John Frieda • Root Awakening Strength Restoring Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.5(78 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 VOGUEx on 3/21/2011 2:43:00 AM more reviews by VOGUEx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

made me breakout on my head!! and a lil on my face...wanted to believe this wasn't the cause..but didn't happen when i used other shampoos!! the line is bad...i tried the others..still broke me out!! dont buy!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anna0banana on 2/26/2011 12:28:00 AM more reviews by anna0banana

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this shampoo since December and so far I am very happy! I noticed an immidiate difference after using this for the first time. My hair was a lot less frizzy and looked shiny (the good kind of shiny like in shampoo commercials) and super healthy. I love the refreshing herbally-minty smell: which isn't too overwhelming but enough to wake you up if you shower in the morning or relax you if you shower at night. I also love the packaging because it is a very easily squeezable tube which makes it easy to get it out once you start running low on it. I think this shampoo is really kind of a bridge between drugstore shampoos and expensive salon shampoos which reflects in its quality and price. Definetly reccommend!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kittybearchiyo on 12/26/2010 2:11:00 AM more reviews by kittybearchiyo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this for a few weeks now, after I ran out of my favorite shampoo and the store I was at didn't carry it.

I love the scent. It's a sweet, minty herbal smell. It doesn't linger much in your hair once it's dry, but I don't like heavily scented products; it's strong enough to be refreshing while you're in the bath/shower, but still light.

It lathers fairly well, and the tube is nice; I like tubes more than bottles though, so that's just my preference. It did seem like not much for the price, but I don't normally pay much for shampoo. It was still reasonably cheap though.

I'm not sure how much it lives up to it's "strength-restoring" claims, since my hair isn't very damaged, but my hair always feels soft and full after I use it, and I have seen a difference the the amount of breakage. I haven't noticed any buildup, either. I'm trying to grow my hair out, so hopefully it's making a difference.

Haven't seen anything dramatic or amazing from this, but it's definitely a good shampoo.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skandelouslala on 12/23/2010 12:15:00 AM more reviews by skandelouslala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I'll admit I'm kind of a hair care snob. Not the point of spending $40 bucks on a shampoo but I tend to shy away from drugstore hair care lines. But I decided to give this shampoo a try anyways. Really super surprised with how much I like it. It smells really good, more minty than eucalyptus. It lathers really good, rinses cleans and when combined with a good conditioner it leaves my hair really soft and healthy and looking. My hair has felt lighter and more voluminous since I started using this a few weeks ago.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TinaGreece on 12/17/2010 11:32:00 AM more reviews by TinaGreece

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This shampoo really, really worked well on my over-processed hair. It made it so thick and full! - That was a first. My hair looked in great shape with this. I then decided to venture onto the JF Root Awakening Nourishing Moisture Shampoo which was such a let down! (left my hair so dry and feeling unclean) I was so surprised at what a vast contrast the two had. Anyhow, will definitely re-purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lashesandlace on 9/23/2010 12:18:00 AM more reviews by lashesandlace

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I got this shampoo, the conditioner and the smoothing lotion in the mail as a free sample. Normally I don't use drug store S&C, but I got sucked in by the eucalyptus. This stuff smells great, and lathers alright. That's where the pros stop for this shampoo. Together with the other products, this was a disaster for my hair. I used all the products as suggested, and then air dried. My hair looked dull, felt dry and crispy, yet it had a waxy coating and felt fake. When I went to wash it out the next day, my hair got slimy, and that wouldn't rinse out, so I shampooed with my regular product and my hair still felt slimy and coated, so I ended up clarifying 3-4 times to get the crap out of my hair. My hair was a mess. I've had to do several protein and conditioning treatments to try and restore my hair. I've lost most of my color, these products were a huge mistake. What a disaster!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peacelovepatchouli on 9/14/2010 8:24:00 PM more reviews by peacelovepatchouli

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this shampoo! The eucalyptus scent is incredible, so sweet and minty, yet not overpowering (get the hint, herbal essences!). My hair is fried to the core and this shampoo, combined with the conditioner, detangling root lifting spray, smoothing lotion and hairspray makes my hair look SUPER SHINY, although my split ends still show. Can't say anything bad about this shampoo!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 leahnc on 9/5/2010 10:14:00 AM more reviews by leahnc

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

After two weeks - Im not a fan!

Pros: It lathers nice & I like the smell!

Cons: I used both the shampoo & conditioner in this line. After two weeks of using these products, my hair is very dull and frizzy! I did not notice any difference to my roots either? I will not purchase again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* celevia on 8/4/2010 12:42:00 PM more reviews by celevia

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

i love this shampoo along with its matching conditioner!! it cleanses my hair so well without leaving it feeling striped..the shampoo has a very refreshing herbal smell,,and it makes my scalp feel a little tangling (in a good way) and cooling..i love the scent and how it feels on my hair,,not sure about how it awakens the roots and strengthens the hair though..it will probably help if you want to grow your hair out since the tangling and cooling sensation could help somewhat with circulation,,but if your hair is already damaged like mine,,i don't think it will do any miracles to reverse the damage

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* barberree on 8/1/2010 4:24:00 PM more reviews by barberree

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

this shampoo is great for my hair, and the only reason it's not HG is because it didn't control my oily scalp and breakouts (for that, i use my new HG shampoo, the new shampoo bar by Lush called "New!").. however, it does help nourish the roots, as is evidenced by healthier growth (used with the Root Awakening scalp spray). also, my fine, thin hair (much of which I lost last year due to my crash Atkin's Diet before a Hawaiian trip) most always looked thicker, fluffier, and extremely healthy after a wash.

you can often find great sales on this line at Walgreen's, so watch your circulars. i also love the convenient flip-top, which saves product, keeps product fresher, and is easy for wet hands to manipulate.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Shampoo products