CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser

3.7

559 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Behentrimonium Methosulfate/Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-11, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Polyoxyl 40 Stearate, Glyceryl Monostearate, Stearyl Alcohol, Polysorbate 20, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phytosphingosine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum


on 4/15/2015 3:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this product for long enough to give it a proper review, however, I'm still a bit torn personally on how much I truly like it. First the good: it never stings or burns my sensitive skin and it has a smooth lotion like texture that easily glides over the face with a bit of water. It is sufficient to take off the small amount of make-up I sometimes wear on my skin (a bit of concealer) and doesn't seem to disagree with my rosacea. Now for the not so good: I don't feel particularly happy about using this product as it's far from natural. Also, the price tag always strikes me as high for a drugstore product although I will say that one bottle lasts me several months. The packaging is nice until you get to the bottom of the container as I then find myself having to store the container upside down and unscrewing the lid in order to get to the last several applications of the product. Definitely a pain to juggle in the shower! All this said, I do find it difficult to find a bland and nourishing cleanser, particularly since moving to the U.S. where benzyl peroxide and salicylic acid are added to many drugstore products, and this seems to fit my needs to at least some degree. I will use it until or unless I find something better.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I purchased this from CVS along with CeraVe's SPF 30 AM moisturizer. It was buy one get one half off and the total came out to be twenty-one dollars for both products together. I've been using this twice a day for 4 days along with the moisturizer daily. I have developed small bumps all over my face. They look like small pimples everywhere, some have even come to a head. I am wondering if this is my skin purging or if I'm having some sort of bad reaction to these products. I just finished peeling from a TCA peel last week so it's difficult for me to accept that my skin is purging this much since the TCA did a lot of that. Additionally, I don't want to mess up my new skin. This cleanser feels too heavy for my skin, which is normal but leans toward oily. I want to give CeraVe a real chance though because I've heard wonderful things about it. I plan on returning this product and getting their foaming cleanser. That is the cleanser I wanted to get originally, but for some reason I picked up the wrong one at the store. I decided to give it a shot anyway to see if it would work, but it hasn't so I'll try the one I wanted in the first place. Hopefully these bumps go away! It looks as if all my little pores are clogged and risen up when I look closely into the mirror and my face is red overall.

_________________________________________________________________________
EDIT: 4/17/15

It has been exactly 5 days since my last post and 3 days since I switched from CeraVe's Hydrating Cleanser to CeraVe's Foaming Cleanser. I can now say without a doubt that now that I have stopped using the cleanser and moisturizer I previously purchased and have only been using the foaming cleanser twice a day all the little bumps on my face are GONE. My face is nice and smooth and even the 2 actual pimples I had are healing up. I love this stuff and so I still highly recommend the CeraVe line. I believe the hydrating cleanser was just way too moisturizing for my skin and it either caused some sort of bad reaction or it clogged almost all of the pores on my forehead, nose, and upper cheeks. If you're having the same problem I suggest switching cleansers and then giving it a couple of days to see if there's a difference. It's true that the culprit of my little bumps could have been the moisturizer, but I used that twice after stopping the usage of the hydrating cleanser because I had to go out in sunlight for a while and had no other strong SPF moisturizers. I didn't get any bumps from that from my two usages, so although it's possible that was causing the bumps I think it's more likely that it was this cleanser. I changed the lippie rating from a 3 to a 1 because of the bumps and the overly moisturized feeling that was uncomfortable for me. This didn't work for my skin, but if you have dry skin it may be worth a shot.


on 4/3/2015 12:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Grey

"Provides patented controlled release of ingredients to help repair and restore your skin's natural protective barrier.

- Ideal for use on the face and body
-Ceramides help repair the skin barrier
-Hyaluronic acid attracts needed moisture
-Emollients moisturize and soften very dry skin"

I don't know about the marketing gimmicks; I doubt the ceramides and hyalronic acid stay on the skin after washing and if I have experienced any of those benefits it's most likely from my other skin care products. I believe it's the emollients, basically a wax substance, that leaves a film on the skin but that easily comes off with a wet rag. Then again maybe all of those things work together and I'm gently rubbing it off.

I will say it is a fantastic cleanser. Their claims of it being "non-comedogenic, non-drying, non-irritating" are absolutely true. It's everything I've looked for in a basic cleanser; it's non-foaming, non-stripping and gentle but effectively removes dirt and oil. It does not cause an overactive sebum and/or dehydrate the skin; it keeps my skin balanced and soft. It does not remove makeup, but that's ok since most can't, you would need a designated makeup remover/cleanser.

It's a decent size bottle for the price. It lasts me quite a while even if I'm using it twice a day. They recommend to use the cleanser on the body as well but I don't think that would be cost effective unless you're using it on a target area.

I don't like the idea of spending a large amount of money on a cleanser, so I'm really happy with this budget find. It has definitely become a staple in my skincare routine.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

A really gentle cleanser that leaves my skin feeling fresh. Very simple, no fragrance, non-irritating. An important staple in my routine!


on 3/23/2015 7:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Pros:
+ Make your skin soft &hydrated instantly ( temporary )
+ Cheap
+ Not itchy

Cons:
+ Does not have specific result


on 3/22/2015 9:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This product truly changed my life. This is going to be a long review, so I apologize in advance.. (the review of this product takes place at the ***)
These events take place about two years ago:
I was going through my normal morning routine one day when I realized that my skin was feeling slightly dry and irritated (I have oily-combo skin) after I had finished cleansing my face with my new Nivea Sensitive skin cream cleanser (comes in a pink squeezy tube). Instead of tackling the problem right then, I kept using this product. About a week later, my cheeks were sore, red and blistered. They were covered in cystic acne and I thought for sure a product targeted towards sensitive skin could not have done this. I was wrong...I don't even want to talk about how bad this product is..it does not deserve to even exist.

I went through SOOOOO MANY cleansers, but nothing helped. I thought drying my skin was the way to heal all the pimples on my face (my face was covered at this point...seriously, I could randomly squeeze anywhere on my cheeks and pus was to appear (tmi..sorry)).
*** After about $100 later, I decided to buy this Cerave cleanser mostly because I had a $5 coupon (so it cost me about $7 CAD). Immediately after using this product, my face felt so hydrated and calm. When I say my face felt like sandpaper and it was blistering-red, I really mean it; imagine a pizza without the cheese. It was bad..I was so self concious about showing my face in public that I didn't even see my SO for about a month an I would put makeup on around my own family at home. I was ashamed to show my face. After a month of using this, my skin was about 75 percent clear. The AHA helped with skin turn-over and to keep me moisturised, and the gel-lotion like formula glided over the skin. I will say that this product needs to be worked into the skin; you need to spend a good 30-60 seconds to massage this all over the face or else your money is going down the drain...literally. I can't speak more highly about this product; everyone needs this in their lives. It took me about 2 months to see complete healing.

If anyone would like a detailed "guide" on my 180 degree change to clearing my skin, I am more than happy to provide it; a lot of my tricks focus on Ayurvedic and natural remedies. This definitely played a big role in helping my skin and tackling this change!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Although this cleanser is intended for people with dry to normal skin, and my skin is more oily, I bought this cleanser because my skin is a little sensitive. It's not the best at removing makeup- it couldn't get off my mascara or eyeliner- but it has a creamy-lotion texture and I love how gentle it is. This cleanser really helps to balance out my combination skin and my pores look smaller. It didn't completely clear my skin, but I feel like it did improve, mainly by controlling the oil. Would definitely repurchase this cleanser, especially in the dry winter air.


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I cannot say enough good things about this cleanser. I've been using it for about three weeks after seeing the reviews and consulting with SCB. It has a creamy, gel-like consistency. It cleanses so effectively, I honestly cannot believe it. My pores are so much less noticeable without makeup, because it's cleansing deeply. I notice more even skin tone, and my skin is more glowy! And it's so smooth! There is an amazing difference in texture! I mean, I'm using the PM moisturizer too, but I only started using it about a week ago. The difference in texture started about a week into using the cleanser. I bought it at Walmart for $13.99! I would say no better cleanser for the price, but I've got to say no better cleanser PERIOD! I'm 60, and I've been really taking care of my skin all my life. I've used many, many products. This is hands down the BEST cleanser I have ever used. It's perfect for mature skin. Gentle, effective, hydrating, texturizing. Absolute HG. Finally!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2015 5:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Whoo Hoo...finally a drugstore cleanser that works for my crappy skin. I have normal skin, redness and prone to occasional breakouts. I use this my with Sephora Pore Cleansing Pad and cant rave enough. Have officially said goodbye to my Algenist cleanser(which used to work, but the redness never went away). Well this lotion like cleanser when used with my pad takes off all my makeup and does not aggravate the redness around my chin area. Does not leave my skin feeling too dry. Used this through out this winter and survived. Thought I would never find the right cleanser for my skin needs. Keeps my skin clear..
Cant rave enough...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/4/2015 1:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm on my second bottle of this, so I feel qualified to say that this stuff saved my skin. Almost. I've been acne-prone since puberty so while I have accepted that I am going to have some zits/blackheads no matter what, I also know what my "baseline" skin looks like. My skin is almost always dry after washing, and becomes greasy a few hours later (but still flaky underneath. gross.) - since switching to this face wash I've noticed a lot less dry patches, and overall fewer closed comedones. My previous cleanser, Hadalabo Gokujyun Foaming, was gentle but I still found it to be drying and irritating after a few weeks of use.

The texture is kind of strange - creamy and slightly gel-like, but super soothing. I don't wear makeup but I'm not sure this stuff could handle removing make up (OR heavy oil, if you remove your makeup with mineral oil or the like), but for removing the day's sunscreen and some extra oiliness, it works wonderfully. My only beef is that it's a tad expensive for me: $17 for 12oz at Walgreens, but it lasts about two months of twice daily use, so I'll take it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top