MAC • Lustre in Lady Bug • Lipstick

rated 4.4(130 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 msfrost on 7/25/2012 10:25:00 PM more reviews by msfrost

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a boring red. That's right, a boring red lipstick. The formula is great, like all MAC lipsticks, it's smooth and easy to apply, but the color in this one is just SO dull! It reminds me of a girl with zero attitude who is trying to look fierce and gets it all wrong. Horrible.

-EDIT-
Well, it's been growing on me. I still don't love it, but I've worn it a couple of times with lipgloss and it's all right. A red that allows you to play up the cat eyeliner. Still won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LuHu82 on 7/1/2012 10:08:00 AM more reviews by LuHu82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Moisturising formula, great orangey red colour. As it's a lustre it goes on quite sheer, so it is very wearable as a muted 'day' red or you can blot and build layers for a more dense colour. It is a very versatile shade and an ideal red for anyone who is a bit scared of reds and wants to ease in a bit first.


Wear time ? Not great, because of the super light lustre formula. For me, about 2.5-3 hrs without eating etc, but it doesn't claim to be long wearing and reapplication is no hardship.


The smell is the usual MAC vanilla frosting smell, which I'm not mad about but I can live with.


The packing is the usual black/grey and silver bullet shaped tube. Understated. Iconic.


The price ? 13.50 in the UK (approx $20 USD at time of writing!) which is fine for a mid range l/s in the UK but compared to the MAC US price it is again a bit galling, as you pay UK drugstore prices for MAC (I try not to be bitter ;o) )


Buy again? Yes, because it is a fab 'go anywhere' red at a reasonable price from a respected brand.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lerinpalmer on 6/22/2012 2:16:00 AM more reviews by lerinpalmer

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

My favorite red! It looks surprisingly natural and gives me that cherry stained lips look. A must buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 groovymutation on 5/11/2012 11:07:00 PM more reviews by groovymutation

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Hands down, the best lipstick I've ever worn. The color is fabulous and looks, surprisingly, rather natural. It doesn't clump up, even on dry lips, and it's fairly long-lasting. This red would work for any skin tone (I'm NW15, fwiw) and is very vintage 40s without being too fire truck.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missty86 on 2/26/2012 10:34:00 PM more reviews by missty86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

i love this shade of bright red! it goes perfect wtih my indian skin tone (nc42). i have tried plenty of other red lipsticks from drugstores but they always looked horrible on me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeighS on 2/9/2012 7:43:00 AM more reviews by LeighS

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

With my very pale skin and reddish blonde hair it has been so hard to find a red lipstick that I can wear. But this is a beautiful warm red and it is just stunning.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xBl0cPartyx on 1/29/2012 4:22:00 PM more reviews by xBl0cPartyx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favourite lipsticks from MAC! I adore red lips and now that my hair is black, I've really gotten into the whole black hair, red lips thing. However, I'm more of a natural makeup, MLBB girl and I'm afraid of walking around with over the top lip colour as my lips are quite full. So I like to work into it slowly and this is a *perfect* beginner's red, with yellow undertones, it's not loud at all.
*
One swipe across the lips leaves a beautiful sheer wash of red. Two swipes is decent coverage. but not full coverage. I love that it's buildable. It's very wearable for day time as it really doesn't stand much, it's not as intense as Russian Red or Ruby Woo AT ALL for example, although it does look very pigmented in the tube. It has a beautiful sheen to it, not too much (I'm not a fan of shiny lips) but not matte either. I find that it looks fun and brightens up my face
*
I *always* apply MAC lipsticks with balm underneath them and I recommend this to everyone because then there wouldn't be as many complaints about dryness and you could just enjoy beautiful colour. Just a simple step people! I would find this drying without balm but then again I always apply balm because I'm always smiling and laughing and I find that my lips get dried out easily because of that.
*
I have no idea which lipstick that is in the picture for the product, but it is definitely NOT lady bug. I would definitely purchase again. Looking at Dubonnet next! :D (for reference I'm roughly NC37-NC40).

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 turnthisaround on 1/17/2012 2:42:00 PM more reviews by turnthisaround

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Since I am very fair, most reds are too harsh on me. This one is very retro and suitable for light complexions. It's not berry at all, which I find most "reds" to be nowadays.
It's a slightly darker, more pigmented version of a brick red. The color is light enough for day wear paired with a minimal eye look. It can be played up for night time as well. since this is a true red, you have to be very aware of your other makeup. This is a very obvious lipstick and with too much else going on, you'll look like a clown.
It would be my ideal red lipstick but the staying power is lacking. I own many other MAC products and their lip ones have AMAZING staying power. For some reason, they skipped lady bug. You feel it fading away minutes after application. It doesn't leave much of a stain, either. It's a damn shame because this is truly such a great color.
It's also very hydrating and even after it's faded, my lips don't get chapped.

I wouldn't recommend this shade mainly due to it's lack of staying power. you could try it out to explore with shades of red but that's about it. As beautiful as it is, it's useless if it won't stay on your face.
I'd use up my tube for sure and I will explore other red shades in MAC that have real lasting ability.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 troubleinlipstick on 1/8/2012 1:36:00 AM more reviews by troubleinlipstick

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Idk if I'm alone in this but i love my lips looking like their natural lip color but at it's best! I LOVE THIS LIPSTICK! its my 2nd fave next to ruby woo!. i agree with the comments below that it gives you that "i just ate a cherry Popsicle" look. idk about you guys but i love that look. it's also build-able. its very wearable. not drying. staying power is okay. will last on me about 2-3 hours. I just really like it. if you're scared of reds, try this one. its like a muted berry-cherryish red. and its not overly matte or glossy.

if you apply it thickly it looks more like the pic above. the only time it looks like "i just ate a cherry popsicle" is if you apply it sheerly!. i get that same look by using Revlon's just bitten lipstain in "Gothic" i just cant layer that on too thickly either because it looks blood red if i do.

im a neutral-blue undertone skinned girl. im borderline pasty-pale. not porcelain white. but that white that can be n the sun all day without getting 3rd degree burns. but it looks pinky red on me. i see nothing orange about this lipstick.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nikki_L on 12/29/2011 6:11:00 PM more reviews by Nikki_L

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Too bright but good formula. Tomato red.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products