so I just didn't care that much.


This year- so, after, like, a decade- I decided to put some more effort into skincare. So I spent far too much time reading labels at Target, rejecting all shave gels where I saw paraben or alcohol high up in the ingredient list. Then I came across the "eos" bottle, and braved the abysmal in-store cell coverage to load MUA on my phone. One long wait later, I read the rather crappy reviews, and decided to buy it anyway.


What I like:
- the scent. A soothing vanilla, but not overpowering or cloying. Win.
During my formative teen years, it seemed like every last product was boisterously "I SMELL OF FLOWER-FRUIT", and it was pretty annoying. Now it seems (although I am not backing this with actual data) that industry trends are swinging slightly towards unscented. (Whew.) So this mild scent is quite nice.
- paraben-free. One less source of estrogen-mimics.


What I don't like.
- lack of foam. The cream feels unpleasantly slick on my skin, and yet doesn't seem to be, you know, paving the way for a smooth shave.
- theoretically, I would need to use a lot of cream to prep my legs, yet I stop after one measly pump. So ... I get thin, inadequate product coverage, which doesn't help me get a closer shave. Fail.


I would not repurchase or recommend this. Although- what I *would* try- are you reading this, eos?- is a body lotion with the same soothing, intoxicating vanilla scent. Get on it. (Please/Thanks)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bailokaye on 8/9/2012 1:04:00 AM more reviews by bailokaye

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Wow, this has a lot of bad reviews! I absolutely love this shave cream and it is HG for me. The smell is a nice, sweet vanilla. Not super light but also not too strong either. I also bought this and didn't know it was non foaming and was mad at first. I shoved it to the back of the cabinet only to pull it back out a few months later after I ran out of what I had been previously using. It gets you a pretty close shave, and is SO moisturizing! So moisturizing that I don't even need to use lotion on my legs after shaving anymore. Wow. No shaving cream or body wash has ever done that for me, even so called 'moisturizing' ones. But this is amazing. I usually used body wash as a shave cream and always had razor burn - I also realized after using this I stopped getting razor burn. It also doesn't burn or sting my 'lady parts' like many of the heavily scented shaving foams marketed specifically for women do. Yay! Works so well and is definately worth the $4. It has lasted me well over 3 months. Would definately repurchase and reccomend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 calzz on 6/17/2012 11:43:00 PM more reviews by calzz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My main problem with this is that it said in very small letters in the back that it's a non foaming shave cream. If I had known that, I wouldn't have purchased it. The reason why it's important for shaving products to foam is because the stiffness of the foam makes your hair stand on end, thus making it easier for the blade to completely shave the hair off close to the follicle. Being a cream, there is no way you're getting a closer shave by using this product. It may be moisturizing, but that's why we have moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alphame on 6/10/2012 8:44:00 PM more reviews by alphame

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

EOS has quickly become one of my favorite brands! I absolutely adore everything I have bought from the company, especially the shave creams. I love the scent of this one, and it keeps my legs soft and shiny. It helps me get a closer shave so that I have to shave less. However, anytime I've tried to use it in a more sensitive area, it has clogged the pores, making for some very nasty bumps. I find that this product works best if I use a cheap 2 blade or single blade razor, since it does clog up the nicer ones. I figure, it's helping me buy cheaper razors, so that's always great. I do definitely love all of the shave creams, but this scent is my favorite. It has a beautiful scent, but isn't overpowering at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Quilley on 6/2/2012 9:49:00 PM more reviews by Quilley

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This was a big no for me. The only two things I liked about it was the vanilla scent and that it was creamy and moisturizing. This did not outweigh the fact that It clogged the pores on my legs and clogged my razor. I have since read an article and talked with friends about this and they recommended that I use a cheap men's shaving cream and a 2 blade razor to avoid these issues in the future. I was sad because I wanted to enjoy this but it made shaving unpleasant. I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 krystalc on 3/9/2012 2:47:00 PM more reviews by krystalc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I actually liked this quite a bit. Very rich and creamy, nice smell, not tested on animals, moisturizing, and no more razor burn. However, there are a few things that are preventing me from buying again. I went through it pretty fast and the pump stopped dispensing product when the container was still like 1/8 full. Also, the cocoa butter or whatever completely clogged up my razors after a couple weeks no matter how carefully I rinsed, causing me to go through them twice as fast as I usually do! I'm going to try Aveeno's oatmeal shaving cream next instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rcmann on 11/14/2011 9:16:00 PM more reviews by rcmann

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I want to like this more because of its ingredients, but it's just not thick enough to have the name "ultra moisturizing." It's a step up from shaving with hair conditioner. The thin formula allows you to get a very close shave, and the pump dispenser is great for delivering the right amount of product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 trishcat on 8/30/2011 11:20:00 PM more reviews by trishcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

As others have mentioned, it is very thin. No matter how much I put on my legs, I can't get a decent amount. So I can't really tell where I've shaved (I have crappy eyesight and have very light leg hair, OK?). I used it last night and now can feel where I missed places. It does leave skin soft and it smells nice, but overall does a crappy job at shaving. Won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kellabella94 on 8/1/2011 11:28:00 PM more reviews by kellabella94

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I'm so used to super creamy shaving cream, but this product seems to be a little lighter. I feel like I have to use more in order to shave my skin smoothly. It does leave my skin feeling moisturized afterwards which is a plus. Otherwise, I'd rather stick to regular shaving cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More eos products

More Shave Products products