E.L.F. • Studio Powder Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.7(1358 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.94%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aspiecutie on 3/15/2014 12:56:00 PM more reviews by aspiecutie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The ELF Powder Brush is a CULT CLASSIC and so much has already been said. Most people end up switching to Real Techniques but I've stuck with this brush for some very long time. It is the best.

To give a bit of a background, I started with synthetic brushes but slowly graduated to natural hair ones. Good quality natural brushes are more expensive but they are better at picking up and blending powder product. Nevertheless, for powder foundation on top of my sunscreen I prefer a synthetic brush. I have oily skin and use powder foundation over a generous application of sunscreen. A powder removes shine and goes better with my skin type. The flat shape of this brush picks up well from a pressed powder surface but can also be used to block the sifter of a loose powder tub as you turn it upside down. Getting powder directly on the brush is neater and there is no waste of product. Because it is flat and large, I can use it to pat powders on my face very much like I would do with a classic powder puff. Unlike Real Techniques brushes, the black bristles make it easy to see how much product is present and if it is uniformly distributed on the brush.

Feeling bad that my most used tool was also the cheapest, I was looking forward for the new MUFE Synthetic Brushes to come out. Unfortunately none of them was quite right. They were either too big, too small, too dense.. and not flat. In terms of design the Sephora Pro Buffing Brush #62 is very similar but I don't want part of my sunscreen be absorbed by the natural hair. I rather set it all first with a synthetic brush and then use natural brushes for highlight, bronzer and blush.

I've used my brush daily for longer than I can remember. I deep clean it regularly, each week at least twice. Considering the use this brush gets it is not bad. By the way, instead of Super Glue I suggest Gorilla Glue. It expands in volume and is one of the few glues that is actually water activated and works well on wood-metal. In a few words, it's the ideal glue for a brush.

----------------
HINT: The ELF Angled Blush Brush is the perfect companion to this brush. The Powder Brush covers large areas fast, while the Angled Blush Brush is useful for small areas like the nose, eyes, and ears. It is such a great match!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Colorblint on 3/12/2014 8:57:00 PM more reviews by Colorblint

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

HG foundation brush!!! Only $3.00 and works like a $50 brush. I use it with my revlon colorstay or Estée Lauder doublewear foundation for that flawless, airbrushed look. If my makeup is a little thick I spray it with some MAC fix plus and voila'....perfect coverage!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 liannaTX on 3/8/2014 8:33:00 PM more reviews by liannaTX

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this brush to apply foundation. Perfect coverage, perfect finish, perfect price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Cr3m3 on 3/8/2014 7:11:00 PM more reviews by Cr3m3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have 2 of these brushes......love it for my liquid foundations. Great application.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 siaf on 3/1/2014 7:36:00 PM more reviews by siaf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is definately the BEST brush ever. Never will I spend my money (i've spent over 100 or more on brushes) on any other brush than this one. It is so soft on my skin and doesnt shed on me. I definately recommend this to anyone thats looking for a brush that'll last.

IM SO HAPPY!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pictureperfect09 on 2/16/2014 4:34:00 AM more reviews by pictureperfect09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I had this brush for a year before I realized it is actually fabulous. At first I used it for powders, sweeping it over my skin instead of pressing or buffing. Silly girl. I also paid too much attention to the label, because once I tried it with liquid foundation I was blown over. I love how easy this makes stippling on foundation and it is EXCELLENT for buffing the foundation. I do like the finish my Beauty Blender gives, but I don't think it adheres the foundation to the skin as well as a brush like this can. I feel like my makeup looks nicer for longer with this brush. It is super easy to control the amount of coverage you want by applying a thin first layer of foundation and then the smoothness of the application allows additional layers to blend seamlessly.
It's easy to clean, which was a relief to me. I expected it to soak up a lot of product because of how cheap it is, but no!
The only con is the packaging. Since I've had this for about a year the handle has come off. It's annoying because I take care not to let water get into the handle when I was my brushes, but I reapplied it with super glue.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladykay09 on 2/16/2014 4:15:00 AM more reviews by ladykay09

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Best buy great brush awesome for foundation and blush etc.... !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nova0407 on 2/11/2014 6:00:00 AM more reviews by Nova0407

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Sooooo impressed with this brush! I'm kinda late on it but I bought this brush along with other elf products on the website on cyber Monday because they had a 50% off everything! This is $6 so I only payed $3 for it (SUCH A STEAL!) I didn't expect it to be so soft and dense. Works great with powder and liquid foundations. This brush is worth the hype! Must have! and if I may add, the Elf kabuki brush is REALLY GOOD TOO! Super soft!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KarmaEls on 2/10/2014 7:31:00 AM more reviews by KarmaEls

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is your solution for an airbrush looking foundation. And it cheap, look kinda expensive and work as well as the pricier brush. I used it for a long time before I decided to switch to a more natural look. It works if you want a more of a medium - full coverage face. For a more natural look and BB cream, I dont know if it work. I never use it for powder, so I have no idea how it work in that way

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EboniBrandon on 2/9/2014 8:09:00 PM more reviews by EboniBrandon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

My go to foundation brush for liquids. The bristles are nice and soft but still have good density. Better for buffing than stippling. It does not soak up too much product so a little foundation goes a long way and it washes out very easily. A few quick massages in soapy water and voila! clean brush! I've got two of these lovelies in my make up bag; one for foundation and one for use with pressed powders. This brush is truly affordable and delivers. Get one and try it out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Makeup Brushes products