Murad • Oil-Control Mattifier • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(159 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 laurenheartsmakeup on 5/22/2013 1:34:00 PM more reviews by laurenheartsmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Words cannot describe how much I FREAKING hate this stuff. I was looking for something that would control my oily t-zone when I wore makeup, which is basically everyday. The directions told me to apply liberally so I did. Big mistake. About a week or two after I started using this as part of my regular routine, I started getting ugly breakouts. I even broke out on my forehead and cheeks which was weird because I usually only get breakouts on the lower half of my face. My chin was awful! The pimples I got were the deep, under the skin kind that you can't really pop. They were painful and embarrassing. All I wanted was to control my oil but instead I just got massive breakouts everywhere which are still healing from after 3 weeks of not using this product.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rydellpink on 5/7/2013 1:00:00 PM more reviews by rydellpink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I don't use this as a moisturizer. I use it as a primer. It works well on my skin, and I like that it has SPF. It keeps my skin from looking oily.

It can be drying, so I use a heavy cream at night. I haven't had any issues with breakouts from this product. I have been using it for several months and will continue to use it this summer.

The tube is large and will last a long time. I have already bought a back up of this product since I like it so much.

I paid $39.50 for mine at Sephora.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 austinxbradley on 4/15/2013 2:35:00 PM more reviews by austinxbradley

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I went to Seophora and got my makeup done, they used this primer and it worked great!
I suffer with oily skin and they gave me a sample, so my sister wanted to use it too.
It worked amazing on both of us. We went Sephora a few days later and spent $45 on ONE tube. First few weeks was AMAZING, then it slowly stopped working.
My face usually gets oily and shiney around 10 to 11 a.m.
But, this primer made it last until about 4 p.m.!
But one to two months later it just stopped working!
Me and my sister were both pissed. I use it ocasionally, but it's not the same as it was. I wouldn't waste my money on this, But if your skin is not too oily, try it out.
My tube of this is still full.
What a waste of $45.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 3/20/2013 10:45:00 AM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have extremely oily skin naturally...although it's been quite dry since I've started aggressively treating some hormonal acne (with Murad's acne kit) and this lotion was simply too matte. I couldn't even wear it, it was difficult to spread and started flaking when I tried to blend makeup over it. Oh well!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrrUrr on 2/1/2013 11:45:00 AM more reviews by UrrUrr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ooh great product, works well on me to control the oilies. (disclaimer: I have normal skin that tends to oil up only towards the end of the day) However I do not think that this is a good standalone moisturiser. Even though the instructions seem to imply that this can be used as a moisturiser, I feel that it is more of a mattifier. It is very "dry" and has no slip. Therefore, I apply another moisturiser beneath it and put this mattifier on as the last step of my skincare routine.

Less is more for this. I use only a little for my entire face. If I over apply, my skin will peel around my nose. The smell doesn't bother me and I do not find it strong. It dissipates pretty quickly, in less than a minute.

I like this so much that I have ditched my primers. I use this as a primer now. My foundation can last for more than 12h and still look decently fresh. (not perfect, of course but ok without touchups) In fact, I used a primer over it the other day (Benefit's Pore-fessional) and I thought that my skin was worse off as it turned even oilier than usual towards the end of the day.

I like Murad's products and I am slowly switching over even though they are expensive (and way marked up in my country) I would totally buy this again but I'm guessing this tube I have will last me for about a year :D

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Skatax2 on 12/17/2012 4:40:00 AM more reviews by Skatax2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I ordered this online, since it's not available in my country, without trying it first based on its great reviews. I've been using this over my regular moisturizer every morning for the past 8 months as a mattifier and I can't say I am impressed with the results.. Apart from the strong smell many reviewers have mentioned I find myself blotting after 3-4 hours after using this.. I even tried using this alone as a moisturizer and I find it not so moisturizing not even during summer!! I don't see the point in bying this product again, it's not working for me, it's not cheap and it smells weird.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MissHippo on 12/4/2012 2:39:00 AM more reviews by MissHippo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Besides heavy duty sunscreen and milk of magnesia, this has been the only product that can somewhat control my VERY oily skin. When I blot my face, I see in visible reduction in oil in the first 1-2 hours compared to bare skin. However, after the 1-2 hours has elapsed, my skin is back to its original oiliness and I see no difference in oil production after that. For those with combo to oily skin, this product can do the trick. But for those with VERY oily skin such as myself, I'm looking elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lepoe on 11/18/2012 3:06:00 AM more reviews by lepoe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have very oily skin and even when I use primer, my skin will take on that oily sheen. I asked my dermatologist what she would recommend, because I was tired of my makeup always looking bad coming off (let's face it, makeup isn't cheap). She recommeded Murad's Oil Control Mattifier. I left her office and went to Sephora. There, I got enough samples to last me 2 weeks. For 2 weeks, I tried the product and watched as my makeup started looking better after the makeup having been on for a while. I purchased a tube of it and haven't looked back. I have been using it for almost 2 years now and it still continues to be a fantastic product for me. I will say that I have to exfoliate my skin 2 times a week and use a deep pore mask every 2 weeks. This is pretty normal for me, but since using Murad, I find that I get just a smidge more junk out of my pores, but not much.

I would definitely recommed this product to anyone!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* viennah on 11/17/2012 10:31:00 PM more reviews by viennah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

At first I hated this. It has a sticky glue-like consistency. But its fine once you get used to it. It's not super mattifying, that would be a stretch, but it also doesn't make me look all greasy and oily as other sunscreens. It works nicely as a primer too. Since its SPF 15 it is prefect for regular wear, but I prefer a higher SPF if I'm spending the entire day in the sun at the height of summer. So far, my favorite sunscreen, but I;m very tempted to try samples of other brands before I repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jjenellinora on 11/6/2012 11:56:00 PM more reviews by jjenellinora

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily/combo skin and this product didn't make a noticeable difference. It's thick and like a reviewer mentioned, has the consistency of Elmer's Glue. Neutrogena's shine-control primer works better for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Moisturizers products