Cover Girl • Simply Ageless • Crème

rated 3.5(425 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 3/20/2013 12:35:00 PM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know how or why, but this is the second CG foundation that just 'works' really well for me. I've been loving the Aqua Smooth creme compact foundation lately but the color was just off a tad, so I went to get another one in a different color. I saw this and thought it would be similar so I gave it a go. BTW - I'm about an NC20-25 right now and I chose Classic Ivory. It looks scary peachy-orange in the pan, but it blended out to match my skin quite well.

It is extremely similar, except BETTER. It doesn't make me as oily as the Aqua Smooth. It almost dries to a powder finish and if I'm not careful, I can easily look dried out once I powder over it. I use a misting spray before and after application and that really seemed to tame down any cakey-ness I experienced upon initial applications.

I don't have to use a ton of product at all, and it blends beautifully into my skin. I use a dense kabuki-style brush to apply because sponge-application never works well for me. Leaves a very natural finish. Not sure I buy all the skin-care hype they claim this product has, but overall its a nice foundation from the DS.

Some things I absolutely do not like - the packaging. Very hard to open initially and you get so little product! Along with that is the price. I think I paid $16 for this at Rite Aid. That's crazy high for any DS cosmetic item.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LisaOzzi on 3/5/2013 3:23:00 PM more reviews by LisaOzzi

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Have used this for a while now,,, and really like it. The coverage is great and it is quite easy to blend. I wet the sponge a little bit to apply. Do not have to use much either. I have pretty sensitive skin, yet this has never bother me or made me break out at all. If you are debating trying this, go ahead, you will not be disappointed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Margie23a on 3/4/2013 8:46:00 PM more reviews by Margie23a

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe I have not written a review of this yet, since I have been using it for the last few years. I do from time to time "stray" and try other brands, but tend to come back to this one. A few things I have learned about this product that might be helpful if you have not used it before:
- A little goes a loooooooooooong way. Don't cake it on. You don't need to. I find as I get older (I am 47) that I just need to lightly sweep my fingers across it and dab some where I need it, smooth, and I'm done. You do not need to put it on your face like putty. It will look fake and be too heavy.
- If you have wrinkles under your eyes, avoid putting it there or it may accentuate the wrinkles (like almost every other foundation does anyway.)
- It has somewhat of a matte finish, so you can do without powder if your skin is dry. I just powder my t-zone.
- It is an awesome eye shadow primer. Put a little of this on, top with pressed powder, then put on your shadow. Helps it go on smoothly and stay on longer. Sometimes I don't even put on a lid color. I just use this plus powder, then some liner and maybe a crease color.
- CVS and Walgreens have this buy one get one half off all the time. Wait for a sale and use coupons too.
- If other Cover Girl foundations have made you itch in the past or you had a reaction to them, try this one. I had issues with other CG foundations, but not this one.

Giving it 4 stars because I rarely give anything 5, but it's a keeper. Just don't glob it on.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jesuslovesyou1000 on 3/3/2013 6:50:00 PM more reviews by Jesuslovesyou1000

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

i LOVE THE WAY THIS PRODUCT LOOKS ON YOUR FACE. I have severe acne and ever since I bought this my acne has gone down and when I wear makeup it feels like i have nothing on and it covers the acne AMAZINGLY in one swipe. it's also nice because you don't have to spread it with your fingers, getting oil and dirt on your face.
amazing product but!!!!!!!!!.....
SOOOOOOOOOOO EXPENSIVE.
Where I live it costs $16.99 for only 12 g of stuff! it lasts like 1 or 2 weeks.... terrible!
if it was a lower price, even like $10 i would buy it more often. 17 dollars for that little tiny bit of stuff? Terrible pricing.
Although the product is great, the price is super high.
i will only buy this again for special occasions.. if the price was lower I would use this for the rest of my life!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 denaerea on 2/11/2013 8:04:00 PM more reviews by denaerea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am a 32 year old who's just recently decided to care more about the products I am wearing on my face and how they really work for me. In the past 2 weeks I have read an abundance of hints, tips, reviews, etc. Wow, apparently I've gone all these years with absolutely no proper knowledge of the various products and how to apply them! Being inspired by my new found knowledge, I am starting from scratch, hoping to build myself a new mix of cosmetics that I can love for years to come! And because this site has been so helpful to me, I would like to perhaps give a little back as I venture on with my search. On that note, this particular foundation is what you would have found in my make-up bag last week. I had been using this for 2 years, until now. Motivated to find something better, I certainly have! Simply Ageless has a nice texture, decent variety of shades, and looks good in the container, but the crème does dry and crack fairly quickly in the jar (if it's drying in the container, it's drying on your face). Also, compared to what I have been experimenting with lately, it is definitely heavy and hard to blend...especially if you have dry patches. Sometimes I even felt as though I looked somewhat "scaly". It was always mildly irritating on my sensitive skin, but like I said, I never did care a whole lot about it until now. I am starting to get fine lines and crow’s feet around my eyes and this product makes them all the more noticeable. I'm not sure why I used this for as long as I did and thought it was as good as it really isn't. Either way, onto better! I would not recommend this product, especially on aging, sensitive skin!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DeborahMcLaughlin on 2/8/2013 7:28:00 PM more reviews by DeborahMcLaughlin

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of the worst makeups I've ever used! It's cakey and doesn't blend well. Also, it dries out quickly and I ended up just throwing it into the trash! HUGE waste!

Note: I have combination skin; w/o break-outs or scars.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lyrastar on 2/8/2013 7:15:00 PM more reviews by lyrastar

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I liked this and I would buy it again.
I Had to buy two containers (soft honey and classic tan) to get a close match, and the jump between the two is truly enormous for being that they're adjacent shades. So I spent a lot of money for 2 foundations - I dont like that part! (I'll have to keep an eye out for the sales.)

The foundation itself is really quite lovely. I apply it very thinly and it covers my dark scars quite well. I still use a concealer underneath when I have extra time, but the foundation is quite imperceptible on the skin. Very natural looking.

I usually have oily skin but the winter cold and heater usage is starting to give me a dryness that my Aquasmooth cream foundation was only enhancing. This foundation works very nicely for dry or dehydrated skin. I do still have to blot with tissue when I need, but I love that I dont have to apply a powder if I dont want. Its a very nice finish.

I find it applies best with a paddle brush, and gives a really thin application. A little goes a long way. I also love that I dont feel it sitting on my skin.

~~edit:
I have since decided that while this is a very nice looking foundation that the color selections are so bad that I would not be repurchasing this again. If you can find a good match for you this is still an excellent foundation, imo.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* suzyqz1970 on 2/3/2013 11:07:00 AM more reviews by suzyqz1970

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I think that the worst thing about aging skin is having to re-think all my old stand-bys. Even with lots of moisturizer and primers, powder foundations just aren't doing it for me anymore. I originally bought this for my mom but couldn't seem to find her regular color (Buff Beige 225) because everywhere I went in town, it was sold out. Hmm, that's usually a good but unfortunate sign. I ended up buying it in Creamy Natural 220 and decided to give it a whirl myself. Other than the fact that Creamy Natural is a shade or 2 too light for me, I have to say I adore this foundation!!! I am NC25 in Mac Studiofix and Sand Beige in Revlon Colorstay for reference. I have a tiny bit of acne discoloration and some pigmentation spots near my eyes and somewhat enlarged pores but this stuff covers EVERYTHING. If you want something that is more sheer, pass this stuff on by but for me it greatly reduces my need for concealer even for my under eye shadows. I still use a moisturizer with sunscreen underneath it and the odd thing is, this stuff wears like colorstay for me. Have no idea why, but for a cream it lasts on my semi-oily skin all day long. I really look like I have almost flawless skin with this. I will say, light touch is essential because I can see how this might be cakey if you went too heavy handed. The case sucks majorly but once I got the hang of it, it was fine. I did use this after I had spent a week going a little heavy on the retinol and I looked a fright! But, after my skin smoothed out and I wasn't flaking anymore, I just loved the way it looked. I haven't had any problems with it being too pink or yellow so I'm hoping this next shade or two up will be nice and neutral as well. I'm very pleased with this foundation. No need for a powder either!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jawa on 1/2/2013 12:59:00 PM more reviews by jawa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my go-to foundation in the winter, although I find it a little greasy in the hot humid summer months, so it is definitely NOT for people with oily or acne-prone skin. My skin is quite dry in the winter, and I love the coverage (medium-full) and finish (I would say semi-matte. I still lightly powder it). It's bed to apply this to recently cleansed and moisturized skin to make it easier to spread and blend, because it is a thicker texter than a liquid, if that is what you're used to. It doesn't settle in lines as long as you haven't caked it on too heavily and has good staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 FabCo on 12/15/2012 4:58:00 PM more reviews by FabCo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Despite it´s bad reviews I decided to buy this cream foundation, based on the price and most of all spf.
I like the texture and the packaging. Unfortunately, even layering, it´s not full coverage as I expected; it looks cakey and makes my dry patches stand out.
In order to make it work I over moisturize and add some glycerine to it; this way it glides efortlessly and manages to make my skin look even and with a certain glow, with the downside it wears off really quickly.
IMO the serum is completely useless.
UPDATE: I added one lippie because after applying it with a damp sponge, the texture, coverage and overall appearance improved, but not as much to make me buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Crème products