Murad • Oil-Control Mattifier • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(153 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 MissHippo on 12/4/2012 2:39:00 AM more reviews by MissHippo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Besides heavy duty sunscreen and milk of magnesia, this has been the only product that can somewhat control my VERY oily skin. When I blot my face, I see in visible reduction in oil in the first 1-2 hours compared to bare skin. However, after the 1-2 hours has elapsed, my skin is back to its original oiliness and I see no difference in oil production after that. For those with combo to oily skin, this product can do the trick. But for those with VERY oily skin such as myself, I'm looking elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lepoe on 11/18/2012 3:06:00 AM more reviews by lepoe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have very oily skin and even when I use primer, my skin will take on that oily sheen. I asked my dermatologist what she would recommend, because I was tired of my makeup always looking bad coming off (let's face it, makeup isn't cheap). She recommeded Murad's Oil Control Mattifier. I left her office and went to Sephora. There, I got enough samples to last me 2 weeks. For 2 weeks, I tried the product and watched as my makeup started looking better after the makeup having been on for a while. I purchased a tube of it and haven't looked back. I have been using it for almost 2 years now and it still continues to be a fantastic product for me. I will say that I have to exfoliate my skin 2 times a week and use a deep pore mask every 2 weeks. This is pretty normal for me, but since using Murad, I find that I get just a smidge more junk out of my pores, but not much.

I would definitely recommed this product to anyone!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* viennah on 11/17/2012 10:31:00 PM more reviews by viennah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

At first I hated this. It has a sticky glue-like consistency. But its fine once you get used to it. It's not super mattifying, that would be a stretch, but it also doesn't make me look all greasy and oily as other sunscreens. It works nicely as a primer too. Since its SPF 15 it is prefect for regular wear, but I prefer a higher SPF if I'm spending the entire day in the sun at the height of summer. So far, my favorite sunscreen, but I;m very tempted to try samples of other brands before I repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jjenellinora on 11/6/2012 11:56:00 PM more reviews by jjenellinora

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily/combo skin and this product didn't make a noticeable difference. It's thick and like a reviewer mentioned, has the consistency of Elmer's Glue. Neutrogena's shine-control primer works better for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mceja29 on 11/2/2012 5:25:00 PM more reviews by mceja29

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

From the first time I used this product I completely fell in love with it. I have super oily skin and nothing ever helped combat that problem, until I tried this product. I love how it works under make-up; although I would start to see some shine after a couple hours, it was never to the extent that it would with other products. Because of its price I was using it only when I put on make-up, which is occasionally. HOWEVER, about a month ago I started using it on a daily basis. BAD IDEA!!! It clogged my pores and broke me out really bad on my cheeks and forehead. On top of visible red pimples, I started to get those tiny under-the-skin blemishes. WHICH I NEVER HAD! I was so frustrated beacuse not only were they visible even through my make-up, but my face felt so rough! It took me a while to figure out that it was this product because I had started using other new products around the same time. I started removing the products one by one from my skin regimen and nothing seemed to change. Finally, this week I decided to stop using this mattifier and my skin is finally starting to get a bit better. I am so disappointed because it does such a good job with my oiliness. But I'd rather have oily skin than bumps on my face!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Juliet7781 on 10/3/2012 9:56:00 AM more reviews by Juliet7781

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I've used this for about 4 months now. I don't really see any reduction in shine and still need to blot about the same number of times per day. I will not repurchase when I run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 RedLipsCatEyes on 10/2/2012 9:56:00 AM more reviews by RedLipsCatEyes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This felt more like a regular moisturizer than a mattifyer. My skin ended up shinier than normal by mid day. I haven't experienced that oiliness since switching away from this product - even with the use of pure oils and heavier moisturizers. Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alicia14787 on 9/19/2012 3:36:00 PM more reviews by alicia14787

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I was hopeful this would be the answer to my oily skin prayers.....unfortunately it wasn't. I got a sample of this from Sephora, it lasted me approx 5 days, so I feel that I gave this a good try. It's a mattifier, it should work right away, right? My face would be matte right away, however about 2 hours later I was an oily mess as I usually am about 2 hours after applying my makeup. Essentially it made no difference. For the price, this product should AT LEAST keep me matte for a few hours. I highly advise anyone to try a sample before buying, based on reviews it seems to work for some people but not all. So make sure you try it before spending the $40.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kachan13 on 9/8/2012 1:30:00 AM more reviews by kachan13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Based on the amount of good reviews here, I decided to get a tester of the product. I was really excited because not a lot of products here on MUA are available in-store in Asian countries. The smell wasn't a big issue for me, as the elmer's glue scent just made me laugh (reminded me of childhood). But as much as I wanted to love this product, it just didn't work for my super oily skin after 1 week of usage.
PROs:
-has tea tree
-has SPF
-did not break me out
CONs:
-almost no oil-control (after 1 hour, oil was coming through; after 2-3 hours, I was a greaseball)
-did not work at all as a primer. I tried it with a bb cream on top but after a few hours I looked like a cakey oily mess and had to wipe everything off. I resorted to just using it with oil-control powder, but still no luck.

I guess it was really more of a hit-or-miss--it works for many people, just not for me. In the end, I gave it 2 lippies because of the pros, but on my skin it really didn't do what it claimed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elena1981 on 8/21/2012 10:09:00 AM more reviews by Elena1981

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It is one of the best mattifiers Iíve used. I live in Malta where the weather is very hot in summer. Moreover, the humidity is high here. So for me it was really difficult to find a mattifier that would work for at least a couple of hours. But now I found what I had been looking for so long time.
This mattifier has a rich consistency but it is quickly absorbed into the skin. It moisturizes very well and at the same time it keeps the breakouts under control (I believe it is because of willow bark extract).
Don't expect your skin will look mat like after applying powder or foundation with mat finish.This mattifier gives a healthy glow (don't mix it up with oily shining). It controls oil production for almost the whole day. And another benefit is UVA/UVB protection - SPF15. It costed me 38 euro (for 50ml.) and I believe it will last for around 4 months. I love this product and I believe it's worth to give it a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Moisturizers products