MAC • Lustre in Lady Bug • Lipstick

rated 4.4(123 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 turnthisaround on 1/17/2012 2:42:00 PM more reviews by turnthisaround

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Since I am very fair, most reds are too harsh on me. This one is very retro and suitable for light complexions. It's not berry at all, which I find most "reds" to be nowadays.
It's a slightly darker, more pigmented version of a brick red. The color is light enough for day wear paired with a minimal eye look. It can be played up for night time as well. since this is a true red, you have to be very aware of your other makeup. This is a very obvious lipstick and with too much else going on, you'll look like a clown.
It would be my ideal red lipstick but the staying power is lacking. I own many other MAC products and their lip ones have AMAZING staying power. For some reason, they skipped lady bug. You feel it fading away minutes after application. It doesn't leave much of a stain, either. It's a damn shame because this is truly such a great color.
It's also very hydrating and even after it's faded, my lips don't get chapped.

I wouldn't recommend this shade mainly due to it's lack of staying power. you could try it out to explore with shades of red but that's about it. As beautiful as it is, it's useless if it won't stay on your face.
I'd use up my tube for sure and I will explore other red shades in MAC that have real lasting ability.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 troubleinlipstick on 1/8/2012 1:36:00 AM more reviews by troubleinlipstick

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Idk if I'm alone in this but i love my lips looking like their natural lip color but at it's best! I LOVE THIS LIPSTICK! its my 2nd fave next to ruby woo!. i agree with the comments below that it gives you that "i just ate a cherry Popsicle" look. idk about you guys but i love that look. it's also build-able. its very wearable. not drying. staying power is okay. will last on me about 2-3 hours. I just really like it. if you're scared of reds, try this one. its like a muted berry-cherryish red. and its not overly matte or glossy.

if you apply it thickly it looks more like the pic above. the only time it looks like "i just ate a cherry popsicle" is if you apply it sheerly!. i get that same look by using Revlon's just bitten lipstain in "Gothic" i just cant layer that on too thickly either because it looks blood red if i do.

im a neutral-blue undertone skinned girl. im borderline pasty-pale. not porcelain white. but that white that can be n the sun all day without getting 3rd degree burns. but it looks pinky red on me. i see nothing orange about this lipstick.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nikki_L on 12/29/2011 6:11:00 PM more reviews by Nikki_L

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Too bright but good formula. Tomato red.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KlaraPolakova13 on 12/9/2011 10:12:00 AM more reviews by KlaraPolakova13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I got it as a birthday present, cause it's quite expensive for me as a student. And I would never buy it again, shade is perfectly fine, it goes well with my very light skin and quite dark hair. But it just does not stay in place. Even if I am wearing lip pencil, powder it... It just doesn't stay in place at all. Lipstick from drug store were better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* piinkcheeks27 on 10/9/2011 12:04:00 AM more reviews by piinkcheeks27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

FINALLY A RED LIPSTICK I CAN WEAR EVERYDAY! Thaaaank you MAC gods! OMG I cant get over this lipstick. If you are on the fence about wearing a red lipstick, PLEASE CONSIDER THIS LIPSTICK as a starter! The color looks very intense in the tube but goes on very sheer cuz of the lustre finish. I love using this lipstick when i do a neutral eye because it just ties everything in! The staying power can be long if you wear a lipliner. I like to put a darker gloss (like a berry) on top & it looks PERFECT for fall! I was scared of red lips before but this helped me get over that fear. Definately an under-dog in MAC lipsticks compared to its sibling Russian Red. IN LOOOVE WITH THIS!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ukarmencb on 9/14/2011 9:44:00 AM more reviews by ukarmencb

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Lady Bug is a wearable Red which is buildable, so you can make it as deep or light as you like. Gorgeous Ferrari Red which you have to be very careful when applying it as it might bleed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinktini007 on 8/25/2011 11:06:00 AM more reviews by pinktini007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love that ladybug is sheer but still a nice true red. It's the only red lipstick I feel comfortable wearing in day time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 XODIKA on 8/25/2011 10:23:00 AM more reviews by XODIKA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love this! It is my go to color, bc it brightens my face. It is sheer enough to build and gives that just "ate a popsicle" look, as another said earlier. Its a tomato red that is not so loud as some other reds are.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Cb0205 on 8/22/2011 1:28:00 AM more reviews by Cb0205

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ugh I don't understand why anyone would buy this. My mum loves it and I gave it a try but it just has no oomph! It's such a full on colour but goes on so wimpy. It's so sheer and comes off within minutes. I just don't get what anyone would like about this. People who say its such a great red that just suits anyone, why do you need a lipstick that suits everyone when MAC alone stock so many different reds. Each suiting different tones perfectly. Well Lady Bug didn't suit me and I find it so boring and a waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alexa94 on 8/5/2011 10:27:00 AM more reviews by alexa94

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE! Lady Bug is so in my top 3!! I was quite shocked at how pigmented it was due to it being a lustre, but it gives great coverage and amazing colour. Feels slightly creamy when it goes on and doesn't look too over the top, but it is quite a bold colour. Really recommend this, especially for anyone wanting a red lipstick without wanting to totally stand out! :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products