MAC • Lustre in Lady Bug • Lipstick

rated 4.4(125 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeighS on 2/9/2012 7:43:00 AM more reviews by LeighS

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

With my very pale skin and reddish blonde hair it has been so hard to find a red lipstick that I can wear. But this is a beautiful warm red and it is just stunning.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xBl0cPartyx on 1/29/2012 4:22:00 PM more reviews by xBl0cPartyx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favourite lipsticks from MAC! I adore red lips and now that my hair is black, I've really gotten into the whole black hair, red lips thing. However, I'm more of a natural makeup, MLBB girl and I'm afraid of walking around with over the top lip colour as my lips are quite full. So I like to work into it slowly and this is a *perfect* beginner's red, with yellow undertones, it's not loud at all.
*
One swipe across the lips leaves a beautiful sheer wash of red. Two swipes is decent coverage. but not full coverage. I love that it's buildable. It's very wearable for day time as it really doesn't stand much, it's not as intense as Russian Red or Ruby Woo AT ALL for example, although it does look very pigmented in the tube. It has a beautiful sheen to it, not too much (I'm not a fan of shiny lips) but not matte either. I find that it looks fun and brightens up my face
*
I *always* apply MAC lipsticks with balm underneath them and I recommend this to everyone because then there wouldn't be as many complaints about dryness and you could just enjoy beautiful colour. Just a simple step people! I would find this drying without balm but then again I always apply balm because I'm always smiling and laughing and I find that my lips get dried out easily because of that.
*
I have no idea which lipstick that is in the picture for the product, but it is definitely NOT lady bug. I would definitely purchase again. Looking at Dubonnet next! :D (for reference I'm roughly NC37-NC40).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 turnthisaround on 1/17/2012 2:42:00 PM more reviews by turnthisaround

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Since I am very fair, most reds are too harsh on me. This one is very retro and suitable for light complexions. It's not berry at all, which I find most "reds" to be nowadays.
It's a slightly darker, more pigmented version of a brick red. The color is light enough for day wear paired with a minimal eye look. It can be played up for night time as well. since this is a true red, you have to be very aware of your other makeup. This is a very obvious lipstick and with too much else going on, you'll look like a clown.
It would be my ideal red lipstick but the staying power is lacking. I own many other MAC products and their lip ones have AMAZING staying power. For some reason, they skipped lady bug. You feel it fading away minutes after application. It doesn't leave much of a stain, either. It's a damn shame because this is truly such a great color.
It's also very hydrating and even after it's faded, my lips don't get chapped.

I wouldn't recommend this shade mainly due to it's lack of staying power. you could try it out to explore with shades of red but that's about it. As beautiful as it is, it's useless if it won't stay on your face.
I'd use up my tube for sure and I will explore other red shades in MAC that have real lasting ability.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 troubleinlipstick on 1/8/2012 1:36:00 AM more reviews by troubleinlipstick

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Idk if I'm alone in this but i love my lips looking like their natural lip color but at it's best! I LOVE THIS LIPSTICK! its my 2nd fave next to ruby woo!. i agree with the comments below that it gives you that "i just ate a cherry Popsicle" look. idk about you guys but i love that look. it's also build-able. its very wearable. not drying. staying power is okay. will last on me about 2-3 hours. I just really like it. if you're scared of reds, try this one. its like a muted berry-cherryish red. and its not overly matte or glossy.

if you apply it thickly it looks more like the pic above. the only time it looks like "i just ate a cherry popsicle" is if you apply it sheerly!. i get that same look by using Revlon's just bitten lipstain in "Gothic" i just cant layer that on too thickly either because it looks blood red if i do.

im a neutral-blue undertone skinned girl. im borderline pasty-pale. not porcelain white. but that white that can be n the sun all day without getting 3rd degree burns. but it looks pinky red on me. i see nothing orange about this lipstick.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nikki_L on 12/29/2011 6:11:00 PM more reviews by Nikki_L

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Too bright but good formula. Tomato red.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KlaraPolakova13 on 12/9/2011 10:12:00 AM more reviews by KlaraPolakova13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I got it as a birthday present, cause it's quite expensive for me as a student. And I would never buy it again, shade is perfectly fine, it goes well with my very light skin and quite dark hair. But it just does not stay in place. Even if I am wearing lip pencil, powder it... It just doesn't stay in place at all. Lipstick from drug store were better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* piinkcheeks27 on 10/9/2011 12:04:00 AM more reviews by piinkcheeks27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

FINALLY A RED LIPSTICK I CAN WEAR EVERYDAY! Thaaaank you MAC gods! OMG I cant get over this lipstick. If you are on the fence about wearing a red lipstick, PLEASE CONSIDER THIS LIPSTICK as a starter! The color looks very intense in the tube but goes on very sheer cuz of the lustre finish. I love using this lipstick when i do a neutral eye because it just ties everything in! The staying power can be long if you wear a lipliner. I like to put a darker gloss (like a berry) on top & it looks PERFECT for fall! I was scared of red lips before but this helped me get over that fear. Definately an under-dog in MAC lipsticks compared to its sibling Russian Red. IN LOOOVE WITH THIS!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ukarmencb on 9/14/2011 9:44:00 AM more reviews by ukarmencb

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Lady Bug is a wearable Red which is buildable, so you can make it as deep or light as you like. Gorgeous Ferrari Red which you have to be very careful when applying it as it might bleed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinktini007 on 8/25/2011 11:06:00 AM more reviews by pinktini007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love that ladybug is sheer but still a nice true red. It's the only red lipstick I feel comfortable wearing in day time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 XODIKA on 8/25/2011 10:23:00 AM more reviews by XODIKA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love this! It is my go to color, bc it brightens my face. It is sheer enough to build and gives that just "ate a popsicle" look, as another said earlier. Its a tomato red that is not so loud as some other reds are.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products