Jane Iredale • Eye shadow • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(55 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 chillo7 on 5/11/2007 10:52:00 AM more reviews by chillo7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this makeup because I am trying to make the switch to more natural cosmetics. I have the daytime kit, and the colors are really nice, thought some of them don't really show up on me unless I do four or five coats. I think they would look good on just about anyone. It is definitely very versatile, and you can create both natural and dramatic looks. The shadow goes on easily and is very bold when first applied. For me, its durability is average; it lasts about half the day, though it seems to get a bit muted within an hour. For this reason, I tend to apply the darker shades more often. Applying it wet or with the Amazing Base foundation first seems to help somewhat with durability.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hulaprincess on 4/17/2007 3:29:00 AM more reviews by hulaprincess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

For me this just doesn't last. It creases, it's blotchy going on and doesn't blend well. I've tried their bases, MAC base, nothing holds it on. Would not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kareygirl on 12/29/2006 2:56:00 PM more reviews by kareygirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have Emerald and Dusk single shades and 2 trios (Brown Sugar and Khaki Kraze) These shadows blend nicely and I find the singles have worked well with other shades by Stila and Bobbi Brown. The blendability is really superior to BB and I have been a fan of hers for years. Stila's blendability is slightly less than JI. My all time favorite is the Brown Sugar. It just looks great on. Now if I could only find a shadow that doesn't crease on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chiodancrgrl23 on 9/29/2006 9:34:00 AM more reviews by chiodancrgrl23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Horrible blendability. Left my eyelids looking splotchy and I applied over a base. I had high hopes for this eyeshadow and assumed it would perform well due to being so expensive, wow was I wrong! I have used drugstore eyeshadows that work much better than this. I have the dark blue shade called Blue Moon. Maybe the lighter shades work better but UGH this one was awful!!!! The pigment was good but blending took up so much of my time getting ready for work this morning. =(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KELLYW73 on 8/22/2006 12:45:00 PM more reviews by KELLYW73

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I used to work at a spa/salon part time and they sold the Jane Iredale products there, so I would receive 50% off of the products - which is how I fell in love w/ Jane Iredale.

Love, love, love the eyeshadows with one important exception:
Every one of them has broken up into loose powder. When I travel I have been unable to take the JI eyeshadow (or any other pressed product of hers) with me because of this; it just gets really messy and for as much as it costs to replace them (now that I have to pay full price) I don't want to lose any of the product...so they just stay home, unfortunately.

LOVE IT!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 wardropex on 7/26/2006 5:38:00 PM more reviews by wardropex

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Ever wondered why Jane Iredale eyeshadow explictly states that it "contains carmine" on the packaging of its eyeshadows? Well, that's because some people are deadly allergic to it. But the most fun fact of all about "carmine" is that it is made from Cochineal-- AN INSECT! Yep, if you don't believe me, read for yourself: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carmine

Aside from the creepiness of applying dried and ground up BUGS to your eyelids (wee!), these eyeshadows are beautiful. And since they are beautiful, I don't mind swiping a lil' bit of bug on my lids. Too bad they're damn pricey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ziebam on 6/8/2006 4:44:00 PM more reviews by ziebam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I cant believe it took me so long to try these shadows. They are STUPENDOUS! i really love them. I have alot of shadows and didnt really need more, but a new kiosk opened and I played with them and fell in love. These eyeshadows are silky smooth, super pigmented, last all day without creasing (with UD PP underneath). They retail for a pricey $27.50 for a three pan but the texture is wonderful. SO far i have Brown Sugar and Khaki Craze. Brown Sugar is a trio of shimmery shades in a champagne, soft taupey gold and deeper taupe. All gorgeous. Khaki Craze is a shimmery off white, a shimmery coppery brown and a true shimmery khaki gold. Very pretty. All pigmented shades. Comes in a small compact. Highly recommend this line!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Timarie on 5/30/2006 7:14:00 PM more reviews by Timarie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am reviewing the Daytime Eyeshadow Kit. Oyster is a great neutral highlighting colour. I use Cappucino and Dark Seude for the crease, Dark Seude or Charcoal for a wet-eyeline, and Almond turns out to be wonderful for a subtle contour of my face. These colours are all very neutral, wearable, and give you enough options in mixing to achieve both natural and dramatic looks. I wish there is one shade between Cappucino and Dark Seude, but overall I'm really happy with it. The staying power as both eyeshadow and eyeliner is amazing. The brush is close to useless, good for touch-up I guess... but then the colours last so well there's hardly any need to!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dollbird on 4/10/2006 5:49:00 PM more reviews by dollbird

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I have this in Crushed Ice, a brownish grey. Looks so beautiful on my yellow-toned olive skin and is perfect for a smokey eye. Color lasts and lasts on my oily eyelids. A bit pricey (CAD$23) but worth paying for such a distinct, high-quality color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nakobear on 3/23/2006 4:05:00 PM more reviews by nakobear

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I just recently got into Jane Iredale's makeup and soon found myself looking at her eye shadows as well. I got Cappuccino and Dusk. Cappuccino is a matte medium tan/brown shade and is great as a crease color. Dusk is a shimmery denim blue-ish shade with purple. Both eye shadows have wonderful texture and blend well and they also wear well. I will definitely be looking into more of JI's eye shadows.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jane Iredale products

More Eye Shadow products