MAC • Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(1079 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 skywardwishes on 4/25/2014 8:44:00 PM more reviews by skywardwishes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I visited my local MAC counter to try out a foundation, and the saleswoman helped me choose one to sample. I wanted a fairly thick foundation that wouldn't cake up and that I could use with my beauty blender.
The problems started at the color matching, where the lightest shade they offer is Nc/Nw 15. NC15 was too cool for my skin tone, so we went with NW15. I noticed a strange smell when she was color matching me, but I appributed it to the makeup remover she used on the lower half of my face.
I work in a hot environment and my usual foundation (the Covergirl Clean Whipped) has a tendency to rub off around my nose. I was hoping this foundation would stay put without being too noticable, but I was in for a shock...
First, when I applied it it blended well, however the smell was nearly unbearable. The foundation never set enough to comfortbly apply powder on top (I like a matte face), so that made my face look cakey at the start of the day. I was willing to try another day until I went to reapply my lipstick after my lunch break. I was so horrified to find out that the foundation had settled into the tiny creases under my eyes, exaggerate every dry patch on my face, and even creased on my forehead (Where the skin has NO wrinkles). To make matters worse, the foundation ended up turning an AWFUL orange color that was far too dark for my skin tone. And yes, the foundation on my nose ended up rubbing off anyways.
I'm so glad I only got the sample of this, I would have returned it immediately.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CosmoJunkie24 on 4/19/2014 10:13:00 AM more reviews by CosmoJunkie24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination, acne prone skin with acne scars and visual pores. I usually only breakout on my checks. this foundation is one of my favorites. because the foundation leaves a Dewey look. I use studio sculpt when my face is feeling dry. yes it is a but tricky to blend, however where there is a will there is a way. I spray the fix+ spray over the foundation as I am blending it in and it does the trick. another thing I do is, I use the strobe cream over my primer. Again, first I apply primer then the strobe cream. I wait about fifteen minutes. after fifteen minutes I apply the fountain with an angled brush. if foundation feels too thick I spray fix+ to soften it up a little. I reapply in areas where more coverage is needed. once foundation has dried about 15 minutes I set make up with Mac pressed powder. this product does deliver a dewy look I do not use it for long days nor in hot days. this is a product I use usually any season except summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Ravenn on 4/3/2014 9:22:00 AM more reviews by Ravenn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Tried this foundation out at the MAC counter. It's perfect in terms of matching to my skin color and the consistency is lovely for my skin. That's where the positives end. I tried this foundation on my jaw and my forehead, and I broke out BAD in those spots a day later. I'm only grateful I didn't buy this product, so I didn't waste any money on it. So far, I've just had the worst skin reactions to MAC products. So I'm totally staying away from MAC from here on out. Just a warning to others who have very sensitive skin like I do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makeupjie on 4/1/2014 12:57:00 AM more reviews by makeupjie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

My first M.A.C product. Along with the natural powder with white packaging. Brought them two or three years ago. The SA did color match for me, but only turned out to be too orangey and yellow! And base makeup broke me out. And what is worse, the foundation stick to my dry patches (combination skin). I then changed to chanel vitalumiere aqua, and no more break outs (at least not caused by makeup). This experience keeps me away from M.A.C product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Eliana0923 on 3/25/2014 12:42:00 PM more reviews by Eliana0923

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

This product really does what it says it's going to do, love it, gives a nice dewy-ness and it's perfect to apply with a dampened sponge or brush and stays on, the shades are nice and it really gives full coverage, although I wouldn't recommened this for people with dry skin as it may just bring out the dryness (patches) more than even before they're was any foundation put on, other than that it is a good product and would def. recommend to people with normal skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jackierose1987 on 3/14/2014 8:56:00 PM more reviews by Jackierose1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is kinda eh to me. In macs pro longwear im a nc15, but this seems to run light. After I put my powder over top its fine, but thats annoying.

This foundation is very thick in texture (it is a gel base) but it feels heavy on my skin. Its also more sheer, which I find kind of strange for its consistency and feel. It is buildable though. I'd say its for drier skin types as it is very dewy and needs to be set. And I like dewy foundation. I even use a dewy setting spray, but this is very damp looking at first.

Overall, if you dont mind a heavier feeling foundation and like a dewy look this is great. I wouldnt wear it in the summer, but for our dry MN winters its nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 abbeywalt on 3/14/2014 4:58:00 AM more reviews by abbeywalt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Its reallllly thick, basically a mouse like consistency. I think its fine if you want to go out clubbing or something, but only just.

Personally I wouldn't go for something that is kind of consistency and instead choose something like studiofix foundation which I believe to be more blendable.

For its price, I just really would never repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Melldy on 3/8/2014 2:05:00 AM more reviews by Melldy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Worst high market brand product I have ever used!! How is this so popular?
There is so much wrong with this product I decided to list them:

1. The colours are terrible (either yellow or orange)
2. It sets badly into fine lines!
3. It does not blend very well
4. the hrydating one sits on your skin and the normal one dries you out
5. Increases the look of your pores
6. Smuges off everywhere
7. Becomes a shiny waxy veal
8. Makes you look like an overly made up clown
9. Has a funky smell
10. Makes you break out
This is just really terrible product and as the day goes on it just gets worse and worse

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katybeth on 3/7/2014 5:45:00 PM more reviews by katybeth

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

No foundation looks good on me! None! I have searched high and low, everything sinks into my pores and covers none of my blemishes. This is AMAZING! I've finally found a foundation that I can confidentially wear out knowing it's making my skin look 10x better! It does cling to dry patches though, so ensure to moisturise before application. I think I've find my hg foundation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nitajune on 3/5/2014 11:45:00 PM more reviews by nitajune

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation. It has a beautiful texture that is lovely and soft on your skin and almost feels like skincare. I really like that for the level of coverage it provides (medium buildable to full in my opinion) it is really light on the skin. It applies really well with just fingertips and it blends really well into the skin, almost melting in. The NW20 matches my skin perfectly. It love the dewy finish it has which is hard to get with fuller coverage usually. I hardly ever buy the same thing twice even if I really like it but I will be with this!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products