MAC Lustre in Lady Bug

4.4

133 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/8/2012 2:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I usually find it hard to wear red, it always somehow clashes with my skin but lady bug is my perfect red. It's not a fussy red, I don't wear lipliner with it and can just slick it on and head out the door. If I ever run out of it, I would probably repurchase, however I'm not a huge lipstick fan so idk if that will ever happen lol.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been searching for a red that is perky, subtle and a great day-time wear. I feel comfortable wearing this to work and still have that powerful, pulled-together feeling that accompanies red lipstick. It's on the tomato side, but has a warmth to it, almost berry-ish in lower lighting. Either way, I feel I can completely avoid the "clown" look that I felt when I put on Russian Red (and I LOVE matte lipstick). Best part is, I don't have to apply with a mirror, or even wear liner for it to look polished. Better alternative to bright gloss, with a similar wear time. Very moisturizing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/19/2012 2:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite red lipstick I've used up to now. I think it works very well with my light-med olive skin tone. The lasting power could be better but the moisturizing power is awesome. The color goes on sheer and is very easy to build. Looks great either way. This is a great starter red or shy girl color. This color always looks good and never overdone. I will def repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2012 10:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is such a boring red. That's right, a boring red lipstick. The formula is great, like all MAC lipsticks, it's smooth and easy to apply, but the color in this one is just SO dull! It reminds me of a girl with zero attitude who is trying to look fierce and gets it all wrong. Horrible.

-EDIT-
Well, it's been growing on me. I still don't love it, but I've worn it a couple of times with lipgloss and it's all right. A red that allows you to play up the cat eyeliner. Still won't repurchase.


on 7/1/2012 10:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Moisturising formula, great orangey red colour. As it's a lustre it goes on quite sheer, so it is very wearable as a muted 'day' red or you can blot and build layers for a more dense colour. It is a very versatile shade and an ideal red for anyone who is a bit scared of reds and wants to ease in a bit first.


Wear time ? Not great, because of the super light lustre formula. For me, about 2.5-3 hrs without eating etc, but it doesn't claim to be long wearing and reapplication is no hardship.


The smell is the usual MAC vanilla frosting smell, which I'm not mad about but I can live with.


The packing is the usual black/grey and silver bullet shaped tube. Understated. Iconic.


The price ? 13.50 in the UK (approx $20 USD at time of writing!) which is fine for a mid range l/s in the UK but compared to the MAC US price it is again a bit galling, as you pay UK drugstore prices for MAC (I try not to be bitter ;o) )


Buy again? Yes, because it is a fab 'go anywhere' red at a reasonable price from a respected brand.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/22/2012 2:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My favorite red! It looks surprisingly natural and gives me that cherry stained lips look. A must buy!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Hands down, the best lipstick I've ever worn. The color is fabulous and looks, surprisingly, rather natural. It doesn't clump up, even on dry lips, and it's fairly long-lasting. This red would work for any skin tone (I'm NW15, fwiw) and is very vintage 40s without being too fire truck.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2012 10:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

i love this shade of bright red! it goes perfect wtih my indian skin tone (nc42). i have tried plenty of other red lipsticks from drugstores but they always looked horrible on me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2012 7:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

With my very pale skin and reddish blonde hair it has been so hard to find a red lipstick that I can wear. But this is a beautiful warm red and it is just stunning.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2012 4:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

One of my favourite lipsticks from MAC! I adore red lips and now that my hair is black, I've really gotten into the whole black hair, red lips thing. However, I'm more of a natural makeup, MLBB girl and I'm afraid of walking around with over the top lip colour as my lips are quite full. So I like to work into it slowly and this is a *perfect* beginner's red, with yellow undertones, it's not loud at all.
*
One swipe across the lips leaves a beautiful sheer wash of red. Two swipes is decent coverage. but not full coverage. I love that it's buildable. It's very wearable for day time as it really doesn't stand much, it's not as intense as Russian Red or Ruby Woo AT ALL for example, although it does look very pigmented in the tube. It has a beautiful sheen to it, not too much (I'm not a fan of shiny lips) but not matte either. I find that it looks fun and brightens up my face
*
I *always* apply MAC lipsticks with balm underneath them and I recommend this to everyone because then there wouldn't be as many complaints about dryness and you could just enjoy beautiful colour. Just a simple step people! I would find this drying without balm but then again I always apply balm because I'm always smiling and laughing and I find that my lips get dried out easily because of that.
*
I have no idea which lipstick that is in the picture for the product, but it is definitely NOT lady bug. I would definitely purchase again. Looking at Dubonnet next! :D (for reference I'm roughly NC37-NC40).

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
204 Reviews
Provocalips
90 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

94 reviews
Back to Top