Sephora Retractable Waterproof Eyeliner

4.1

88 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Iron Oxides (CI 77499), Synthetic Beeswax, Microcrystalline Wax, Mica, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, VP/Hexadecene Copolymer, Myristyl Alcohol, Tocopherol, Lecithin, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Glyceryl Stearate, Magnesium Silicate,Glyceryl Oleate, Citric Acid.


on 3/23/2013 1:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I got this full size eyeliner in Sephora's Draw The Line sampler set. It came in shade 09 Glitter Black which is a dark black with silver glitter sparkles. I always wear jet black eyeliners, the blacker the better for me, and this was definitely dark enough for me. I liked the fact that you don't have to sharpen this eyeliner and it comes with a smudger that was useful. I would buy this product again but without the glitter so in plain black. I use this eyeliner daily to line the top of my eyes and I use Urban Decays liquid liner to add a wing tip. I would recommend this eyeliner for anyone who normally uses MACs fluidline black track eyeliner and wants a travel eyeliner to carry with them since application with this liner is easy and there is no need to ever have a sharpener handy.

edit 11/10/14- I will not repurchase this since Sephora is not a cruelty free brand



on 3/12/2013 1:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

The packaging is mostly great. I will only buy retractable eyeliners. Don't expect the little cap covering the smudge tool to be around for long.

It is definitely waterproof as claimed, but that's about the only good thing about the product. It takes several swipes to get a dark line, and it is almost painful to use on your eyelid because it pulls. And after all of the pulling, it is a patchy line at best. It is easier to use on your lower lash line, but you have to be careful to not put it on your waterline as it contains some glitter.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/7/2013 12:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Tried them all, generally disliked them all. This is one of the only waterproof eyeliners that I am not allergic to. I bought the shade olive and it is incredible! It wears beautifully and I didn't need to touch it up at all (which is a first!). The packaging is wonderful and despite having this pencil for months it is still as soft as the day I bought it. I like the smudger on the end of the product, and the built in easy to use sharpener. The range of colors and finishes in the line is awesome and I can't wait to pick up more for the summer. Worth every penny!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/5/2013 12:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

This product is easy to use, stays pretty well, and does not smudge.

I would say I love it if it weren't for the fact that the pencil tip manages to break easily, and also if the product didn't get stuck after the first few weeks of use, and would not retract anymore.
I have tried it twice, and both times the lead just gets stuck in the pencil after little use, and I have wasted at least half a pencil both times.

I'm sorry, but this thing isn't cheap, and I am not willing to pay the steep price to get a little bit of a good product that doesn't last.

Would not buy again. Would not recommend.

2/5 because the product itself it good. Just the packaging is horrible so it ruins any good points the quality of the eyeliner might give.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2012 11:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this a lot. It's one of the more smudge resistant pencils I've used, an it's really fantastic to keep in your bag for touch ups/emergencies (like when you've been up all night, studying, and you stumble in to take your final the next day without a stitch of makeup on, after which your friends insist that you go out with them. Embarassing? Yeah, a little bit.) because it's got a smudger and sharpener built in. The amount of product you get for the price is a little steep, so I wouldn't recommend it to be used as an everyday kind of thing, but as something to keep in your bag just in case, I think it's great. You can pretty much do a whole (if monochromatic) eye look with this.


on 10/26/2012 11:45:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have tried them all. Nars Larger than Life, Smashbox, Urban Decay are some of them. I find this pencil the most consistent. I use it on the inner rim and it stays put and goes on easily. I was happy to find a black pencil at this price point that works.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/18/2012 4:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have this product in black. Sticks well, definitely waterproof. It smudges just perfectly and stays like that the entire day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/19/2012 12:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

love this liner! you don't have to sharpen it, it goes on very smooth, dark, is a great consistency, and stays on all day. the only annoying part is the smudger, whenever i try to take the cap off to it, it takes the whole smudger part completely off. this is great though, i line my top lash line with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/5/2012 11:14:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This is a great eyeliner for me. It is one of the few eyeliners I have used that lasts all day. I have it the matte plum and the color is gorgeous - muted, dark but not too dark and brings out my green eyes. I have tried many eyeliners and found this to be the best, even better than Urban Decay's waterproof liner. It goes on smooth and even. The pencil doesn't break off easily either, like some other pencils I have used. Lasts forever. Worth the $12.00. Plus, does not irritate my eyes at all, which can be sensitive, especially when I am wearing contact lenses.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/30/2012 5:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this color in shimmer electric purple. I dont use it very often cuz its bright purple but its a gorgeous color! It doesnt exactly glide right on, but it does go on easily. Ive never tried it while swimming so I dont know how good it is in water. Its decent but there are much better eyeliners out there.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

? Fresh Spring Makeup Look ? by Beautee Look



Back to Top