MAC • Studio Finish Concealer • Concealers

rated 3.8(2057 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 seristoff on 2/22/2014 10:10:00 AM more reviews by seristoff

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Okie. This is a super hard product to review because it does work well, but not exactly for what I was looking for.

For me, I have already found a concealer that works AMAZING for my acne, but I decided to branch out a little more.

This product is great great GREAT for covering small dark spots, redness, and light acne scarring.

But the main use I wanted from this product was to cover up my blemishes.

Even though this works EXTREMELY well for dark spots, redness and light acne scarring, it just isn't targeted for blemishes.

But because it worked extremely well for the dark spots, redness, and acne scarring, I will repurchase :)

A cheap and very good drugstore product that I keep coming back to for my concealer for blemishes is the Canmake Cover & Stretch Concealer UV Water Proof! So amazing, and a HG drugstore for concealing acne!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blairpeony on 2/17/2014 8:19:00 AM more reviews by blairpeony

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I was looking for something to cover my red acne spots and some acne scars I have been left with.I wanted something that was light and didn't look and feel heavy.I didn't want to buy a foundation so I started searching for a concealer.Of course MAC was on the top of the list because it's the only brand that can match my super fair skin-I'm NC15 and it's the only place I can get a product that matches exactly my skintone.
I had heard about Studio finish concealer and many people I knew were also raving about it.I started searching on the internet and came across great reviews aswell.So long story short I decided to buy it.I was also thinking about getting Pro Longwear concealer but the reviews left me very skeptical also-a glass packaging?? that's a no no.
The mua matched me of course to NC15 because i wanted it for my face.I happened to go to MAC when they were having sales so I got it for 13euros instead of 18.At first the tiny tiny little pot surprised me-negatively because it's really very very small.I thought-yeah maybe it's going to last me 2 months.But the quantity you get...wow.I've been using it for almost a month 5-6 times a week and it looks like I haven't even touched it.
I swirl my finger in it to warm it up a little bit because yes it's very thick and then apply it to my face -patting it and pushing it into my skin.The smell is classic MAC face products-not bothersome.Once I apply it it disappears into my skin and it doesn't feel heavy at all.
It covers perfectly.really.anything-my red spots-my acne scars-bumps,redness.I was truly amazed at how flawless my face looked.The only bad thing about this concealer is that once you touch your face ,it spreads on your fingers-yes I know.It doesn't fade completely but be careful.you shouldn't touch your face anyway.On my very oily skin it lasts and lasts a lot of hours.Moreover,to the people who say that it is cakey you probably use way too much product and top with a lot of powder. I tried it and it does cake with lots of powder.However with a normal amount of dusting it looks amazing-flawless and natural.
Great stuff if you have skin issues.
hope it was helpful:) good luck:))
ps: Make sure you MOISTURIZE THOROUGHLY just before applying this.Otherwise you have to tug your skin and it doesn't apply that good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cjhalfthai on 2/16/2014 10:24:00 PM more reviews by cjhalfthai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

NW25 is my HG. :) I used to be a fan of concealers that were two shades lighter than my skin tone. (I'm an NC30 if this might help). But when I went to try MAC Studio Finish concealer, I was surprised that the saleslady recommended NW25. It was nothing like my old concealers and it looks a little beigy when applied against my skin. She said I'm gonna need that because it has color-correcting properties.

She was right, I loved the product so much! I realized I didn't need a concealer that would highlight my undereye to give it a lift. This was the right concealer and it hides my flaws in a natural manner, one that doesn't look overdone.

The packaging is also nice, it's a small compact that I can bring in my purse. But don't underestimate its size. Coz one compact can last me a year (I use it everyday).

Although this is a bit dry, I put on eyecream first then use my fingers to apply the concealer very very lightly. I can't live without this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yesimadancer on 2/5/2014 2:30:00 AM more reviews by yesimadancer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Relaxed   Eyes: Blue    

I love love LOVE this concealer. Totally worth the money. Will definitely repurchase. Some reviews say they find it cakes up or settles into fine lines. I dont have that at all. I use a little bit and just apply it with my fingers because I like how it looks. I use this for undereyes ( never creased before - ITS SO GREAT! ) and on blemishes. This stuff covers pretty much anything. If its not completely 100% covering, just add some powder and you're good to go.

I dont wear foundation daily, just concealer and powder and the coverage is good enough to not need anything more- for me at least.
If you're wondering whether or not to buy it, BUY IT! You wont regret it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 megraupach on 1/31/2014 7:36:00 AM more reviews by megraupach

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This concealer had amazing pigmentation, which was perfect for covering all of my blemishes! It did look a little cakey if too much was put on and stuck to any dry, flaky bits of skin. I thought it was excellent until I realised that this concealer that I was using to cover my blemishes, was causing me to break out crazily. The pimples were increasing in the areas where I had concealed. I had very painful and inflamed acne. It was the worst my skin had ever been and since I stopped using it, my acne has subsided. The Mac Studio Fix Foundation also causes me to break out, unfortunately. This had the potential to be a great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wixter on 1/26/2014 10:47:00 AM more reviews by wixter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This concealer works wonders to cover redness on my face and over blemishes. It's a very thick, pigmented, and full-coverage concealer. It does have SPF in it, but I like that since my skin is very pale and I burn easily.

I use and angled brush, the Sigma E65, to apply this concealer.

Although this product works well for hiding the redness on blemishes that I might have, this concealer is vert thick and settles into the lines around the blemish. It can be very distracting and unsightly. I use a very light hand when applying this to raised blemishes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Annelindw on 1/26/2014 10:17:00 AM more reviews by Annelindw

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This concealer is great! I have NW15, which is a tiny bit too dark - but I still use it all the time. It is a concealer with great coverage! I use a brush to dab it onto trouble areas, which works very well. It can be a little dry, but I don't think it's that bad. This concealer can cover up almost anything I think.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 woodenshoe on 1/21/2014 10:58:00 PM more reviews by woodenshoe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Normally I don't like to use Mac concealers and foundations because they break me out like crazy. This one is an exception to the rule though.

It's easy to apply, not overly oily and it is not that difficult to find a colour that matches your skin tone. Another important aspect is the fact that this concealer does NOT cause break outs, at least in my case. I don't think it lasts that long but it hasn't completely disappeared after a few hours either. I like to use it to cover dark under eye circles but I agree with a previous reviewer that it may crease a little when used as an under eye concealer. The trick is to use a moisturizing eye cream and to avoid applying too much.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 steffyashley on 1/21/2014 11:32:00 AM more reviews by steffyashley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I recently purchased a pot of these as a supplement concealer for my current (thinning) makeup palette. With my fair-medium complexion, the makeup artist at MAC's counter recommended an NC20 to me. I also requested that she gave me the 'thickest' and 'best for covering blemishes' concealer, and she immediately recommended this one, as compared to the other concealers from MAC.

I've worn this several times and believe I should write a review about it.

Pros:
- The staying power is very good. It is not magnificent (ie will not budge no matter what horrible weather it is put through), but it stayed there for almost 10 hours on my face.
- Consistency. I am biased for this type of creamy-but-not-too-creamy concealers. I usually prefer to use my concealer brush for application as compared to fingers, though I found that the end result is not much different.
- Coverage is good. I do not have any red acne / acne scars right now, so I can't say for sure, but I do have two black/dark acne scars. It covered quite well, so I can't see the scars unless I really zoom in to look at it. I suppose that means most people looking at my face won't notice the scars at all. I was wearing this on top of a very light coverage foundation.
- SPF! Mine, at least came with an SPF of 35, which I believe is a very good addition, because it helps your (dark) scars heal and not be exposed to harmful sunlight.
- Packaging is light and simple, as expected of MAC products. I think it also has a fair bit of products, and considering what a long way a little of this goes, I'm guessing it will last me quite some times.
-Good match. The NC20 disappears to my skin, in a good, imperfection-covering way.

Cons:
- Under-eye wear. It's just my preference, but I like creamier concealers for under-eyes, because I find this type harder to put on and slightly creasing. However, this is just my preference I guess.

Verdict:
Not the perfect (cover absolutely everything) concealer, but have never used a better one either. I have used Benefit's Erase Paste, Too Faced's No Makeup Makeup Palette Concealer (though the color's not that right), Body Shop's concealer, and several drugstore concealers. So far this is the best I've come across! I recommend this for people with no severe imperfections and have other options for their under-eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sbendel on 1/13/2014 5:56:00 PM more reviews by sbendel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Although this can be slightly drying (I have dry skin to begin with), this is the best concealer I've tried to mask imperfections on my face. I recently experienced a very bad breakout all over my skin and although it is currently cleared up, I still have some little red marks/scars. This completely hides them and evens out my discoloration. I suggest using an NC as opposed to NW if you're looking to hide redness or acne marks on your face - I've found that it better conceals my scarring and cancels out the pinky/red tones, but that's just me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Concealers products