CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser

3.7

555 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Behentrimonium Methosulfate/Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-11, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Polyoxyl 40 Stearate, Glyceryl Monostearate, Stearyl Alcohol, Polysorbate 20, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phytosphingosine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum


on 3/23/2015 7:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Pros:
+ Make your skin soft &hydrated instantly ( temporary )
+ Cheap
+ Not itchy

Cons:
+ Does not have specific result



on 3/22/2015 9:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This product truly changed my life. This is going to be a long review, so I apologize in advance.. (the review of this product takes place at the ***)
These events take place about two years ago:
I was going through my normal morning routine one day when I realized that my skin was feeling slightly dry and irritated (I have oily-combo skin) after I had finished cleansing my face with my new Nivea Sensitive skin cream cleanser (comes in a pink squeezy tube). Instead of tackling the problem right then, I kept using this product. About a week later, my cheeks were sore, red and blistered. They were covered in cystic acne and I thought for sure a product targeted towards sensitive skin could not have done this. I was wrong...I don't even want to talk about how bad this product is..it does not deserve to even exist.

I went through SOOOOO MANY cleansers, but nothing helped. I thought drying my skin was the way to heal all the pimples on my face (my face was covered at this point...seriously, I could randomly squeeze anywhere on my cheeks and pus was to appear (tmi..sorry)).
*** After about $100 later, I decided to buy this Cerave cleanser mostly because I had a $5 coupon (so it cost me about $7 CAD). Immediately after using this product, my face felt so hydrated and calm. When I say my face felt like sandpaper and it was blistering-red, I really mean it; imagine a pizza without the cheese. It was bad..I was so self concious about showing my face in public that I didn't even see my SO for about a month an I would put makeup on around my own family at home. I was ashamed to show my face. After a month of using this, my skin was about 75 percent clear. The AHA helped with skin turn-over and to keep me moisturised, and the gel-lotion like formula glided over the skin. I will say that this product needs to be worked into the skin; you need to spend a good 30-60 seconds to massage this all over the face or else your money is going down the drain...literally. I can't speak more highly about this product; everyone needs this in their lives. It took me about 2 months to see complete healing.

If anyone would like a detailed "guide" on my 180 degree change to clearing my skin, I am more than happy to provide it; a lot of my tricks focus on Ayurvedic and natural remedies. This definitely played a big role in helping my skin and tackling this change!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Although this cleanser is intended for people with dry to normal skin, and my skin is more oily, I bought this cleanser because my skin is a little sensitive. It's not the best at removing makeup- it couldn't get off my mascara or eyeliner- but it has a creamy-lotion texture and I love how gentle it is. This cleanser really helps to balance out my combination skin and my pores look smaller. It didn't completely clear my skin, but I feel like it did improve, mainly by controlling the oil. Would definitely repurchase this cleanser, especially in the dry winter air.


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I cannot say enough good things about this cleanser. I've been using it for about three weeks after seeing the reviews and consulting with SCB. It has a creamy, gel-like consistency. It cleanses so effectively, I honestly cannot believe it. My pores are so much less noticeable without makeup, because it's cleansing deeply. I notice more even skin tone, and my skin is more glowy! And it's so smooth! There is an amazing difference in texture! I mean, I'm using the PM moisturizer too, but I only started using it about a week ago. The difference in texture started about a week into using the cleanser. I bought it at Walmart for $13.99! I would say no better cleanser for the price, but I've got to say no better cleanser PERIOD! I'm 60, and I've been really taking care of my skin all my life. I've used many, many products. This is hands down the BEST cleanser I have ever used. It's perfect for mature skin. Gentle, effective, hydrating, texturizing. Absolute HG. Finally!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2015 5:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Whoo Hoo...finally a drugstore cleanser that works for my crappy skin. I have normal skin, redness and prone to occasional breakouts. I use this my with Sephora Pore Cleansing Pad and cant rave enough. Have officially said goodbye to my Algenist cleanser(which used to work, but the redness never went away). Well this lotion like cleanser when used with my pad takes off all my makeup and does not aggravate the redness around my chin area. Does not leave my skin feeling too dry. Used this through out this winter and survived. Thought I would never find the right cleanser for my skin needs. Keeps my skin clear..
Cant rave enough...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/4/2015 1:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm on my second bottle of this, so I feel qualified to say that this stuff saved my skin. Almost. I've been acne-prone since puberty so while I have accepted that I am going to have some zits/blackheads no matter what, I also know what my "baseline" skin looks like. My skin is almost always dry after washing, and becomes greasy a few hours later (but still flaky underneath. gross.) - since switching to this face wash I've noticed a lot less dry patches, and overall fewer closed comedones. My previous cleanser, Hadalabo Gokujyun Foaming, was gentle but I still found it to be drying and irritating after a few weeks of use.

The texture is kind of strange - creamy and slightly gel-like, but super soothing. I don't wear makeup but I'm not sure this stuff could handle removing make up (OR heavy oil, if you remove your makeup with mineral oil or the like), but for removing the day's sunscreen and some extra oiliness, it works wonderfully. My only beef is that it's a tad expensive for me: $17 for 12oz at Walgreens, but it lasts about two months of twice daily use, so I'll take it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product so much I had to write a review. My usually oily skin was mostly under control until I switched my birth control to the Literature pill which was the worst prescription ever! As if the acne wasn't bad enough it came with dark marks too. I hated looking in the mirror, my face looked completely different. I tried proactive which was an expensive waste of money, neutrogena, Clearasil you name it. My brother told me his dermatologist recommended Cerave so I bought it thinking why not since nothing else proven worthy. I mean this product is amazing! I truly felt a difference from day one because it leaves my skin feeling clean and it doesn't over dry or anything. I use the moisturizer as well and that is all I need. NO 5 step system or multiple product necessities and its very affordable. I almost thought there would be no hope, but if this can help me I know it can help someone with the same issues. MY skin has cleared dramatically . I used to wear makeup everyday to hide these blemishes, now I can wear makeup when I feel like it which is not everyday. Ladies or gentleman if you have oily skin and want something that works give it a try!


on 2/16/2015 12:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Other

My typically oily skin has recently become this weird combination of oil with itchy flaky dry skin underneath. Not sure if it's from the extremely cold winter or just that my skin is changing. Anyway I switched to this cleanser after reading some great reviews both here and on some other makeup reviews sites. First of all I don't use this to remove makeup, I don't think it would so I didn't try. I use Life brand 3 in 1 cleansing cloths from SDM to remove my makeup at night. I use this cleanser in the morning and only at night if I didn't use makeup during the day or if I am following up the cleansing cloths with my clarisonic (I use the clarisonic twice per week). My skin is less dry since I started using this, there is no tightness/itching to my skin after washing with this and no breakouts. My skin feels softer and looks less red and more clear. The consistency is a little weird for a cleanser, it feels like I am trying to wash with a runny lotion but it works really well. If you have any dryness at all I would recommend using this. Best gentle cleanser for acne prone, dry/combo skin I have found so far. Would repurchase.


on 2/15/2015 1:46:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Didn't like this although it claims to remove makeup it does not, not even a light powder if ur makeup free then u might like it very gentle.


on 2/13/2015 3:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have normal-dry skin (used to be very dry but has now normalised drastically). I'm still wary of foaming cleansers so I picked up the hydrating one hearing rave reviews about it. I must say its nothing special. However it did not break me out, the pH is apparently balanced, and it seems gentle enough for even sensitive skin. These are the pros. The cons are - it leaves a slightly filmy feeling after use and could not remove makeup (I oil cleanse before I use this so its not a problem for me but in case there's any residue even after oil cleansing).

This is a very average product but effective enough. I know I can find better and I will be on the hunt for it. Until then this product is "decent enough."


Back to Top