MAC Lustre in Lady Bug

4.4

135 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/11/2013 12:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am rating this lipstick a 5 stars because this is the best shade of red I have ever worn. This works well on every skin type including fair skin types. Since it has a yellowish undertone, the color is not overly red. The only thing that annoys me sometimes is how sheer it gets since it is a lustre lipstick. It is also a buildable color.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 12/27/2012 4:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I believe this lipstick is best suited for yellow or olive based skin tones. I'm a fair skinned yellow based skin tone (fair asian skin) and this is the best red I've used thus far. Russian Red is better for neutral or cool toned women, or dark skin. But Russian Red looked too bold on me. I tend to shy away from red, worried I will look too clownish. But this lipstick, with one coat, is not too bold but gives a great color payoff and beautiful luster. Two coats or more obviously makes it more bold but the creaminess and slight luster keeps it from looking too severe.


The sales lady said it had orange tones in it. I have mid color berry lips and I bring out the pink in many lipsticks. So while I could see a little bit of orange, it also came out a little pink for me because of my natural lip color. But the little bit of orange (pretty subtle) gives the lipstick a little warmth, which compliments warm skin tones. I can imagine this lipstick still looking great on fair skin cool toned gals if they paired it with the right blush!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2012 2:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I usually find it hard to wear red, it always somehow clashes with my skin but lady bug is my perfect red. It's not a fussy red, I don't wear lipliner with it and can just slick it on and head out the door. If I ever run out of it, I would probably repurchase, however I'm not a huge lipstick fan so idk if that will ever happen lol.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been searching for a red that is perky, subtle and a great day-time wear. I feel comfortable wearing this to work and still have that powerful, pulled-together feeling that accompanies red lipstick. It's on the tomato side, but has a warmth to it, almost berry-ish in lower lighting. Either way, I feel I can completely avoid the "clown" look that I felt when I put on Russian Red (and I LOVE matte lipstick). Best part is, I don't have to apply with a mirror, or even wear liner for it to look polished. Better alternative to bright gloss, with a similar wear time. Very moisturizing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/19/2012 2:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite red lipstick I've used up to now. I think it works very well with my light-med olive skin tone. The lasting power could be better but the moisturizing power is awesome. The color goes on sheer and is very easy to build. Looks great either way. This is a great starter red or shy girl color. This color always looks good and never overdone. I will def repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2012 10:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is such a boring red. That's right, a boring red lipstick. The formula is great, like all MAC lipsticks, it's smooth and easy to apply, but the color in this one is just SO dull! It reminds me of a girl with zero attitude who is trying to look fierce and gets it all wrong. Horrible.

-EDIT-
Well, it's been growing on me. I still don't love it, but I've worn it a couple of times with lipgloss and it's all right. A red that allows you to play up the cat eyeliner. Still won't repurchase.


on 7/1/2012 10:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Moisturising formula, great orangey red colour. As it's a lustre it goes on quite sheer, so it is very wearable as a muted 'day' red or you can blot and build layers for a more dense colour. It is a very versatile shade and an ideal red for anyone who is a bit scared of reds and wants to ease in a bit first.


Wear time ? Not great, because of the super light lustre formula. For me, about 2.5-3 hrs without eating etc, but it doesn't claim to be long wearing and reapplication is no hardship.


The smell is the usual MAC vanilla frosting smell, which I'm not mad about but I can live with.


The packing is the usual black/grey and silver bullet shaped tube. Understated. Iconic.


The price ? 13.50 in the UK (approx $20 USD at time of writing!) which is fine for a mid range l/s in the UK but compared to the MAC US price it is again a bit galling, as you pay UK drugstore prices for MAC (I try not to be bitter ;o) )


Buy again? Yes, because it is a fab 'go anywhere' red at a reasonable price from a respected brand.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/22/2012 2:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My favorite red! It looks surprisingly natural and gives me that cherry stained lips look. A must buy!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Hands down, the best lipstick I've ever worn. The color is fabulous and looks, surprisingly, rather natural. It doesn't clump up, even on dry lips, and it's fairly long-lasting. This red would work for any skin tone (I'm NW15, fwiw) and is very vintage 40s without being too fire truck.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2012 10:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

i love this shade of bright red! it goes perfect wtih my indian skin tone (nc42). i have tried plenty of other red lipsticks from drugstores but they always looked horrible on me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top