Dove • Dove Ultimate Visibly Smooth • Deodorants

rated 3.0(77 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 turnthisaround on 8/7/2011 6:59:00 PM more reviews by turnthisaround

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am a very active person and live in a very high heat/humidity area. I sweat a heavy amount at that. But dove has ALWAYS let me down.
This stuff was so useless and I used it for several months if not a year or more. It left marks on my clothing all the time, smelled terrible itself and left me smelling even worse. I only used it for so long because my mother bought this awful stuff in bulk and refused to purchase anything else.

It was far worse than wearing nothing. It would irritate the crap out of my underarms, too. Even if I shaved the day before, or hours before using it. It would burn and make me develop a rash.

Worst product, ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeachBunnieXO on 8/4/2011 1:07:00 PM more reviews by BeachBunnieXO

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Let me just start by saying I've always loved and used Dove deodorants. This one goes on nice and smooth and smells great. That being said, I HATE THIS DEODORANT! Never in my life have I gotten an ingrown hair under my armpit. Well, currently I have 4 HUGE bumps under one armpit and 1 huge bump under the other. And they HURT so bad. It's disgusting! Every single time I raise or lower my arms it hurts. It's ridiculous and I'm actually pretty pissed off! This is the only thing I've changed lately, and the fact that it's under both arms is telling me that it's definitely because of this deodorant. I guess it's this "Pro-Epil Complex" or something. Has anyone else had this problem?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Glumbumble on 7/20/2011 11:27:00 AM more reviews by Glumbumble

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this because of the whole hair claim. Well, I'm a dark brunet who's hair grows fast. This doesn't work for that at all.

The smell is nice, *at first*. But as it goes into the skin and combines with any smell that's naturally there, it smells almost sour. Not good at all. It helps with wetness, but not odour. And it leaves a very obvious residue on clothing. I've also noticed that it pills up on my underarm, which is gross as it'll flake off on my clothes sometimes too.

I definitely won't be buying this again. I still have yet to find a women's deodorant that I like which doesn't have a strong smell, stops wetness and odour and doesn't leave marks on my clothes. I honestly don't think such a thing exists.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nosoultoburn on 7/8/2011 4:22:00 AM more reviews by nosoultoburn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Has anyone else felt physically ill from using this product? I've used Dove Original at night for years without problem. The Visibly Smooth product's overpowering scent gave me a headache immediately. The product also gradually made me dizzy and disoriented to the point of falling over after squatting down. I thought I had an inner ear infection. Even after scrubbing it off, I feel hot and my head aches. I not as dizzy, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alexis789 on 6/6/2011 9:40:00 PM more reviews by alexis789

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this deodorant because it promises to "minimize the visual appearance of hair over time". I started to use it and I realized, to my surprise, that the hair actually was less visible and more fine. But over time, I realized it also caused me to sweat more and the deodorant didnt have all day protection, so by the end of the day, the scent had worn off. It also left a lot of white pieces behind AND made my hair grow back faster then usual. In the end, I was totally unsatisfied with the side effects and am definetly never going to buy this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 brooksy88 on 5/9/2011 5:22:00 PM more reviews by brooksy88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Green    

This product is far too expensive for what it is. I only picked it up because it was on sale. If it worked, spending that extra money for this would be ok with me. I have this in the nature fresh scent. The smell is OK - kind of powdery, which isn't my thing (the first day I wore it, my boyfriend asked me if I smelled soap as soon as he came near me). There is nothing BAD about this product - it doesn't smell horrible, it doesn't leave white marks, and it doesn't irritate my underarms. However, it doesn't leave you looking or feeling stubble-free, as it promises. It did nothing to that effect for me. I also don't like the way this product is dispensed. You can't just twist it up a little bit, you have to do it a full turn - so, as much as Dove decides you want to use.
I think this is way too pricey for a regular anti-perspirant, and I do not love the packaging or the scent, so I would definitely not repurchase this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 h20liliz on 4/24/2011 12:39:00 PM more reviews by h20liliz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love how smooth and clean this product feels. Unlike some other deoderants, Dove does not leave behind that sticky feeling under your armpits. (Secret is notorious for that. You can feel the deoderant residue even AFTER you shower. There's no way to scrub it off). The hair growth also tends to be slower. Excellent product. True to it's claims. Will definately repurchase again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashlicita on 4/13/2011 2:25:00 PM more reviews by ashlicita

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been testing this product for the last 6 weeks as part of a Buzz Agent campaign, and I am fairly satisfied so far! I will update my review as I continue to use and monitor the results :)

As a deoderant/anti-perspirant, I think it does a good job. It took me a day or two to get used to it, but after that it performed just fine in-those categories. As for minimizing hair regrowth... I'm not sure. I am tempted to say yes, but I didn't do a controlled test with one arm using it, one arm not, so I can't say for sure. It seems to me like the hair is finer/sparser, but it could be me wanting it to work! What is definitely does do: it is very moisturizing, so after you have shaved the area it feels a lot smoother and looks better. I used the Wild Rose scent, which I also really liked. Fresh and I will be rebuying, so that I can continue to see the results from using it long-term.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XxPRINCESSAxX on 4/3/2011 7:23:00 PM more reviews by XxPRINCESSAxX

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Other    

I feel it is my duty to report on just how bad this product is. I don't normally shave my underarms (I use an epilator) and I don't require deodorant in winter months, and use a light one during summer months.
I purchased this because of the 'rose' scent, and decided one day to shave my underarms in the shower since I was shaving my legs anyways.
After using this deodorant, I noticed stubble under my arms in under 24 hours, and it did absolutely nothing to prevent odor or wetness. It was like anti-deodorant since I dont seem to sweat without using any deodorant in the winter months.
I didn't give up on it fully at that point, I used it a few more times and experienced the same results, nothing to control odor or wetness, to the point of embarassment.
I never throw products away until they are completely finished, because I feel that even if they aren't the greatest at that point, there may be some use for it in the future, no matter how remote.
I threw this away within a week.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahgorn on 3/30/2011 3:07:00 PM more reviews by sarahgorn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This is such a gimmicky product but it actually does work. Truth be told, I really couldn't care less if it did. I mean, is the general public really that lazy?! Shaving takes like 10 seconds in the shower. The only reason I even bought it in the first place is because I like the rose scent. That being said, it does seem to minimize the appearance of underarm hair. No, you won't be able to go weeks on end without shaving but it can buy you a couple extra days. The most important thing for me, however, is that it keeps me dry but doesn't burn. Many anti-perspirants make me feel like my armpits are on fire (Ban especially) but this feels like my pits have been given a glass of ice-cold lemonade on a hot summer day. I have to switch up my deodorant every couple months because they seem to stop working as well but I keep this one in the rotation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dove products

More Deodorants products